User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 158 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 158
  2. Negative: 38 out of 158

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 28, 2012
    9
    Edge magazine is just another one of those crappy reviewers who's biased and too harsh on game scores. They rate 85% lower than avg critics, explaining this stupidly low score for a game deserving no less than a 75 or 80 at absolute worst. Meanwhile they also rated games like "Monster Rancher 4", and "Indiana Jones the Emperors tomb" (which was so bad they said it had instant death glitches) HIGHER than SSX. Seriously? MONSTER RANCHER?? What a terrible reviewer. Expand
  2. Feb 28, 2012
    4
    Being a long time fan of the SSX franchise; this game is a big disappointment. With so many issues, from control bugs and sensitivity, to the speed of the game, to reducing the skill gap of the game. You rarely feel in control and the game becomes frustrating and boring very quickly. As there is no traditional multiplayer or splitscreen; there is not even any real social interaction between players anymore. Expand
  3. Feb 28, 2012
    7
    I actually had a chance to play this game 4 days before it was released. After putting in a good 15-20 hours, This game is better than what I had expected. The game-play is extremely addicting and never seems to get old. The game is still not repetitive even after doing all the descents. The first time you get into Super Tricky mode and you hear run start singing it's EPIC! The variety of the different areas is very impressive. EA Canada really did go all out with the creativity in equipment needed for the different mountain ranges. The survival stages are a great new and intense addition to the series. Loading times seem almost non-existent at times, which may not be a big deal but I think it's great. Using RiderNet gives you the ability to compete in races online with ghosts is really cool because you don't have to be on the at the same time to play with a friend technically. The music is fresh and is really unique how it mixes the songs based on how you move and tricks you do, It also works with your own custom music. The few negatives I thought are that there's no option for 2 player split-screen, No lobbies or match-making for "Live" multiplayer races. Even with the multiplayer being a bit non-traditional, the new take on online is actually very convenient and I actually like it. Overall this is a game that should not be missed. If you are an ssx vet, you will feel like a kid again playing this game. This game and Twisted Metal IMO, bring back the fun in games and game play. Back when the industry thought more about game play than graphics. I highly recommend this game for anyone looking for a genuinely fun time. Expand
  4. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    I've been a fan of the SSX series since the first release of SSX on the PS2. Though I lost a little interest after SSX 3 seeing "On Tour" and "Blur" seemed a little ridiculous so I stuck with SSX 3 until I got burnt out and moved on. It had been years since I've played any of the previous SSX titles so I got online to check and see if any new titles were in the near future and sure enough, SSX was coming to 360 and PS3 and it looked amazing. I waited impatiently for the demo to release on XBL and honestly, the demo doesn't do the game justice. The new "Survive It" mode is intense. It has a new feel with new controls but for SSX veterans, you have the option to switch it to old school controls but it seems you don't twist and turn as fast as the default controls. It takes a couple races and trick sessions to get used to, but once you have it down you'll be carving down every mountain with ease. There is a lot more I could say, but I'm sure you've already heard. This game brings back good memories that I had with SSX but in a new and more intense way. You will enjoy this if you're an SSX fan so pick it up right now and get to shreddin'!! Expand
  5. Mar 10, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As a huge fan of SSX and Tricky, I was very much looking forward to the reboot of SSX. I hate to admit to being disappointed, but that would be the nicest way to sum up my feelings regarding this game. After the tutorials and the first mountain series, I was cautiously optimistic I may enjoy it. Sure, the controls are VERY fidgety, and I told myself I would just need time getting used to it's sluggishness and unresponsive feel. I even enjoyed the first Deadly Descent. It was only then that everything started getting a little complex. The wing suit. The armour. The weather suit. The polarised lenses. All of these upgrades and add-ons which try to add an element of strategy and variety to preceedings - which is simply NOT what SSX is about or what SSX needs. For me, the joy of SSX in it's glorious early years was the brilliance of it's level design, the simplicity and fluidity of the controls and the gameplay. SSX used to make you WORK for your points and your combos, whereas now it is a veritable eyesore of mapped out jump ramps, endless amounts of grind rails (where you don't even have to balance on) and a trick control system which is just too unresponsive, over-populated and no longer engaging. Couple these faults with the frustrations within the game - the constant failure of the level design forcing you to plunge down invisible crevices to your untimely demise, the most pointless rewind facility in the history of video game design where YES, you can rewind your progress mid-event to correct your mistake but the AI opponents CONTINUE down the mountain (which completely belittles the reasoning behind a rewind system), the dreadful attempt at a story, the missed opportunities to create a world where you are encouraged to go off-piste and discover new locations, the constant infuriation of RiderLog telling me to make friends with random people just because their time was within 0.1 seconds of mine on any given event - put them all together and SSX smacks of "missed opportunity".

    Perhaps my biggest frustration, however, is the end series of the World Tour. I know EA have a tendency to make short games - I was there for the full 4 hours SP campaign in Medal Of Honour, I was there for the 3.5 hour campaign of Battlefield 3 and by-God I was there for the 2 hour and 2 minutes it took me to finish Need For Speed The Run, but SSX can be gobbled up in 3 hours comfortably with the exception of the last mountain where the game goes on a difficulty spike so sharp, it can only be explained by the developers realising how short it was and they just didn't want you to finish it that quickly.

    As much as my love for old-school SSX continues (indeed I dusted off my original Xbox for a bout of Tricky earlier today), EA have dropped a howler with this reboot. For those who never experienced the originals - it might have something here to satisfy. To anyone who knows and loves SSX from time-gone-by, prepared to be sorely disappointed. Which is a real, real shame.
    Expand
  6. Mar 8, 2012
    6
    Frustrating and annoying are two words I'd use to describe this game. Tricky 3, was a pinball machine crossed with a fireworks display, where you tried to better your previous high score or beat your mate down the slope. This is more about memorising tracks and not making mistakes that feel like overly harsh punishments. The fun seems to have gone. The game isn't bad just not for the causal gamer like me who just wants to play not become the best in the world at it. Maybe in time I'll enjoy it more but at the moment I can't help but feel annoyed. Expand
  7. Feb 28, 2012
    4
    No split screen .... unbelievable for a SSX game !!
    Multiplayer mode absolutely pathetic; no matchmaking ...
    I can't believe it ! ....
    I do not recommend it.
  8. Mar 1, 2012
    6
    I've played all the games in the SSX series (minus the Wii version) and had high hopes for this game but and ultimately disappointed. If this was my first SSX game i would score it an 8 but here are my reasoning for my score:
    PROS: Core elements of the game are still there with crazy tricks and a great feeling of speed. The courses for the most part are interesting and beautiful. The
    online mode is good if that is the kind of competition you enjoy (more for the hardcore type of gamer). The music is good in my opinion and you can play your own playlist if you like. The controls are almost perfect except for the few gimmicky options when using classic controls.
    CONS: No hand-plants? No Big Air events? No Half-pipes? Useless rewind (wish you would just spawn back where you died). I guess the idea of the game being "Deadly Descents" is carried through almost all the courses because it is very easy to fall into chasms which pretty much means you need to start the course over in race events. This game is more about being technically perfect when riding than having fun doing insane tricks and getting high scores. Every character has the same moves except for one signature move. You can't purchase new moves either. Missing split-screen and no head-to-head multi-player is a big let down for me also.
    I'm not a hardcore gamer who wants to beat the world at everything. If that is the kid of gamer you then this game would probably be right up you alley. Many aspects of this game seem to be included to ramp up the difficulty but not the fun. I just wish they would have stuck closer to the original formula and added more courses, tricks, and upgrade options.
    Expand
  9. Mar 10, 2012
    3
    I can't believe this game. Everything that made the previous games fun are gone. The characters are no longer outspoken. Level design is atrocious. Why is there a tree right next to a jump? You literally fly into a tree. There is no multiplayer. Who wants to race against a ghost? Just when I tried to forgive this game, the unthinkable happens; now im not able to connect to RiderNet. So, I can't even play this game. Very horrible effort by EA. I have no idea what they were thinking. What happened to EA sports BIG? Expand
  10. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    Do not listen to these trolls with there negative reviews! the game itself does not require a online pass if purchased new it comes with a code. There is a TON of multiplayer in this game. yes some of the multiplayer is in the form of global events were many plays all compete but if you want to just play with your friends you simply make a friends only global event. BOOM! your playing with your friends on your own private drop. This SSX is everything i hoped for plus more. it is an exceptional game in every possible way. And for all those that are complaining about there being no Split Screen. the reason this is so is because of the massive scale of the drops a normal display would not allow both players to see enough of the terrain ahead to be able to enjoy the drop. you would be limited to what you could see making finding the best spots very difficult

