User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 344 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 72 out of 344

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. VvTJVvthatsmyxboxlivetag!!
    Sep 28, 2008
    10
    This game is one of the best star wars games there are.Now maybe not as good as knights of the old republic i still find this a welcome addition to everyone's game collection.It bridges the gap between III and IV with excellent story good graphics and a good beginning to rebellion. also the first level when you play as darth vader is one of the best gaming moments there is......PERIOD.
  2. Aug 27, 2010
    3
    They should have called it The FAIL Unleashed

    Pros: -the graphics are great. -you have quite a bit of control over your character's growth and upgrades. -the story is awesome, really, its the only thing that kept me playing it! -interesting character, level and boss design. -achievements are easy and cliche (i.e. kill X amount of enemies using Y). -attacking lesser units like storm
    They should have called it The FAIL Unleashed

    Pros:
    -the graphics are great.
    -you have quite a bit of control over your character's growth and upgrades.
    -the story is awesome, really, its the only thing that kept me playing it!
    -interesting character, level and boss design.
    -achievements are easy and cliche (i.e. kill X amount of enemies using Y).
    -attacking lesser units like storm troopers can be really fun and/or hilarious.
    -you can collect "Holocrons" for power-ups and items and the game keeps track of "Force Points" based on who or what you kill.
    -there is a neat and challenging bonus objective in each level.

    Cons:
    -auto targeting is a joke (ie you're in a corridor, you use the force to pick up a barrel, there is a storm trooper and a service droid next to each other down the corridor, you aim for the trooper and throw the barrel, the game decides that the barrel should hit the wall to your right).
    -invisible walls everywhere and you can't climb on anything that you would normally be able to climb on (ie big rocks, tipped over tree trunks).
    -completely linear level design.
    -glitched level design; I almost found my way out of the level once or twice. In a boss battle I accidentally threw the boss below the level, the only indication of this being her light sabre sticking up out of the ground, causing me to have to start the level over again. In one level I found an invincibility power up, but fell off of a platform to what should have been a flaming death, but instead I survived because of the power up and was stuck at the bottom of the level, even after the power-up faded away.
    -inconsistent as hell! if I can pull a Star Destroyer from space, then why can't I pick up AT-STs or Dark Troopers!?
    -"finishing moves" in boss battles are reduced to God of War style "Simon says" button mashing...rendering some of the awesome combos you learned near pointless.

    To add insult to injury, the game was shipped with a huge glitch that took months before it was addressed; on some random level(s), the game will not keep track of Force Points, the number of Holocrons you collected or even tell you what your bonus objective was (it would say "DEFAULT TEXT") at the end of the level, this happened to me on the very last level and stayed that way until the patch for it was released.

    They should have kept this game in development for another 6 months and actually tested it!
    Expand
  3. Dec 16, 2011
    4
    It was interesting and it did have potential but it was a poor start. Starkiller (a terrible name BTW) is a boring character, The story isnt interesting, Its too repetitive, Short campaign, and using force powers does get old rather quickly. It also has a bit of uneven difficulty as well. It had its moments but the game is an overall fail.
