Star Ocean: The Last Hope Xbox 360

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 152 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 152
  2. Negative: 32 out of 152
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 13, 2017
    0
    Alors qu'est-ce qu'on a dans cette japoniaiserie ? de la niaiserie ? affirmatif. Des personnages puérils et débiles ? affirmatif. Un système de combat en temps réel qui ne ressemble à rien et à n'importe quoi ? affirmatif !

    On a également une direction artistique de mauvais goût et surchargée nonobstant le cadre assez rare du space opera dans lequel elle se vautre (avec délice) ; de
    Alors qu'est-ce qu'on a dans cette japoniaiserie ? de la niaiserie ? affirmatif. Des personnages puérils et débiles ? affirmatif. Un système de combat en temps réel qui ne ressemble à rien et à n'importe quoi ? affirmatif !

    On a également une direction artistique de mauvais goût et surchargée nonobstant le cadre assez rare du space opera dans lequel elle se vautre (avec délice) ; de même, les voix (en anglais) sont atroces. Jusqu'à la tronche des menus d'ailleurs, affreux, on se croirait sur PS2 !

    Il paraît que ce genre de jeux a une appellation contrôlée : "J-RPG"... ça doit être un sacré gros mot. Surtout ne traitez personne de "J-RPG", il n'y a pas pire insulte.
    Expand
  2. Jul 4, 2014
    6
    Un RPG con un divertidísimo sistema de combate (que podía haber sido multiplayer, pero bueno...), decentes banda sonora y gráficos (para el momento en que apareció) y un mundo muy abierto que explorar y avanzar. ¿Problema?, la historia es un poco inadmisible para el año en el que sale el juego, y mas, esas chorradas manga de una tripulación espacial que no pasan de los 19 años y demásUn RPG con un divertidísimo sistema de combate (que podía haber sido multiplayer, pero bueno...), decentes banda sonora y gráficos (para el momento en que apareció) y un mundo muy abierto que explorar y avanzar. ¿Problema?, la historia es un poco inadmisible para el año en el que sale el juego, y mas, esas chorradas manga de una tripulación espacial que no pasan de los 19 años y demás lindezas. Súmale unos personajes a veces dignos de pegarles un tiro y un guión con poca gracia y confuso, y se cargan un juego que podía haber dado mucho mas. Esto funcionaba en la super nintendo, pero ahora hay cosas en la calle como Mass Effect que se toman más en serio las odiseas espaciales. Expand
  3. Oct 1, 2013
    9
    Star Ocean: The last hope introduced me to this franchise and delivered in a great way. The concept of the story, which might not be the most original, was still a please to the eyes. Exploring is something I'm always doing and this game allows us to explore several worlds, meet the inhabitants and creatures roaming the planets and do side quests. The story itself ain't bad either, withStar Ocean: The last hope introduced me to this franchise and delivered in a great way. The concept of the story, which might not be the most original, was still a please to the eyes. Exploring is something I'm always doing and this game allows us to explore several worlds, meet the inhabitants and creatures roaming the planets and do side quests. The story itself ain't bad either, with many characters, love-able or hate-able which depends on your taste. The game play takes notes from games such as the Tales Of franchise, which have a great game play overall. And so does Star Ocean. The graphics fit the game very well. They aren't outstanding in any way, but definitely good enough. This game is often overlooked, but I would really advice people to try it out. It has a love-hate difficulty, roaming from easy to galactic (the most difficult version). You will unlock harder difficulties after you have completed the difficulty before it. The only two available at the beginning are easy and normal, which is a bit of a letdown considering I usually play games on hard or probably even the most difficult journey. But therefore, it gives a good chunk of replay ability. After you have completed the storyline, there is still a lot to do, including secret dungeons, missions (some come available even after you have completed certain story parts on certain planets) and more. Oh, and for achievement hunters, this might not be the best game to start on, considering it will take roughly 250 hours to get all achievements.