    Finally if you have ever played SSX before and found any amount of joy in it this game is for YOU.
    - It does everything an SSX game should do.
    - It allows for insane tricks and races down the most unimaginably fun drops.
    -And with 153 different events, not including custom global events were you set the rules, there is enough content to keep you coming back to compete with rivals over and over again.
    Expand
  11. Feb 29, 2012
    9
    I been a ssx fan for a long time now and I will first say this isnt ssx tricky as I hoped it would be but it is a lot better then ssx on tour or ssx 3. The tricks are even more insane then tricky which I actually didn't want because I thought they were just right back then. The different boards have varied stats and there are items you can buy with in game currency that will change your attributes which is all fine but the added extra items I dislike except the wingsuit which allows you to clear massive gaps(short bursts of flight) The amount of courses is very impressive and the added competitiveness of beating your friends ghost times or trick scores is very fun. All in all I would reccomend this for anyone who loves ssx,snowboarding or any type of arcade game where you can rack up points doing insane things. It seems a lot easier then ever before which will cater to casual players but with the sheer number of courses and all the fun that is offered here it isn't much of a detractor.Enjoy! xbox360 gamertag solsunforge. Look me up I need the competition. Expand
  12. Mar 3, 2012
    3
    EA have taken one of my favorite games ever and smashed it to pieces. They have taken the parts and made this game leaving out the fun, scale and innovation. This is a terrible game that should be avoided.
  13. Mar 1, 2012
    5
    You may either love or dislike this title depending on what you're expecting from a snowboarding game. If you love a tough, unforgiving game that challenges you to memorize the courses and punishes you for every mistake, then you may really enjoy this game. If you think snowboarding games should be about enjoying the hill any way you like, and stringing together combos without the constant threat of bottomless pits to ruin your run, then this game will frustrate you.
    I've been a huge fan of this series since the very first, but the developers of this new SSX killed the joy of video game snowboarding for me by making it all about 'surviving the hill'. A huge disappointment.
    Expand
  14. Feb 28, 2012
    9
    SSX is to put it simply a phenomenal game, one that I was greatly surprised by. After playing the demo, I was definitely convinced to buy this game and I am so glad I did, despite a few difficulty spikes this game is fun to play and watch the environment unfold in front of you. I am enjoying every single run that I have done thus far and the controls are so brilliantly mapped to where the game just feels 'right'. The animations are also phenomenal yielding some crazy ass tricks and some really cool atmospheric conditions. Overall I would recommend this game to anyone considering how fun it is to play not to mention watch and the implementation of rider net (aka autolog, battlelog etc) is really interesting as you can race 'ghost' versions of your friends times as well as race against them in real time. SSX is a phenomenal reboot for EA and I am hoping they continue this franchise. Expand
  15. Feb 28, 2012
    9
    I've played every single SSX game to date, and every time after SSX 3 i have been severely let down, even 3 didn't have the flair that trick did. This game is an almost perfect marriage between Tricky and 3. The open world from 3 and the absolutely over the top tricks from tricky. Only one thing makes me lower the score from a perfect 10 and that the fact that its missing couch co-op. Playing SSX tricky the main thing me and my friends did was go to Pipe Dream and try for the biggest scores and biggest air. The only way this game could get any better is if they re-introduce that type of multi-player. Expand
  16. Mar 2, 2012
    8
    The game overall is a very fun experience with absolutely tons of content. You can board down all the mountains in the world with multiple different characters. The graphics are very cool and the game flows well. It is easy to maintain big tricks and go as fast as you want. However, some things do bother me. I don't like that there is no offline multiplayer and even though the soundtrack is edgy and matches the snowboard vibe, it can sometimes be annoying. The cut-scenes can be cheesy but it doesnt really take away from the game. Overall I would give this game about an 8.4. Expand
  17. Mar 5, 2012
    0
    This is not ssx. It's a wana be snowboard sim. It focuses on survival and NOT tricks which is the whole point of ssx. I've been a long time fan and I wish I didn't buy this one or see it be release. It's trash compared to tricky or 3
  18. bpk
    May 3, 2012
    4
    I ended up trading the game in. I wanted so badly to like it, but after two months I stopped trying to make myself believe that I was having fun. I feel that the SSX dev team was sincerely committed to making a strong game and I give TB and the rest of the guys credit for strong post-launch support. At the end of the day, however, this game feels like a chore to play (at least to me) for the following reasons:

    1. This game never shed the "deadly descent" idea of the original trailer. When the backlash occurred, they repackaged the game and stressed the lighter side...but the mountains clearly show the stamp of the "extreme" philosophy behind the game. Death pits and dying (in an SSX game???) are not why I play this series. More forgiving courses exist but they are few and far between. It's a strange game where only 1/3 of the racing drops are fun to me. Give me Snowdream, Elysium Alps, and Merqury City any day.

    2. The "equipment" is gimmicky and adds nothing to the series. I don't want to buy oxygen tanks, pulse goggles, or headlamps. All I want to do is shred down the mountain. The previous SSX games charmed me with their simplicity. This game bludgeons me over the head with forced equipment.

    3. Split-screen multiplayer. Didn't realize I'd miss it this much until I sat down with my sibblings and we could only watch each other play. Some of my most fun gaming memories are playing Tricky and SSX3 with my sister. Racing or tricking against her while being in the same room was just a blast. I understand why the team axed it - and to their credit the online mode is well implemented - but this generation's trend away from split screen gaming has been a big letdown. 4. I played SSX3 and Tricky the other day and, despite these games being over a decade old, I was instantly having fun. I don't get this with the new SSX. It simply makes me want to rage.

