User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 42
  2. Negative: 16 out of 42

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 12, 2015
    4
    Hahahaha, I plucked this game out of the bargain bin just to see what it was like! Mind bogglingly awful is the answer but it was good for a laugh! I have awarded bonus points because it has the bloke off of Quantum Leap doing the voice over.
  2. Dec 4, 2012
    7
    I was torn about what to give this game I think from a sterile, objective standpoint it deserves a 6.5 but for a trekkie (which if you aren't why the heck did you buy this game) I felt it was an 8, so I split the difference) The story takes you through most of the entire series. The controls can be tricky at first but I think the game does a good job tutoring you on system control throughI was torn about what to give this game I think from a sterile, objective standpoint it deserves a 6.5 but for a trekkie (which if you aren't why the heck did you buy this game) I felt it was an 8, so I split the difference) The story takes you through most of the entire series. The controls can be tricky at first but I think the game does a good job tutoring you on system control through the first few forgiving levels. It is not a game you can hand your friend and expect them to do well with however (at least not right off the bat) In single player you feel like you are managing more aspects of the ship, things like tweeking the engines, scanning, transporting, transfering power. I liked to feel like I had more to do than just point the ship and fire away. In the online or skirmishing modes thats basically all you do transfer auxilliary power to weapons of shilelds (depending how you roll) and get into it. Single player felt a little more involved, while the story was nothing extraordinary is was engaging enough (sorry bad pun) to keep me interested. I spent most of my time in skirmish more ( I found it hard to find online matches) you can have up to 4 ships in your fleet at once and you can customize things like size of fleet, which era of ships or set a budget) There are several maps which include various planets, asteroids or nebulas ( all of which affect your ships in different way) To get around fast you use warp which can be finiky to use but usually gets you into or out of battles quickly. Phasers drain enemy shields while torpedoes will do heavy hull damage once shields are offline. These battles take place is a 3D plane so you can have ships above or below you as well as around you. smaller lightly armed ships are faster and more manuverable while capital ships can take and give a trememdous beating but don't exactly turn on a dime. I thought there was a lot of replayability here and enjoyed the battles. I think if you like video games and star trek this is a solid pick up for you. It won't be your favourite game but you will probably never sell it for those days when you feel like taking the helm and making playing XBOX even nerdier than usual. The downsides are weak multiplayer community (at least when I played), ho-hum single player and when a ships blows up it can look a bit blocky My bottom line is if your not into Star Trek probably pass, if you like or love Star Trek give it a try, it's worth the 15-20 $ it costs now. Expand
  3. Jun 18, 2012
    6
    As a Trekkie, it was thrilling to be able to see all of the starships I had come to admire in such detail, and to be able to control them in a fully 3-dimensional setting. The score is dramatic and certainly lives up the memory of all the Star Trek series, the graphics are impressive, and it was a great touch to hear all 5 of the real captain's voices. However, the game does have a fewAs a Trekkie, it was thrilling to be able to see all of the starships I had come to admire in such detail, and to be able to control them in a fully 3-dimensional setting. The score is dramatic and certainly lives up the memory of all the Star Trek series, the graphics are impressive, and it was a great touch to hear all 5 of the real captain's voices. However, the game does have a few disappointing features which bring the score down. Chiefly, because of the generally low health of your ships, difficulty with controls and vagueness of the mission parameters, I found Legacy very diffilcult to play, and have only just reached the first Original Series mission through the help of a friend. The lack of offline multiplayer is also very disappointing. All in all, an impressive-looking game that probably appeals mostly to Trekkies (not that that's a hugely bad thing) and is let down by fiddly controls, high difficulty level and lack of offline multiplayer. Collapse
  4. CommandoDude
    Jul 5, 2008
    6
    It was a fun game at first. But there are a lot of features lacking that make this game annoying. I never figured out how to use split screen, there is no mission select (for campaign) and there is little to no interaction with the rest of the map. There's no collision detect, so you can't just run into a planet, or better yet, sacrific a beat up ship to ram another. I It was a fun game at first. But there are a lot of features lacking that make this game annoying. I never figured out how to use split screen, there is no mission select (for campaign) and there is little to no interaction with the rest of the map. There's no collision detect, so you can't just run into a planet, or better yet, sacrific a beat up ship to ram another. I don't know why they bothered to add a 'Self-Destruct' feature. The ships were all unbalanced, the credit system is basically worked so that you won't touch the scouts or lower class vessels because they AI will buy only the biggest and baddest. The game gets incredibly repetative, so I wouldn't reccomend buying, good for some time at home as a rent. Expand
  5. AndyP.
    Dec 27, 2007
    8
    If you are a Star Trek fan you will love this game. The graphics are starting to look a bit dated but the voice acting is excellent and the strategy can be really fun, as can marshalling your (admittedly small) fleet.
