User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 387 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 75 out of 387
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Tjthegamer
    Nov 12, 2008
    6
    While the games concept is good, and the force powers work perfectly. The game suffers from bugs and issues that seemed would be the least of the devoloper's problems in making a force game. Such as impossible camera, targeting system, and difficulty issues (the games second boss is still the hardest for me even after 4 cycles). Boring locations (a grand total of 4 themes), While the games concept is good, and the force powers work perfectly. The game suffers from bugs and issues that seemed would be the least of the devoloper's problems in making a force game. Such as impossible camera, targeting system, and difficulty issues (the games second boss is still the hardest for me even after 4 cycles). Boring locations (a grand total of 4 themes), Repetitive gameplay, and dumb A.I. (They fall for the same moves time and time again) means this game is an average game. It gets a 6 because you can at least take out your frustration by flinging a storm trooper 100 yards at 50 mph into a boulder face first. Expand
  2. JacobL.
    Mar 2, 2009
    7
    The Force Unleashed is overall a good game. The force powers are fun to use and there are some interesting boss fights. However, about half way through the game the enemies become tougher and are only vulnerable to one of your force powers and you revisit every location you went to in the first half. Despite all of these flaws the game is fun especially if you replay levels when you are The Force Unleashed is overall a good game. The force powers are fun to use and there are some interesting boss fights. However, about half way through the game the enemies become tougher and are only vulnerable to one of your force powers and you revisit every location you went to in the first half. Despite all of these flaws the game is fun especially if you replay levels when you are very powerful. The story is good, the weaker enemies are fun to toy with, and the graphics are amazing. This is the one game that may not be for everyone so play the demo before you buy the game. Expand
  3. Sonny
    Oct 1, 2008
    6
    as an RPG it cant measure up to content found in KOTOR I & II, as for fighting there are more realistic and better saber fights in battlefront II, force powers is really all this game has. i found it too be too short and too constrictive. and even force powers are a bit of a let down since u get a movie clip wher u down a star destroyer but in fights againt AT-Ts u cant do the same. its as an RPG it cant measure up to content found in KOTOR I & II, as for fighting there are more realistic and better saber fights in battlefront II, force powers is really all this game has. i found it too be too short and too constrictive. and even force powers are a bit of a let down since u get a movie clip wher u down a star destroyer but in fights againt AT-Ts u cant do the same. its really just another dungen crawer. C+ just for the graphics and force powers.......other than that its a disapointment. and not too mention than ending is so unrealistic and for obvious reasons. i mean how can a character that is supposed to be a sith apprentice that spends his hole life on training to kill the emperor on the end spair him...well because if he didnt there would be no Starwars saga of Luke Skywalker. C. Expand
  4. JoonasM.
    Sep 27, 2008
    5
    Gameplay is very poor. Only good thing about this game is that the story is very good. Everything else just sucks.
  5. MY.
    Sep 4, 2008
    5
    The only reason I can think of for not releasing a PC version of this game is the stark difference in quality between it and the other Jedi Knight titles that have come before. Lucasarts really dropped the ball on this one, and I for one would rather wait for the new Castlevania on DS than buy this title.
  6. ZachM.
    Jan 7, 2009
    5
    I am so let down I can't put it into words. I was hoping for a real roleplay game in which I could feel what it would be like to have total control over the force but instead what I got was anxiety. The auto lock feature SUCKS, the lightsaber is more like a stun gun, and the part where you have to move the destroyer is enough to make you pull your hair out. Then to top it all off I am so let down I can't put it into words. I was hoping for a real roleplay game in which I could feel what it would be like to have total control over the force but instead what I got was anxiety. The auto lock feature SUCKS, the lightsaber is more like a stun gun, and the part where you have to move the destroyer is enough to make you pull your hair out. Then to top it all off after like five hours of gameplay....the whole thing is over. That's like more than than ten bucks an hour I paid to play this sorry ass excuse for part of the Star Wars franchise. I think I fought like three Jedi and one so called Sith (other than the Emporer) and they were all easy as hell to beat. Now what? I am supposed to go play the same old lame ass missions on a harder level...no thanks...I am taking this biaatch to gamestop and trading it in for polly pocket, or simcity or something not quite as lame. NIce job George..maybe you should focus on making the third trilogy instead of giving us cartoons and horrible video games to try and give us our Star Wars Fix......as Master Yoda would say...Sucks a big one,,,this game does. Expand
  7. LongTimer
    Oct 1, 2008
    6
    Dodgy level design and a huge amount of bugs makes this game sub par. Getting caught on something invisible while trying to run over a bridge is pretty unacceptable in this day and age. Almost seems like it wasn't play tested. The digital molecular matter that has been boasted about for the past few months isn't up to scratch yet on some objects, namely wood. The story is enough Dodgy level design and a huge amount of bugs makes this game sub par. Getting caught on something invisible while trying to run over a bridge is pretty unacceptable in this day and age. Almost seems like it wasn't play tested. The digital molecular matter that has been boasted about for the past few months isn't up to scratch yet on some objects, namely wood. The story is enough to keep you going but just doesn't quite seem like star wars to me. If ever there was a game to rent rather than buy then this is it. Expand