    I'm glad that the DLC returns to the roots of the series, but for me it's too little too late. Having spent $60 by buying this on day one, spending another $8 to get the "classic" SSX experience is a slap in the face. I also find it revealing that the first DLC is a nod to the previous games. Perhaps the dev team sensed that they alienated some of the old-time fans of the series. To conclude, I'm jealous of those of you who enjoy the game. Like many of us, I badly wanted and waited for an SSX game this gen. The series has changed and while it may seem for the better to some, I can't help but feel let down. Looks like it's back to Tricky and 3 for another decade. :)
    Expand
  19. Feb 28, 2012
    0
    This game is garbage. You can literally win a game by not touching the controller! You have to actually TRY to crash or fail. This game is a testament to the hand holding in modern console games. Go search Youtube for "SSX no controller" to see what I am talking about. It also requires an online pass which you have to pay for in order to get the online features. When you get online you will be disappointed to find a lack of multiplayer... Its limited to ghosts only, no head to head modes... Expand
  20. Mar 3, 2012
    6
    I was excited for this game like any SSX fan was. After all, it is hailed as the best snowboarding game series ever, right? Remember the days of SSX Tricky & SSX 3, where you could pull off ridiculous combinations of tricks you'll never see in real life? Remember your willingness to beat your best racing times? Remember the awesome, vivid, wacky course designs? And remember when each character had a vibrant, unique personality with their own tricks to boot?

    Well, throw away all of that. While you still pull off superhuman tricks on your board this time around, now you have to watch where you do it. Racing times are now a frustrating endeavor to undertake because of the damn pits of death, and there's nothing wacky and interesting about either the courses or the characters. There's an overbearing layer of mind-numbing trial & error and sheer frustration that mostly undermines the elements that made this series so great.

    Don't get me wrong, the courses are still neat. They're mapped from actual mountains and touched up by the development team for added flavor. But I don't know who thought it was a good idea to throw in those god awful pits of death. Yeah, you read it right...pits. Of. Death. You fall in them, you have to restart. Sure, there's a new rewind feature to remedy your often accidental plunges into doom, but it's shoddy and is a total last-resort method to POSSIBLY put you back into the race.

    We never had to go through those before.

    There are also hiccups in the very course designs themselves. It is most noticeable when there is an obstructive object that is hugging a cliff or other sheer vertical face. Numerous times now, I have made a jump off a kicker and landed right into the space between one said object and the cliff, stuck, and being forced purely because of bad course design to rewind, putting myself in a bad position because other riders are not affected by this action. You lose points, you lose time, you lose the chance to rectify a mistake you often have little control in avoiding; all when you use the rewind function. Sure, it helps in some cases, but it's almost always detrimental. Which compounds the frustration that smacks you in the face at almost all times.

    Graphically, it's just what you need from a snowboarding game of present; it runs at a steady thirty frames-per-second, there are lots of neat particles and convincing snow effects, character design is pretty good and is perhaps the only way the characters stand out from each other, and lighting is solid. But you won't get graphical achievements here.

    Audio is good in almost every way. The soundtrack is a redeeming quality for the game, with a varied but contemporary offering of electro-pop, dubstep, hip-hop, and other popular genres of music of the times. They're modified depending on your tricking performance. When you are in base Tricky! mode (the letters appear in ice-blue on your screen) the infamous Run DmC! track that is now synonymous with the series starts playing. When you pull off another insane combo, you may go into full-on Tricky! mode where the letters are glowing orange. The track at hand takes on a dub-step vibe. As you continue pumping out the big tricks, you keep this sequence going longer. Nothing wrong here.

    Again, though, there's no lasting quality to the voice acting, which was prevalent in older installments. Gone are the ways of wacky one-liners and stand-up comedy antics from your characters. Sure, they each have their own signature move, but that's it. The helicopter pilots are simply there to commend you, guide you, or give you obvious pointers as to your progress (you're the champion, hehe!). In-between important runs and the changing of mountains, cut-scenes that overview what is to come are narrated by an anonymous voice that won't bore you, but won't invigorate you either. Where's the fun factor, yet?

    To begin the end, I have to say I was highly disappointed with this game. Each time I play a run with the many pits of death to be encountered, I think, "these guys shouldn't make an SSX game ever again", and I stand by it even twenty-minutes after my last playthrough. Whoever thought they were a good idea needs to go back to the drawing board and try again. They're not fun, they're just a detriment. They're fine in a game like Jet Moto, since they're actually advertised in those games; but here, they slow you down or completely kill an otherwise blast of a game. If they scrapped that crap altogether, this would be a monumental title for current gamers to enjoy. And if they included more interaction and more fun, and if it took itself less seriously then it would be doubly more enjoyable. As it stands, though, it's an exercise in tedium and frustration, which is unlike anything in the series before it. Too much trial and error, and too little sheer fun (think SSX Tricky and 3), makes Jack a dull boy.
    Expand
  21. Mar 13, 2012
    5
    It starts out fun enough... but after a day or so it gets repetative and frustrating. And including no competative multiplayer is just a result of lazy developers. This new SSX is worth a solid weekend rental, but nothing more.
  22. May 2, 2012
    2
    This "SSX" title is further proof that EA deserved The Worst Company in America award this year. Like why are their so many positive reviews for this garbage. If we as gamers keep praising CRAP, then all we are going to get is CRAP. The levels are god awful (but looked fun in the trailers), The characters rarely talk or taunt their competitiors ( and when they do talk you can barely even hear them). RiderNet? WTF is that, and NO MULTIPLAYER OR SPLITSCREEN! Why would they take out such a basic function that was in every previous title? All in all SSX 3 will always be the best and last good SSX game in the series. Expand
  23. Mar 10, 2012
    5
    I'm guessing that whoever called the shots on SSX, Tricky and SSX3 wasn't a part of this game. I bought it because it looked and smelled like a real SSX game. Unfortunately, after playing it for a couple of hours, I gave it to a friend. The people making this new SSX didn't seem to understand the basics of what make a good SSX game. My guess is that they spent all of their time on trying to be "new", without figuring out how to deliver the basics of what make the game so good. I hope they either retire the franchise, or dig up the people that made the good ones. Expand
  24. Mar 13, 2012
    1
    This game could've been fun if it wasn't so frustrating and hard, this game is ridiculously hard for no actual reason, people don't play these games to be skull rammed so hard they have to break something. The goal of the campaign is to come third in every event and become the best, honestly at least 70% of the events it has been made impossible to get 1st, why do they do this? Who knows. It is the worst system for game where you want some laidback fun with your mates... But ohhhhh wait there is no online or local play so you cant have a laugh with some mates!!!! Whose idea was that. Honestly. Who?! I want names! So yes don't play this game!!!!!!! Expand
  25. Apr 20, 2012
    2
    It took me 5 hours to realize that this game is actually just very dull. The tracks are a sprawling mess which would require a lifetime of play to memorize so going and finding shortcuts etc is just a pointless exercise. The control system is just rubbish, you basically push the stick to select which route you want to take and the game does the rest for you, it's often a case of trying to avoid grinding a certain rail. The trick system has turned into a button mashing exercise as there is no risk in deciding to go for uber-tricks anymore as all tricks land as long as you release the button before you land.