  4. Tjthegamer
    Nov 12, 2008
    6
    While the games concept is good, and the force powers work perfectly. The game suffers from bugs and issues that seemed would be the least of the devoloper's problems in making a force game. Such as impossible camera, targeting system, and difficulty issues (the games second boss is still the hardest for me even after 4 cycles). Boring locations (a grand total of 4 themes), While the games concept is good, and the force powers work perfectly. The game suffers from bugs and issues that seemed would be the least of the devoloper's problems in making a force game. Such as impossible camera, targeting system, and difficulty issues (the games second boss is still the hardest for me even after 4 cycles). Boring locations (a grand total of 4 themes), Repetitive gameplay, and dumb A.I. (They fall for the same moves time and time again) means this game is an average game. It gets a 6 because you can at least take out your frustration by flinging a storm trooper 100 yards at 50 mph into a boulder face first. Expand
  5. Aug 21, 2010
    3
    I liked the story and was overall entertained by the game. However the halfassedness is very easy to spot. You have a fun time with the force powers and physics but the saber combat is very weak. Lots of enemies are unbalanced and you have to die and fight them again over and over until they forget how to block or stop slamming you with some unblockable combo. The story is good minus theI liked the story and was overall entertained by the game. However the halfassedness is very easy to spot. You have a fun time with the force powers and physics but the saber combat is very weak. Lots of enemies are unbalanced and you have to die and fight them again over and over until they forget how to block or stop slamming you with some unblockable combo. The story is good minus the plot holes. The major thing that gets me is that these morons released a deluxe edition long after the game was released. Then told the fans that this edition would have a level that would not be available for dlc. So everyone had to re-buy the game for this bonus level.. Turns out that this map pack did end up on dlc. Expand
  6. Oct 22, 2014
    0
    Terrible Game. This game destroyed Star Wars as a gaming franchise. Do not buy this game unless you are one of those people who are spoilt and your parents give you money every week and you like to buy games and sell them instantly. if you actually like this game. You need to see a psychologist.
  7. DonKR
    Sep 23, 2008
    4
    The people who rate this game above a 5 are people who work at LucasArts or people who eat every little crumb and morsel that drop out from George Lucas' beard. Sure, the basis for the game is fun. I'll even admit that the story (albet, full of contradictions) is decent and the art is actually pretty good. You really have to be a die hard Star Wars fan to love a broken, buggy The people who rate this game above a 5 are people who work at LucasArts or people who eat every little crumb and morsel that drop out from George Lucas' beard. Sure, the basis for the game is fun. I'll even admit that the story (albet, full of contradictions) is decent and the art is actually pretty good. You really have to be a die hard Star Wars fan to love a broken, buggy and half-baked game as this. Save your money for a game that actually works! Expand
  8. BrentP
    Jun 1, 2009
    10
    This is my favorite game on the 360, thus far. It was extremely satisfying and well done. It's definitely worth buying. I'm looking forward to playing it again and again.
  9. BillyH.
    Jan 17, 2009
    10
    I have played the game through-out twice now and I'm sorry to say but this game ROCKS! You are very destructive and the story line is excellent. I love this game and highly recommend it. Why some on here rate it so low is absurd. They game pushed the envelope in so many ways and the game play great. The story behind it just takes you that much deeper into the game itself. This game I have played the game through-out twice now and I'm sorry to say but this game ROCKS! You are very destructive and the story line is excellent. I love this game and highly recommend it. Why some on here rate it so low is absurd. They game pushed the envelope in so many ways and the game play great. The story behind it just takes you that much deeper into the game itself. This game is a 9.5 - 10 in my book. Expand
  10. Vio
    Nov 20, 2011
    9
    This is not a RPG, this is a action platform game with RPG and fighting game elements - once this is realized and you embrace it for what it is it is simply awesome.

    The game's story is the usual starwars story line nothing much of a surprize here, gameplay is very fun once you learn the moves and unlock the force powers - I have found myself finishing this game multiple times looking for
    This is not a RPG, this is a action platform game with RPG and fighting game elements - once this is realized and you embrace it for what it is it is simply awesome.

    The game's story is the usual starwars story line nothing much of a surprize here, gameplay is very fun once you learn the moves and unlock the force powers - I have found myself finishing this game multiple times looking for every light saber and unlocking every force power. The graphics/art in this game is beautiful. Gameplay wise the only complaint I have is that of the "hit X" "hit "A" etc timed events in order to kill "bosses".

    Did I like it? Hell yes!
