User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 142 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 142

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 4, 2014
    5
    Un RPG con un divertidísimo sistema de combate (que podía haber sido multiplayer, pero bueno...), decentes banda sonora y gráficos (para el momento en que apareció) y un mundo muy abierto que explorar y avanzar. ¿Problema?, la historia es un poco inadmisible para el año en el que sale el juego, y mas, esas chorradas manga de una tripulación espacial que no pasan de los 19 años y demásUn RPG con un divertidísimo sistema de combate (que podía haber sido multiplayer, pero bueno...), decentes banda sonora y gráficos (para el momento en que apareció) y un mundo muy abierto que explorar y avanzar. ¿Problema?, la historia es un poco inadmisible para el año en el que sale el juego, y mas, esas chorradas manga de una tripulación espacial que no pasan de los 19 años y demás lindezas. Súmale unos personajes a veces dignos de pegarles un tiro y un guión con poca gracia y confuso, y se cargan un juego que podía haber dado mucho mas. Esto funcionaba en la super nintendo, pero ahora hay cosas en la calle como Mass Effect que se toman más en serio las odiseas espaciales. Expand
  2. Oct 1, 2013
    9
    Star Ocean: The last hope introduced me to this franchise and delivered in a great way. The concept of the story, which might not be the most original, was still a please to the eyes. Exploring is something I'm always doing and this game allows us to explore several worlds, meet the inhabitants and creatures roaming the planets and do side quests. The story itself ain't bad either, withStar Ocean: The last hope introduced me to this franchise and delivered in a great way. The concept of the story, which might not be the most original, was still a please to the eyes. Exploring is something I'm always doing and this game allows us to explore several worlds, meet the inhabitants and creatures roaming the planets and do side quests. The story itself ain't bad either, with many characters, love-able or hate-able which depends on your taste. The game play takes notes from games such as the Tales Of franchise, which have a great game play overall. And so does Star Ocean. The graphics fit the game very well. They aren't outstanding in any way, but definitely good enough. This game is often overlooked, but I would really advice people to try it out. It has a love-hate difficulty, roaming from easy to galactic (the most difficult version). You will unlock harder difficulties after you have completed the difficulty before it. The only two available at the beginning are easy and normal, which is a bit of a letdown considering I usually play games on hard or probably even the most difficult journey. But therefore, it gives a good chunk of replay ability. After you have completed the storyline, there is still a lot to do, including secret dungeons, missions (some come available even after you have completed certain story parts on certain planets) and more. Oh, and for achievement hunters, this might not be the best game to start on, considering it will take roughly 250 hours to get all achievements.

    I would really advise this game to people who are just getting into this genre or want to try out new franchises. The Last Hope is the fourth installment of the franchise and fortunately, you do NOT have to play the other games first for story continuation, as all the games supply different story lines.
    Expand
  3. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    One of best JRPG for X360.Maybe game dont have superior story, but gameplay is 10 out 10.Lot a end game content, optional dungeons, bosses, collectors things etc. Character development and combat system is fun and rewarding. This game is treasure for real JRPG gamer.
