Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 68 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Stacking is the second downloadable game produced by THQ and the award-winning Double Fine Productions. The adventure of Stacking requires players to capture and stack dolls together, then use each doll's unique abilities to solve the game's challenges. As more puzzles are solved, new dolls are acquired and the game's visually lush, carefully constructed story unfolds. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. Mar 14, 2011
    100
    Though the main challenge isn't that long, there's more than enough supplemental exploring included to give you your money's worth, and it'll be more fun and entertaining than the majority of what you've been playing lately.
  2. Feb 14, 2011
    90
    It really strikes you with enchanting visuals, delicate music and extraordinary characters. The riddles may be too easy, but, if you'll take your time to find the many different solutions, the experience will be worth all the while.
  3. Mar 2, 2011
    90
    It's easy to recommend Stacking for a blind purchase, especially for those who are fans of the old-school adventure game genre. It's not a particularly deep or difficult title to complete, but, like a Saturday morning cartoon, is remarkably fun while it lasts.
  4. Feb 9, 2011
    85
    Stacking is chock full of charm, humor, and fun puzzles.
  5. Feb 9, 2011
    83
    The cutscenes are just as fun to watch as the game is to play.
  6. Feb 15, 2011
    80
    Stacking rarely treks toward the outskirts of the playroom, and not as far into alternative humour territory as some Schafer fans would hope. But instead it offers a fully-formed, self-contained world of colour and quaintness, charm, and more importantly an individuality of its own.
  7. Feb 14, 2011
    50
    I feel the humor falls a little flat, and while I found plenty of stuff to laugh at with Costume Quest, the adventures of a little matryoshka doll named Charlie hasn't done much for me.

See all 68 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Apr 11, 2011
    10
    Incredibly stylised, unique and intuitive. An artistic demonstration of what can be done with an interactive medium. Be warned however, it does come with Schafer's signature "How the hell was I s'pose to figure that out" puzzles. A must buy if you are looking for something entirely different. Expand
  2. Feb 27, 2011
    10
    One of the most beautiful, creative, puzzling, and enjoyable games I've played in a long time. Fantastic art, great dialog, clever puzzles, with lots of extras to keep things interesting. It even features a good built-in hint system with progressively more revealing hints in case you're really stuck. Expand
  3. Dec 12, 2012
    9
    One of the best puzzle games on the market. The game has a great art style, and a story line which you think would be bad but after playing the game you find to be really fun. Once again another great game from Double Fine. Expand
  4. Sep 27, 2013
    9
    Beautiful visuals, original idea, and butt load of fun to play. Stacking may not be for everyone, but this is one of those rare games that tries to do something new and it works.

    I had a blast playing this game and I wish I could go into more detail, but this is one of those games where you have to play it for yourself to truly appreciate what it's trying to do.

    Overall:
    A fantastic game that should be in everyone's collection.
    Expand
  5. Feb 10, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers. This game is beautiful... The game play is great, the art is terrific and also the history. If you don't know if spend your MP... don't worry, trust me... this is a good option, this is a wonderful game. Collapse
  6. Oct 2, 2013
    8
    One of the most original and most creative games I have ever played. Almost all the ideas in this game are executed so masterfully, they just feel genius. Its hard to imagine how they came up with such original, creative ideas and implemented them in game form so well, since on paper this game seems like it could go so wrong in so many ways. I'm especially delighted with the overarching game mechanic of the "stacking". It just works so well. At first I thought this would just be a gimmick that would quickly get old. But its not at all, and works as a great solid foundation for the rest of the game. This is indeed a testament to how skillful the developers of this game are! The game is very charming, has a tremendous amount of character, and has a great quirky sense of humor. The game has an awesome satire theme to it and made me smile and laugh out loud a lot throughout. Its been awhile since I played a game with some really great puzzles. The puzzles in this game are a good challenge...they will stump you, but if you pay close attention to the game, you will find clues to figure out solutions to the puzzles. The presentation is top notch in this game, the controls are great, the only thing that frustrated me was near the end, there can be a lot of backtracking from confusion of how to solve puzzles, so it can get very grating. If they make a sequel I hope they improve the game design so you can get to places faster. It would help the pacing of the game. Also, the silent movie sequences were a bit too long for me and became more annoying than fun to watch as charming as they were, I just wanted to play the game already! :P Expand
  7. Mar 6, 2011
    7
    The style of the game is immediately eye-catching and oozing with charm, which drew me in enough to buy the game. The soundtrack is minimal and a bit too sombre for the quirky style of the game for my liking, I say this because 'Double Fine' have fun and entertaining games but the sound design fell a bit short, as in the fact I was hoping for some upbeat 1930s-esq (could be a bit off with the era it is portraying) tune in there somewhere through the adventure. It was a fun ride but a short one and I cant help feeling that they held back on the puzzles, because there is so much potential for the mechanic of the game. The pricing was a bit steep, but none the less a charming adventure-puzzle game. Expand