Metascore
42

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 42
  2. Negative: 33 out of 42
Buy On
  1. May 6, 2013
    60
    It's not a bad game, but it's obviously meant to join the Star Trek momentum created by the new film.
  2. Apr 26, 2013
    60
    It delivers an average gameplay experience through a decent story. The game’s mediocre visuals are balanced by the strong soundscape, but neither department does enough to propel the game to warp speed. Mr. Sulu, you have failed.
  3. Apr 26, 2013
    60
    It’s double-hard to make such harsh criticisms of a game into which such a tremendous amount of care has been poured – obvious by its looks, and obvious by that token that a great many of those who worked on it cared.
  4. Apr 26, 2013
    60
    As the game shifts from its early crew introductions, it’s obvious that the layers of game mechanics underlying the experience are either incompetent or awkwardly implemented. For instance, stealth is required in a handful of missions, but the act of navigating between cover is frustratingly cumbersome, occasionally exacerbated by your partner claiming the next vital protection point.
  5. Apr 26, 2013
    60
    Star Trek becomes a rare movie game that rises above its peers and delivers something genuinely fun. It's only ever a partial success though, too bogged down by timid design and technical rough edges to really be the game that Trek deserves.
  6. May 6, 2013
    59
    An unoriginal example of an archaic form of entertainment.
  7. Apr 26, 2013
    58
    The Star Trek franchise is built on the concept of a hopeful future, but fans should keep looking toward the horizon, because this present trek is hopeless.
  8. May 19, 2013
    55
    Star Trek fans' hopes for a really good game tied to Roddenberry's franchise are once again crushed. Star Trek disappoints both in the technical and gameplay aspects, trying to emulate other popular titles but failing to do so.
  9. The sad truth is that Digital Extremes’ has given story-starved Trekkies a good little narrative wrapped tightly within a not very good game.
User Score
2.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 317 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 128
  2. Negative: 85 out of 128
  1. Apr 24, 2013
    4
    I'm not going to balance out the score (I think that is just a distasteful as the 10's from the software developers).
    This game is below
    I'm not going to balance out the score (I think that is just a distasteful as the 10's from the software developers).
    This game is below average but not a zero. Poor graphics, glitches, and sub-par game-play. I'm half way through the game and the story isn't horrible but it isn't the best either. Although it is a fun co-op experience.
    This is the type of game that should be $30 max $40 right off the store shelves and I would buy it. I will purchase it but I will wait for that used price.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 23, 2013
    2
    Look, if you are somehow affiliated with the company and shilling good reviews on Metacritic, face it champ, you are a cheap sellout. ThisLook, if you are somehow affiliated with the company and shilling good reviews on Metacritic, face it champ, you are a cheap sellout. This game is EXACTLY what we've all feared: a shoddy knock-off of a venerable IP. Congrats, you threw some bones (heh) at the original cast and then skimped on game mechanics, graphics, and story...i.e. the only things that matter. And, oh dear V'ger...the cutscenes...every 2 minutes. Oh really...another turbolift ride? Did you guys not notice how Mass Effect fixed this obvious BS? I would say, honestly, that if you're a hardcore Trekkie...please wait until this is >$20. It's simply a substandard, lazy game. Full Review »
  3. Apr 26, 2013
    6
    This game looked better in the videos, unfortunately it falls short. Don't buy it, it's not worth the $60.

    But yes, these fake 10/10's are
    This game looked better in the videos, unfortunately it falls short. Don't buy it, it's not worth the $60.

    But yes, these fake 10/10's are bad, as are the 0/10's (it's not that good or that bad)

    Also, I am glad Angry Joe pointed out the co-op flaws in PC version, but this is the 360 section.
    Full Review »