  4. May 3, 2013
    0
    I bought this game because I like Square Enix and loved til the end of time. But this game really really sucked. The battles felt wooden and boring, the storyline was so terrible I can't even remember how it ended. But the really really terrible thing was the characters, they only had 2 facial expressions, inexpressive mask and ridiculously over the top. Instead of the characters lookingI bought this game because I like Square Enix and loved til the end of time. But this game really really sucked. The battles felt wooden and boring, the storyline was so terrible I can't even remember how it ended. But the really really terrible thing was the characters, they only had 2 facial expressions, inexpressive mask and ridiculously over the top. Instead of the characters looking sad when they were meant to, they looked comical. I'm just going to put this game away and try to pretend it ended with "Til the end of time" Expand
  5. Apr 7, 2013
    8
    Cracking rpg game. Reminds me of the old final fantasy series. Not the shoddy new final fantasy games. Characters keep you engaged in the storyline and also the message the game tries to invoke is quite thought provoking. Graphically the game is well done and theres loads of weapon and armour upgrades. The skillpoint upgrade system in the game is done brilliantly. The downside to this gameCracking rpg game. Reminds me of the old final fantasy series. Not the shoddy new final fantasy games. Characters keep you engaged in the storyline and also the message the game tries to invoke is quite thought provoking. Graphically the game is well done and theres loads of weapon and armour upgrades. The skillpoint upgrade system in the game is done brilliantly. The downside to this game is the bad voice acting and poor animations. All in all this is a true rpg adventure game and gets a solid 8. Expand
  6. Dec 12, 2012
    8
    One of the better RPGs on the 360. A very by-the-book old school JRPG with a modern look. Granted the voice acting is REALLY hammy, but no worse than many animes seen on TV. I completely enjoyed it and really loved the depth of the characters and the complex story weave. Combat was extremely fun, graphics were generally good and the story (perhaps a little over done) very engaging, if youOne of the better RPGs on the 360. A very by-the-book old school JRPG with a modern look. Granted the voice acting is REALLY hammy, but no worse than many animes seen on TV. I completely enjoyed it and really loved the depth of the characters and the complex story weave. Combat was extremely fun, graphics were generally good and the story (perhaps a little over done) very engaging, if you could follow it. The only real complaint I would have to make would be all the disc swapping needed for the 360 version, particularly towards the end of the game. Expand
  7. Nov 28, 2012
    8
    Great game to dive into if you're looking for a long, expansive adventure. The only thing that keeps this game from a 10 is it's obvious flaws that, for some reason, the franchise refuses to do away with. Things such as the need for long sessions of grinding and seemingly arbitrary layout.
    However, the game's charm and ability to create items, upgrades, etc. make up for it.
  8. Aug 8, 2012
    0
    Honestly I can't imagine how anyone on this world could like this game. It's the worst bunch of clichés you'll ever find in a game. Game-play mechanics are old, unimaginative, boring and poorly executed but the story and the characters...omg... story and characters are something unbelievable. I think that even an 8 years old kid should find the story offensive. This game should beHonestly I can't imagine how anyone on this world could like this game. It's the worst bunch of clichés you'll ever find in a game. Game-play mechanics are old, unimaginative, boring and poorly executed but the story and the characters...omg... story and characters are something unbelievable. I think that even an 8 years old kid should find the story offensive. This game should be played by everyone only to see how bad a bad game can be :) It's also so long and pretentious that it deserves the title of one of the worst games ever made. Expand
  9. Jul 15, 2012
    8
    Star Ocean: The Last Hope is overall a good game but it has some problems. First of all the voice acting is a major flaw in the game. The voice acting is annoying enough that you dread any of the female characters opening their mouths. So for voice acting Star Ocean TLH gets a D. As far as graphics I'd give it a B- because the game looks pretty in many instances but the game doesn't takeStar Ocean: The Last Hope is overall a good game but it has some problems. First of all the voice acting is a major flaw in the game. The voice acting is annoying enough that you dread any of the female characters opening their mouths. So for voice acting Star Ocean TLH gets a D. As far as graphics I'd give it a B- because the game looks pretty in many instances but the game doesn't take advantage to the capabilities that the X-box 360 has on terms of graphics and the games settles for a place graphically in between looking realistic and looking cartoony. The story in this game is pretty good. I'd give it a B. It keeps you interested but in comparison to the stories of Star Ocean: Till the End of Time and Star Ocean: The Second Story it's lacking due to the fact that it can be formulaic and predictable at times. Star Ocean does get a A in replay value however because it like other Star Ocean games has many Private Actions that end up changing the story a bit and lead to different endings and if you're a completionist that's a perfect way to spend a lot of time on a game. As for length Star Ocean TLH gets an A as well in this category due to a fairly long story and long bonus dungeons. The best part of the game is the battle system which is much better than in much RPGs. But I'd only give it an A- because although the battle system is great it's not as good as the battle system used in Star Ocean: Till the end of time. When taking the entire game into account Star Ocean: The Last Hope is an enjoyable game that is pretty good. That's why I give this game a B or an overall rating of an 8/10 Expand
  10. Apr 5, 2012
    2
    One of the worst games I've ever played. It was immensely boring, the characters were bland and so was the combat. The game took itself too seriously.
