User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 64 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 64
  2. Negative: 6 out of 64
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 24, 2010
    9
    Much better than you'd expect, and catnip for horror and gore enthusiasts, and fans of the series. Given how little attention this game is getting, you'd think it was a disaster. What is surprising is how good Splatterhouse is, both at emulating the earlier games in the series and in making the gruesome splatter gameplay fun. The graphics are much better than you would expect, andMuch better than you'd expect, and catnip for horror and gore enthusiasts, and fans of the series. Given how little attention this game is getting, you'd think it was a disaster. What is surprising is how good Splatterhouse is, both at emulating the earlier games in the series and in making the gruesome splatter gameplay fun. The graphics are much better than you would expect, and transformed Rick feels and looks genuinely like a badass. The sight of limbs flying when you pick up a bladed weapon for example, and the sight of blood spraying everywhere in a way not seen in any other game to date gives the gameplay a power that is undeniably fun and satisfying. There are many fun references to classic and cult fave horror films (such as laughing animal heads on the wall) as well as to the writings of HP Lovecraft. The soundtrack is extremely enjoyable in the context of the game, as retro "haunted house" scores that emulate the feeling of the old Splatterhouse games help set the mood, while the licensed hardcore metal tracks kick in during key encounters and pump up the adrenaline in a way that seems missing from other games. The music, being speedy and powerful in a way music rarely is in games, gives the whole project a bit of a "punk rock" feel, in that it is genuinely unhinged and energetic, getting your pulse racing. Negatives? Odd loading times (the animation you see during loading, during my playthrough, would play 3 times before loading would be completed, and stutters awkwardly), repetitive splatter kills (fun and super gory, but you'll be seeing a lot of the same animations over and over if you do them a lot) and an abundance of rooms inside which you will have to clear waves of enemies to move on. However, I found myself using the word "fun" a lot in trying to write this, and that is the key that makes Splatterhouse a real treat to play. The negatives are quickly outweighed by the positives. It is just plain fun and a viscerally satisfying experience that is unlike any other horror survival game released this generation. Considering it is also clear that Splatterhouse does not have the resources or mammoth budgets of other games, the fact that this reboot was pulled off shows a lot of love went in to making it. This is the kind of game that deserves to be purchased, as the makers of this game should be rewarded for doing something this over the top and ambitious. The one mistake they made, in my opinion, was not giving this some kind of unique title to separate it from the mobile versions, as I think it has contributed to confusion and a lack of attention. If you try to search for reviews, for example, engines will most often take you to mobile reviews of the old game (which is getting some poor reviews). They should have called it Splatterhouse "insert something here (what could be debated)" to denote this is a separate game that reboots the series for current generation consoles. Expand
  2. Nov 24, 2010
    9
    I've been playing the Splatterhouse games since the days of the Genesis and I have been looking forward to this title ever since it was announced. To say that I had high hopes would be an understatement, but I was concerned that it could never live up to my expectations. Well, it has met my expectations and exceeded them in many ways. The combat is fantastic, fun, and challenging. TheI've been playing the Splatterhouse games since the days of the Genesis and I have been looking forward to this title ever since it was announced. To say that I had high hopes would be an understatement, but I was concerned that it could never live up to my expectations. Well, it has met my expectations and exceeded them in many ways. The combat is fantastic, fun, and challenging. The animations and graphics are excellent. The soundtrack, generally, is great too. However, the only thing keeping me from giving Splatterhouse a 10 is that some of the background music is insane, over-the-top trash metal with lyrics. Not a big fan of that genre of music at all, but in the context in the game it works fairly well. However, it would have been my preference not to have it. Regardless, I'm likely in the minority there and it certainly adds to the intensity of the game. The gameplay really is top notch as are the animations. The amount of gore is so excessive and absurd, it doesn't really come across as gross or distrubing (which I think is a positive). This game is not groundbreaking for the hack-and-slash genre, but it doesn't need to be. It has a great pace, cool side-scrolling segments, and the original Splatterhouse trilogy (which are easily unlocked along the way). The Lovecraft influences are obvious which, if you are familiar with Lovecraft, is pretty darn cool. Awesome, awesome game. Give it a try, I'm certain you will be pleasantly suprised at how fun and well crafted it is! Expand
  3. Nov 24, 2010
    9
    A must play for any fan of beat 'em up games or 80 's horror movies. Great art style, entertaining combat, and lots of gore. The voice acting is excellent and very humorous,The terror mask has some great one liners. One of the best rock soundtracks since Brutal Legend. Tons of unlockables and challenges to keep you busy for a couple run throughs. This is the Splatterhouse we have beenA must play for any fan of beat 'em up games or 80 's horror movies. Great art style, entertaining combat, and lots of gore. The voice acting is excellent and very humorous,The terror mask has some great one liners. One of the best rock soundtracks since Brutal Legend. Tons of unlockables and challenges to keep you busy for a couple run throughs. This is the Splatterhouse we have been waiting for, Good job Namco. Two severed thumbs up!!!! Expand
  4. Jun 22, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I didnt get to play the original Splatterhouse when it came out over 20 years ago but i did play 2 and 3. They still hold a special place in my mind, Looking at this new game it does try to stay true to the originals but also reinvent itself.