    I would really advise this game to people who are just getting into this genre or want to try out new franchises. The Last Hope is the fourth installment of the franchise and fortunately, you do NOT have to play the other games first for story continuation, as all the games supply different story lines.
    Expand
  4. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    One of best JRPG for X360.Maybe game dont have superior story, but gameplay is 10 out 10.Lot a end game content, optional dungeons, bosses, collectors things etc. Character development and combat system is fun and rewarding. This game is treasure for real JRPG gamer.
  5. May 3, 2013
    0
    I bought this game because I like Square Enix and loved til the end of time. But this game really really sucked. The battles felt wooden and boring, the storyline was so terrible I can't even remember how it ended. But the really really terrible thing was the characters, they only had 2 facial expressions, inexpressive mask and ridiculously over the top. Instead of the characters lookingI bought this game because I like Square Enix and loved til the end of time. But this game really really sucked. The battles felt wooden and boring, the storyline was so terrible I can't even remember how it ended. But the really really terrible thing was the characters, they only had 2 facial expressions, inexpressive mask and ridiculously over the top. Instead of the characters looking sad when they were meant to, they looked comical. I'm just going to put this game away and try to pretend it ended with "Til the end of time" Expand
  6. Apr 7, 2013
    8
    Cracking rpg game. Reminds me of the old final fantasy series. Not the shoddy new final fantasy games. Characters keep you engaged in the storyline and also the message the game tries to invoke is quite thought provoking. Graphically the game is well done and theres loads of weapon and armour upgrades. The skillpoint upgrade system in the game is done brilliantly. The downside to this gameCracking rpg game. Reminds me of the old final fantasy series. Not the shoddy new final fantasy games. Characters keep you engaged in the storyline and also the message the game tries to invoke is quite thought provoking. Graphically the game is well done and theres loads of weapon and armour upgrades. The skillpoint upgrade system in the game is done brilliantly. The downside to this game is the bad voice acting and poor animations. All in all this is a true rpg adventure game and gets a solid 8. Expand
  7. Dec 12, 2012
    8
    One of the better RPGs on the 360. A very by-the-book old school JRPG with a modern look. Granted the voice acting is REALLY hammy, but no worse than many animes seen on TV. I completely enjoyed it and really loved the depth of the characters and the complex story weave. Combat was extremely fun, graphics were generally good and the story (perhaps a little over done) very engaging, if youOne of the better RPGs on the 360. A very by-the-book old school JRPG with a modern look. Granted the voice acting is REALLY hammy, but no worse than many animes seen on TV. I completely enjoyed it and really loved the depth of the characters and the complex story weave. Combat was extremely fun, graphics were generally good and the story (perhaps a little over done) very engaging, if you could follow it. The only real complaint I would have to make would be all the disc swapping needed for the 360 version, particularly towards the end of the game. Expand
  8. Nov 28, 2012
    8
    Great game to dive into if you're looking for a long, expansive adventure. The only thing that keeps this game from a 10 is it's obvious flaws that, for some reason, the franchise refuses to do away with. Things such as the need for long sessions of grinding and seemingly arbitrary layout.
    However, the game's charm and ability to create items, upgrades, etc. make up for it.
