Star Trek The Video Game Image
Metascore
42

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 322 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Players have the opportunity to play as two of the greatest science-fiction heroes ever -- Kirk and Spock – in STAR TREK, an original co-op experience that expands the Star Trek universe. Set in the 23rd Century world of the Star Trek reboot, this cover-based shooter immerses players in anPlayers have the opportunity to play as two of the greatest science-fiction heroes ever -- Kirk and Spock – in STAR TREK, an original co-op experience that expands the Star Trek universe. Set in the 23rd Century world of the Star Trek reboot, this cover-based shooter immerses players in an original story and action-packed combat. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 42
  2. Negative: 33 out of 42
  1. May 6, 2013
    60
    It's not a bad game, but it's obviously meant to join the Star Trek momentum created by the new film.
  2. May 6, 2013
    59
    An unoriginal example of an archaic form of entertainment.
  3. May 13, 2013
    48
    It’s too bad that this game wasn’t better developed and given more time to polish. Instead of a fine dish of Klingon gagh, we end up with poorly sung Klingon opera.
  4. Apr 26, 2013
    40
    Star Trek has more bugs crawling on it than a Fear Factor contestant. Sometimes the results are amusing, as in the turbolift example, but frequently they just make life a drag.
  5. May 10, 2013
    35
    There's a lot wrong with Star Trek. The story is told very averagely, environments are boring, shooting is unsatisfactory, your companion will annoy you to death and boring puzzles might just eradicate most of your brain cells. The only fun I had with this game is thanks to the hilarious bugs.
  6. May 2, 2013
    33
    Overall, other than maybe a rental or picking up one day in a bargain bin, there is very little I can say to recommend this mediocre attempt with a big budget license.
  7. Apr 29, 2013
    20
    Several occasions while playing Star Trek, I was ready to call it a write-off, whether it’s the bugs, the terrible signposting or the fact it’s just plain dull. But then the game surprises with a section that’s not half-bad...And it is so infuriating. Not because Star Trek is ever hard, but because it could have been good. And it’s not.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 133
  2. Negative: 86 out of 133
  1. Apr 23, 2013
    10
    What is with the jerks giving this game zero's, must be star wars fans, anyway, I like both star wars and star trek, played this game on myWhat is with the jerks giving this game zero's, must be star wars fans, anyway, I like both star wars and star trek, played this game on my PC. It was a fun ride, the graphics are ok, not as bad as some other people are saying, if you like games like mass effect you will like this game, simple Expand
  2. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    I got the Xbox 360 version but I heard that PC co-op wasn't working but as the Xbox version goes it ok it's not the best it's got a lot ofI got the Xbox 360 version but I heard that PC co-op wasn't working but as the Xbox version goes it ok it's not the best it's got a lot of bugs but its a good story as it goes the gameplays ok it's basically just using your tricorder and shooting your gun that's about it that's how you sum it up but don't get me wrong it's a great game the co-op is basically the same in my opinion Expand
  3. Apr 30, 2013
    7
    Like most I was at first excited about the new Star Trek video game but quickly lost interest once reviews and quick looks started rolling in.Like most I was at first excited about the new Star Trek video game but quickly lost interest once reviews and quick looks started rolling in. Currently the game (360 version) has a 43/100 critic rating on MetaCritic and a 2.5/10 user score. Pretty bad. Despite knowing better, I rented the game from Red Box anyway. $2 a day isn't that bad, and if it turned out to be terrible I'd cut my losses early.

    I've invested $6 in the game so far (three days) and I have to say it's not as bad as I imagined it would be. I started out playing co-op with my girlfriend and the level design and gameplay is ugly right from the start. The game makes it very clunky to get into and out of cover and for someone who isn't well versed in video game mechanics is guaranteed to have a very difficult time early on. If that weren't bad enough, oftentimes the game will react in strange ways to your inputs. You can push to jump in one direction and your character will jump off a cliff to his death for no good reason.

    There's a sequence early on where you have to run as a series of explosions chases you. This is a point in the game where I really wanted to put down the controller and take the game back to Red Box. For some reason every time the game starts you off with the camera backward and your character facing in the wrong direction and you have to quickly reorient yourself and get running in the right direction or you'll die. This was more inconvenient than difficult for me as I quickly realized the game was trying to kill me. For my girlfriend, however, it was incredibly frustrating. When the game isn't being helpful at all it's much more difficult for someone who doesn't play video games often to get oriented and do what you're supposed to do. What's worse is doing what you're supposed to do can get you killed as often as not in this game because of bugs and bad design.