    Very disappointed, I think the developers should have made less content but concentrated on making the individual runs as fun and as memorable as possible.
    Expand
  26. May 20, 2012
    0
    SSX was never a realistic game and wanted to do it now ruining the game completely. SSX3 I liked and thought that the new SSX would look like and do not recommend this new version.
  27. Feb 28, 2012
    9
    Ah! SSX! I've been waiting for you ever since SSX 3! And yes, I realize that there were other SSX games which came out after #3 but I can't say they wowed me in any sort of way (especially 'Blur' which was a HUGE disappointment). Thankfully, the reboot is fun, fast, beautifully detailed, challenging, hard to put down and, most importantly, never dull.
    However, there are a few minor
    problems which, in my opinion, keep the game from earning a perfect 10: the pre-set soundtrack (by far the worst in the series), the randomization of the custom soundtrack (or LACK of randomization), and the bizarre omission of 2-player split-screen action. Let's start with the soundtrack: The tunes which came with the game are achingly bad... so terrible in fact that I had to mute the game on many occasions to avoid having my ears sullied with such boring mediocrity. Luckily enough there is a custom soundtrack option so shredding the mountain to your favorite tunes is a possibility (or mandatory if you're like me and can't stand the lack-luster pre-set songs). Still, there is a problem with this... the randomizer on the ps3 playlist sucks! I had a playlist of over 200 songs yet I keep hearing the same 20 or so over and over (Iâ Expand
  28. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    A great symbiosis between fun and competition and a brisk blow in times of a realism plagued MW & BF gaming world. Fast, tricky and some new features which make it worth buying.
  29. Feb 28, 2012
    9
    A fantastic evolution of the SSX franchise. The important feeling of speed, immense jumps, and ridiculous tricks are all here! A common complaint is a lack of traditional multiplayer, but I find the "Ridernet" multiplayer system to make up for it. While you cannot race a friend immediately next to you on the couch or participate in the matchmaking game types many are familiar with, you instead race your friend's and online opponents ghosts. The intense white-knuckle competition still exists, and it's awesome to know that your high score will be announced to your friends and other players you have crushed. I highly recommend picking SSX up today! Expand
  30. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    dont let other confuses you, THERE IS REAL TIME MULTIPLAYER, the only difference is that there is no lobbys, but they cant fix it with a patch. awesome game, awesome graphics, ton of content and replayebility, great soundtrack. this is the game of the year for me.
  31. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    I haven't been this addicted to a game in a long time. I never thought a snowboarding game could be be better than Amped 3, but man am I glad to be wrong. I didn't care too much for the older ssx games; they just weren't polished enough on the control side of things and didn't have enough customization or replay value. SSX brings all that and so much more. The campaign mode has you traversing trick and race modes on your way to conquer 9 different "deadly descents" which each require you too wear and learn how to use pieces of equipment to survive. I wasn't sure about how I felt about them the first couple of trips down, but now competing to get the best scores or times against not only my friends list, but the whole world is amazing. It adds a new layer of depth to an already complex game. You level up your characters and earn credits through just about everything you do. A level 4 character with good level 4 equipment might score a 4million run and a level 10 character with the best equipment might score an 80million run, so the competition is exciting and rewarding. I prefer this set-up to finding lobbies and competing against a few strangers who might have better stats than you anytime. There are plenty of varieties to the courses and difficulty ranges from letting go of the controller to get down the mountain all the way up to wtf times 11. The music is good but uploading your own tracks doesn't hurt after continuous hours of play. This game has great environmental graphics and character movement is hypnotic to watch with glowing stuff flying all over the screen. Loading times are thankfully very brief and if you do mess up it's likely player fault thanks to excellent tight controls. I'm looking forward to my next session and I can't wait to see the dlc for this game. Pick it up you like snowboarding, tony hawk games, competition games, racing games, easy games, hard games, there's something here for almost everyone. I couldn't give this game more thumbs up if I were someone with alot of thumbs. that sounded better in my head. see you in the sky. oh yeh, geotags are cool too. Expand
  32. Mar 1, 2012
    2
    If they cut any more corners, there would be nothing left. No splitscreen, no skiing?! WTF. Why would they just take a complete step back from previous installments. Whatever, I will just keep playing on tour. I hope the man who created this game burns in hell.
  33. Feb 28, 2012
    8
    The game is the Next-Gen version of one of the most classic games in Snowboarding in other consoles of past generations: SSX (Snowboarding Supercross) has a story based on 3 characters of the franchise, who want to ellect the 9 best snowboarders in the world, and to do this, they create a competition in various mountains, in all continents (there are 27 mountains in 9 continents, including Antarctica). The game brings back new and classic characters of various incarnations of the game: this title in particular has one of its most widely spoken (by the developers at EA Canada) innovations, the use of satellite maps from NASA to recreate the mountains in the game, with a reworking of it's features, and the interaction with players around the world (both of them, that we have already seen in Stoked, by the way). The gameplay basics: your character is able to perform the most diverse maneuvers, with simple combinations of buttons/analog controls, which fills bars of "special" moves, that let you perform craziest tricks yet - and you earn credits in competitions, using them to buy various accessories that allow from changing the characters clothing, to improving their individual characteristics. The "special" bars are of two types: the first a bar, is the "Tricky", where usual special maneuvers are made, and the maximum special bar, where you can perform the "Uber Tricks", which are the signature manuvers of each character, and the most impressive.With the credits you earn, you can buy from new clothing or accessories for your character, to equipment (including boards, which improve the basic attributes: Speed, Boost and Tricks), protective equipment (against impact in the "survival" modes), and other Boost upgrades for the player stats, that can be in Slots. The controls are simple and intuitive: analog sticks are used to rotate (LS) and maneuver (RS), and these can also be made with the respective control buttons, according to their position.Through the gameplay, you gain XP and Credits that are used to buy upgrades and accessories, respectively. There are the traditional tracks, where the goal is to compete against other player for points, and races modes, both normal and a variant with obstacles - and you can play both in day or night (much worse for the race with obstacles, by the way).In addition to the traditional modes where you follow the "story" and challenges the game, the main menu is a little confusing, in the style of Stoked, where you can access some of challenges and of course the part online, not tested - this incarnation of the game also use helicopters (as in Stoked) and wingsuit, (driven by RB).The online part is in the form of Global Events, where you can access constants challenges against any user connected to the EA server, and can also see all other users while they are in the same region you running around.The graphics are good: the style is the same cartoon -look, but more detailed and elaborate: some pixelation can be seen in the general details of the textures and menus, but not the characters. Overall the detail is not as good as other titles, as Stoked (who has the best graphics, in my opinion): light effects, are good too, but not a hypnotic thing as in previous versions of the franchise.The character style is exaggerated - for those unfamiliar with the series, they resemble the characters of Saints Row.The environments in the game are full of structures for tricks and grinds, among cliffs, gullies, trees, rails and everything else to be expected in a Snowboard game, but the graphics highlights in the game are the speed "feeling", huge jumps and mad maneuvers, and in these points, he impresses much more than the other snowboarding games in the Xbox 360.As for the sound track, the game has a particular style of presentation, that is the same of recent EA games (as in Dirt 3, among others), and features songs from various groups, ranging from styles such as Hip-Hop, Drum and Bass and electronics (particularly the lack of Rock bothers me, but there is the option to use a set list of your Xbox360 musics, and to disable the songs you do not like).The voices of the characters and their interjections, are irritating some times, but nothing like in Shaun White (thanks God), but in general are well balanced and appropriate to the game.My opinion?Graphically speaking, this is not the best game of Snowboarding in Xbox360 (not spectacular, but very good), but the high point of all the franchise, still is the Gameplay, so, in that respect, he is the best Xbox360 snowboarding game, ARCADE style, leaving behind Amped 3 and Shaun White Snowboarding (the worst game of the genre in my opinion).I did not think this game is the best of the SSX series, but it is a good return of the SSX, in a incarnation with new features added, and above all fun (which is all that matters); I expected more out of it in the total, but I am well pleased. My score: 8.2 / 10.0 Collapse
  34. Feb 29, 2012
    9
    One of the best action sports games I've played in a while. Brings back the memories for sure. I don't know why people are complaining about the controls, they're smooth and quick to get used to. All 3 different game modes are great and perfectly integrated with the "Rider Net" online. Good job EA.
  35. Mar 23, 2012
    5
    I bought this game thinking it would be at least similar to SSX 3 (Which happens to be one of my favorite games). However I played about 3 races and realized it is nothing like it. I just can't have fun with the game. More often than not I just end up riding up a wall if I'm not just using the worthless "rewind" feature. I really want to like the game but I just can't. It feels bland compared to 3. Bought it today and I plan on returning it today. Expand
  36. Mar 3, 2012
    9
    Great music, addictive game play, and a absolute blast to play. Competition with friends is amazing, aside from the lack of direct multiplayer. If you loved ANY of the other SSX games - this is a no question purchase.
  37. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    Finaly we get it ! best ssx incarnation of all time !! didn't know why Edge gave it a 5 it sems they dont know what a Snowboard is used to be !
    but anyway good job EA
  38. Feb 28, 2012
    8
    You get the feeling like after they scrapped the whole edgy SSX they lost touch with the charm the game should have. The music is sorta weak with a few exceptions and the characters feel kinda boring.