  6. ArthurG.
    Sep 16, 2007
    0
    I like Star Trek--I really do. I, like have all of the Original series episode. The same with Voyager, and The Next Generation, and even the flashback--Generations. I'm in process of getting 'Deep Space Nine right now. I have and have liked all of the other Star Trek games I've seen. I liked Elete Force. I liked Elete Force II. I liked Bridge Commander. I liked Starfleet I like Star Trek--I really do. I, like have all of the Original series episode. The same with Voyager, and The Next Generation, and even the flashback--Generations. I'm in process of getting 'Deep Space Nine right now. I have and have liked all of the other Star Trek games I've seen. I liked Elete Force. I liked Elete Force II. I liked Bridge Commander. I liked Starfleet Academy. I liked Star Trek Klingon (1996) I liked Deep Space Nine Harbinger (1995) I have at least one from the early 90', or late 80's but can't recal the name (good for it's time as well) But I don't Like this 'game'. You See Only Ships & Hear Only the captains voices--Might as well be a shuttle! I think some 'Manager' rushed this through (completion date comes first--not a good product). Must have thought 'just slap on a Star Trek Logo and all us trekker suckers would run to it.' (nothing to see here though. I'd give a minus nine (-7 out of +10) for insultingly stupit story line too--COME On!! a Vulcan Started the Borg!!!--You've got to be kidding me!!!! That's way too simple-minded--What, did thay run out of Ideas: how about, the board stared as a peacful face like the binoids (TNG Epesode 'Star Trek TNG - 1x15 - 11001001'. Peace loving untill they were attacked by a brutal race they finally defieted--thanks to Assemilation-- than they obsorbed enough of the blood-thurst of that group, as well as a tast for Assemilating to go from there. That at least would make sence--I and I thought of it in just a few seconds too!--they apparented (being experts story tellers) made no effort on the story line--I guess we're (or their reputation) wasn't worth it. Plus this 3 to 4 century only plot isn't even consistant with the rest of Star Trek. (some degress is acceptable, but this is blatent: Voyager sayed the Borge was around at least 700 years ago (Voyager Season 6 Episode 127 - Dragon's Teeth). That's even our past by centuries. This game seames like it's only a ruff draft of a game that had promise. If they had only followed the gaming method of Bridge Command (cartoons even) or Starfleet Academy--This could have been a series of holodeck missions at the Next Generation or Voyager Academy--for Echeve (sorry for the spelling). As a Star Trek game, this 'thing' makes me mad--I wish I hadn't spent the money on it. I don't even know how to make the Klingon ship cloack (and it 'times out'--I did it the first time I played, but can't remember how (that might be a bug, but the game's still weak), and it's NOT in the manual eather $#@!. Excuse my 'French'. In short, DON'T BUY IT. Just rent the thing and find out that I'm RIGHT. I can't believe it got as high a rating as it did--I guess there 'are' a few 'Die-Hart' trekkers that will take anyting labeled star trek. But you do all of us a disservice by not giving those game 'makers' some HONEST FEEDBACK, so that they know how -not- to manufacture cheap Games like this. Speaking of which, I think I'll send them a copy of this comment. feel free to copy-past this to your own feedback to them as well. They do well, but I'm welling to wait a year or two for a "good" game other hurrying to this ^&@$. --Ooops, excuse my 'French". Hoping to see better, A.G Expand
  7. TomW.
    Apr 18, 2007
    2
    Why? Why would they even release this game? It is poorly put together, boring, hard to control and just simply a really bad game. Don't waste your time. I'm a Trek fan and even this doesn't appeal.
  8. ReelW.
    Mar 12, 2007
    7
    Being a longtime fan of the franchise, I was looking forward to trying this game out. The premise of all five captains sounded fantastic - so as I popped the disc into my 360 - my feelings were mixed. Graphics on the ships are great - controlling them isn't so great. As expected, the ships turn like a brick. Locking on weapons can get tricky, and the aiming system is less than Being a longtime fan of the franchise, I was looking forward to trying this game out. The premise of all five captains sounded fantastic - so as I popped the disc into my 360 - my feelings were mixed. Graphics on the ships are great - controlling them isn't so great. As expected, the ships turn like a brick. Locking on weapons can get tricky, and the aiming system is less than perfect. There is no collision detection, so you can literally fly through other ships and the 3-D camera mixed with the steering of your ship can leave you in an undesirable view. Ship combat is pretty cool. I must admit to having a moment of geekdom when I unleashed three quantum torpedos into the hull of a crippled Romulan warship, and seeing it blow to pieces. It's too bad the same explosions are used over and over.... Voicework must have been phoned in. Despite the use of actors like Stewart and Shatner, their dialogue is limited. "This is Enterprise" is usually the most you'll hear from the Shat-man, and Picard's lines are limited to the usual banter you'd expect from a videogame. A for effort from the producers. They tried. This however is not the be all end all Trek game we were hoping for though. Gameplay: 4 Graphics: 8 Sound: 8 Rent or Buy? Definately a renter - even for hardcore fans. Expand
