User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 330 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 71 out of 330

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 16, 2011
    4
    It was interesting and it did have potential but it was a poor start. Starkiller (a terrible name BTW) is a boring character, The story isnt interesting, Its too repetitive, Short campaign, and using force powers does get old rather quickly. It also has a bit of uneven difficulty as well. It had its moments but the game is an overall fail.
  2. Aug 21, 2010
    3
    I liked the story and was overall entertained by the game. However the halfassedness is very easy to spot. You have a fun time with the force powers and physics but the saber combat is very weak. Lots of enemies are unbalanced and you have to die and fight them again over and over until they forget how to block or stop slamming you with some unblockable combo. The story is good minus the plot holes. The major thing that gets me is that these morons released a deluxe edition long after the game was released. Then told the fans that this edition would have a level that would not be available for dlc. So everyone had to re-buy the game for this bonus level.. Turns out that this map pack did end up on dlc. Collapse
  3. Aug 27, 2010
    3
    They should have called it The FAIL Unleashed Pros: -the graphics are great. -you have quite a bit of control over your character's growth and upgrades. -the story is awesome, really, its the only thing that kept me playing it! -interesting character, level and boss design. -achievements are easy and cliche (i.e. kill X amount of enemies using Y). -attacking lesser units like storm troopers can be really fun and/or hilarious.
    -you can collect "Holocrons" for power-ups and items and the game keeps track of "Force Points" based on who or what you kill.
    -there is a neat and challenging bonus objective in each level.

    Cons:
    -auto targeting is a joke (ie you're in a corridor, you use the force to pick up a barrel, there is a storm trooper and a service droid next to each other down the corridor, you aim for the trooper and throw the barrel, the game decides that the barrel should hit the wall to your right).
    -invisible walls everywhere and you can't climb on anything that you would normally be able to climb on (ie big rocks, tipped over tree trunks).
    -completely linear level design.
    -glitched level design; I almost found my way out of the level once or twice. In a boss battle I accidentally threw the boss below the level, the only indication of this being her light sabre sticking up out of the ground, causing me to have to start the level over again. In one level I found an invincibility power up, but fell off of a platform to what should have been a flaming death, but instead I survived because of the power up and was stuck at the bottom of the level, even after the power-up faded away.
    -inconsistent as hell! if I can pull a Star Destroyer from space, then why can't I pick up AT-STs or Dark Troopers!?
    -"finishing moves" in boss battles are reduced to God of War style "Simon says" button mashing...rendering some of the awesome combos you learned near pointless.

    To add insult to injury, the game was shipped with a huge glitch that took months before it was addressed; on some random level(s), the game will not keep track of Force Points, the number of Holocrons you collected or even tell you what your bonus objective was (it would say "DEFAULT TEXT") at the end of the level, this happened to me on the very last level and stayed that way until the patch for it was released.

    They should have kept this game in development for another 6 months and actually tested it!
    Expand
  4. Oct 22, 2014
    0
    Terrible Game. This game destroyed Star Wars as a gaming franchise. Do not buy this game unless you are one of those people who are spoilt and your parents give you money every week and you like to buy games and sell them instantly. if you actually like this game. You need to see a psychologist.
  5. Oct 16, 2010
    8
    Ok first off I dont acually have this game I have the psp version . But in the time that I went to play theis game at my freinds house I loved it. I lov eblowing up every storm trooper except one and then playing around with that last one. The story is great but I cant tell you about it because that would be a spoiler. All i can tell you is that this takes place between the time in between Epesode 3 and 4 where Darth Vadet is hunting down Every jedi and he comes along to one who has a powerful son you. This guy has every power a jedi/sith lord could ever want. The cinematic finishes on bosses are great I just wish that the buttons werent getting in the way. The reason I gave this game an 8 is because it lacks multyplayer and the enemys arent varied. Expand
  6. Nov 6, 2010
    8
    ochentay4
    Nov 6, 2010
    8
    Im not a fan of Star Wars saga, but this game simply grabbed me and finished as fast as I could. I loved it. Great graphics, great sound, great story and good gameplay. The game has glitches but its fun anyway. The 3 addons that are on the second disk of Ultimate Sith Edition have more glitches than the original game but are very fun and a little short. I recommend
    for SW fans and everyone who loves third person beat em ups.â Expand
  7. Dec 14, 2010
    7
    Sadly this is not what I thought it would be. The story is awesome but the combat can feel clunky and reptitive sometimes and I only feel substantially powerful when I've maxed everything, because you can't even charge up force push or lightening until the second level, when it should have been immediate. The game ends very quickly as well and here isn't that much replay-value. I hope the next installment will be better Expand
  8. Jan 6, 2011
    6
    the game has some cool things going for it . the start is its set in the original trilogys story line and adds more to the star wars lore. some cool force powers to use . a pretty solid story with some good voice acting . 2 differnt endings which gives you another reason to play it . a pretty decent combat system . what holds this game down is how buggy and glitchy it is . the star destroyer part especially . i was stuck on that part for 2 hours because of it getting glitched up. the game is pretty simple too they could have done alot more to make it much more exciting . its a ok star wars game which i only paid $15 for so i dont feel to bad about it. Expand
  9. Mar 2, 2011
    7
    I suspect that the people giving this game such poor reviews were expecting a fantastic game rather than a good game. The game has somewhat clunky controls and not so great graphics, but a strong storyline and enjoyable force powers and lightsaber attacks at the players disposal. Certainly not the Star Wars game it could have been, but still an overall good game. It's a shame that this game's potential was not reached in the second instalment too. Expand
  10. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    Despite its flaws, this game delivers an outrageously fun time. I have seldom had as much fun in a video game as throwing, blasting, slicing, shocking, or crushing stormtroopers in this game. Where the game fails is the later levels, when there are several enemies shooting missiles at you. Every time you get hit, you have to lie on the ground for a few seconds while they shoot at you, and as soon as you get back up, they can shoot you down again. Even on lower difficulties, this game can become extremely frustrating. That is not to say that none of the later levels can be fun; but the game's earlier levels are the most fun. The Art design in this game is THE most fantastic I've ever seen Star wars, and everything looks incredible. The story is also engaging, interesting, and ties into the Star-wars universe quite well. I recommend this game, despite its frustrations to anyone looking to utterly destroy some stormtroopers. Expand
  11. Vio
    Nov 20, 2011
    9
    This is not a RPG, this is a action platform game with RPG and fighting game elements - once this is realized and you embrace it for what it is it is simply awesome.