  11. Mar 11, 2012
    7
    Dungeons are ridiculous long and you can go for hours without a save point in some instances. The voice acting and dialogue is cringeworthy and the only positive of this game is the combat. The combat is excellent and can motivate you to play through till the end. My god the voice acting is terrible.
  12. Dec 11, 2011
    10
    Fantastic game!! Beautiful planet and great sound effects! I finish the game in 150 hours!! One of the best rpg i never played. Sorry for my english...i'm italian!
  13. Nov 21, 2011
    2
    It speaks that to my completionist nature that I actually played this game all the way to the end... And got full completion. All the side stories and bonus endings. And yes, I had to use a game guide to do it. The combat isn't bad, but the story is awful. Written by a four year old awful. What military leader would give the last and most advanced space ship to two children? Why do theyIt speaks that to my completionist nature that I actually played this game all the way to the end... And got full completion. All the side stories and bonus endings. And yes, I had to use a game guide to do it. The combat isn't bad, but the story is awful. Written by a four year old awful. What military leader would give the last and most advanced space ship to two children? Why do they travel back in time, but not really travel back in time? And as bad as the story is the dialogue is worse. It's unbelievably bad. Further, why are the female characters stylized so that they are half naked? I felt so pervy having Meracle as a party member, I never used her. The whole anime furry underage girl thing is gross. I was hoping for some big payoff suggested by the "secret" endings. It never came. If not for a moderately entertaining combat system and the amount of hours for a single playthrough, this would be a big fat zero. Expand
  14. May 6, 2011
    5
    The best part of this game is the combat. The characters are cliched and the voice acting makes you want to tear your ears off. This game is more or less for those who like every JRPG regardless.
  15. May 6, 2011
    8
    Star ocean is a rediculously addictive game. The graphics are decent, gameplay good and combat is fun. The leveling and upgrade system also works well. While graphically not as good as games like fallout new vegus the storyline is fantastic, characters are memorable and there are parts in this game that will leave you in tears of laughter. Only downfall is that you have to kill thousandsStar ocean is a rediculously addictive game. The graphics are decent, gameplay good and combat is fun. The leveling and upgrade system also works well. While graphically not as good as games like fallout new vegus the storyline is fantastic, characters are memorable and there are parts in this game that will leave you in tears of laughter. Only downfall is that you have to kill thousands of alien monstors to level up which can become monotonious at times. All in all a must for any rpg fan, a game well worth playing. Expand
  16. Apr 19, 2011
    0
    Pretty typical JRPG, but the re-release with improvements and extra content on the PS3 without DLC to add to the Xbox 360 version was basically a slap in the face to their supporters. Not going to be one anymore; game offers little enjoyment unless you are a fan of the series.
  17. Mar 9, 2011
    5
    This is standard JRPG fare with nothing too special to rave about. Graphics are nice and combat is fun, but the whole experience becomes tiresome and repetitive pretty quickly. The game is very poorly written and equally poorly voice acted. Some (okay, most) of the characters are downright obnoxious. Cut scenes, while sometimes visually stunning, can be incredibly boring and over 30This is standard JRPG fare with nothing too special to rave about. Graphics are nice and combat is fun, but the whole experience becomes tiresome and repetitive pretty quickly. The game is very poorly written and equally poorly voice acted. Some (okay, most) of the characters are downright obnoxious. Cut scenes, while sometimes visually stunning, can be incredibly boring and over 30 minutes long. Luckily, you can skip them and get a short, sweet summary of their contents. The "side quests" (i.e. fetch missions) add no substance. The item creation system is unwieldy. Dungeons seem unnecessarily drawn out. Save points are all an hour apart, and you never seem to be near one when you want to stop playing (i.e. in the middle of a really long, drawn out dungeon). Combat can be fun, but is very repetitive. You'll almost always only use the main character, as you don't have to use anyone else to win battles. Bosses are challenging, but it's very easy to grind and over-level. The game attempts to add a second layer to the level system, with characters being able to switch between a combat-friendly "mode" and a magic-friendly "mode," but each character is already so pigeon-holed into one role or the other that it's pretty pointless. Overall, this is an okay game with some interesting ideas, but it suffers from a very poorly executed central plot and extreme repetition. Expand
  18. Nov 5, 2010
    7
    First the bad: the characters are terrible for the most part, the voice acting is atrocious and embarrassing, the story is bland and boring, and the music is forgettable.

