Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. Feb 9, 2011
    80
    If you love just messing around within an engaging world and you aren't merely single-mindedly driven toward a goal, Stacking will delight you. But if you're one of those impatient people who can't be bothered by anything other than the task at hand, there's a chance you'll be disappointed with its lack of difficulty and emphasis on collection and multiple solutions. Even if you are of the second group though, Stacking could very well win you over with its charming presentation.
  2. Feb 9, 2011
    80
    An enchanting world seamlessly combines with fun gameplay and rewarding puzzles to make Stacking a magical adventure.
  3. Feb 9, 2011
    80
    Stacking looks like a trifling little downloadable title, but the game has a surprising amount of heart.
  4. Feb 9, 2011
    80
    Stacking is right up there with the likes of Braid and Limbo as an absolute must-download.
  5. Feb 27, 2011
    75
    A very original game, both from the gameplay and artistic points of view; what keeps it from being a real masterpiece are its simplicity and repetitiveness in objectives. It's however highly suggested to everyone looking for different and innovative gaming experiences.
  6. Feb 14, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Mar 7, 2011
    60
    Although its story and world with its dark and gloomy industrial setting is interesting, its puzzle-solving and platforming elements are to easy. The game might be great for casual gamers and those who are new to the genre, but those who expected Schaefers old lunacy and absurdities, will probably be disappointed.
  8. Feb 14, 2011
    50
    I feel the humor falls a little flat, and while I found plenty of stuff to laugh at with Costume Quest, the adventures of a little matryoshka doll named Charlie hasn't done much for me.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Apr 11, 2011
    10
    Incredibly stylised, unique and intuitive. An artistic demonstration of what can be done with an interactive medium. Be warned however, itIncredibly stylised, unique and intuitive. An artistic demonstration of what can be done with an interactive medium. Be warned however, it does come with Schafer's signature "How the hell was I s'pose to figure that out" puzzles. A must buy if you are looking for something entirely different. Full Review »
  2. Feb 27, 2011
    10
    One of the most beautiful, creative, puzzling, and enjoyable games I've played in a long time. Fantastic art, great dialog, clever puzzles,One of the most beautiful, creative, puzzling, and enjoyable games I've played in a long time. Fantastic art, great dialog, clever puzzles, with lots of extras to keep things interesting. It even features a good built-in hint system with progressively more revealing hints in case you're really stuck. Full Review »
  3. Oct 2, 2013
    8
    One of the most original and most creative games I have ever played. Almost all the ideas in this game are executed so masterfully, they justOne of the most original and most creative games I have ever played. Almost all the ideas in this game are executed so masterfully, they just feel genius. Its hard to imagine how they came up with such original, creative ideas and implemented them in game form so well, since on paper this game seems like it could go so wrong in so many ways. I'm especially delighted with the overarching game mechanic of the "stacking". It just works so well. At first I thought this would just be a gimmick that would quickly get old. But its not at all, and works as a great solid foundation for the rest of the game. This is indeed a testament to how skillful the developers of this game are! The game is very charming, has a tremendous amount of character, and has a great quirky sense of humor. The game has an awesome satire theme to it and made me smile and laugh out loud a lot throughout. Its been awhile since I played a game with some really great puzzles. The puzzles in this game are a good challenge...they will stump you, but if you pay close attention to the game, you will find clues to figure out solutions to the puzzles. The presentation is top notch in this game, the controls are great, the only thing that frustrated me was near the end, there can be a lot of backtracking from confusion of how to solve puzzles, so it can get very grating. If they make a sequel I hope they improve the game design so you can get to places faster. It would help the pacing of the game. Also, the silent movie sequences were a bit too long for me and became more annoying than fun to watch as charming as they were, I just wanted to play the game already! :P Full Review »