SSX Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 188 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: SSX allows players to experience the franchise’s signature fun and adrenaline-packed gameplay across iconic mountain ranges all over the world. Utilizing NASA topographical satellite data, we’ve mapped out a Massive World for players to explore. Using a Google-Earth inspired interface,SSX allows players to experience the franchise’s signature fun and adrenaline-packed gameplay across iconic mountain ranges all over the world. Utilizing NASA topographical satellite data, we’ve mapped out a Massive World for players to explore. Using a Google-Earth inspired interface, navigate throughout nine expansive mountain ranges and regions, each with multiple peaks and multiple drops. SSX packs reality-defying gameplay into every run letting players Race, Trick, and Survive down huge open mountains. In addition, Explore, Global Events and RiderNet - SSX’s recommendation engine - headline an online feature set that will revolutionize social competition for gamers, making it fun and easy to compete with friends on your schedule. Expand
Buy On
  • Developer: EA Canada
  • Genre(s): Sports, Alternative, Individual, Snowboarding, Snowboarding, Ski / Snowboard
  • # of players: 1 Player
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: E
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Massive World Dev Diary: Part 3
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 65
  2. Negative: 1 out of 65
  1. Mar 15, 2012
    100
    The overall takeaway I get while playing SSX: sometimes EA gets it exactly right. Sometimes their experience from a dozen misguided games, and a half dozen decent games, and two or three really good games is distilled into one perfect example of how some AAA titles are every bit as awesome as they're supposed to be.
  2. 90
    As a series reboot this is perfectly acceptable, but it's the new and innovative online aspects that make SSX feel absolutely superb. Packed to the brim with clever ideas, SSX is a truly unmissable surprise. While most other online modes feel like painting-by-numbers, SSX shrugs and tries something refreshingly different. This isn't just brave - it's brilliant.
  3. Feb 29, 2012
    90
    It's been a long wait but well worth it: SSX returns at its best with a new approach to the snowboarding genre. Its exaggerated tricks mixed with the new survival tune, well crafted graphics and abundance of content make it the game that SSX fans - and generally extreme sports games fans - were dreaming of during the last few years.
  4. Feb 28, 2012
    85
    I ran into a few issues -- namely the occasionally frustrating level design, which is inconsistent at best -- but there's so much to love that the problematic aspects don't sully an otherwise terrific game. Between character leveling, equipment, hundreds of drops, and rivalries with friends, SSX is going to provide months of entertainment for most of us.
  5. Mar 13, 2012
    80
    If you have ever enjoyed a single moment from the last generation games, you need to own SSX. Newcomers should not fear getting their snowboots wet with SSX. Like the other games, it is easy to get into and the online Ridernet helps fuel the flame of competition for many months to come.
  6. Feb 28, 2012
    80
    Despite some rough patches in difficulty, SSX manages to modernize itself with realism, course variety, and seamlessly integrated multiplayer. Even with the courses littered with pits and darkness, they can either be avoided or faced head-on with the same intensity as an epic boss battle. it doesn't have as bold of a personality than before, but ready or not, SSX is here to stay.
  7. Apr 11, 2012
    45
    Whether your favorite was SSX Tricky or SSX 3, this latest entry, simply titled "SSX," has virtually nothing to do with the franchise fans fell in love. Voiceovers from DJ Atomika have been slapped on top to reassure you that yes, you're playing an SSX game, but the gameplay, courses, and overall quality are saying something else entirely.