  9. Aug 8, 2012
    0
    Honestly I can't imagine how anyone on this world could like this game. It's the worst bunch of clichés you'll ever find in a game. Game-play mechanics are old, unimaginative, boring and poorly executed but the story and the characters...omg... story and characters are something unbelievable. I think that even an 8 years old kid should find the story offensive. This game should beHonestly I can't imagine how anyone on this world could like this game. It's the worst bunch of clichés you'll ever find in a game. Game-play mechanics are old, unimaginative, boring and poorly executed but the story and the characters...omg... story and characters are something unbelievable. I think that even an 8 years old kid should find the story offensive. This game should be played by everyone only to see how bad a bad game can be :) It's also so long and pretentious that it deserves the title of one of the worst games ever made. Expand
  10. Jul 15, 2012
    8
    Star Ocean: The Last Hope is overall a good game but it has some problems. First of all the voice acting is a major flaw in the game. The voice acting is annoying enough that you dread any of the female characters opening their mouths. So for voice acting Star Ocean TLH gets a D. As far as graphics I'd give it a B- because the game looks pretty in many instances but the game doesn't takeStar Ocean: The Last Hope is overall a good game but it has some problems. First of all the voice acting is a major flaw in the game. The voice acting is annoying enough that you dread any of the female characters opening their mouths. So for voice acting Star Ocean TLH gets a D. As far as graphics I'd give it a B- because the game looks pretty in many instances but the game doesn't take advantage to the capabilities that the X-box 360 has on terms of graphics and the games settles for a place graphically in between looking realistic and looking cartoony. The story in this game is pretty good. I'd give it a B. It keeps you interested but in comparison to the stories of Star Ocean: Till the End of Time and Star Ocean: The Second Story it's lacking due to the fact that it can be formulaic and predictable at times. Star Ocean does get a A in replay value however because it like other Star Ocean games has many Private Actions that end up changing the story a bit and lead to different endings and if you're a completionist that's a perfect way to spend a lot of time on a game. As for length Star Ocean TLH gets an A as well in this category due to a fairly long story and long bonus dungeons. The best part of the game is the battle system which is much better than in much RPGs. But I'd only give it an A- because although the battle system is great it's not as good as the battle system used in Star Ocean: Till the end of time. When taking the entire game into account Star Ocean: The Last Hope is an enjoyable game that is pretty good. That's why I give this game a B or an overall rating of an 8/10 Expand
  11. Apr 5, 2012
    2
    One of the worst games I've ever played. It was immensely boring, the characters were bland and so was the combat. The game took itself too seriously.
  12. Mar 11, 2012
    7
    Dungeons are ridiculous long and you can go for hours without a save point in some instances. The voice acting and dialogue is cringeworthy and the only positive of this game is the combat. The combat is excellent and can motivate you to play through till the end. My god the voice acting is terrible.
  13. Dec 11, 2011
    10
    Fantastic game!! Beautiful planet and great sound effects! I finish the game in 150 hours!! One of the best rpg i never played. Sorry for my english...i'm italian!
  14. Nov 21, 2011
    2
    It speaks that to my completionist nature that I actually played this game all the way to the end... And got full completion. All the side stories and bonus endings. And yes, I had to use a game guide to do it. The combat isn't bad, but the story is awful. Written by a four year old awful. What military leader would give the last and most advanced space ship to two children? Why do theyIt speaks that to my completionist nature that I actually played this game all the way to the end... And got full completion. All the side stories and bonus endings. And yes, I had to use a game guide to do it. The combat isn't bad, but the story is awful. Written by a four year old awful. What military leader would give the last and most advanced space ship to two children? Why do they travel back in time, but not really travel back in time? And as bad as the story is the dialogue is worse. It's unbelievably bad. Further, why are the female characters stylized so that they are half naked? I felt so pervy having Meracle as a party member, I never used her. The whole anime furry underage girl thing is gross. I was hoping for some big payoff suggested by the "secret" endings. It never came. If not for a moderately entertaining combat system and the amount of hours for a single playthrough, this would be a big fat zero. Expand
  15. May 6, 2011
    5
    The best part of this game is the combat. The characters are cliched and the voice acting makes you want to tear your ears off. This game is more or less for those who like every JRPG regardless.
  16. May 6, 2011
    8
    Star ocean is a rediculously addictive game. The graphics are decent, gameplay good and combat is fun. The leveling and upgrade system also works well. While graphically not as good as games like fallout new vegus the storyline is fantastic, characters are memorable and there are parts in this game that will leave you in tears of laughter. Only downfall is that you have to kill thousandsStar ocean is a rediculously addictive game. The graphics are decent, gameplay good and combat is fun. The leveling and upgrade system also works well. While graphically not as good as games like fallout new vegus the storyline is fantastic, characters are memorable and there are parts in this game that will leave you in tears of laughter. Only downfall is that you have to kill thousands of alien monstors to level up which can become monotonious at times. All in all a must for any rpg fan, a game well worth playing. Expand
  17. Apr 19, 2011
    0
    Pretty typical JRPG, but the re-release with improvements and extra content on the PS3 without DLC to add to the Xbox 360 version was basically a slap in the face to their supporters. Not going to be one anymore; game offers little enjoyment unless you are a fan of the series.