    Expand
  11. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    The game is solid, great combat, upgrade system, not a over abundence of QTEs and its challenging. But the main reason its getting a ten in my book is I am a huge fan of Star wars and this game cares about the lore and shows how the rebels came to be. Hell Lucas even says he includes this story in the star wars cannon. Plus there is no Jar Jar
  12. JacobL.
    Mar 2, 2009
    7
    The Force Unleashed is overall a good game. The force powers are fun to use and there are some interesting boss fights. However, about half way through the game the enemies become tougher and are only vulnerable to one of your force powers and you revisit every location you went to in the first half. Despite all of these flaws the game is fun especially if you replay levels when you are The Force Unleashed is overall a good game. The force powers are fun to use and there are some interesting boss fights. However, about half way through the game the enemies become tougher and are only vulnerable to one of your force powers and you revisit every location you went to in the first half. Despite all of these flaws the game is fun especially if you replay levels when you are very powerful. The story is good, the weaker enemies are fun to toy with, and the graphics are amazing. This is the one game that may not be for everyone so play the demo before you buy the game. Expand
  13. Kaminator
    Nov 4, 2008
    2
    Do you like falling off ledges? Good. Because that's all you're gonna do in this lousy game. Over and over. Someone show LucasArts "Assassin's Creed" for an example of a control scheme that lets you run, jump and climb all over the scenery as if it were second nature, you know, as if you actually had the surefootedness of a Sith Lord. That clicking sound you hear is Do you like falling off ledges? Good. Because that's all you're gonna do in this lousy game. Over and over. Someone show LucasArts "Assassin's Creed" for an example of a control scheme that lets you run, jump and climb all over the scenery as if it were second nature, you know, as if you actually had the surefootedness of a Sith Lord. That clicking sound you hear is everyone involved with The Force Unleashed deleting it from their resumes. Expand
  14. Sonny
    Oct 1, 2008
    6
    as an RPG it cant measure up to content found in KOTOR I & II, as for fighting there are more realistic and better saber fights in battlefront II, force powers is really all this game has. i found it too be too short and too constrictive. and even force powers are a bit of a let down since u get a movie clip wher u down a star destroyer but in fights againt AT-Ts u cant do the same. its as an RPG it cant measure up to content found in KOTOR I & II, as for fighting there are more realistic and better saber fights in battlefront II, force powers is really all this game has. i found it too be too short and too constrictive. and even force powers are a bit of a let down since u get a movie clip wher u down a star destroyer but in fights againt AT-Ts u cant do the same. its really just another dungen crawer. C+ just for the graphics and force powers.......other than that its a disapointment. and not too mention than ending is so unrealistic and for obvious reasons. i mean how can a character that is supposed to be a sith apprentice that spends his hole life on training to kill the emperor on the end spair him...well because if he didnt there would be no Starwars saga of Luke Skywalker. C. Expand
  15. RyanF
    Oct 4, 2008
    2
    Graphics and Story were nice. The game started off nice but then just kept going farther and farther down hill. Not including a multilayer component for such a short single player game was a mistake. I got really really really angry with this game. I would get shot which knocks me down, soon as your character gets up BAM another rocket to the face which knocks me down. This happend over Graphics and Story were nice. The game started off nice but then just kept going farther and farther down hill. Not including a multilayer component for such a short single player game was a mistake. I got really really really angry with this game. I would get shot which knocks me down, soon as your character gets up BAM another rocket to the face which knocks me down. This happend over and over and over. Terrible camera angles at times. Wondering why they decided to lock the camera during boss battles making it almost impossible to see at times. I was really hoping this would have been a satisfying experience but it was just another lucas let down. Expand
  16. JasonB.
    Sep 15, 2008
    8
    Best Representation of Force Powers Ever !!!!! Love this game and have had loads of fun playing it.
  17. Teli
    Sep 22, 2008
    8
    A truly enjoyable experience. Can't wait to see future games make use of DMM. The camera was a problem only in some areas of the game. The fact that you can customize you lightsaber is neat. Definitely worth another playthough on the most difficult setting.
  18. mirig
    Sep 24, 2008
    8
    Beautiful game (though faces in cinematics look really bad), great story, individual powers are good and there are good character building and customization features. But chaining attacks is amateurishly implemented, there are lots of bugs, there are some extremely poor design decisions and lightsaber combat is a wasted opportunity. With some key fixes and a couple months of polish, it Beautiful game (though faces in cinematics look really bad), great story, individual powers are good and there are good character building and customization features. But chaining attacks is amateurishly implemented, there are lots of bugs, there are some extremely poor design decisions and lightsaber combat is a wasted opportunity. With some key fixes and a couple months of polish, it could have been a 90+ classic. Too bad they shipped it before it was done. Expand
  19. JoonasM.
    Sep 27, 2008
    5
    Gameplay is very poor. Only good thing about this game is that the story is very good. Everything else just sucks.
