User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 9, 2011
    6
    Okay so after playing Spider-man: Shattered Dimensions and really enjoying it, I had high hopes developer Beenox's second Spidey title. I expected them to learn from their mistakes and improve on what they did well. Sadly that is not the case. The first act of the game sure had me fooled as it started off strong with a great opening and a level of presentation that wowed me. The great voice work, graphics, the pace of the story and the fast and fluid combat had me convinced that this game was going to be a truly great title.

    Unfortunately, after ACT 1 ended it all went downhill from there. The game turns into a straight up button masher. The mission objectives got repetitive and while there were some changes to what you had to do. Most of the time you had to obtain a key from a baddie to open a door. Beenox seems obsessed with the number 3. Fight through waves of enemies to acquire 3 keys to open the door, hit 3 switches to access something. Not a very fun set of missions. When playing as Spider-man 2099, you get to play free-fall segments like in SD but there are too many of these segments and they get annoying fast.

    There is even less web swinging this time around as the entire game takes place in one Giant Building. While the back and forth banter between Amazing Spider-man and Spider-man 2099 are fun to listen to, the game isn't as funny as Shattered Dimensions.

    Even though the story doesn't falter and the combat still manages to be fun at times, the amount of repetitiveness and lack of laughs keep this from being great game or even a good one. The extra costumes (which are pretty cool) you can unlock and the challenges you can do to gain more experience to power up your Spider-men aren't reason enough to replay this game.
    Expand
  2. Oct 12, 2011
    6
    Feels way to similar to Shattered Dimensions which was a good game that got a little to repetitive at the end. Here it is even worse because you don't have the different variety of all the other Spider Men. Here you only have Spider Man 2099 and Amazing Spider Man. So you don't have the awesome stealth moments and cool atmosphere of the Noire Spider Man. Without him the game gets WAY to repetitive to quickly. The story is quite good and the voice acting is top notch but that doesn't make up for a pretty boring game. Expand
  3. Oct 13, 2011
    7
    Although Spiderman: Edge of time isn't as great in terms of gameplay as the previous title (Spiderman: Shattered Dimensions) this is potentially a very fun game even if the gameplay is repetitive (something shattered dimensions avoided which made it such a great game). Even though I expected more from this title, this isn't a bad game, but there is a lot of room for improvement.
  4. Jun 21, 2012
    7
    This is my first time playing one of the "SpiderMan" series of games and upon starting the game up, you are greeted by Spiderman 2099 carrying Spiderman 2011's lifeless body, then you are jumped into the game by crawling along the air ducts while the credits come up "The wasy the credits are displayed is amazing".

    So, based on my verdict, This game is very polished, but is let down by
    the repetitive and predictable gameplay

    Dont get me wrong, this is a good game, but the gameplay is a little bit predictable at times.

    The good points of this game are:

    1. Excellent boss battles (Especially the "atrocity" boss)
    2. Buy new powers with Golden Spiders.
    3. Good graphics.

    The bad points of this game are:

    1. Repetitive
    2. Very predictable
    3. Gets very boring after a long period of time

    So, based on the strength of the graphics and the sound with the bad gameplay and repetitveness, i would score this game a 7/10 (75%).
    Expand
  5. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    Don't listen to the reviewers, this is a great game. It does get a little bit repetitive in places, but the story and the action more than makes up for it. Definitely a worthy addition to the Spider-Man canon.
  6. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    DO NOT listen to what the reviewers have to say about this game. in my opinion, it is great. sure it isnt the longest game you will ever find but all the challenges, just make you go back to previous levels. another great thing about this game is the fact that there are so many unlockables such as alternate suits, concept arts, figurines, movies and even newspaper report. i also really liked the fact that you have to finish the game on hard to get 100%. the only reason i didnt give it 10 is the fact there isnt enough boss fights or villains. but it is one the best game stories i have ever seen and there is a phenomenal final boss that you will enjoy. VERY WORTH BUYING! Expand
  7. Oct 8, 2011
    9
    Just finished it half an hour ago. This game grabs you from the start with the greatest opening sequence and pushes you forwards into a non-stop webslinging adventure alternating from future and the present-day Spider-Man. The combat in this game is perhaps the best of all the spiderman games altrough the gameplay does rely heavily on this aspect. The switching back and forth from present to future is amazingly executed and keeps the player constantly in the action. Buy it, rent it, borrow it, in any case try it for yourself, you'll love it. Expand
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 50
  2. Negative: 10 out of 50
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    60
    Spider-Man Edge of Time isn't a completely bad game, as the mechanics are all in place and nothing really is broken within the game – but it's not necessarily what I'd call a good game either.
  2. 50
    Boring and repetitive. [Issue#79, p.86]
  3. Nov 28, 2011
    40
    Rather than build upon Shattered Dimensions and further refine the Spider-Man experience, Spider-Man: Edge of Time takes a step back and feels like something that was quickly rushed out the door while still trying to trap consumers in a badly tangled web.