Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 51
  2. Negative: 4 out of 51
  1. Dec 21, 2010
    82
    No, Splatterhouse doesn't revolutionize with its gameplay, and it's not quite a perfect-looking game either. But if you're looking for a bloody good time, it comes through on all fronts. Having the classic games in the package is great, too. We definitely can't deny this overhaul of Splatter.
  2. Dec 21, 2010
    80
    If you think that excessive violence, carnage, seeing loads of blood dripping everywhere is fun, then this is a game for you.
  3. Dec 16, 2010
    80
    If you're looking for the video game equivalent of War and Peace, look elsewhere; if you're looking for a few hours of unapologetically over the top, gross-out-heavy escapism, Splatterhouse is just the ticket.
  4. Jan 3, 2011
    79
    Splatterhouse will be liked by a very concrete type of player, who will be able to forgive its lack of variety in gameplay and have fun watching hundreds of litres of blood spread after every blow to the enemies.
  5. Dec 21, 2010
    78
    If you're a fan of slasher films and all-around gory themes, then you'll have a blast if you can look past the lack of polish. Previous fans of the franchise will love it. Newcomers, be wary if you strive for perfection out of your games.
  6. Jan 10, 2011
    75
    Splatterhouse is a fun game, with a great gameplay and unforgettable moments. Many things to do and to unlock, an interesting replay value, and the feeling of playing a classic game in an HD console are what make this game so interesting overall. It has its faults, but they are easily forgotten.
  7. Jan 2, 2011
    75
    This remake of Splatterhouse is much like a modern slasher movie. It's loud, brash and gory, but luckily, it's wrapped in an experience that doesn't try to overstay its welcome.
  8. Dec 16, 2010
    75
    There's simply not enough variety to hold your interest beyond the first few hours, and only fans and die-hards will likely want to play beyond this.
  9. Dec 14, 2010
    75
    If Splatterhouse has caught your interest you should give it a rent. It's a solid action game with an interesting story and a lot of blood. There's enough content to justify a purchase, if you like the series.
  10. Dec 14, 2010
    74
    Splatterhouse is one of those guilty pleasure games. It's not a deep action experience that immerses you in the world Renaissance Italy, it's not a vast reaching western epic, it's just a dude wearing a mask who kills everything he sees, and that's good enough for me.
  11. Technically messy but definitely likeable. It's fun, satisfying, and silly schlock-horror.
  12. Dec 17, 2010
    73
    In its simplicity, Splatterhouse remains faithful to its arcade roots, offering modern gamers a fresh take on a classic franchise minus the time limits and limited lives of arcade play.
  13. Jan 2, 2011
    72
    A respectable action game, that manages to entertain from start to finish also thanks to a nice story with a touch of black humour.
  14. Jan 1, 2011
    72
    I wasn't expecting Splatterhouse to scare me. That's what Alan Wake is for. Instead, I got an old-school beat-em-up with excessive gore, excessive violence, excessive foul language, and excessive load times – and only the latter is cause for alarm.
  15. Jan 7, 2011
    71
    Splatterhouse isn't necessarily a bad game – fighting and controls work, yet it lacks things to make it memorable compared to other big titles in the genre. Limitless gore and a mysterious mask that comments on every single encounter just aren't enough to make a great game. If this setting appeals to you, though, you can safely check it out.
  16. 70
    It's not perfect, but it hits most of its well-intentioned targets. [Feb 2011, p.74]
  17. Jan 3, 2011
    70
    Although it surely can't be defined as a masterpiece, this reboot proves that the Splatterhouse franchise possesses an unquestionable potential even after 22 years from its official début. If you're not afraid to get your hands dirty, Rick's adventure, will surely be able to deliver the emotions you're searching for.
  18. Dec 21, 2010
    70
    Make no bones about it, Splatterhouse is a worthwhile successor to its retro counterparts and a worthy addition to the ever-expanding action genre.
  19. Dec 16, 2010
    70
    Splatterhouse's most obvious flaw is that many of the abilities that are taken for granted in a modern beat-'em-up, like invincibility frames on a dodge or useful combos, are purchasable upgrades.
  20. Dec 21, 2010
    69
    The truth is that as a result of Splatterhouse design, its real strength is the combat and the humour lose their appeal with repetition. And the platforming sections... well, it's hard to be kind about them. Not without appeal, Splatterhouse is a disappointment.
  21. Jan 30, 2011
    65
    Splatterhouse is a strange one because there will be times when you will be having a ball, ripping limbs from zombie clowns or shoving your hand down a gremlins throat, but at other times the frustration of dying on the side scrolling levels and having to wait ages for the game to load up again is beyond words.
  22. Jan 11, 2011
    65
    While there's no getting around the fact that Splatterhouse feels like something that could have significantly benefited from another six months in the oven, it's not hard to see that the developers have solid ideas that are on the right track.
  23. Jan 4, 2011
    65
    Flying body parts and buckets of blood form the basics of Splatterhouse. The soundtrack and the voice overs have been done very well but the graphics just aren't up to today's standards.
  24. Jan 3, 2011
    64
    Gore, metal music and brutal combat. Splatterhouse is a good beat'em up, especially if you're a die-hard nostalgist for this franchise.