    Still though, the game is still SSX and it's still satisfying to land crazy tricks and go super fast.
  39. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    The perfect SSX game. Waited for many years for this and was not dissapointed. The person who submitted a 4/10 review is simply idiotic. Saying the multiplayer is pathetic or whatever he said is rediculous. Rather than put out the same old outdated lobby system where you spend more time waiting then playing, they made the genius RiderNet system, which will keep groups of friends locked in competition for ages. If you have a decent group of friends this type of multiplayer will provide you with much more entertainment than 'traditional' multiplayer. Oh and yes there IS real time multiplayer, dont let others tell you otherwise. Its called Global Events. This game is easy to pick up and play, and feel like your awesome, but difficult to master. The Ridernet systen and brilliant online features will keep you playing for absoloutely ages. They listenes to the fans and did exactly what was asked. Ssx is back, and this is possibly the best one yet. Definately the best reboot I've ever played. 10/10 Expand
  40. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    I loved SSX 3 and I love this. This game is everything it needed to be. A more polished version of the old SSX games with more content. Definately not regretting thus purchase!
  41. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    Great game. Extremely fun and addictive. The best non-shooter game out there at the moment. (Best shooter being Mass Effect 3)
  42. Jun 26, 2012
    4
    I've been a fan and Tricky Gamer since the beginning. I bought the game assuming online play would be a no brainer.....WRONG! The graphics are gorgeous and gameplay of single player is a lot of fun. Opened all the mountains around the globe...fun.... but ... wait for it..... ONLINE PASSCODE no longer works. No access to the online play and all the things I've opened(characters, mountains, etc.) GONE! It's been 3 weeks trying to work out the details with EA support in India - NO GO! Looking forward to Comicon where I can go tell these EA guys off. Awful customer service and the new Online Passcode jargon is a joke! Do not recommend any EA game because of this. Expand
  43. Mar 3, 2012
    9
    SSX is finally back after a long wait and does not let down. The main grip to be with game is its too hard, why don't you go cry about it? Skill levels of gamer's are raising so they make tracks to match for the high skills of players. Personally I enjoy a challenge, it is something that I feel that modern games have lost with the run, shoot and punch (or stab) cookie cutter call of duty's flooding the online services with people that think that is skill. But SSX stands out as one as the most fun and most challenging games to come out this decade. They want to vary it up so be thankful they care more about being fun then milking you for a $60 "game" that is really just next years model. So if your tired of shoot, go prone then shoot again this is a game to get, see you on the slopes! Expand
  44. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    The usual garbage from EA. First they destroy NFS now this. Split-screen taken away and no multiplayer. This is horrible even from EA standards. All effort put into single-player, which can be beaten in 5 hours. Instead of multiplayer high score system is in place, meaning you never race with anyone, you just try to beat scores. No competitiveness, and the game has been completely destroyed. SSX adds to the series that EA has destroyed. Except they somehow screwed this up worse than other series. Sure the gameplays good, thats about the only good thing about the game. Content wise its rubbish. Expand
  45. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    Ive started playing SSX at the first game on my PS2. The SSX Journey have been very long, and good. I still play SSX 3 and im lovin' it. But when i bought this... The Social Competition with your friends will never end. Those who think different are losers.
  46. Mar 1, 2012
    10
    So i have been a fan of SSX since the first game, and when i heard they were bringing back the series, i was super stoked. Im even more stoked to actually play it. So far Ive played a good 8 hours and im very satisfied with the final product. the controls are very easy for beginners and feel solid, the tricks are even more outrageous. Theres 3 parts to the game; World Tour, Explore, and Global Events. World Tour is basically the story but more of an extended tutorial that unloacks parts of Explore and sets you up with characters that you may not even want to have tried. Explore is the main meat of the game. Explore has a total of 153 events. Yes this is a very good thing, a lot of game, cant really run out quickly, but each event is essentially doubled. if theres a trick event (who has the highest score) or race, theres always the other event with the exact same track. Also most lines down a mountain feed into the same end. Not what I was expecting but theres still so much to do, its easy to look past. Lastly Global Events is basically the multiplayer. people set up an event on a track, anyone can acess it, set a score and the top players walk away with potentially a lot of credits (the in game currency to buy boards, suits and other accessories). to give you an idea of this, I entered a trick event, set a score of 12 million, i hold a platinum medal and when the event ends, i might win over 300 thousand credits. I say might because i might get knocked out of that spot and the more people who enter the event adds to the overall credit pool which is the credits the top players win. Now new to SSX are these Deadly Descents and Ridernet. The descents are kinda cool, the main purpose is to make it down the mountain alive. Some are a little cheesey but like I said theyre still cool. And Ridernet is basically Need for Speeds Auto log, a network where you and your friends compete with each other. This is really cool because you follow every run your friends do and they follow evey run you do and you strive to beat your friends scores in Explore. Theres a bunch of other smaller aspects to the game that make this a very cool, and endlessly replayable game. I highly recommend this game. Expand
  47. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    This SSX is a big sorprise, because is like a new burnout, but without cars, the characters wow, this is a great job of Electronic Arts, a new version of one of the better games that have. SSX is awesome.
  48. Mar 1, 2012
    7
    Those expecting to relive the glory days of SSX tricky and 3 will find this title to be either a
  49. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    This might be the best game in the series.
    +Amazing Graphics with colorful visuals
    +Deadly Descents are an amazing addition and keep you on your toes
    +Control is fluid and is Pick up and Play
    -NO HEAD TO HEAD MULTIPLAYER!!!!!
  50. Mar 8, 2012
    8
    I haven't played an SSX game before, but from first seeing this i began looking forward to it. After spending over a week on the game it proved to be worth the wait...The World Tour Mode is the games closest thing to a story mode, and while it is short and often easy, it does a great job of introducing the game, the mountain ranges and the characters. The bulk of the game is then the Explore mode, where you will be competing with friends and the computer to achieve the fastest time possible.... Then there is Global Events, a series of timed challenges across the drops where you can compete against thousands of other players, the faster you go, the higher you get paid. This is unfortunately as close as the game gets to multiplayer, you can see other players nearby but you are never really competing directly with them. A real time multiplayer mode would of done this game some huge favours..... The game has its problems, like all others. The sensitivity takes some time to get used to, and you will inevitably get stuck inside trees and rocks. It was also a shame to not see any real incentive to Gold Medal all 153 drops... Had it not been for the pursuit of achievements, i probably wouldn't of given this game too much time, but playing it while other friends were playing kept me interested and i enjoyed my time. Expand
  51. Mar 9, 2012
    8
    very fun and addictive multiplayer, and an all-around fun filled game. i would say the game does get a little repetitive, but it is a really good game. my only complaint is that i don't think it will have much lasting appeal.
  52. Mar 10, 2012
    8
    Fun revisit to the SSX franchise although I have two complaints. Firstly it can be a little lagged on my XBOX 360 from time to time, as the frame rate gets a tad jumpy, it doesn't happen often but it's disappointing when it does. Second, it's almost like it's trying to hard to be too hip... a little more tongue in cheek humor would have made it a bit more fun I think. Otherwise a fun game, looks great on a big TV! Expand
  53. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    Game is amazing. You will love it. I've never played a snowboarding game I love as much as this. That said, it is a bit of button masher, but still it is awesome.
  54. Feb 9, 2014
    0
    Just logged in to give a zero. Nuff said.