  9. RobN.
    Jan 17, 2007
    9
    This is a great game. I would have given it a 10, but the missions do get somewhat repetitive. Single player is very fun, and multiplayer really adds to the game. If you like Star Trek at all, this is for you!
  10. StokerMan
    Dec 30, 2006
    8
    Sorry, I have to disagree with all these completely negative reviews. I'm not a huge Trekkie... I couldn't tell you what happened in what episode, never saw most of TNG/DS9/V/E... (I'm a Kirk fan) but this is a good game. The sound is excellent, ship detail is good (although I agree that it could have been better), and most importantly it feels like Star Trek. The fact that Sorry, I have to disagree with all these completely negative reviews. I'm not a huge Trekkie... I couldn't tell you what happened in what episode, never saw most of TNG/DS9/V/E... (I'm a Kirk fan) but this is a good game. The sound is excellent, ship detail is good (although I agree that it could have been better), and most importantly it feels like Star Trek. The fact that all 5 captains voice the game is an unusually nice touch. The gameplay isn't just flying the starship, picking a target and taking it out (although that carries enough complexity in itself to be rewarding). There is plenty of mission-based content that requires thought and care (like sneaking into an enemy system and scanning targets in a stolen, cloaked Bird of Prey Expand
  11. MattN.
    Dec 29, 2006
    2
    I have never posted commentson here before. However I felt i needed to as this game is rubbish! Being a Star Trek fan I was excited about wning this game however it sucks.
  12. TerryM.
    Dec 28, 2006
    8
    Despite a few flaws in the game and some aspects that should have been included this is a strong game. The strength lies in the gameplay and though the campaign is ok, it leaves the player wanting more. By focusing only on the enterprise legacy Bethusda missed a golden opportunity to let players play through Klingon, Romulan, and Borg missions. Instead the campaign is simply too short. Despite a few flaws in the game and some aspects that should have been included this is a strong game. The strength lies in the gameplay and though the campaign is ok, it leaves the player wanting more. By focusing only on the enterprise legacy Bethusda missed a golden opportunity to let players play through Klingon, Romulan, and Borg missions. Instead the campaign is simply too short. Despite the short campaign the game is extremly fun on 360, I'm not so sure it will translate as well to PC but the controler scheme on xbox is genius and smooth (once you get used to it). Another aspect they really dropped the ball on is interacting with items in the maps (should be able to beam aboard every enemy vessels w/shields down and structures to take them) and in being able to customize your ships. I find it hard to imagine making this game and not adding customization options, I mean imagine having a definat class ship (best ship in my opinion) with your name on it or colors, weapon configurations, etc.. Tripp tweaked the enterprise so he knew it's every sound and pulse, why can't we do the same? Despite it's flaws Legacy gives 360 something it is badly in need of, a flight sim/strategy game with replay value. The skirmish modes are fun but again brutally lacking in custamability, for which there is no excuse. Overall I give this game an 8 simply because there is nothing else like it on 360. I mean come on, finally a fun space fighter sim in the Star Trek world on a console, hallelujah! I think the game is good but they should make a sequel and fix the problems in this one, now that would be great! If you are any kind of a star trek or space sim fan you will want to pick this one up. Expand
  13. MattS.
    Dec 27, 2006
    7
    Legacy is a great example of why the 60 dollar standard is a bad idea. Legacy is a fun game. Not incredibly deep, but fun. The combat is amusing and the campaign will keep you interested for about 15 or 20 hours. The simple fact that you get to command the Enterprise is worth something. However, the game stumbles in many areas. The Borg are obviously incomplete as a playable race, the Legacy is a great example of why the 60 dollar standard is a bad idea. Legacy is a fun game. Not incredibly deep, but fun. The combat is amusing and the campaign will keep you interested for about 15 or 20 hours. The simple fact that you get to command the Enterprise is worth something. However, the game stumbles in many areas. The Borg are obviously incomplete as a playable race, the campaign cut-scences are boring and amateur, the animation budget for explosions obviously ran out at some point...and the list goes on. These problems are not game breaking, but they are wallet breaking. This game costs the same as Gears of War, Rainbow 6, Oblivion, and many other amazing games. Yet it's incredibly clear that not even half the money and time was put into it. This is fun in the same way that an Xbox Live Arcade release is fun, and would be well worth thirty, maybe fourty bucks. So wait until it costs that much, and you won't be disappointed. The game is fun, but trying to sell it at 60 dollars is a rip off. Expand