  8. KhristianR.
    Oct 1, 2008
    7
    Its decent, but its too linear and doesn't allow for as much freedom as you'd hoped. The little touches are nice, and while it lasts its a bit of fun, but it doesn't last to long. SCORE : 73%
  9. jason
    Oct 4, 2008
    5
    Graphics are good but not up to par in the faces (the main character looks like he has down syndrome) Fighting is very static, you dont move while attacking you can only jump straight up you cant break a combo to dodge or block, skills take a large amount of energy and can be very difficult to aim. Grabbing and throwing doesnt lock on so almost impossible to direct hit. Targeting will on Graphics are good but not up to par in the faces (the main character looks like he has down syndrome) Fighting is very static, you dont move while attacking you can only jump straight up you cant break a combo to dodge or block, skills take a large amount of energy and can be very difficult to aim. Grabbing and throwing doesnt lock on so almost impossible to direct hit. Targeting will on target enemy directly in front of you. Glitches are everywhere, causing you to get stuck or the enemies get stuck on things. Excessive quick time events although they don't punish you for messing up. Verdict : if you love stars wars to death rent it , if you are looking for a good deep action game much much better can be found elsewhere (devil may cry , ninja gaiden, or god of war if you like quick time events). Expand
  10. chenry
    Oct 8, 2008
    6
    Impressive graphics barely make up for sloppy controls and extremely irritating auto-targeting systems. The game itself attempts to mesh the new and original prequels together, and it comes off as trying to force the (bad) new trilogy down our throats. Many non-canon elements make the game seem more like Star Wars Fanfic than legitimate Star Wars mythos. Control wise, the game is buggy. Impressive graphics barely make up for sloppy controls and extremely irritating auto-targeting systems. The game itself attempts to mesh the new and original prequels together, and it comes off as trying to force the (bad) new trilogy down our throats. Many non-canon elements make the game seem more like Star Wars Fanfic than legitimate Star Wars mythos. Control wise, the game is buggy. Movement is rapid and spastic, like a hyperactive rabbit. The auto-targeting will leave you throwing lighting at non-threatening inanimate objects while a Stormtrooper is busy lining a shot up on your stupid face. Enemies tend to swarm you and come from now where. Boss Fights usually end with a bloody Quick-Time button mashing sequence, which is just irritating and totally unnecessary. I hate quick time button sequences, they're awful and pointless. I just beat this boss into submission, there's no reason to force me to play bloody Simon Says!!! The game is full of cheap deaths and irritating fight sequences. You're constantly under assault by guys with laser guns and you've got a sword. It'd be nice if you had some more ranged attacks, or even a blaster pistol, but no. You can throw lightning, or your light saber, but hoo-bloody-ray, here's the awful targeting system back to haunt you. Calling this the best Star Wars game isn't a stretch though, since LucasArts has almost never delivered a good Star Wars game. Only when someone else makes the game is it any good. KOTOR from Bioware, or even Lego Star Wars from Traveler's Tales are better games. Expand
  11. TrevorG
    Aug 22, 2008
    6
    While it's cool to be able to weild a light sabre and use force powers, the gameplay itself is pretty week. Honestly it's like a cheap God of War rip off dressed up in Star Wars outfits. The graphics are almost last gen and the textures are bland. The enemies are stupid and the character models look like something out of Battlefront II. The gameplay seems very linear, only one While it's cool to be able to weild a light sabre and use force powers, the gameplay itself is pretty week. Honestly it's like a cheap God of War rip off dressed up in Star Wars outfits. The graphics are almost last gen and the textures are bland. The enemies are stupid and the character models look like something out of Battlefront II. The gameplay seems very linear, only one way to go and one thing to do. Which would be alright if that one way was very interesting. I think a lot of people are going to be disappointed in this game. I know I for one expected more. Expand