  20. MY.
    Sep 4, 2008
    5
    The only reason I can think of for not releasing a PC version of this game is the stark difference in quality between it and the other Jedi Knight titles that have come before. Lucasarts really dropped the ball on this one, and I for one would rather wait for the new Castlevania on DS than buy this title.
  21. CuthbertS.
    Jan 11, 2009
    8
    This game was very good. I thoroughly enjoyed the "unleashed force" experience, apart from the irritataing 'Bring down the star destroyer bit.' Some of the cutscenes were gooey or cheesey with a few contradictions. The game was way too short and the levels didn't feel like they'd been completely finished and they still needed some work on the level borders. The This game was very good. I thoroughly enjoyed the "unleashed force" experience, apart from the irritataing 'Bring down the star destroyer bit.' Some of the cutscenes were gooey or cheesey with a few contradictions. The game was way too short and the levels didn't feel like they'd been completely finished and they still needed some work on the level borders. The targeting and 'locked camera during parts of boss levels' sucked but no game is perfect. I loved the combos and the fact that you only have one button for lightsaber, yet you can do so much with it (bar ranged attacks.) There were a few parts where I got annoyed doing the same bit over and over again but any gamer should be prepared to do that. I kinda wish there were some side levels where you could just mess around fighting guys instead of just battling through the levels, I hate the training levels! Overall I loved the game but it just isn't finished, I would have preferred to wait longer until it is properly completed. Expand
  22. ZachM.
    Jan 7, 2009
    5
    I am so let down I can't put it into words. I was hoping for a real roleplay game in which I could feel what it would be like to have total control over the force but instead what I got was anxiety. The auto lock feature SUCKS, the lightsaber is more like a stun gun, and the part where you have to move the destroyer is enough to make you pull your hair out. Then to top it all off I am so let down I can't put it into words. I was hoping for a real roleplay game in which I could feel what it would be like to have total control over the force but instead what I got was anxiety. The auto lock feature SUCKS, the lightsaber is more like a stun gun, and the part where you have to move the destroyer is enough to make you pull your hair out. Then to top it all off after like five hours of gameplay....the whole thing is over. That's like more than than ten bucks an hour I paid to play this sorry ass excuse for part of the Star Wars franchise. I think I fought like three Jedi and one so called Sith (other than the Emporer) and they were all easy as hell to beat. Now what? I am supposed to go play the same old lame ass missions on a harder level...no thanks...I am taking this biaatch to gamestop and trading it in for polly pocket, or simcity or something not quite as lame. NIce job George..maybe you should focus on making the third trilogy instead of giving us cartoons and horrible video games to try and give us our Star Wars Fix......as Master Yoda would say...Sucks a big one,,,this game does. Expand