See all 65 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 80
  2. Negative: 22 out of 80
  1. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    I've been a fan of the SSX series since the first release of SSX on the PS2. Though I lost a little interest after SSX 3 seeing "On Tour" andI've been a fan of the SSX series since the first release of SSX on the PS2. Though I lost a little interest after SSX 3 seeing "On Tour" and "Blur" seemed a little ridiculous so I stuck with SSX 3 until I got burnt out and moved on. It had been years since I've played any of the previous SSX titles so I got online to check and see if any new titles were in the near future and sure enough, SSX was coming to 360 and PS3 and it looked amazing. I waited impatiently for the demo to release on XBL and honestly, the demo doesn't do the game justice. The new "Survive It" mode is intense. It has a new feel with new controls but for SSX veterans, you have the option to switch it to old school controls but it seems you don't twist and turn as fast as the default controls. It takes a couple races and trick sessions to get used to, but once you have it down you'll be carving down every mountain with ease. There is a lot more I could say, but I'm sure you've already heard. This game brings back good memories that I had with SSX but in a new and more intense way. You will enjoy this if you're an SSX fan so pick it up right now and get to shreddin'!! Expand
  2. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    Game is amazing. You will love it. I've never played a snowboarding game I love as much as this. That said, it is a bit of button masher, butGame is amazing. You will love it. I've never played a snowboarding game I love as much as this. That said, it is a bit of button masher, but still it is awesome. Expand
  3. Feb 29, 2012
    9
    I been a ssx fan for a long time now and I will first say this isnt ssx tricky as I hoped it would be but it is a lot better then ssx on tourI been a ssx fan for a long time now and I will first say this isnt ssx tricky as I hoped it would be but it is a lot better then ssx on tour or ssx 3. The tricks are even more insane then tricky which I actually didn't want because I thought they were just right back then. The different boards have varied stats and there are items you can buy with in game currency that will change your attributes which is all fine but the added extra items I dislike except the wingsuit which allows you to clear massive gaps(short bursts of flight) The amount of courses is very impressive and the added competitiveness of beating your friends ghost times or trick scores is very fun. All in all I would reccomend this for anyone who loves ssx,snowboarding or any type of arcade game where you can rack up points doing insane things. It seems a lot easier then ever before which will cater to casual players but with the sheer number of courses and all the fun that is offered here it isn't much of a detractor.Enjoy! xbox360 gamertag solsunforge. Look me up I need the competition. Expand
  4. Feb 28, 2012
    7
    I actually had a chance to play this game 4 days before it was released. After putting in a good 15-20 hours, This game is better than what II actually had a chance to play this game 4 days before it was released. After putting in a good 15-20 hours, This game is better than what I had expected. The game-play is extremely addicting and never seems to get old. The game is still not repetitive even after doing all the descents. The first time you get into Super Tricky mode and you hear run start singing it's EPIC! The variety of the different areas is very impressive. EA Canada really did go all out with the creativity in equipment needed for the different mountain ranges. The survival stages are a great new and intense addition to the series. Loading times seem almost non-existent at times, which may not be a big deal but I think it's great. Using RiderNet gives you the ability to compete in races online with ghosts is really cool because you don't have to be on the at the same time to play with a friend technically. The music is fresh and is really unique how it mixes the songs based on how you move and tricks you do, It also works with your own custom music. The few negatives I thought are that there's no option for 2 player split-screen, No lobbies or match-making for "Live" multiplayer races. Even with the multiplayer being a bit non-traditional, the new take on online is actually very convenient and I actually like it. Overall this is a game that should not be missed. If you are an ssx vet, you will feel like a kid again playing this game. This game and Twisted Metal IMO, bring back the fun in games and game play. Back when the industry thought more about game play than graphics. I highly recommend this game for anyone looking for a genuinely fun time. Expand
  5. Sep 5, 2015
    6
    As a long time fan of SSX, it was definitely a disappointment playing this game. While the game itself is not bad by any means, the franchiseAs a long time fan of SSX, it was definitely a disappointment playing this game. While the game itself is not bad by any means, the franchise took such a serious and strange turn away from what made the other SSX games so much fun. Instead of going for as many tricks as possible or trying to win races, the emphasis in this entry is to 'survive'. New and returning characters do not showcase anywhere close to the personality they had in previous games. The game just seems to have taken such a serious turn for no real reason. Much like the problem with SSX On Tour, SSX 2012 brings change where it never needed to be in the first place. The high point of the series lies in SSX Tricky or even SSX3, HD remakes of those games would've been more appreciated than this game. Expand
  6. bpk
    May 3, 2012
    4
    I ended up trading the game in. I wanted so badly to like it, but after two months I stopped trying to make myself believe that I was havingI ended up trading the game in. I wanted so badly to like it, but after two months I stopped trying to make myself believe that I was having fun. I feel that the SSX dev team was sincerely committed to making a strong game and I give TB and the rest of the guys credit for strong post-launch support. At the end of the day, however, this game feels like a chore to play (at least to me) for the following reasons:

    1. This game never shed the "deadly descent" idea of the original trailer. When the backlash occurred, they repackaged the game and stressed the lighter side...but the mountains clearly show the stamp of the "extreme" philosophy behind the game. Death pits and dying (in an SSX game???) are not why I play this series. More forgiving courses exist but they are few and far between. It's a strange game where only 1/3 of the racing drops are fun to me. Give me Snowdream, Elysium Alps, and Merqury City any day.

    2. The "equipment" is gimmicky and adds nothing to the series. I don't want to buy oxygen tanks, pulse goggles, or headlamps. All I want to do is shred down the mountain. The previous SSX games charmed me with their simplicity. This game bludgeons me over the head with forced equipment.

    3. Split-screen multiplayer. Didn't realize I'd miss it this much until I sat down with my sibblings and we could only watch each other play. Some of my most fun gaming memories are playing Tricky and SSX3 with my sister. Racing or tricking against her while being in the same room was just a blast. I understand why the team axed it - and to their credit the online mode is well implemented - but this generation's trend away from split screen gaming has been a big letdown. 4. I played SSX3 and Tricky the other day and, despite these games being over a decade old, I was instantly having fun. I don't get this with the new SSX. It simply makes me want to rage.

    I'm glad that the DLC returns to the roots of the series, but for me it's too little too late. Having spent $60 by buying this on day one, spending another $8 to get the "classic" SSX experience is a slap in the face. I also find it revealing that the first DLC is a nod to the previous games. Perhaps the dev team sensed that they alienated some of the old-time fans of the series. To conclude, I'm jealous of those of you who enjoy the game. Like many of us, I badly wanted and waited for an SSX game this gen. The series has changed and while it may seem for the better to some, I can't help but feel let down. Looks like it's back to Tricky and 3 for another decade. :)
    Expand
  7. Jan 2, 2013
    0
    This game has the absolute worst control I have seen in a long time. Every controller input has a delay that hinders any fun this game mayThis game has the absolute worst control I have seen in a long time. Every controller input has a delay that hinders any fun this game may have had. This game is not worth purchasing at all. Expand

See all 80 User Reviews