    The game's story is the usual starwars story line nothing much of a surprize here, gameplay is very fun once you learn the moves and unlock the force powers - I have found myself finishing this game multiple times looking for
    every light saber and unlocking every force power. The graphics/art in this game is beautiful. Gameplay wise the only complaint I have is that of the "hit X" "hit "A" etc timed events in order to kill "bosses".

    Did I like it? Hell yes!
    Expand
  12. Dec 14, 2011
    3
    Whoever ported this game from console to PC should have their head examined. It is literally impossible to beat some bosses with a keyboard and mouse. Now I have to purchase a stupid xbox controller if I want to finish this game. May they suffer a thousand deaths for what they have done.
  13. Dec 23, 2011
    7
    While it lacks the replayabillity of Jedi Academy or Kotor, it is immensely satisfying for a few hours and gives you a taste of that "UNLIMITED POWEEERRRRR" the Emperor was so excited about. However, it quickly goes down hill the last few levels, and I personally found the ending very disappointing. If you want a good rental id recommend this game, if you can tolerate low graphics, id go pick up a copy of Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy. Expand
  14. Jan 10, 2012
    8
    FU1 is a great Star Wars game that makes you feel like a Jedi. The variety of Force powers and combos at your disposal is astounding, yet that doesn't mean you're invincible. While the voice acting and story is great, some of the enemies are a bit tedious to fight (such as the purge troopers) and sometimes you have to find out what power an enemy is weakest to e.g. force lightning or your lightsaber. The inability to deflect rockets is another niggle and it's annoying when you get struck down by one, get up and before you can do anything another rocket hits you. Yet this doesn't make the game difficult and it is fun to experiment with different powers e.g. electrocuting someone, throwing your saber in them and then throwing them; the men you fight are especially funny when they're not begging for mercy or falling into an abyss. The end fight is fun and even has a light side/dark side ending depending on a choice you make. This is a pretty good game that any Star Wars fan should buy. Plus you get to slaughter a large number of Wookies!! Expand
  15. Feb 2, 2012
    7
    This was a great game. It had an amazing story, great characters, and good gameplay. I think it did a great job connecting the prequel movies with the original Star Wars movies (Light Side Ending). It has good replay-ability (I beat it four time :D). However what I didn't like were the Felucia missions and all the bugs and glitches... still a good game though. The 2nd one sucked ass compared to this one. Expand
  16. Feb 18, 2012
    5
    Coming from being a big fan of the Star Wars film series and video games I thought this game could be quite good. With many unfamiliar characters I could tell this game was going to be as good as I had hoped. The story only lasts 5 hours and doesn't have much of a replayability factor apart from the 2 endings. The best things in the game are meant to be the 3 DLCs which are 800MSP each. With no multiplayer and a slightly shabby story I have not and will not be buying the Force Unleashed II. Expand
  17. May 19, 2012
    6
    Quite fun, but suffers from idiotic AI and easy combat, except during boss fights. As for the storyline, some may hate it but I personally find it a decent addition to the SW canon, neatly filling in a bit of the slot between the two trilogies.
  18. Oct 29, 2012
    7
    The audio is fantastic, and the graphics will impress more often than not. The fun combat system and epic story are moderately spoiled by a poor targeting system, bad enemy AI, and some glitches.
  19. Jan 18, 2013
    9
    This is a great game. It's story connects the two Trilogies together while creating an enjoyable experience. The force is a fun tool and the abilities you slowly obtain help as you continue. Having to fight to get health can make the highest difficulty a real pain, but after beating the highest difficulty twice, I can say it's a fun experience that has several difficulty peaks that create aggravation. Like I said the story connects the trilogies together. As Darth Vader's secret apprentice you are sent out to kill the last of the Jedi that have been found. The story then moves into territory I consider Spoilers but the adventure reaches an end at an all to familiar location.