  23. JohnP.
    Feb 22, 2009
    8
    I see people nagging about ledges and over the top Force powers. Apparently, no one knows how to stay on the map and no one read LucasArts releases about this game being about taking the Force powers to the extreme. This game was overhyped, yes, but it did not fail to deliver in terms of absolutely amazing gameplay. I loved the story line and the graphics, not to mention the physics. The I see people nagging about ledges and over the top Force powers. Apparently, no one knows how to stay on the map and no one read LucasArts releases about this game being about taking the Force powers to the extreme. This game was overhyped, yes, but it did not fail to deliver in terms of absolutely amazing gameplay. I loved the story line and the graphics, not to mention the physics. The most redeeming aspect of this game is the unlockables and cheat codes. Who doesn't love fighting Stormtrooper with Ackbar? It does have some glitches to be worked on and the story line was quite short, rather disappointed they left out so much on the 360 version. Expand
  24. AndrewP
    Jan 16, 2010
    2
    The game is marred and screams "amateur". Major targeting and camera issues prevent the game to be played as showcased. The game is presented in horrible last gen graphics, even during FMVs using the same shoddy models at close range so we can see how ugly they are. Major gameplay slow down when nothing is occurring, physics issues that make push force powers weak or even stun lock The game is marred and screams "amateur". Major targeting and camera issues prevent the game to be played as showcased. The game is presented in horrible last gen graphics, even during FMVs using the same shoddy models at close range so we can see how ugly they are. Major gameplay slow down when nothing is occurring, physics issues that make push force powers weak or even stun lock Starkiller on higher difficulties, horrible AI that, at times will stand still during a boss fight while you remain unharmed until moving. The developers must have not learned to use triggers properly, as voice acting that plays during specific points in the game is tied to place, so if you walk backwards to get something you missed (holocrons, or enemies), the voices play again, and again, and again. Horrible lag in interface menus, and game must restart to apply something as basic as a costume. The light saber is of little worth on real difficulty levels, and you're forced to use the same cheap tactics and exploit the stupid AI to survive the poor controls. Way too many QTEs, and poorly designed levels that force user to trial and error jumps. The physics bites the user in the butt whenever they move something they have to walk on, as the game will treat areas as "slip off and fall" zones after touching them. Since most attacks stun you, you can die from excessive damage from standing still. The game's only saving grace is it's easily predictable plot. The game only enjoys any praise it has from intense fans of the Star Wars universe: a universe so devoid of innovation or actual plot that it survives solely on marketing and hype. I've completed the game for the sake of being a completionist, but I feel like this is the poorest $20 I've spent on a Xbox 360 game in a while. It offers nothing new to gamers or fans of Star Wars that couldn't have executed in a shoddy flash game/animation. Expand
  25. LongTimer
    Oct 1, 2008
    6
    Dodgy level design and a huge amount of bugs makes this game sub par. Getting caught on something invisible while trying to run over a bridge is pretty unacceptable in this day and age. Almost seems like it wasn't play tested. The digital molecular matter that has been boasted about for the past few months isn't up to scratch yet on some objects, namely wood. The story is enough Dodgy level design and a huge amount of bugs makes this game sub par. Getting caught on something invisible while trying to run over a bridge is pretty unacceptable in this day and age. Almost seems like it wasn't play tested. The digital molecular matter that has been boasted about for the past few months isn't up to scratch yet on some objects, namely wood. The story is enough to keep you going but just doesn't quite seem like star wars to me. If ever there was a game to rent rather than buy then this is it. Expand
  26. KhristianR.
    Oct 1, 2008
    7
    Its decent, but its too linear and doesn't allow for as much freedom as you'd hoped. The little touches are nice, and while it lasts its a bit of fun, but it doesn't last to long. SCORE : 73%
  27. RC
    Oct 16, 2008
    2
    The force powers in this game are really fun to use, they can seem a bit button bashy but if you really take the time you can put together some very good attacks and have alot of fun with them. Story starts off really good, playing a badass sith assasin, but as the game progress' the story loses some appeal. The game is a distraction for a short time, nothing more than that. The The force powers in this game are really fun to use, they can seem a bit button bashy but if you really take the time you can put together some very good attacks and have alot of fun with them. Story starts off really good, playing a badass sith assasin, but as the game progress' the story loses some appeal. The game is a distraction for a short time, nothing more than that. The graphics look fairly nice but considering the small maps they really aren't that great. The attacks are awful, having to complete an animation before doing the next thing not only leaves you at a disadvantage in the game but also feels very outdated. Invsible wall seems to have returned to border the levels (again outdated) and boss fights on harder difficulty settings amount to nothing more than finding a tactic and repeating it a hundred times until another terrible quick time event kicks in with no penalty for getting it wrong. Loading times are also a real let down, especially considering the game is not even that large. Expand
  28. DouglasI
    Dec 1, 2008
    8
