Star Trek: Legacy Xbox 360

Star Trek: Legacy Image
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 42 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Star Trek: Legacy places you in the role of the Admiral of a task force of warships, which you control in small and large-scale battles. Test your strategic and tactical skills in real-time combat featuring authentic spaceships, full damage modeling, and spectacular visual effects. TheStar Trek: Legacy places you in the role of the Admiral of a task force of warships, which you control in small and large-scale battles. Test your strategic and tactical skills in real-time combat featuring authentic spaceships, full damage modeling, and spectacular visual effects. The storyline spans the entire Star Trek Universe, including the Original Series, Next Generation, Deep Space Nine, Voyager, and Enterprise eras. Taking advantage of next-generation consoles, Star Trek: Legacy features dynamic three-dimensional battlefields with graphically stunning space environments filled with fully realized nebulas, wormholes, planets, and stars. With full multiplayer support, you can to choose from small-scale engagements to all-out war involving multiple star systems in addition to tracking stats and player rankings. [Bethesda Softworks] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 41
  2. Negative: 4 out of 41
  1. A fantastic action-strategy title that not only captures the essence of Star Trek, but delivers a diverse amount of content that spans 40 years of history and three eras of Trek lore. This is a must-own title for anyone who claims to be a Trekkie.
  2. Games Master UK
    78
    A surprisingly rewarding and tactical combat sim that's not just for Trek fans, with an enjoyable enough story. [Feb 2007, p.68]
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    72
    Pleasant to look at, but has very limited tactical depth. What is worse there is not really much else to do other than fire the phasers. Only a die-hard trekkie could enjoy this – and, sadly, probably will. [Feb 2007]
  4. Spotty AI results in way too much micromanagement, which is a true shame for any game, but especially for a strategic one bearing the Star Trek license.
  5. 60
    If Mad Doc can fix the multiplayer somehow, there’s every reason to believe trekkers and even fussier trekkies could find something to desire here.
  6. The controls of your spaceships just aren’t good enough. You rotate your ship in 3D. You rotate the camera in 3D. You fight in 3D – it’s all just too much 3D.
  7. games(TM)
    30
    The story isn’t interesting and you’ll often find yourself flying aimlessly through space, waiting for your next set of orders. It may be realistic in relation to the world of Star Trek, but that doesn’t mean it’s fun to play. [Feb 2007, p.107]

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 24
  2. Negative: 9 out of 24
  1. RobN.
    Jan 17, 2007
    9
    This is a great game. I would have given it a 10, but the missions do get somewhat repetitive. Single player is very fun, and multiplayer This is a great game. I would have given it a 10, but the missions do get somewhat repetitive. Single player is very fun, and multiplayer really adds to the game. If you like Star Trek at all, this is for you! Expand
  2. Merxx
    Dec 19, 2006
    8
    I gotta be honest. At first, I thought I had just wasted 60 bucks. Then I noticed that I was thinking about the game even when I wasnt I gotta be honest. At first, I thought I had just wasted 60 bucks. Then I noticed that I was thinking about the game even when I wasnt playing. Thats when I realized I was hooked. The 360 version doesnt have the greatest graphics I've ever seen. In fact, the grapihics could have been alot better. However, I have tons of games with great graphics and horrible game play. This game is alot of fun. Just give it a few minutes to get used to the controls and how to manage your ships power and you'll start enjoying this game. If your an admitted Trekkie and gamer like me, give this a try. For those who are not into the trek universe, try renting first. Expand
  3. TerryM.
    Dec 28, 2006
    8
    Despite a few flaws in the game and some aspects that should have been included this is a strong game. The strength lies in the gameplay and Despite a few flaws in the game and some aspects that should have been included this is a strong game. The strength lies in the gameplay and though the campaign is ok, it leaves the player wanting more. By focusing only on the enterprise legacy Bethusda missed a golden opportunity to let players play through Klingon, Romulan, and Borg missions. Instead the campaign is simply too short. Despite the short campaign the game is extremly fun on 360, I'm not so sure it will translate as well to PC but the controler scheme on xbox is genius and smooth (once you get used to it). Another aspect they really dropped the ball on is interacting with items in the maps (should be able to beam aboard every enemy vessels w/shields down and structures to take them) and in being able to customize your ships. I find it hard to imagine making this game and not adding customization options, I mean imagine having a definat class ship (best ship in my opinion) with your name on it or colors, weapon configurations, etc.. Tripp tweaked the enterprise so he knew it's every sound and pulse, why can't we do the same? Despite it's flaws Legacy gives 360 something it is badly in need of, a flight sim/strategy game with replay value. The skirmish modes are fun but again brutally lacking in custamability, for which there is no excuse. Overall I give this game an 8 simply because there is nothing else like it on 360. I mean come on, finally a fun space fighter sim in the Star Trek world on a console, hallelujah! I think the game is good but they should make a sequel and fix the problems in this one, now that would be great! If you are any kind of a star trek or space sim fan you will want to pick this one up. Expand
  4. Jun 18, 2012
    6
    As a Trekkie, it was thrilling to be able to see all of the starships I had come to admire in such detail, and to be able to control them in aAs a Trekkie, it was thrilling to be able to see all of the starships I had come to admire in such detail, and to be able to control them in a fully 3-dimensional setting. The score is dramatic and certainly lives up the memory of all the Star Trek series, the graphics are impressive, and it was a great touch to hear all 5 of the real captain's voices. However, the game does have a few disappointing features which bring the score down. Chiefly, because of the generally low health of your ships, difficulty with controls and vagueness of the mission parameters, I found Legacy very diffilcult to play, and have only just reached the first Original Series mission through the help of a friend. The lack of offline multiplayer is also very disappointing. All in all, an impressive-looking game that probably appeals mostly to Trekkies (not that that's a hugely bad thing) and is let down by fiddly controls, high difficulty level and lack of offline multiplayer. Expand
  5. DominickM.
    Dec 13, 2006
    4
    Bad graphics. Bland gameplay. Uninspired voice acting. Boring plot. Lack of depth. All in all, big disappointment.
  6. TomW.
    Apr 18, 2007
    2
    Why? Why would they even release this game? It is poorly put together, boring, hard to control and just simply a really bad game. Don't Why? Why would they even release this game? It is poorly put together, boring, hard to control and just simply a really bad game. Don't waste your time. I'm a Trek fan and even this doesn't appeal. Expand
  7. Quaid
    Dec 21, 2006
    0
    This is a first, I have never given a video game a zero. They should have made the game flying around with guns and missles. They should have This is a first, I have never given a video game a zero. They should have made the game flying around with guns and missles. They should have coppied the Crimson Skies idea but only in space. What a waste of money. I want to take it back but I haven't decided if I will because this means someone else will buy it and they will be depressed also. What a bomb, they need to have worse ratings than zero, because this would have got a negative 100. Beam me up to a better game... please!!! Collapse

See all 24 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. To Boldly Play: The Best and Worst Star Trek Videogames

    To Boldly Play: The Best and Worst Star Trek Videogames Image
    Published: February 19, 2010
    The new Star Trek Online is only the latest in a storied line of Star Trek-related videogames dating back to the early 1970s. Voyage with us as we chart a course through Star Trek history.