  12. IulianM.
    Sep 15, 2008
    6
    The ligthsaber is nerfed beyond my comprehension. Ever since Jedi Knight 2 it's been a known and proven fact that a lightsaber will cut trough anything not made of chortosis. Sormtropers loose their heads, litteraly, at a touch of the glowing plasma sword. Here you're just bashing them. This would be ok if this was Devil May Cry, but it's Star Wars and you have what should The ligthsaber is nerfed beyond my comprehension. Ever since Jedi Knight 2 it's been a known and proven fact that a lightsaber will cut trough anything not made of chortosis. Sormtropers loose their heads, litteraly, at a touch of the glowing plasma sword. Here you're just bashing them. This would be ok if this was Devil May Cry, but it's Star Wars and you have what should be a very deadly Lightsaber. Another thing I saw is that for all his "scaryness", half a foot unarmed oponents aren't shy of attaking him, wheras an unarmed storptrooper woulr run like hell from Kyle Katarn or his aprentice Jaden Korr. The game may have the advantages of Euphoria and DMM but gameplay wise it's as much of a Star Wars game as Legacy of Kane Defiance. Expand
  13. Orindlt
    Sep 18, 2008
    5
    Uneven controls and idiosyncratic camera angles mar what might have been an otherwise excellent game.
  14. xeroman
    Sep 19, 2008
    5
    Did anybody even playtest this game before it went out to the public? Every possible glitch and bug from missing animation to getting stuck on objects and out of sync and even missing audio, it's all here! Terrible gameplay mechanics towards the later levels (why do I have the The Force powers if I can't use it on anybody!). In what should be one of the greatest moments in Did anybody even playtest this game before it went out to the public? Every possible glitch and bug from missing animation to getting stuck on objects and out of sync and even missing audio, it's all here! Terrible gameplay mechanics towards the later levels (why do I have the The Force powers if I can't use it on anybody!). In what should be one of the greatest moments in gaming, bringing down a Star Destroyer, ends up being the worst part of this shovel ware. Yet another cash in on the already dried up Star Wars franchise. If you're smart you'll be returning your copy for a refund just like I did. Expand
  15. Anonyous
    Sep 28, 2008
    7
    Matt M, everyone is entitled to their own opinion. Obviously, they all played the game. Anyways, I felt the game was fun, but is only worthy of a rent--doesn't seem like the kind of game with high re-playability.
  16. AlexC.
    Sep 18, 2008
    5
    This game had such promise, but at the end of the day, all I am going to remember are the glitches and failures that developers were suppost to fix during the testing stage of the game.
  17. mrpeatie
    Sep 21, 2008
    7
    As an action game fan and a Star Wars fan, I enjoyed this game. All the flaws mentioned in the reviews above are there. How much they detract from the overall experience just depends on how much you like the genre and the Star Wars universe.
  18. Nikolai
    Sep 20, 2008
    6
    This game has a completely linear storyline and there are glitches everywhere. You would think that any game associated with LucasArts would be a top quality game. All signs point to the arrogance of George Lucas believing that because he created one of the greatest sci-fi genres that he can never make an inferior product. I'm pretty disappointed in the game overall. On a positive This game has a completely linear storyline and there are glitches everywhere. You would think that any game associated with LucasArts would be a top quality game. All signs point to the arrogance of George Lucas believing that because he created one of the greatest sci-fi genres that he can never make an inferior product. I'm pretty disappointed in the game overall. On a positive side, the force powers are fantastic and the combat combos are amazing. To contrast with the negatives, the combos are very hard to learn and remember. The storyline was pretty original as it leads to some questions of Darth Vader's overall role in the rebellion but I would have to say I was pretty disappointed. This game will definitely be traded in once it's exploited. I hope that any future products from LucasArts will be far superior. Expand
  19. TheExile
    Sep 23, 2008
    6
    I enjoyed this up until the Star Destroyer. This has to be the most badly designed level in all gaming. Nearly threw the game against the wall in a rage. That aside, you cant help feeling that they would have been better off creating the engine and mechanics then giving it over to BioWare for them to use as KoToR 3.