    The controls allow you to easily switch between slicing and dicing to smashing foes with the force and smiting them with lightning. Enemies don't attack with the same patterns outside boss fights so you need to learn to use all of your abilities at the slightest moments notice.

    Collectibles range from different light saber Crystals to costumes and exp. They range from in plain site to off the beaten path and past a puzzle, but once you see one you know it's there.

    The game is an enjoyable romp across many popular Star wars locations that delivers across the board.
    Expand
  20. Feb 5, 2013
    8
    Awesome game, but the storyline could be improved. There are also some problems with the basic gameplay. I also enjoyed the idea of choosing between the dark side and the light side. AWESOME!
  21. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    The game is solid, great combat, upgrade system, not a over abundence of QTEs and its challenging. But the main reason its getting a ten in my book is I am a huge fan of Star wars and this game cares about the lore and shows how the rebels came to be. Hell Lucas even says he includes this story in the star wars cannon. Plus there is no Jar Jar
  22. May 30, 2013
    7
    Stars The Force Unleashed is a nice hack and slash that is very entertaining. It's nice to have a non lego star wars game I really like. it wasn't anything special, but it did offer much entertainment and I enjoyed plaything through a second and third time. Don't pass this up.
  23. Jun 25, 2013
    7
    While story elements may leave you feeling rather cold, most of the gameplay mechanics are pretty solid, and "Star Wars: The Force Unleashed" does for the most part hit its intended mark
  24. Sep 10, 2013
    8
    A great storyline and intense combat makes this game a must for all Star Wars fans. However, the game is full of bugs (like if you change your lightsaber color it will break your objective screen, telling you your objective is nil but luckily the title update fixes that). The game is also pretty short, the first three and last two levels are long but the others are insanely quick and easy to beat. Definitely better than its sequel. Expand
  25. Jan 19, 2014
    7
    This game was very enjoyable the force powers made it very fun but it was way too short which meant it suffered in terms of character, story and the overall experience just didn't seem epic enough for Star Wars and dragged up characters just for the sake of it and didn't have the feel of originality in an existing franchise like Knights of the Old Republic did with original characters and story. Overall being able to throw storm troopers around and shoot them with lightning while in mid-air is an excellent way to spend a bit of time if you can pick it up for a couple of notes but it will only be a short amount of time. Expand
  26. Jun 20, 2014
    4
    The idea of Darth Vader having a secret apprentice between episodes 3 and 4 sounds interesting, but if you really look at it, it adds to absolutely nothing. Besides that the game alone isn't too enjoyable either. The game play is linear all the way through, platforming can become clunky especially when the things you have to jump on are oddly placed at times, the campaign is way too short, the fighting mechanics are repetitive and some enemies can die in at least two simple hits no matter how upgraded you are, the main character (who has a really uncreative name) is uninteresting, and the story is awfully boring. Expand
  27. Aug 21, 2010
    0
    I liked the story and was overall entertained by the game. However the halfassedness is very easy to spot. You have a fun time with the force powers and physics but the saber combat is very weak. Lots of enemies are unbalanced and you have to die and fight them again over and over until they forget how to block or stop slamming you with some unblockable combo. The story is good minus the plot holes. The major thing that gets me is that these morons released a deluxe edition long after the game was released. Then told the fans that this edition would have a level that would not be available for dlc. So everyone had to re-buy the game for this bonus level.. Turns out that this map pack did end up on dlc. Collapse
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 74 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 74
  2. Negative: 1 out of 74
  1. With its non-branching storyline and no multiplayer, Force Unleashed is certainly less ambitious than the classic "Jedi Knight" games - and ultimately, its design makes it feel more videogame-y and less of an all-engrossing Star Wars experience than Xbox entries like "Jedi Knight II" or "Jedi Academy." But when the game is on, it's on. [Oct 2008, p.70]
  2. 70
    Make no mistake: you can have a lot of fun with The Force Unleashed. [Oct 2008, p.88]
  3. By even allowing the choice between simple hack-and-slash gameplay and the more complex mix-up combos, LucusArrts has ensured that many will never view the title’s full potential. [Oct 2008, p.104]