    I started playing solo after the first level (with AI controlling Spock) and for awhile this was less frustrating. Until I ran into climbing sequences where it's almost completely unpredictable where your character is going to jump even if you're pressing in the right direction. Several times Captain Kirk simply jumped to his death for no good reason. I guess I'd want to end it all too if I were stuck in this horrible game.

    Once the action picks up the game plays a little better. Of course I'm playing on easy so I can run and gun, because if I had to rely on the clunky cover system my blood pressure would rise even further than it already does while playing this game. There's a moderate variety of weapons you can pick up as you go, and it's satisfying to kill the Gorn enemies. As a Starfeet Captain you're "supposed" to 'set phasers to stun' when facing possessed human enemies, however I find it more enjoyable to simply kill them (not to mention easier). You can only fire off two "stun" shots before your weapon has to recharge and when you're facing a large number of enemies it's not practical to stun them all. Furthermore a stunned enemy only remains so for a few seconds and you have to run up to them and melee them to knock them out or they'll return to shooting at you. Interestingly the achievements reward you for getting X number of kills with each weapon, so again it's more beneficial to just kill everything.

    Like the movies, there's lots of lens flare here.

    One thing I like about playing with an AI partner is that you can have them perform all of the hacking and unlocking in the game. The mini-games are excessively long and get annoying so it's nice to just have Spock do everything for me. The co-op doors get incredibly annoying and boring, however. Why can't I just open the damn door?

    The game has been a decent experience so far. It would be nice to actually be able to pilot the Enterprise rather than just play a sort of Space Invaders game where you fend off attacking ships with the Enterprise's weapons. It's an okay section, but they could've done more with the Enterprise. There are several sections of the game that encourage stealth, however it's more of a pain in the ass to try to pass by stealthily than it is to simply kill the enemies. There's also an upgrade system where you can spend XP in order to improve certain equipment, but as far as I can tell the upgrades make barely any impact on gameplay and I've stopped bothering even opening the menu.

    Lastly, and probably least important, the names of the achievements in the game are lazy and this bothers me. "Beat Helios-1", "Beat New Vulcan"... They could've at least had better names for the story completion achievements. This has no impact on the game, it just really stood out to me.

    In the end I would say you should not purchase Star Trek at its retail $60 price tag. I wouldn't even recommend buying it used until it drops below $20. You're best off renting the game at Red Box and you could probably complete it in a night if you wanted.

    -avideogamelife.com
    Collapse
  4. Apr 24, 2013
    2
    Stop lying to consumers Namco Bandai. The fact that you delayed review copies, denying that Co-op doesn't work and having to create fakeStop lying to consumers Namco Bandai. The fact that you delayed review copies, denying that Co-op doesn't work and having to create fake accounts on Metacritic in order to combat the negative press reviews this game is about to get is crap. Incredibly unprofessional. Its again another sub par, below average movie licensed title with third person action we've seen time and time again. Expand
  5. Apr 25, 2013
    1
    Sucks balls theSucks balls the end........................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................ Expand
  6. Apr 27, 2013
    0
    Any game with fake reviews and broken coop deserves to be removed from Steam. This game sucks. Don't get this game, it is a waste of time and money...
  7. Apr 25, 2013
    0
    This game could have been good but hey, what do you expect from a game that comes out like 3 months after its announced. Im giving this game aThis game could have been good but hey, what do you expect from a game that comes out like 3 months after its announced. Im giving this game a 0 not because i despised it was unplayable, (definetly awful tough) but because a company writing fake user reviews is just plain dishonest and pathetic. The bad quality of the game could have been more understandable if it was rushed because of the release of the movie, but was not rushed. These guys have been working on the game since before the original JJ Abrahams star trek in 2009, which is plenty of time to develop a game. So you could say they just f*cked it up and its pretty much their fault. But if you make a bad game, and its your fault, just accept it and move on, don't write useless fake user reviews because you are going to be mauled by the press anyway. I personally have much more respect for people who make games but don't lie to your face about it. The zero is also for failing to make something worthy of the JJ Abraham movies, which h I am a big fan of. Expand

See all 133 User Reviews