  20. HassanRab
    Sep 25, 2008
    6
    Has lots of problems. Don't even really bother renting it unless you're okay with lots of glitches.
  21. BlandyB.
    Sep 27, 2008
    7
    I haven't really experienced any of the glitches that I'm reading about. The only really bad part is pulling down the Star Destroyer. It should have been the most awesome part of the game, but instead it's tedious and frustrating. Whoever programmed the gameplay for that part dropped the ball big time.
  22. Brackynews
    Sep 28, 2008
    7
    Very Good: Story, voices and art. Lots of bonuses and upgrading, mix of Jedi Knight and KOTOR. Change difficulty anytime. Satisfying combat, more dependent on lightsaber than trailers led to believe.. Very Bad: Lock-on entirely dependent on where your character is facing. Camera viewfield too narrow and behaves badly. Uneven checkpoints.
  23. ADrew
    Oct 18, 2008
    7
    This game would have got a much higher score if only they'd given it a little more time to be bug tested and balanced. The only major flaws with the game are the targetting system and collision detection, you'll die more often from a "cheap" death caused by an inability to target what you intended or being hit by something that missed you by miles than you will from having a This game would have got a much higher score if only they'd given it a little more time to be bug tested and balanced. The only major flaws with the game are the targetting system and collision detection, you'll die more often from a "cheap" death caused by an inability to target what you intended or being hit by something that missed you by miles than you will from having a lack of skill. That said the games levelling system makes it worth playing twice, collectibles actually have a good reason to be found and the story with its 2 endings is both well written and compelling. This game was obviously rushed to hit shelves before the other titles being released for the primary gifting periods of thanksgiving and christmas. The quality of the end product is reflected in this decision made by the marketting people and not by the developers. Without the bugs this game would have been given a 9. (i'm taking away 1 point for 2 ridiculous scenes in the otherwise great story). Expand
  24. GarethS.
    Sep 27, 2008
    5
    A 5 and thats me being generous. Ive played it through on all difficulties and got all the gamerpoints but this game is not worth a purchase no matter how much of a star wars fan you are, rent this game if you must but you may be disappointed.
  25. --
    Dec 29, 2009
    7
    360 version is full of glitches which quite frequently end in you losing the last bit of your health. Good storyline, but lacks the ability to have a fair fight, as the enemy mostly croud around your body as u lay on the ground and let them take turns beating the crap through u. Good game, but ALOT more testing is required for next time.
  26. Oct 29, 2012
    7
    The audio is fantastic, and the graphics will impress more often than not. The fun combat system and epic story are moderately spoiled by a poor targeting system, bad enemy AI, and some glitches.
  27. Jan 6, 2011
    6
    the game has some cool things going for it . the start is its set in the original trilogys story line and adds more to the star wars lore. some cool force powers to use . a pretty solid story with some good voice acting . 2 differnt endings which gives you another reason to play it . a pretty decent combat system . what holds this game down is how buggy and glitchy it is . the starthe game has some cool things going for it . the start is its set in the original trilogys story line and adds more to the star wars lore. some cool force powers to use . a pretty solid story with some good voice acting . 2 differnt endings which gives you another reason to play it . a pretty decent combat system . what holds this game down is how buggy and glitchy it is . the star destroyer part especially . i was stuck on that part for 2 hours because of it getting glitched up. the game is pretty simple too they could have done alot more to make it much more exciting . its a ok star wars game which i only paid $15 for so i dont feel to bad about it. Expand
  28. Dec 14, 2010
    7
    Sadly this is not what I thought it would be. The story is awesome but the combat can feel clunky and reptitive sometimes and I only feel substantially powerful when I've maxed everything, because you can't even charge up force push or lightening until the second level, when it should have been immediate. The game ends very quickly as well and here isn't that much replay-value. I hope theSadly this is not what I thought it would be. The story is awesome but the combat can feel clunky and reptitive sometimes and I only feel substantially powerful when I've maxed everything, because you can't even charge up force push or lightening until the second level, when it should have been immediate. The game ends very quickly as well and here isn't that much replay-value. I hope the next installment will be better Expand
  29. Mar 2, 2011
    7
    I suspect that the people giving this game such poor reviews were expecting a fantastic game rather than a good game. The game has somewhat clunky controls and not so great graphics, but a strong storyline and enjoyable force powers and lightsaber attacks at the players disposal. Certainly not the Star Wars game it could have been, but still an overall good game. It's a shame that thisI suspect that the people giving this game such poor reviews were expecting a fantastic game rather than a good game. The game has somewhat clunky controls and not so great graphics, but a strong storyline and enjoyable force powers and lightsaber attacks at the players disposal. Certainly not the Star Wars game it could have been, but still an overall good game. It's a shame that this game's potential was not reached in the second instalment too. Expand