  18. Mar 9, 2011
    5
    This is standard JRPG fare with nothing too special to rave about. Graphics are nice and combat is fun, but the whole experience becomes tiresome and repetitive pretty quickly. The game is very poorly written and equally poorly voice acted. Some (okay, most) of the characters are downright obnoxious. Cut scenes, while sometimes visually stunning, can be incredibly boring and over 30This is standard JRPG fare with nothing too special to rave about. Graphics are nice and combat is fun, but the whole experience becomes tiresome and repetitive pretty quickly. The game is very poorly written and equally poorly voice acted. Some (okay, most) of the characters are downright obnoxious. Cut scenes, while sometimes visually stunning, can be incredibly boring and over 30 minutes long. Luckily, you can skip them and get a short, sweet summary of their contents. The "side quests" (i.e. fetch missions) add no substance. The item creation system is unwieldy. Dungeons seem unnecessarily drawn out. Save points are all an hour apart, and you never seem to be near one when you want to stop playing (i.e. in the middle of a really long, drawn out dungeon). Combat can be fun, but is very repetitive. You'll almost always only use the main character, as you don't have to use anyone else to win battles. Bosses are challenging, but it's very easy to grind and over-level. The game attempts to add a second layer to the level system, with characters being able to switch between a combat-friendly "mode" and a magic-friendly "mode," but each character is already so pigeon-holed into one role or the other that it's pretty pointless. Overall, this is an okay game with some interesting ideas, but it suffers from a very poorly executed central plot and extreme repetition. Expand
  19. Nov 5, 2010
    7
    First the bad: the characters are terrible for the most part, the voice acting is atrocious and embarrassing, the story is bland and boring, and the music is forgettable.

    The good: the graphics and gameplay. The graphics are good for the most part, however the character models look very unrealistic and doll-like. The environments look amazing though. But the real thing this game
    First the bad: the characters are terrible for the most part, the voice acting is atrocious and embarrassing, the story is bland and boring, and the music is forgettable.

    The good: the graphics and gameplay. The graphics are good for the most part, however the character models look very unrealistic and doll-like. The environments look amazing though. But the real thing this game has to offer is the gameplay. The combat system is a lot of fun, though too easy in my opinion. If you have OCD and like accomplishing tasks and collecting things, this is the game for you. There are so many optional things to do: unlocking battle trophies, opening all treasure chests, completing all sidequests, seeing all private actions, unlocking all secret endings, collecting spaceship data, collecting monster data, collecting weapon data, completing shop orders, creating all items, etc., etc., etc. There is an item creation system and also an item synthesis system, where you can upgrade the statistics of your current weapons, armor, and accessories. It is virtually impossible to 1000 point this game. I don't even want to speculate how many hours it would take to 1000 point this game.