    On the plot its similar to the original game but with some more history of the characters and their development. This at least gave the game a more interesting cast. Some things from the previous games were included such as the Terror mask being able to talk, as voiced by the brilliant Jim Cummings (the voice of doctor robotnik in the sonic the hedgehog animated show). Giving the mask a voice added some comedy value and more of an individuality to the mask itself. While the ending itself is ambigious it will leave it open to continue a sequel, I do hope that a sequel is made but the problem is where to go with the plot from here?

    graphiclly this game has some very beautiful FMV sequnces which suit the mood of the game perfectly BUT then when the gameplay begins the whole look feels different, almost less serious and lacked any of the horror themes i felt in the FMV's. The Crackdown style look of the game does allow for alot of gore and over the top violence but i feel it detracts from the games overall look and feel. Some of the enemies work well while other seem a little out of place or just not right.

    Gameplay it plays very similarly to many of the recent button bashing games as i call them, such as, God of War, Dantes Inferno and Devil May Cry. A lot of combos and other attacks are used as your basic offence which are done beautifully by the main character Rick, you can feel the sheer power of each of the blows. Then we move onto Rick's Super Form, its like a Uber Evil edward scissor hands on a rampage, its works a little but with the graphics it looks like a gory super sonic trying to stab people. Finally you have the chance to perform a splatterkill. Very similar to the QTE's of God of War this requires a set sequence of buttons to be pressed. The kills themselves are extreamly grusome at the best of times, even the most disgusting one nearly made me hurl (ripping someones intestines out of their arse!!!) BUT only one splatter kill per creature is actually available, after seeing them 2 or 3 times you start to get fed up and just want to pummel the monsters instead of doing splatter kills.

    Another classic thing that comes back is weapons, all the old favorites are back, 2x4, 2x4 with nails, meat cleaver, chainsaw, even the shotgun. Some new ones make an appearance as well. You can even use your own severed arms as a club which adds a whole new dynamic to the game. This makes it more interesting and over time you can see your arm grow back from bones, muscles and skin in realtime. This has been a welcome innovation to this game and could be further developed if a sequel is made.

    Some of the game does have some platforming elements to make the game easier but this can sometimes make the game seem too dumbed down for players, since this is rated 18 i wouldnt expect many 18+ people having trouble with falling off an edge or anything like that. The transitions from Free Roaming levels to Side Scrolling sections is a brilliant nod to the classic game play of the original trilogy and keeps the players interested.

    Even when the main game is finished there are alot of extras to collects such as photos of Jennifer in various raunchy poses, Dr Wests diary records. These kinds of extras are a good addition to the series.

    Overall i feel this has been an excellent remake which has been sadly underratted thanks to a lack of PR and more high profile games over shadowing its release. The Crackdown style graphics do allow for better violent content BUT it doesnt quite gel with the FMV sequences and makes the game less scary. Fans of the original will love this while newcomers to the franchise will finally be able to enjoy what they will have missed out on from the originals. I would recommend anyone to play this but i would advise caution if your squeminsh, this is one of the most gory games i have played and it is NOT for anyone with a weak heart!!!
    Expand
  5. Dec 7, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Nunca vi um game nessa geração que seja mais sangrento que esse.
    A trilha sonora reune bandas de metal que eu não conhecia, e que por sinal são fodas!
    Itens coletáveis; existem pedaços de fotos da garota que devem ser achadas.
    Os diálogos são pesados e muitas vezes engraçados.
    Existem partes das fases que o game fica em 2D. (achei do cacete)
    Combos disponíveis para compra com a moeda do jogo (sangue).
    Expand
  6. Jan 30, 2011
    9
    Before I say anything else I need to point out that Splatterhouse is the kind of game that you need to know what it really is before you get into it or you're going to be disappointed. Splatterhouse is loud, explicit gorey, grusome and brutal. It is very clearly not for everyone (and that's ok), but, it is still a great game if you're looking for a gorey, over the top, gruesomeBefore I say anything else I need to point out that Splatterhouse is the kind of game that you need to know what it really is before you get into it or you're going to be disappointed. Splatterhouse is loud, explicit gorey, grusome and brutal. It is very clearly not for everyone (and that's ok), but, it is still a great game if you're looking for a gorey, over the top, gruesome horror/black comedy game.