    Gameplay is not fun, I don't think there is much more to say after that. Clumsy snowboarding and clumsy level design.

    Two words so sum up the game, frustrating and messy.
  55. Mar 25, 2012
    8
    It's a really good game, but a few inconsistencies stop it from being great. Mainly the soundtrack was an instant turn off for me. It was a poor selection of mismatched beats that get broken up by the game filtering them in and out and throwing in a dubstep remix of Tricky , every ...single...time.. you get Tricky mode was killing me. I had to turn it all off and put on some music that wouldn't get interrupted by such nonsense. Sad thing is, most of what I listen to is actually similar, but the game companies treat music as a simple asset and not an actual part of the game that helps with concentration and flow. I also feel like once you do get tricky , the tricks actually get more boring. With only a couple different rail trick animations, it doesn't feel like I'm mixing a whole lot into my runs, though the "pick a hand or both" grab system is fun to work with. I'm not huge on the World Event online hub thing either. I tend to question why one person can have literally twice the score as the second one out of "luck", and 83,000+ people can be competing on the same even while meanwhile I'm getting free diamonds from stuff that no one is doing because I win by default, thus making more money than the people throwing themselves at a leaderboard that they possibly can't even break into. It's a flawed system, but being able to directly challenge my friends is golden, so I'm not sure where people came off with no multi-player complaints because the system is there in abundance. Also I can't complain about the difficulty and I'm not sure why others do. I'm GLAD its very challenging and even when its not it has a rewind function and the World Tour will even finish levels for you. It's a shame those people didn't give it enough chance to see the Alps levels and others because they described the experience they were looking for. (mindless trick mashing with no danger). I guess the game didn't play by itself? ...We need more hard games like this, not stuff that was meant for people that should've just stuck to Pokeman and anime in the first place. Expand
  56. May 23, 2012
    10
    Absolutely one of the most fun times I have had with a game EVER! Something about this game just clicked with me, which is especially weird since this was my first outing with an SSX title. It wasn't long after I bought the game, that I was cruising down the mountain posting multi-million point scores. I must say that the game does a great job of making you feel awesome while you shred down the mountain. The Rider-Net feature is also amazing as it is constantly updating you with stats from your friends list as they/you beat each others high scores. Even the story (although short) was entertaining as it introduces you to a lot of the other things the game has to offer besides besting my friends scores. An absolute must buy! Expand
  57. Mar 30, 2012
    8
    I originally rated this game a 6, and wrote the review that follows at the end here. While I feel that all of my initial criticisms are still valid, now that I've spent more time with the game (I later received it as a gift) I have grown to much more appreciate its merits, and am now revising my rating to an 8. This was largely inspired by the depth I've come to find in improving my performances at the numerous events, which is really what this game is all about. It's highly addicting to always have a new ghost rider alongside, often an xbox friend, doing just slightly better than you, and then learning one more skillful move to execute on the run and best them. Usually this is immediately followed by finding a tougher opponent's performance ready to further your challenge and keep the pressure on.. There is a lot of skill to be mastered in game, much more so than I originally gave the game credit for, and I really think folks complaining about the controls just haven't given it enough time. I also like how the game makes you "bet" on yourself and how well you can compete by forcing you to spend your own in-game currency savings on event entry fees. (Place at least moderately well and you'll win back that fee and some profit. You'll use these earnings to buy better gear, but skill will still mostly decide your performance.) There are still a lot of courses I avoid because they feature too much cheap death or not-fun gameplay for my taste, but out of the huge number of runs I've found at least a few dozen that are a blast to play, which is more than prior gen titles offered in total. And who knows, maybe you'll like some runs I hate, so there's probably something for everybody. So I'd say now, if you're on the fence, definitely give this game at least a rental, just be prepared to invest some time in really mastering it. (And don't be expecting a remake of SSX 3!) // My Original Review (original score = 6): I adored SSX 3, and happily wiled away a good many hours carving and tricking my way down the Mountain. I used to love the 20 minute long runs from summit to base and all the untouched, freshly powdered wilderness I could explore. This new game is not that SSX. It's a pretty solid game, but it just didn't do it for me. For me, in this version, most courses end up feeling pretty similar. There is some variety to be sure, mostly involving gimmicks like the wing suit, but when it comes to the bread and butter runs, it all kind of blurs together for me, and most runs are lacking in stand out moments. Maybe that's more so because this version puts marked ramps, rails (so many rails) and flare lights on every single run in the game. So there's no real back country any more, and not a single run looks truly "natural". And for all the ramp markings it does add, it seems to intentionally not mark any of the many sudden drops off into a deadly chasm. This leads to a ridiculous amount of cheap deaths on most of the harder runs until you memorize the course. This is not remotely fun. It would have made so much more sense to mark them with signs or paint or something so you could plan your lines to avoid them. What's worse is that all these fatal chasms have some kind of cloudy layer over them, that is the same color and a similar texture as the snow! So sometimes you might even see them coming over the next ledge but can't distinguish them from a safe landing spot until you're well on your way to plummeting to your death. It's kind of ridiculous, and it's so prevalent on so many runs that I'd mark down a review score point just for that. Sure there's rewind, but that eats so much time during races (the other riders keep going) that you might as well restart your run if you're serious about your finishing time. Also rewind is hard to use, because you often can't readily gauge the least amount of time you'd need to rewind to have enough control to alter course. Too often I'd rewind and then realize I was still carrying so much momentum, or that some ill fated trick was still getting ready to happen, that my fate was still sealed. The best feature is probably the online play. If you like competing they've got you covered in spades, and it seems to work great. I found myself getting addicted to competing in the global events, even as I was finding myself bored and unsatisfied with the overall game. Sure it's all a matter of doing the same thing over and over again, but if you do it enough, you can start to win and enjoy that fleeting rush of superiority. The graphics are solid, though I would have hoped for more weather effects. At least I'd have expected it to carry the bar set by its nine-years-older predecessor. Overall, it's a fine game, but if you loved SSX3, I think you'll be at least a little disappointed. Some better course designs could have improved the game so much. I'm sure many will enjoy this game, and I was glad I rented it, but I was really hoping for better.. Expand
  58. Apr 5, 2012
    9
    SSX is packed full of intense snowboarding with a fun arcade feel. It rewards skill, but isn't too demanding that it becomes a chore just to finish. Not every course is perfect and some border on downright frustrating with thin trails and bottomless pits, but they're certainly not impossible. Veterans of the over-the-top series will feel right at home on the slopes, even if the mountains are now truer to life. I can't help having a good time trying to top the leaderboards, unlock better gear and just see what I'm capable of if I attempt that last run one more time. The increased focus on survival might not win over the non-believers, but SSX is definitely worth at least a try for those unfamiliar with the series and, who knows, you just might find yourself addicted to the board by the time you reach the bottom of the mountain. Expand
  59. May 15, 2012
    7
    This game is a fun game but what makes it so fun to me is the fact the snowboarding genre has been empty for quite sometime. This is a fun game and it has many different mountains to have fun on but this game didn't blow me away. The biggest flaw to me was the "Deadly Decents" this is basically the last thing you do when completing a mountain. These are extremely frustrating to complete. Overall this game is fun. Nothing more nothing less. Expand
  60. Mar 28, 2012
    7
    It's TRICKY!!! To write a review for this game as I am a huge fan of the original SSX and Tricky franchise and as good as this game is it is lacking in character to be honest. I'll start with the decents as enjoyable as the slopes and decents are they are not visually stunning, backgrounds are non-existent which is a real shame. Some of the older titles had really good visuals and immersed the player deeply in the environment.