  25. Dec 19, 2010
    64
    Splatterhouse successfully exploits its grisly horror aesthetic by linking it to aggressive and cathartic gameplay, but fails to build a genuinely good game around this central idea.
  26. 60
    Splatterhouse effortlessly fulfils its remit as a shlocky, enjoyable but utterly disposable third-person brawler, which is unashamedly bloody, gratuitous, violent, sweary and brutal. While we love all of these things, they're not really delivered in an especially smart or knowing way.
  27. Jan 5, 2011
    60
    Splatterhouse isn't a bad game, but it's riddled with enough inconsistencies that I can't wholeheartedly recommend it.
  28. Jan 2, 2011
    60
    As a huge fan of the series it was disheartening that much of what was loved has been removed.
  29. Dec 27, 2010
    60
    The majority of gamers looking for a satisfying third person action title would be best to look elsewhere.
  30. Dec 21, 2010
    60
    Splatterhouse isn't an uber-terrible, unplayable game...but its damn close.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27
  1. Feb 21, 2011
    4
    I must have been playing a different game than everyone else. One of my earliest video game memories was the original splatterhouse on theI must have been playing a different game than everyone else. One of my earliest video game memories was the original splatterhouse on the turbo grafx 16. Needless to say, I was excited at the thought of a reboot. However what I got was a game with potential ruined by clunky controls and overall unnimpressive graphics. The cut scenes were great in terms of presentation and artwork but the in-game graphics fall short, real short. Furthermore the game forces you to fight rehashed monsters all with the same or similar sets of attacks. Boss battles are yawn worthy and commonplace as you'll find yourself fighting the same ones over and over. Oh wait this time there's two! Yes, the further you play the game, the more enemies you fight at once. Don't get me wrong I love crushing things into a bloody pulp, but the clunky mechanics/camera make enjoying the brutality hard to do. The game tries to shine by having ultra bloody finishing moves. Or should I say move because to say the variety of finishers is limited would be a serious understatement. This namco gem also attempts to pitch a 2D throwback to the originals. I was delighted to see this but unfortunately ithey dropped the ball yet again. It has to be the worst attempt at 2D platforming I've seen in quite a while. I could go on and on about the disappointment this game was but to be fair there are some good aspects of the game. You can play the original splatterhouse series then when you're done with that you can remove the disc, post an ad on craigslist and salvage at least a little bit of your wasted money. They could have and definitely should have done better. Full Review »
  2. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    The long awaited return of the classic title "Splatterhouse" beat em' up game. I really like the art style so far & it seems challengingThe long awaited return of the classic title "Splatterhouse" beat em' up game. I really like the art style so far & it seems challenging enough. The game has actually called me out for dying on a level by simply shouting "FUCKIN NOOB!" LOL. So far iam enjoying it. 8/10 fuckin bloody as hell too. Full Review »
  3. Nov 24, 2010
    9
    Much better than you'd expect, and catnip for horror and gore enthusiasts, and fans of the series. Given how little attention this game isMuch better than you'd expect, and catnip for horror and gore enthusiasts, and fans of the series. Given how little attention this game is getting, you'd think it was a disaster. What is surprising is how good Splatterhouse is, both at emulating the earlier games in the series and in making the gruesome splatter gameplay fun. The graphics are much better than you would expect, and transformed Rick feels and looks genuinely like a badass. The sight of limbs flying when you pick up a bladed weapon for example, and the sight of blood spraying everywhere in a way not seen in any other game to date gives the gameplay a power that is undeniably fun and satisfying. There are many fun references to classic and cult fave horror films (such as laughing animal heads on the wall) as well as to the writings of HP Lovecraft. The soundtrack is extremely enjoyable in the context of the game, as retro "haunted house" scores that emulate the feeling of the old Splatterhouse games help set the mood, while the licensed hardcore metal tracks kick in during key encounters and pump up the adrenaline in a way that seems missing from other games. The music, being speedy and powerful in a way music rarely is in games, gives the whole project a bit of a "punk rock" feel, in that it is genuinely unhinged and energetic, getting your pulse racing. Negatives? Odd loading times (the animation you see during loading, during my playthrough, would play 3 times before loading would be completed, and stutters awkwardly), repetitive splatter kills (fun and super gory, but you'll be seeing a lot of the same animations over and over if you do them a lot) and an abundance of rooms inside which you will have to clear waves of enemies to move on. However, I found myself using the word "fun" a lot in trying to write this, and that is the key that makes Splatterhouse a real treat to play. The negatives are quickly outweighed by the positives. It is just plain fun and a viscerally satisfying experience that is unlike any other horror survival game released this generation. Considering it is also clear that Splatterhouse does not have the resources or mammoth budgets of other games, the fact that this reboot was pulled off shows a lot of love went in to making it. This is the kind of game that deserves to be purchased, as the makers of this game should be rewarded for doing something this over the top and ambitious. The one mistake they made, in my opinion, was not giving this some kind of unique title to separate it from the mobile versions, as I think it has contributed to confusion and a lack of attention. If you try to search for reviews, for example, engines will most often take you to mobile reviews of the old game (which is getting some poor reviews). They should have called it Splatterhouse "insert something here (what could be debated)" to denote this is a separate game that reboots the series for current generation consoles. Full Review »