  14. ChrisA.
    Dec 26, 2006
    8
    Legacy is good overall and I have had fun playing through the missions in the single player campaign that I have accomplished thus far. There is some strategy involved in the gameplay as you have to think a bit about what needs to be accomplished in each mission, but overall I feel it is a good game and challenging at times. It is an action/strategy game and not really an RTS in most Legacy is good overall and I have had fun playing through the missions in the single player campaign that I have accomplished thus far. There is some strategy involved in the gameplay as you have to think a bit about what needs to be accomplished in each mission, but overall I feel it is a good game and challenging at times. It is an action/strategy game and not really an RTS in most respects. It is a pick up an play type game and for this I give it credit. The graphics are good for the most part, but not completely next-gen in my opinion. It does look good in HD though and the sound effects as well as the musical score are well done, allowing for a more genuine feeling of being in the Star Trek universe. It has some glitches and some downsides, but overall I am having fun with it. The major issue is no checkpoint or progress saves as you play through the missions, so when you screw up its back to the beginning again. And the missions can be between and 15 to 40 minutes, give or take, based on what I have played so far. The controls take a bit of time to become comfortable with, but they become fairly intuitive once you get used to them. The Skirmish modes are pick up and play and allow for plenty of practice with using the various weapons and maneuvering the ships. Plus, it just fun to pick up and play. If your a Trek fan and like the idea of a shooter type action/strategy game this may be for you and I feel it's worth playing. To be safe rather than sorry you may want to rent it and try it before you buy it. It is not perfect, but it is fun... Expand
  15. Gatofeo
    Dec 24, 2006
    6
    legacy isn't starfleet command but it could have been par with sfc. i'm not going to compare the two though, like apples and oranges. anyway legacy, has some major issues and the first one being physics. went an object collides with another, were's the damage? i would thick the kinetic energy would cause external/internal damages. the second issue is planetoids are scalled legacy isn't starfleet command but it could have been par with sfc. i'm not going to compare the two though, like apples and oranges. anyway legacy, has some major issues and the first one being physics. went an object collides with another, were's the damage? i would thick the kinetic energy would cause external/internal damages. the second issue is planetoids are scalled wrong. they're slightly big or about the same size as some of the ships. then there's the glitches after a mission ending or begining cut scene. the control scheme isn't well laid out for the controller. mapping could have been done better. i could go on and on about this title. is it playable? yes it is and you have a to grit your teeth. once to get acustomed to legacy's control schema, it's playable. rough, yet playable but really rent it before you buy. quaid, star trek uses photon/ quantom torpedos and phaser/disruptors. guns and missiles? have you even played the game to even comment on it? Expand
  16. BrettS.
    Dec 23, 2006
    0
    I decided to give this game a try, even though the score was low, knowing full well that the Metacritic reviews have never steered me wrong in the past. I consider myself to be a huge Star Trek fan, and I found this game to be a disappointment to the franchise. Visually, not stunning, and considering it's for the 360, below average. Gameplay was repetitive and boring, with the AI I decided to give this game a try, even though the score was low, knowing full well that the Metacritic reviews have never steered me wrong in the past. I consider myself to be a huge Star Trek fan, and I found this game to be a disappointment to the franchise. Visually, not stunning, and considering it's for the 360, below average. Gameplay was repetitive and boring, with the AI uttering the same comments throughout the game. Camera angles make it difficult to see what is going on, and the controls are cumbersome. I understand that a big starship is slow to move, but the rate of movement for these ships in the game was pathetic. I was hopeful, given that this game was created by the same people that created Oblivion, but I guess even the best can slip up every now and then. I rented this game, as I do with all Xbox 360 games, because the majority of them suck, and again felt that I spent too much on the rental price. This would have been a great game had they done it more like Star Wars, Knights of the Old Republic, for the old Xbox, and, rather than following several different eras, they should have picked one in between, and created a new story. Wow, what a new concept, too bad game developers can't think outside the box anymore. So, to summarize, this game SUCKS!!! Expand
  17. Quaid
    Dec 21, 2006
    0
    This is a first, I have never given a video game a zero. They should have made the game flying around with guns and missles. They should have coppied the Crimson Skies idea but only in space. What a waste of money. I want to take it back but I haven't decided if I will because this means someone else will buy it and they will be depressed also. What a bomb, they need to have worse This is a first, I have never given a video game a zero. They should have made the game flying around with guns and missles. They should have coppied the Crimson Skies idea but only in space. What a waste of money. I want to take it back but I haven't decided if I will because this means someone else will buy it and they will be depressed also. What a bomb, they need to have worse ratings than zero, because this would have got a negative 100. Beam me up to a better game... please!!! Expand