    The story is actually better than it sounds initially and will feel creepily familiar to fans of the classic 2D games (it's taken the Doom 3 approach of simply taking the first game's story and expanding on it as a way of making it fresh) and the characters actually have depth and personality to them (it could have been very easy for the Mask to come off as annoying, Rick to come across as bland and for you to wonder why you even WANT to save Jen).

    People always say that this feels like a God of War rip off but I actually feel this game has more in common with Ninja Gaiden II, evading enemies is your best defence and button mashing will get you killed most of the time. The difficulty curve is a tad on the high side (there is no shame in playing on easy for your first playthrough) but overall the game felt fair yet challenging (except for the black and red guys with the club-arm, I hate those guys).

    As for extras, all of the classic Splatterhouse games are in there but they'll mostly only be of interest to veterans of the series (lemme put it this way, I'm stuck on the first one, the final boss of 2 still kills me every time and don't get me started on 3), the journal of Dr. West does make for some interesting exposition and back story to the main game but they are pretty lengthy and the handwriting has so far proven impossible to read. Finally I am left with the nude photos of Jen, collecting them made me feel very awkward and uncomfortable, that is all that I shall say on the matter.

    Overall, I loved this game, it had fun gameplay, was a great challenge, had a pretty good story and above all else, it had a sense of humour about itself and was just generally enjoyable (if not for the weak of stomach or easily offended).
    Expand
  7. Jul 19, 2011
    8
    Melhor visualizado em: criticalplayer.com.br