    Expand
  20. Sep 12, 2010
    6
    Never buy a game from Tri-Ace. Simply put, they produce crap. (Infinite Undiscovery anyone?) That being said, this game was rather good for a while. It had room for improvement, for instance, the could have dropped the cat-girl, poorly done cliche and all. Also, the final boss in the main story made no sense at all. The game also has a large portion of after-game secret levels, which areNever buy a game from Tri-Ace. Simply put, they produce crap. (Infinite Undiscovery anyone?) That being said, this game was rather good for a while. It had room for improvement, for instance, the could have dropped the cat-girl, poorly done cliche and all. Also, the final boss in the main story made no sense at all. The game also has a large portion of after-game secret levels, which are utter crap, and revisits the Tri-Ace classic problem of not placing save points where they are needed. All and all, it gets a 6/10, although I should go lower. Collapse
  21. AndrewC
    Dec 21, 2009
    9
    A very good game in my opinion, although I admit it may be an acquired taste. I have a high tolerance for Japaneese cheese. The disk changing is annoying, and some of the characters are a little annoying (Lymle, I'm looking at you), but quite a few are actually quite well written, a la Myuria. Okay, the voices for some characters are downright annoying at times *cough*Sarah*Cough* , A very good game in my opinion, although I admit it may be an acquired taste. I have a high tolerance for Japaneese cheese. The disk changing is annoying, and some of the characters are a little annoying (Lymle, I'm looking at you), but quite a few are actually quite well written, a la Myuria. Okay, the voices for some characters are downright annoying at times *cough*Sarah*Cough* , but hey, they gameplay is super-special-awesome. As are the bunnies. You have to love the bunnies. Expand
  22. ReginaldY
    Oct 11, 2009
    9
    Star ocean is a great game for those who wish to play an jRPG which is not turn based, as it has more of a RTS kind of feel to it.
  23. RyanS.
    Aug 27, 2009
    8
    Great game! Numerous cut scenes with great graphics. I LIKE the Dubbing!!! I thought the actors were fine and I far prefer the dubs than having to read everything!!! Too much fighting, and the leveling up process threw the pace of the game off. Had to back track and fight 50 battles just be able to beat the boss... Not cool Major Story gap at the end (WTF).
  24. SiphonedL.
    Jul 19, 2009
    8
    Another good RPG from Sq Enix.. gameplay is great although slightly long drawn in certain portions and yet too terse in others specially the ending dungeon.. Characters are great to play with specially the subscenes are hilarious.. although Sarah is irritating.. Amazing battles if you like Namco games like Tales of the Abyss (PS2).. Engrossing storyline.. Only negative aspect i can think Another good RPG from Sq Enix.. gameplay is great although slightly long drawn in certain portions and yet too terse in others specially the ending dungeon.. Characters are great to play with specially the subscenes are hilarious.. although Sarah is irritating.. Amazing battles if you like Namco games like Tales of the Abyss (PS2).. Engrossing storyline.. Only negative aspect i can think of right now which is really REALLY annoying is the collection subquests and completing the shop quests.. they take too much time to be of any enjoyment! Coliseum is great too in Disc 2.. I'd rate it 8.5.. Definitely not a bad game!! Expand
  25. JonathanY
    Jul 17, 2009
    2
    Absolutely horrible!!! graphics sucked, characters and voice acting sucked, nearly everything sucked in this game except for the combat which was half decent for the short time i played this game. I returned it the day after i bought it, absolutely horrible!
  26. TroyP.
    Jun 4, 2009
    7
    I am enjoying the game. The good: great gameplay! The bad: bad voice acting, weak story, no really cool characters. Infinite Undiscovery (another Tri-Ace game) had a WAY better story and better characters, but this has better gameplay. Its fun, but the story is not emotionally moving like Lost Odyssey's story or Infinite Undiscovery's story. I feel no emotional attachment to the I am enjoying the game. The good: great gameplay! The bad: bad voice acting, weak story, no really cool characters. Infinite Undiscovery (another Tri-Ace game) had a WAY better story and better characters, but this has better gameplay. Its fun, but the story is not emotionally moving like Lost Odyssey's story or Infinite Undiscovery's story. I feel no emotional attachment to the characters. But this game is WAY better than Last Remnant in every way, in my opinion. Ok, I was just trying to give readers some perspective by comparing Star Ocean to other recent RPGs on the Xbox 360. I like RPGs for their story and gameplay. This delivers with its gameplay, fails with its story. Expand
  27. BontaK
    Apr 6, 2009
    7
    Ok please, you publishing companies. STOP DUBBING JRPGs into english! You are ruining masterpieces of RPGs with your half-azz english acting! I can't recall the last time the english dubbing in a JRPG game was even halfway decent. Oh wait, thats because there never was one! For people who need english dubbing to play a JRPG: TOO BAD! LEARN TO LOVE JAPANESE TALK BECAUSE ENGLISH VOICE Ok please, you publishing companies. STOP DUBBING JRPGs into english! You are ruining masterpieces of RPGs with your half-azz english acting! I can't recall the last time the english dubbing in a JRPG game was even halfway decent. Oh wait, thats because there never was one! For people who need english dubbing to play a JRPG: TOO BAD! LEARN TO LOVE JAPANESE TALK BECAUSE ENGLISH VOICE ACTORS CAN'T FOR *****. Other than that, good solid RPG. Expand