  18. MiguelG.
    Dec 21, 2006
    8
    They game deliver what it promised! Why people review the PC version in here ? It realy beats me ! "If you use a 360 controller..." - you got to use a 360 controller, this is a 360 game!!!!
  19. LeroyT.
    Dec 20, 2006
    2
    Don't believe these high user reviews - the PC and XBOX versions are identical. This game is inherently flawed and awful, bugs aside, the gameplay is BORING. The ship combat is terrible. This is space invaders set in the star trek universe.
  20. Merxx
    Dec 19, 2006
    8
    I gotta be honest. At first, I thought I had just wasted 60 bucks. Then I noticed that I was thinking about the game even when I wasnt playing. Thats when I realized I was hooked. The 360 version doesnt have the greatest graphics I've ever seen. In fact, the grapihics could have been alot better. However, I have tons of games with great graphics and horrible game play. This game is I gotta be honest. At first, I thought I had just wasted 60 bucks. Then I noticed that I was thinking about the game even when I wasnt playing. Thats when I realized I was hooked. The 360 version doesnt have the greatest graphics I've ever seen. In fact, the grapihics could have been alot better. However, I have tons of games with great graphics and horrible game play. This game is alot of fun. Just give it a few minutes to get used to the controls and how to manage your ships power and you'll start enjoying this game. If your an admitted Trekkie and gamer like me, give this a try. For those who are not into the trek universe, try renting first. Expand
  21. JohnG.
    Dec 16, 2006
    8
    I think that the other comments were based on the P.C version of this title. There seem to be none of the problems mentioned from the P.C version on the 360. Not a deep game, but for a bit of Trek space combat you can't go wrong, esp if you like trek. Ship models and sound are very good, looks and sounds great in HD with surround. Xbox live skirmish mode is very good, Recommended!
  22. kling1
    Dec 15, 2006
    8
    The previous comments were RE: the PC version of this game, which is clearly inferior. The XBOX360 version is much more stable and the controls more intuitive.
  23. DominickM.
    Dec 13, 2006
    4
    Bad graphics. Bland gameplay. Uninspired voice acting. Boring plot. Lack of depth. All in all, big disappointment.
  24. FredA.
    Dec 7, 2006
    3
    I expected a lot more and was promised, but this game is very sloppy. The manual is incomplete and very thin. It
  25. Jun 18, 2012
    0
    As a Trekkie, it was thrilling to be able to see all of the starships I had come to admire in such detail, and to be able to control them in a fully 3-dimensional setting. The score is dramatic and certainly lives up the memory of all the Star Trek series, the graphics are impressive, and it was a great touch to hear all 5 of the real captain's voices. However, the game does have a fewAs a Trekkie, it was thrilling to be able to see all of the starships I had come to admire in such detail, and to be able to control them in a fully 3-dimensional setting. The score is dramatic and certainly lives up the memory of all the Star Trek series, the graphics are impressive, and it was a great touch to hear all 5 of the real captain's voices. However, the game does have a few disappointing features which bring the score down. Chiefly, because of the generally low health of your ships, difficulty with controls and vagueness of the mission parameters, I found Legacy very diffilcult to play, and have only just reached the first Original Series mission through the help of a friend. The lack of offline multiplayer is also very disappointing. All in all, an impressive-looking game that probably appeals mostly to Trekkies (not that that's a hugely bad thing) and is let down by fiddly controls, high difficulty level and lack of offline multiplayer. Collapse
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 41
  2. Negative: 4 out of 41
  1. The controls of your spaceships just aren’t good enough. You rotate your ship in 3D. You rotate the camera in 3D. You fight in 3D – it’s all just too much 3D.
  2. Soured by some nagging flaws, Legacy isn't a title that will appeal to everyone. However, its willingness to try something new deserves some healthy praise. [Jan 2007, p.92]
  3. This game excels at staging space battles on an epic scale. [Jan. 2007, p.70]