User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 43
  2. Negative: 3 out of 43

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 27, 2013
    9
    Beautiful visuals, original idea, and butt load of fun to play. Stacking may not be for everyone, but this is one of those rare games that tries to do something new and it works. I had a blast playing this game and I wish I could go into more detail, but this is one of those games where you have to play it for yourself to truly appreciate what it's trying to do. Overall: A fantastic game that should be in everyone's collection. Expand
  2. Oct 2, 2013
    8
    One of the most original and most creative games I have ever played. Almost all the ideas in this game are executed so masterfully, they just feel genius. Its hard to imagine how they came up with such original, creative ideas and implemented them in game form so well, since on paper this game seems like it could go so wrong in so many ways. I'm especially delighted with the overarching game mechanic of the "stacking". It just works so well. At first I thought this would just be a gimmick that would quickly get old. But its not at all, and works as a great solid foundation for the rest of the game. This is indeed a testament to how skillful the developers of this game are! The game is very charming, has a tremendous amount of character, and has a great quirky sense of humor. The game has an awesome satire theme to it and made me smile and laugh out loud a lot throughout. Its been awhile since I played a game with some really great puzzles. The puzzles in this game are a good challenge...they will stump you, but if you pay close attention to the game, you will find clues to figure out solutions to the puzzles. The presentation is top notch in this game, the controls are great, the only thing that frustrated me was near the end, there can be a lot of backtracking from confusion of how to solve puzzles, so it can get very grating. If they make a sequel I hope they improve the game design so you can get to places faster. It would help the pacing of the game. Also, the silent movie sequences were a bit too long for me and became more annoying than fun to watch as charming as they were, I just wanted to play the game already! :P Expand
  3. Dec 12, 2012
    9
    One of the best puzzle games on the market. The game has a great art style, and a story line which you think would be bad but after playing the game you find to be really fun. Once again another great game from Double Fine.
  4. Apr 11, 2011
    10
    Incredibly stylised, unique and intuitive. An artistic demonstration of what can be done with an interactive medium. Be warned however, it does come with Schafer's signature "How the hell was I s'pose to figure that out" puzzles. A must buy if you are looking for something entirely different.
  5. Feb 10, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is beautiful... The game play is great, the art is terrific and also the history. If you don't know if spend your MP... don't worry, trust me... this is a good option, this is a wonderful game. Expand
  6. Mar 6, 2011
    7
    The style of the game is immediately eye-catching and oozing with charm, which drew me in enough to buy the game. The soundtrack is minimal and a bit too sombre for the quirky style of the game for my liking, I say this because 'Double Fine' have fun and entertaining games but the sound design fell a bit short, as in the fact I was hoping for some upbeat 1930s-esq (could be a bit off with the era it is portraying) tune in there somewhere through the adventure. It was a fun ride but a short one and I cant help feeling that they held back on the puzzles, because there is so much potential for the mechanic of the game. The pricing was a bit steep, but none the less a charming adventure-puzzle game. Expand
  7. Feb 27, 2011
    10
    One of the most beautiful, creative, puzzling, and enjoyable games I've played in a long time. Fantastic art, great dialog, clever puzzles, with lots of extras to keep things interesting. It even features a good built-in hint system with progressively more revealing hints in case you're really stuck.
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. May 12, 2011
    88
    It may be short, but what it makes up in is an absolute unique experience with an amazing art direction filled with humor that only Shafer could come up with. Clever writing, amazing story telling and unique characters will have you remembering Stacking for quite some time to come after you've saved your family.
  2. Apr 18, 2011
    85
    Stacking is one of the most charming games you'll ever find, a refreshing break from the ubiquitous shooters flooding the market. It may not have much replay value, but you will still enjoy your stay in the whimsical, unique world of Charlie and his fellow stacking dolls.
  3. Apr 7, 2011
    85
    Stacking is a fun, memorable experience and its sheer uniqueness makes it another successful endeavor by Double Fine.