  30. Feb 2, 2012
    7
    This was a great game. It had an amazing story, great characters, and good gameplay. I think it did a great job connecting the prequel movies with the original Star Wars movies (Light Side Ending). It has good replay-ability (I beat it four time :D). However what I didn't like were the Felucia missions and all the bugs and glitches... still a good game though. The 2nd one sucked assThis was a great game. It had an amazing story, great characters, and good gameplay. I think it did a great job connecting the prequel movies with the original Star Wars movies (Light Side Ending). It has good replay-ability (I beat it four time :D). However what I didn't like were the Felucia missions and all the bugs and glitches... still a good game though. The 2nd one sucked ass compared to this one. Expand
  31. Dec 23, 2011
    7
    While it lacks the replayabillity of Jedi Academy or Kotor, it is immensely satisfying for a few hours and gives you a taste of that "UNLIMITED POWEEERRRRR" the Emperor was so excited about. However, it quickly goes down hill the last few levels, and I personally found the ending very disappointing. If you want a good rental id recommend this game, if you can tolerate low graphics, id goWhile it lacks the replayabillity of Jedi Academy or Kotor, it is immensely satisfying for a few hours and gives you a taste of that "UNLIMITED POWEEERRRRR" the Emperor was so excited about. However, it quickly goes down hill the last few levels, and I personally found the ending very disappointing. If you want a good rental id recommend this game, if you can tolerate low graphics, id go pick up a copy of Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy. Expand
  32. Feb 18, 2012
    5
    Coming from being a big fan of the Star Wars film series and video games I thought this game could be quite good. With many unfamiliar characters I could tell this game was going to be as good as I had hoped. The story only lasts 5 hours and doesn't have much of a replayability factor apart from the 2 endings. The best things in the game are meant to be the 3 DLCs which are 800MSP each.Coming from being a big fan of the Star Wars film series and video games I thought this game could be quite good. With many unfamiliar characters I could tell this game was going to be as good as I had hoped. The story only lasts 5 hours and doesn't have much of a replayability factor apart from the 2 endings. The best things in the game are meant to be the 3 DLCs which are 800MSP each. With no multiplayer and a slightly shabby story I have not and will not be buying the Force Unleashed II. Expand
  33. May 19, 2012
    6
    Quite fun, but suffers from idiotic AI and easy combat, except during boss fights. As for the storyline, some may hate it but I personally find it a decent addition to the SW canon, neatly filling in a bit of the slot between the two trilogies.
  34. Jun 6, 2016
    7
    "The Force Unleashed" is a mix of frustration and fun. Hayden Blackman's hack n' slash creation bridges both the original and prequel trilogies together with a good story that is no longer considered canon (since Disney bought Lucasfilm). In it, Darth Vader assigns his secret apprentice (codenamed Starkiller) to hunt down the last remaining Jedi in the universe. The game's excellent"The Force Unleashed" is a mix of frustration and fun. Hayden Blackman's hack n' slash creation bridges both the original and prequel trilogies together with a good story that is no longer considered canon (since Disney bought Lucasfilm). In it, Darth Vader assigns his secret apprentice (codenamed Starkiller) to hunt down the last remaining Jedi in the universe. The game's excellent presentation and cutscenes are mostly based off George Lucas' beloved original trilogy with a few nods to the prequels. It's got a few surprises and an ending that mirrors the conclusion to "Return of the Jedi". As far as the gameplay is concerned, it plays a lot like "God of War" only much clunkier. The targeting system isn't as smooth as it needs to be and the player will suffer plenty of cheap deaths because of it. Despite this, unleashing havoc with the force and a lightsaber is fun despite the repetitive nature of the battles. Boss fights are particularly terrible with the Star Destroyer segment being downright awful. It's these moments that make the game a slog to play through at times. And pointless QTEs also rear their ugly on occasion. But overall, "The Force Unleashed" is still a worthy "Star Wars" game due to its combination of a good story, excellent presentation and satisfying action. With four difficulty levels, optional challenges, secondary objectives and plenty of collectibles scattered throughout each level, it's a game worth playing through twice. Expand
  35. Jun 25, 2013
    7
    While story elements may leave you feeling rather cold, most of the gameplay mechanics are pretty solid, and "Star Wars: The Force Unleashed" does for the most part hit its intended mark
  36. May 30, 2013
    7
    Stars The Force Unleashed is a nice hack and slash that is very entertaining. It's nice to have a non lego star wars game I really like. it wasn't anything special, but it did offer much entertainment and I enjoyed plaything through a second and third time. Don't pass this up.