    Poucos são os jogos que conseguem te deixar com â
  8. Mar 19, 2012
    8
    I won't give splatterhouse a bad score, it really wasn't a bad game. Don't expect anything philosophical or a metaphysical experience, but do expect blood soaked action, thrash metal (municipal waste!), and just as much slaughter and brawling as the original. It was alright, and I had fun playing it. 13 bucks used at GameStop, I recommend this to anyone looking for a gory beat em' up!
  9. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    Im a big fan of the 1988 arcade and this remake is really good i payed full price for this game when it was released and still play it to this day .I cant understand why it got slated in the reveiws like it did maybe its because Namco Bandai didnt pay off the so called professional reviews unlike other companies do.
    I almost forgot the Classic arcade version of Splatterhose and the two
    Im a big fan of the 1988 arcade and this remake is really good i payed full price for this game when it was released and still play it to this day .I cant understand why it got slated in the reveiws like it did maybe its because Namco Bandai didnt pay off the so called professional reviews unlike other companies do.
    I almost forgot the Classic arcade version of Splatterhose and the two Megadrive games are unlockable aswell so thats vaule for money in its self.
    Expand
  10. Nov 24, 2010
    9
    The gore and bad language makes this a must!!!! The gameplay is solid and the animations are great. This is how violent games should be :) Blood blood and more blood - and saving your sweetheart from an evil doctor are good ground works for an epic game.
  11. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    The long awaited return of the classic title "Splatterhouse" beat em' up game. I really like the art style so far & it seems challenging enough. The game has actually called me out for dying on a level by simply shouting "FUCKIN NOOB!" LOL. So far iam enjoying it. 8/10 fuckin bloody as hell too.
  12. cee
    Nov 24, 2010
    10
    This was way better than I thought it would be! Guess it was a good thing they gave it to a different game studio, the BottleRocket screenshots from a few years ago looked terrible. I'm loving the 3 free original games. I have not beat the game yet, but I'm on level 9 - its been pretty fun so far. Heavy Metal Rocks!!!
  13. Nov 26, 2010
    8
    I must admit I was very surprised by this game. I don't base my purchases strictly on reviews but I do like to see what folks say. Like many of you I was disturbed by the lack of professional reviews. I bit the bullet and bought it simply for my love of the franchise from the old days of gaming. I am not even a fan of beat 'em ups. But this game has surprised me in every way. Graphics,I must admit I was very surprised by this game. I don't base my purchases strictly on reviews but I do like to see what folks say. Like many of you I was disturbed by the lack of professional reviews. I bit the bullet and bought it simply for my love of the franchise from the old days of gaming. I am not even a fan of beat 'em ups. But this game has surprised me in every way. Graphics, game play, atmosphere, enemy types and the kills. Oh and finding all of the Easter eggs and finding out that the story is loosely Lovecraftian was a very nice surprise. Still only on phase 4 and here are my complaints. Camera: only the tiniest bit annoying and not all the times. The side scrolling can be a bit dodgy but still lots of fun. I had one glitch where the BGM disappeared after re-loading. That sucked as I do like the retro music for the side scrolling portions. Load times are a little longer than you think they should be. No major complaints. The game can be hard but that is in no way a complaint. Get this game! Expand
  14. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    This game is absolutly amazing. Best next gen graphics I have seen since two worlds. Most own for anyone who is a fan of pure awesomeness. The story is top notch and the voice acting is out of this world. The robust combat system never grows old and the enemy variety is insane. The music score rivals even that of the final fantasy series. The side quests keep you coming back for more withThis game is absolutly amazing. Best next gen graphics I have seen since two worlds. Most own for anyone who is a fan of pure awesomeness. The story is top notch and the voice acting is out of this world. The robust combat system never grows old and the enemy variety is insane. The music score rivals even that of the final fantasy series. The side quests keep you coming back for more with enough unlockables to keep you busy for days. Even the achievement list is top notch with a lot of variety. Expand
  15. Apr 28, 2013
    8
    Splatterhouse can be taken away from the first impression of this game, With it's bad camera and sort of generic combat. But when I started to get into it and seeing the game express itself in it's amazing gore (Could of been better) and character skill development it becomes a very great game and it will forever be in my arsenal of video games.
  16. Feb 7, 2017
    9
    Good God! This game is a full on gore fest and does things no human could ever do upon another! I love it!! You play as Rick Taylor. A scrawny boyfriend who basically looked like he took a few wedgies in high school. Rick tags along with his girlfriend named Jennifer Willis in a interview with a professor of necrobiology named Dr. Henry West. Rick had this idea to ask her for her hand inGood God! This game is a full on gore fest and does things no human could ever do upon another! I love it!! You play as Rick Taylor. A scrawny boyfriend who basically looked like he took a few wedgies in high school. Rick tags along with his girlfriend named Jennifer Willis in a interview with a professor of necrobiology named Dr. Henry West. Rick had this idea to ask her for her hand in marriage when they arrive but are rudely interrupted by experimental monsters of the "good" doctor and Jennifer ends up being abducted while Rick is on the verge of death due to his wounds. But as fate would have it, Rick is clumsy when he is struck and mortally wounded because he broke a sarcophagus that contained a sentient mask known as the Terror Mask, which is one of the best dark humor characters I've ever seen or played as besides Deadpool. He calls out to Rick and bargains with him. The deal is if he puts the mask on, the mask will restore Rick, and then some, and can help save Jennifer. With very little choice, Rick places the mask on, becomes a giant hulk like monster, while still retaining his consciousness, and teams up with the mask to go and save Jennifer. With the story premise out of the way, lets get to gameplay. It's absolutely, horrifyingly, awesome! The guts, the gore, the dismemberment is disgusting yet artistic! The idea of restoration is awesome! It's like if Deadpool was contracted to take on Mephisto and Blackheart. The Terror Mask is the highlight of the duo with funny jokes, poking humor at Rick, and even the excitement he feels with the blood and carnage! It actually made me excited, which is kind of messed up but it's not humans you're dismembering anyways so you're pretty much safe with that. The game switches between 2D platforming and 3D hack n' slash where you can simply use your fists, your dismembered arm if you get it cut off, heads of your enemies, arms of your enemies, machetes, baseball bats, guns, and so much more! When you build enough blood points, you can use it to transform into an even bigger hulk like creature decked in spikes, long sword like claws similar to Baraka in Mortal Kombat, or when in normal form when you beat up an enemy long enough, you can do a finisher on each of your enemies with a tad of button mashing or using your analog sticks. It's beyond good! A worthy remake of a classic! However, the only thing I can say I don't like is what I said earlier, your own arm being cut off from an enemy. It's because you can't do any sweet combos but rather feel like your playing a dumbed down version of Rock 'em Sock 'em Robots. Other than those instances, it's a smooth game that's addicting, filled with gore, and awesome metal tracks from bands like Lamb of God, Five Finger Death Punch, and Mastadon. I personally would've preferred they didn't stay safe with bands like that and played bands like The Black Dahlia Murder, Thy Art is Murder, or even Decrepit Birth. Whichever port you get, you will be receiving one hell of a hidden gem in gaming. Thanks for reading my review and have a good one! Expand
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 51
  2. Negative: 4 out of 51
  1. Jan 30, 2011
    65
    Splatterhouse is a strange one because there will be times when you will be having a ball, ripping limbs from zombie clowns or shoving your hand down a gremlins throat, but at other times the frustration of dying on the side scrolling levels and having to wait ages for the game to load up again is beyond words.
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 15, 2011
    50
    Take a meatchopper and use it on raw piece of meat for 10 minutes. Then ask yourself if you've enjoyed it. If YES, Splatterhouse is a perfect match for you. [Issue#199]
  3. Jan 11, 2011
    65
    While there's no getting around the fact that Splatterhouse feels like something that could have significantly benefited from another six months in the oven, it's not hard to see that the developers have solid ideas that are on the right track.