    Distance between save checkpoints, some lackluster environment design and tedious battle sequences can drag this game down. Outstanding visual design, remarkable characters, and unique game play make it fun. The 800 pound elephant: The story that bridges Episodes 3 & 4 make this game a must play. Stunning cinematic sequences are a joy to watch. Saber play and force use become almost Distance between save checkpoints, some lackluster environment design and tedious battle sequences can drag this game down. Outstanding visual design, remarkable characters, and unique game play make it fun. The 800 pound elephant: The story that bridges Episodes 3 & 4 make this game a must play. Stunning cinematic sequences are a joy to watch. Saber play and force use become almost magical by the end of the game. A multiplayer port of the game would have make this game much more valuable. A versus combat option similar to the "Episode III" game would have been phenomenal in this game environment. Expand
  29. Anonymous
    Oct 3, 2008
    9
    Graphics are great, story is fine and the characters have souls (metaphorically ofcourse). Also using the Force is fun, but you get pretty far with just a few combos. Also the final boss is really hard, compared to other bosses, which you usually kill with one or two tries. Also I liked how the outfits seem to be carefully done and the fun RPG-element, but you had a situation where you Graphics are great, story is fine and the characters have souls (metaphorically ofcourse). Also using the Force is fun, but you get pretty far with just a few combos. Also the final boss is really hard, compared to other bosses, which you usually kill with one or two tries. Also I liked how the outfits seem to be carefully done and the fun RPG-element, but you had a situation where you needed to decide only once. Expand
  30. jason
    Oct 4, 2008
    5
    Graphics are good but not up to par in the faces (the main character looks like he has down syndrome) Fighting is very static, you dont move while attacking you can only jump straight up you cant break a combo to dodge or block, skills take a large amount of energy and can be very difficult to aim. Grabbing and throwing doesnt lock on so almost impossible to direct hit. Targeting will on Graphics are good but not up to par in the faces (the main character looks like he has down syndrome) Fighting is very static, you dont move while attacking you can only jump straight up you cant break a combo to dodge or block, skills take a large amount of energy and can be very difficult to aim. Grabbing and throwing doesnt lock on so almost impossible to direct hit. Targeting will on target enemy directly in front of you. Glitches are everywhere, causing you to get stuck or the enemies get stuck on things. Excessive quick time events although they don't punish you for messing up. Verdict : if you love stars wars to death rent it , if you are looking for a good deep action game much much better can be found elsewhere (devil may cry , ninja gaiden, or god of war if you like quick time events). Expand
  31. chenry
    Oct 8, 2008
    6
    Impressive graphics barely make up for sloppy controls and extremely irritating auto-targeting systems. The game itself attempts to mesh the new and original prequels together, and it comes off as trying to force the (bad) new trilogy down our throats. Many non-canon elements make the game seem more like Star Wars Fanfic than legitimate Star Wars mythos. Control wise, the game is buggy. Impressive graphics barely make up for sloppy controls and extremely irritating auto-targeting systems. The game itself attempts to mesh the new and original prequels together, and it comes off as trying to force the (bad) new trilogy down our throats. Many non-canon elements make the game seem more like Star Wars Fanfic than legitimate Star Wars mythos. Control wise, the game is buggy. Movement is rapid and spastic, like a hyperactive rabbit. The auto-targeting will leave you throwing lighting at non-threatening inanimate objects while a Stormtrooper is busy lining a shot up on your stupid face. Enemies tend to swarm you and come from now where. Boss Fights usually end with a bloody Quick-Time button mashing sequence, which is just irritating and totally unnecessary. I hate quick time button sequences, they're awful and pointless. I just beat this boss into submission, there's no reason to force me to play bloody Simon Says!!! The game is full of cheap deaths and irritating fight sequences. You're constantly under assault by guys with laser guns and you've got a sword. It'd be nice if you had some more ranged attacks, or even a blaster pistol, but no. You can throw lightning, or your light saber, but hoo-bloody-ray, here's the awful targeting system back to haunt you. Calling this the best Star Wars game isn't a stretch though, since LucasArts has almost never delivered a good Star Wars game. Only when someone else makes the game is it any good. KOTOR from Bioware, or even Lego Star Wars from Traveler's Tales are better games. Expand
  32. TrevorG
    Aug 22, 2008
    6
    While it's cool to be able to weild a light sabre and use force powers, the gameplay itself is pretty week. Honestly it's like a cheap God of War rip off dressed up in Star Wars outfits. The graphics are almost last gen and the textures are bland. The enemies are stupid and the character models look like something out of Battlefront II. The gameplay seems very linear, only one While it's cool to be able to weild a light sabre and use force powers, the gameplay itself is pretty week. Honestly it's like a cheap God of War rip off dressed up in Star Wars outfits. The graphics are almost last gen and the textures are bland. The enemies are stupid and the character models look like something out of Battlefront II. The gameplay seems very linear, only one way to go and one thing to do. Which would be alright if that one way was very interesting. I think a lot of people are going to be disappointed in this game. I know I for one expected more. Expand
  33. Leo
    Aug 24, 2008
    10
    This game is a combination of ninja gaiden and jedi academy in the best way unlimited amount of things you can do in this game you feel like a sith lord. Just amazing