  28. MattR
    Mar 11, 2009
    5
    This game is truly a disappointment. Underneath the horrific voice acting, silly plot developments, and flat jokes is a game with terrific potential. One would think that a company of Square-Enix's size and clout would have the money and inclination to hire decent voice actors, but for some reason, this was apparently not an important enough concern when translating and localizing This game is truly a disappointment. Underneath the horrific voice acting, silly plot developments, and flat jokes is a game with terrific potential. One would think that a company of Square-Enix's size and clout would have the money and inclination to hire decent voice actors, but for some reason, this was apparently not an important enough concern when translating and localizing the game. Most of the female characters have voices that make you want to take fishhooks to your eardrums. Welch in particularly should be taken back behind the barn and put out of her misery and Lymle has the most annoying voice tick ever conceived for a game, kay? As for the graphics, all of the characters look like plastic dolls and are completely unlovable in this regard. Gotta give kudos for the environments though - they're beautiful. Concerning content, the game is full of in-your-face innuendos (I think Raimi calls Edge a 'pervert' about sixteen times, usually senselessly) and strange Japanime fetishes (little girls who aren't *really* little girls, technically, and giant, pink, overcute bunnies, for example) and sad, pathetically contrived "conflicts" attempt to lend weight to the story but end up feeling, well, stupid, actually - consider if you really feel sorry for ol' "Edgie" when he makes a terrible mistake and mopes on about it for waaay too long. Anyhow, I could go on for another ten paragraphs about this game, but I won't. It's just that I'm seeing a lot of high reviews that in my opinion should NOT be that high - can anyone say desperation? Tales of Vesperia is a much better game and if you haven't played it yet, play it and boot Star Ocean out your door until the next installment of the series comes out. Expand
  29. JustinC
    Mar 11, 2009
    10
    As a long time fan of Star Ocean, this game hasn't failed to deliver. The graphics are beautiful, combat is easy to understand and fun, the characters are lovable and easy to relate to. I've been dying for a good RPG on the 360 and I've finally found it. SquareEnix and tri-Ace have delivered a good contestant for RPG of the year.
  30. Robbie
    Mar 10, 2009
    9
    Excellent. Absolutely excellent, nothing near perfect, but still simply a blast to play. Well, at least if you're a tri-Ace fan. If not, then I'd say this is pretty much a love it or hate it game. The unnecessarily-cheesy Japanese-ness of the game would probably turn most gamers who never got into console RPGs back in the SNES-PS1 days away from it quite promptly. If you can Excellent. Absolutely excellent, nothing near perfect, but still simply a blast to play. Well, at least if you're a tri-Ace fan. If not, then I'd say this is pretty much a love it or hate it game. The unnecessarily-cheesy Japanese-ness of the game would probably turn most gamers who never got into console RPGs back in the SNES-PS1 days away from it quite promptly. If you can stand the awkward, and often untentional, humor spread out heavily across what would be an otherwise pretty decent storyline, then the game is absolutely amazing. It's up there with Fallout 3 and Fable 2 in my book, but that's just me. Oh well, it's WAAAAAAAAY better than any Tales game that's come out in the last 7 and a half years(which pretty much means any entry after Tales of Eternia/Destiny II), and that I consider fact, not opinion, so that's a definite plus. Expand
  31. MATTW
    Mar 3, 2009
    9
    The newest installment of Star Ocean does indeed deliver. The open environments are large enough to make you feel like you're in a new place each time you move along in the story, but small enough to lead you to your destination fairly quickly if you are not a grinder. The story line is slow, like most JRPG's, but excellent once it reaches fruition. This game absolutely blows The newest installment of Star Ocean does indeed deliver. The open environments are large enough to make you feel like you're in a new place each time you move along in the story, but small enough to lead you to your destination fairly quickly if you are not a grinder. The story line is slow, like most JRPG's, but excellent once it reaches fruition. This game absolutely blows the last few action rpgs that have been released for 360 out of the water. The combat system, story line, graphics, over all game-play, cut-scene animation, and even awkward dialogue prove far superior to the likes of Tales of Vesperia or Infinite Undiscovery. While this game doesn't stand up to other semi-recent titles like Lost Odyssey or Eternal Sonata, it easily and rightfully earns my mark as a 9 out of 10; a must play for any 360 rpg freak! Expand