  37. Jan 19, 2014
    7
    This game was very enjoyable the force powers made it very fun but it was way too short which meant it suffered in terms of character, story and the overall experience just didn't seem epic enough for Star Wars and dragged up characters just for the sake of it and didn't have the feel of originality in an existing franchise like Knights of the Old Republic did with original characters andThis game was very enjoyable the force powers made it very fun but it was way too short which meant it suffered in terms of character, story and the overall experience just didn't seem epic enough for Star Wars and dragged up characters just for the sake of it and didn't have the feel of originality in an existing franchise like Knights of the Old Republic did with original characters and story. Overall being able to throw storm troopers around and shoot them with lightning while in mid-air is an excellent way to spend a bit of time if you can pick it up for a couple of notes but it will only be a short amount of time. Expand
  38. Jan 30, 2016
    7
    As far as star wars games go The Force Unleashed is pretty good. It is definitely an enjoyable, sometimes glitchy hack and slash type star wars game. A ton of fun (when it works...)
  39. Apr 22, 2015
    7
    The story is ok, the graphics are decent looking and the combat is satisfying, especially using the force and looking at the light saber animations. The quick time vents aren't all bad even though they're too easy and hardly randomized and the light saber doesn't really behave like a light saber as there is zero cutting in this game. It's more like a baseball bat because it will sendThe story is ok, the graphics are decent looking and the combat is satisfying, especially using the force and looking at the light saber animations. The quick time vents aren't all bad even though they're too easy and hardly randomized and the light saber doesn't really behave like a light saber as there is zero cutting in this game. It's more like a baseball bat because it will send enemies flying but won't ever cut through them. I like how many costumes there are but there are and the collectibles will entertain some but not all players. And yea you could argue that the combat is not the most exciting but for me, there are so many ways to deal with many types of enemies, it up to the players to use different tactics, not sure if that's a good thing or not. I've enjoyed it thoroughly but I think it's a rental for most people. Expand
  40. Aug 21, 2010
    0
    I liked the story and was overall entertained by the game. However the halfassedness is very easy to spot. You have a fun time with the force powers and physics but the saber combat is very weak. Lots of enemies are unbalanced and you have to die and fight them again over and over until they forget how to block or stop slamming you with some unblockable combo. The story is good minus theI liked the story and was overall entertained by the game. However the halfassedness is very easy to spot. You have a fun time with the force powers and physics but the saber combat is very weak. Lots of enemies are unbalanced and you have to die and fight them again over and over until they forget how to block or stop slamming you with some unblockable combo. The story is good minus the plot holes. The major thing that gets me is that these morons released a deluxe edition long after the game was released. Then told the fans that this edition would have a level that would not be available for dlc. So everyone had to re-buy the game for this bonus level.. Turns out that this map pack did end up on dlc. Collapse
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 74 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 74
  2. Negative: 1 out of 74
  1. With its non-branching storyline and no multiplayer, Force Unleashed is certainly less ambitious than the classic "Jedi Knight" games - and ultimately, its design makes it feel more videogame-y and less of an all-engrossing Star Wars experience than Xbox entries like "Jedi Knight II" or "Jedi Academy." But when the game is on, it's on. [Oct 2008, p.70]
  2. 70
    Make no mistake: you can have a lot of fun with The Force Unleashed. [Oct 2008, p.88]
  3. games(TM)
    70
    By even allowing the choice between simple hack-and-slash gameplay and the more complex mix-up combos, LucusArrts has ensured that many will never view the title’s full potential. [Oct 2008, p.104]