    The campaign was an interesting ideal but i don't think EA put too much application to it after it left the thought bubble in pre-production. The idea for nine deadly decents was fascinating and had me hooked before release. Once i finished the story i left slightly dissappointed it was good but not SSX standards to be fair. Ridernet on the other hand was genius addition compared to its counterpart in Need For Speed titles, Ridernet suits SSX to the core. The Global challenges were also a fantastic way to compete against people from around the world without the worry of laggy sessions. Even if there was one guy who was getting 147+ million score on Serenity (which is my favourite slope i might add). What the game was lacking in the multi player section was competitive races against actual players rather than ghosts. Even if these sessions had of lagged from cross globe connections this game mode should not have been overlooked, players should have been allowed to decide to play this rather than leaving it out altogether. The lack of split screen offline play left players divided and i am on the side that thinks this should have been implemented. The magic of original SSX games was challenging your friend to a Trick It event on the same television and once this was removed it left a slight void to the games enjoyability factor.

    All in all though this game had most of the charm that fans of the series know and love. The soundtrack was great in my opinion i loved how when you got enough air the song went all static. Grinding rails, trees or ice crops as well as other objects caused the song to skip like some lunatic DJ going to town on a record. The one thing that got on my nerves was tttttrrriiiicccckkkyyyyy popping up when your tricky meter filled up, just as the song was getting to a good drop or chorus but it brought back some nostalgia of days gone by. Also as far as i know this could be turned off in the options so it was not really game breaking. Something in me has to give this game a okay score as i loved the originals and maybe just maybe there could be some DLC to change some of the above letdowns i can live in hope. I am giving this a 7 out of 10 as i really enjoyed it but sometimes it left me gobsmacked like Eddie had hit me square in the face with a snowball.
    Expand
  61. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    WOW! incredible... this game is so fun and addictive. A must buy. The best out of the SSX series and the third masterpiece of the year from electronic arts. (Kings of Amatur: Rekoning, and Mass Effect 3 (Insane!).
  62. Apr 3, 2012
    7
    I really loved SSX, until now. Now I just like it.
    It's not as bad as I feared, but it isn't anywhere near as good as the franchise was.
    Hopefully they can restore the franchise if it gets another chance!
  63. Apr 7, 2012
    6
    Having love the past SSX games, I preordered my copy long ago. I loved that it was getting back to it's roots or so it seemed. The end result left a lot to be desired. Yes, almost everything is there but it seems like it's missing it's...fun! In past games I would retry slopes over and over again for the pure fun of it whereas now all I want to do is get to the finish line so I can move on. The character customisation that I hoped for is basically choosing a different color outfit. Some of the most amazing peaks can only be played with survival gear which makes it more of a chore. The online play sounded awesome has a very lonely feel to it as I haven't actually played 'with' anyone, just their best times. Friends can be raced with properly but to race anyone else you need to sent friend requests to them. (Maybe I'm alone in this but I don't want to switch on my Xbox to be told I have several hundred friends online with all their notifications popping up.) Now it's not all bad though. Music is great (though I had to dramatically change the volumes so I could hear it) and although it's nice to see my fave characters return they don't seem themselves. Perhaps due to a lack of interaction? It does have some great features like the GeoTag system and the way the world map is designed. The slopes though are all very similar, no skidding though cities or down pinball style tracks. It's all snow, rocks and places to fall (there are an abundance of those by the way!). At the end of the day, I've started so I'll finish but this isn't a game that will have me wanting to play that bit extra. Expand
  64. May 5, 2012
    10
    If I would have written a review during the first few hours of playing this game, I would have ranted about how it's changed, how there are far more hazards and the overall courses are a lot less friendly.