    The good: the graphics and gameplay. The graphics are good for the most part, however the character models look very unrealistic and doll-like. The environments look amazing though. But the real thing this game
    First the bad: the characters are terrible for the most part, the voice acting is atrocious and embarrassing, the story is bland and boring, and the music is forgettable.

    The good: the graphics and gameplay. The graphics are good for the most part, however the character models look very unrealistic and doll-like. The environments look amazing though. But the real thing this game has to offer is the gameplay. The combat system is a lot of fun, though too easy in my opinion. If you have OCD and like accomplishing tasks and collecting things, this is the game for you. There are so many optional things to do: unlocking battle trophies, opening all treasure chests, completing all sidequests, seeing all private actions, unlocking all secret endings, collecting spaceship data, collecting monster data, collecting weapon data, completing shop orders, creating all items, etc., etc., etc. There is an item creation system and also an item synthesis system, where you can upgrade the statistics of your current weapons, armor, and accessories. It is virtually impossible to 1000 point this game. I don't even want to speculate how many hours it would take to 1000 point this game.
    Expand
  19. Sep 12, 2010
    6
    Never buy a game from Tri-Ace. Simply put, they produce crap. (Infinite Undiscovery anyone?) That being said, this game was rather good for a while. It had room for improvement, for instance, the could have dropped the cat-girl, poorly done cliche and all. Also, the final boss in the main story made no sense at all. The game also has a large portion of after-game secret levels, which areNever buy a game from Tri-Ace. Simply put, they produce crap. (Infinite Undiscovery anyone?) That being said, this game was rather good for a while. It had room for improvement, for instance, the could have dropped the cat-girl, poorly done cliche and all. Also, the final boss in the main story made no sense at all. The game also has a large portion of after-game secret levels, which are utter crap, and revisits the Tri-Ace classic problem of not placing save points where they are needed. All and all, it gets a 6/10, although I should go lower. Collapse
  20. Sep 12, 2010
    0
    Never buy a game from Tri-Ace. Simply put, they produce crap. (Infinite Undiscovery anyone?) That being said, this game was rather good for a while. It had room for improvement, for instance, the could have dropped the cat-girl, poorly done cliche and all. Also, the final boss in the main story made no sense at all. The game also has a large portion of after-game secret levels, which areNever buy a game from Tri-Ace. Simply put, they produce crap. (Infinite Undiscovery anyone?) That being said, this game was rather good for a while. It had room for improvement, for instance, the could have dropped the cat-girl, poorly done cliche and all. Also, the final boss in the main story made no sense at all. The game also has a large portion of after-game secret levels, which are utter crap, and revisits the Tri-Ace classic problem of not placing save points where they are needed. All and all, it gets a 6/10, although I should go lower. Collapse
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. The Last Hope is plagued by a number of problems, but if you can invest the time needed for this game to blossom (that's a big if), the combat system and mysterious plot reward you well for your time. [Mar 2009, p.90]
  2. 80
    Not an RPG for the ages, but it is a lot of fun to play. The way the story is delivered, through awkward dialogue and drawn out cutscenes, could be a lot better. The strong points of The Last Hope, namely the combat and level progression, keep things lively and engaging and help make this one a good way to kick off your JRPG gaming for 2009.
  3. 80
    Star Ocean: Last Hope won’t make anyone forget that FF XIII is on the horizon. But as far as holding us over in the meantime, this game more than succeeds.