  32. AbiB.
    Mar 2, 2009
    10
    Definitely the best star ocean along with Star Ocean 2! The battle system couldn't get any better than this really. And the graphics just WOWed me! this game is up there on the top of the list as long as graphic is concerned on current generation console. I love how the atmosphere this time, really keeps on the sci-fi feels as it should be. Unlike SO3, where half of the game were set Definitely the best star ocean along with Star Ocean 2! The battle system couldn't get any better than this really. And the graphics just WOWed me! this game is up there on the top of the list as long as graphic is concerned on current generation console. I love how the atmosphere this time, really keeps on the sci-fi feels as it should be. Unlike SO3, where half of the game were set on medieval setting (Really, it's suppose to be a space opera for god's sake!) anyway, i'm really glad they make it right this time! Did i say i love this game? Expand
  33. Alan
    Mar 2, 2009
    9
    The game rewards the player who dedicates their time with a deep plot. It's agreed that the player will have to spend many hours before the plot really begins, but the patient player will in turn have plenty of laughs from the characters and many of moments where the plot plunges deeper.
  34. AbelCarrasco
    Feb 27, 2009
    8
    I love this game.. my current addiction. If you are a fan of japanese rpgs this game is a great choice. A few minor annoyances like bad character acting and mediocre story do not drag down the fun. But be warned .. as it is an rpg.. get ready for the experience grind.. it is part of the genre.
  35. Sep 12, 2010
    6
    Never buy a game from Tri-Ace. Simply put, they produce crap. (Infinite Undiscovery anyone?) That being said, this game was rather good for a while. It had room for improvement, for instance, the could have dropped the cat-girl, poorly done cliche and all. Also, the final boss in the main story made no sense at all. The game also has a large portion of after-game secret levels, which areNever buy a game from Tri-Ace. Simply put, they produce crap. (Infinite Undiscovery anyone?) That being said, this game was rather good for a while. It had room for improvement, for instance, the could have dropped the cat-girl, poorly done cliche and all. Also, the final boss in the main story made no sense at all. The game also has a large portion of after-game secret levels, which are utter crap, and revisits the Tri-Ace classic problem of not placing save points where they are needed. All and all, it gets a 6/10, although I should go lower. Collapse
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. The Last Hope is plagued by a number of problems, but if you can invest the time needed for this game to blossom (that's a big if), the combat system and mysterious plot reward you well for your time. [Mar 2009, p.90]
  2. 80
    Not an RPG for the ages, but it is a lot of fun to play. The way the story is delivered, through awkward dialogue and drawn out cutscenes, could be a lot better. The strong points of The Last Hope, namely the combat and level progression, keep things lively and engaging and help make this one a good way to kick off your JRPG gaming for 2009.
  3. 80
    Star Ocean: Last Hope won’t make anyone forget that FF XIII is on the horizon. But as far as holding us over in the meantime, this game more than succeeds.