    Now that I've poured dozens of hours into it to get a good feel for the game, I absolutely love it. The explore mode is where the real game is. Once you get the hang of it it stops
    being frustrating and starts being a fun challenge - hey, if you can't finish one event on a track, try another one, or another track, seriously there are dozens of them. The world event is really a cool feature too, it makes the game fresh when you've gotten tired of the records offline. Absolutely adore it, great buy at only $40 dollars new right now, I recommend this to anyone who likes technical/twitch games like I do. Expand
  65. May 17, 2012
    10
    SSX is back and it brings back all of the classic nostalgia of being an extreme snowboarder. The term, "Defy Reality," is what simply describes this intense snowboarding game. It has been such a long time since a new and worthy SSX title has been released. This reboot of the title is very worthy of the name. You have single player story mode called "World Tour," which helps you get a feel of what SSX is really about. And then you have the competitive but still technically single player mode, "Explore," which allows you to race, and set record times down online for your friends to try and beat. You can also set trick score records down along with survival records in Deadly Descents which your friends are also able to try and beat. And finally, the online game mode, also known as, "Global Events." Global Events allows you to go online and compete against thousands upon thousands of people. You set scores down and fall into a certain bracket average with other people. You and the other people within that bracket will gain credits by the end of the event. Credits are used to purchase new suits, boards, survival equipment and more. The online is fun, but you aren't able to face your friends or others in real time. You face their ghosts that aren't really live people playing. That is kind of a bummer, but the game is still an amazing reboot of the SSX franchise and I can't wait to play the next one! Expand
  66. Jun 5, 2012
    9
    I really. Liked this game. Great in game music, and overall very fun. A good amount of customization, and terific slopes provided to board down.. I Played one of the origonals on the ps2, and admitingly it was abit better. But this is definatly worth the buy. And a TON of tricks to pull, some insane. Its worth it just to see the tricks!
  67. Sep 5, 2012
    7
    While its hard to take this game on merit alone for us who played the likes of sex tricky and SSX 3, Il try to keep it objective. Firstly there is no 2 player splitscreen mode! Major points lost there. All the riders are pretty easy to unlock within your first hour of play, unlocks have proven over time to be a great incentive to keep on playing. The only incentive I had to keep playing was for the achievements, many of which require months of playing time to achieve. There are way too many tracks! So learning the routes and honing your skills and times isn't an option. But other than that its a good game. Game play is slightly different to older ssx titles but once U get used to it its good. And the gear and equipment are welcome additions but overall they missed the mark, with way to many changes needed to make this game great. 7,5/10 Expand
  68. Jan 2, 2013
    0
    This game has the absolute worst control I have seen in a long time. Every controller input has a delay that hinders any fun this game may have had. This game is not worth purchasing at all.
  69. Feb 28, 2012
    0
    The game is the Next-Gen version of one of the most classic games in Snowboarding in other consoles of past generations: SSX (Snowboarding Supercross) has a story based on 3 characters of the franchise, who want to ellect the 9 best snowboarders in the world, and to do this, they create a competition in various mountains, in all continents (there are 27 mountains in 9 continents, including Antarctica). The game brings back new and classic characters of various incarnations of the game: this title in particular has one of its most widely spoken (by the developers at EA Canada) innovations, the use of satellite maps from NASA to recreate the mountains in the game, with a reworking of it's features, and the interaction with players around the world (both of them, that we have already seen in Stoked, by the way). The gameplay basics: your character is able to perform the most diverse maneuvers, with simple combinations of buttons/analog controls, which fills bars of "special" moves, that let you perform craziest tricks yet - and you earn credits in competitions, using them to buy various accessories that allow from changing the characters clothing, to improving their individual characteristics. The "special" bars are of two types: the first a bar, is the "Tricky", where usual special maneuvers are made, and the maximum special bar, where you can perform the "Uber Tricks", which are the signature manuvers of each character, and the most impressive.With the credits you earn, you can buy from new clothing or accessories for your character, to equipment (including boards, which improve the basic attributes: Speed, Boost and Tricks), protective equipment (against impact in the "survival" modes), and other Boost upgrades for the player stats, that can be in Slots. The controls are simple and intuitive: analog sticks are used to rotate (LS) and maneuver (RS), and these can also be made with the respective control buttons, according to their position.Through the gameplay, you gain XP and Credits that are used to buy upgrades and accessories, respectively. There are the traditional tracks, where the goal is to compete against other player for points, and races modes, both normal and a variant with obstacles - and you can play both in day or night (much worse for the race with obstacles, by the way).In addition to the traditional modes where you follow the "story" and challenges the game, the main menu is a little confusing, in the style of Stoked, where you can access some of challenges and of course the part online, not tested - this incarnation of the game also use helicopters (as in Stoked) and wingsuit, (driven by RB).The online part is in the form of Global Events, where you can access constants challenges against any user connected to the EA server, and can also see all other users while they are in the same region you running around.The graphics are good: the style is the same cartoon -look, but more detailed and elaborate: some pixelation can be seen in the general details of the textures and menus, but not the characters. Overall the detail is not as good as other titles, as Stoked (who has the best graphics, in my opinion): light effects, are good too, but not a hypnotic thing as in previous versions of the franchise.The character style is exaggerated - for those unfamiliar with the series, they resemble the characters of Saints Row.The environments in the game are full of structures for tricks and grinds, among cliffs, gullies, trees, rails and everything else to be expected in a Snowboard game, but the graphics highlights in the game are the speed "feeling", huge jumps and mad maneuvers, and in these points, he impresses much more than the other snowboarding games in the Xbox 360.As for the sound track, the game has a particular style of presentation, that is the same of recent EA games (as in Dirt 3, among others), and features songs from various groups, ranging from styles such as Hip-Hop, Drum and Bass and electronics (particularly the lack of Rock bothers me, but there is the option to use a set list of your Xbox360 musics, and to disable the songs you do not like).The voices of the characters and their interjections, are irritating some times, but nothing like in Shaun White (thanks God), but in general are well balanced and appropriate to the game.My opinion?Graphically speaking, this is not the best game of Snowboarding in Xbox360 (not spectacular, but very good), but the high point of all the franchise, still is the Gameplay, so, in that respect, he is the best Xbox360 snowboarding game, ARCADE style, leaving behind Amped 3 and Shaun White Snowboarding (the worst game of the genre in my opinion).I did not think this game is the best of the SSX series, but it is a good return of the SSX, in a incarnation with new features added, and above all fun (which is all that matters); I expected more out of it in the total, but I am well pleased. My score: 8.2 / 10.0 Collapse
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 65
  2. Negative: 1 out of 65
  1. May 5, 2012
    85
    The creators succeeded in reviving the SSX-franchise. The slopes are varied, challenging and incredibly fast. There is always challenge to be found, especially in the expansive multiplayer, but new players shouldn't have any problems picking it up.
  2. Apr 12, 2012
    80
    Kudos to the development team for creating some truly insane courses. [May 2012, p.72]
  3. Apr 11, 2012
    45
    Whether your favorite was SSX Tricky or SSX 3, this latest entry, simply titled "SSX," has virtually nothing to do with the franchise fans fell in love. Voiceovers from DJ Atomika have been slapped on top to reassure you that yes, you're playing an SSX game, but the gameplay, courses, and overall quality are saying something else entirely.