  34. IulianM.
    Sep 15, 2008
    6
    The ligthsaber is nerfed beyond my comprehension. Ever since Jedi Knight 2 it's been a known and proven fact that a lightsaber will cut trough anything not made of chortosis. Sormtropers loose their heads, litteraly, at a touch of the glowing plasma sword. Here you're just bashing them. This would be ok if this was Devil May Cry, but it's Star Wars and you have what should The ligthsaber is nerfed beyond my comprehension. Ever since Jedi Knight 2 it's been a known and proven fact that a lightsaber will cut trough anything not made of chortosis. Sormtropers loose their heads, litteraly, at a touch of the glowing plasma sword. Here you're just bashing them. This would be ok if this was Devil May Cry, but it's Star Wars and you have what should be a very deadly Lightsaber. Another thing I saw is that for all his "scaryness", half a foot unarmed oponents aren't shy of attaking him, wheras an unarmed storptrooper woulr run like hell from Kyle Katarn or his aprentice Jaden Korr. The game may have the advantages of Euphoria and DMM but gameplay wise it's as much of a Star Wars game as Legacy of Kane Defiance. Expand
  35. ZackH.
    Sep 15, 2008
    9
    The only thing I didn't like about it was the fact it was so short. Other than that, I loved it. Beautiful graphics, and the physics of the game were simply stunning. Using Force Repulse to fling 10 storm troopers off of a bridge is just so satisfying.
  36. LukeS.
    Sep 17, 2008
    9
    Game is awesome , would have been a ten if it was longer. Overall a great game that is worthy of the name star wars.
  37. WilliamM.
    Sep 17, 2008
    9
    I really like this game. I can't see what all the complaining is about. Sure the targting is off a little sometimes but not enough to give it a horrible rating like some people did.I would try to target one thing and it would go on to something else. It can be frustrating in battle, but not enough for me to hate this game. I am a Star Wars fan and throughly enjoyed the story. Also I really like this game. I can't see what all the complaining is about. Sure the targting is off a little sometimes but not enough to give it a horrible rating like some people did.I would try to target one thing and it would go on to something else. It can be frustrating in battle, but not enough for me to hate this game. I am a Star Wars fan and throughly enjoyed the story. Also people were complaing about it getting to hard later in the game and not being able to use force powers as much. Well let me tell you Force grip is the key. You can always throw things at people and lightsaber moves are all that. I love using the lightsaber to carve people up using shields. So all you people have fun and May the Force be with you. Expand
  38. Orindlt
    Sep 18, 2008
    5
    Uneven controls and idiosyncratic camera angles mar what might have been an otherwise excellent game.
  39. Bruce
    Sep 19, 2008
    4
    There's only one word to describe The Force Unleashed, "broken!" Too bad because this could have been the Star Wars game we were all waiting for but inexcusable bugs and glitches that was solved two game generations ago and some very bad game design choices bring this title down.
  40. xeroman
    Sep 19, 2008
    5
    Did anybody even playtest this game before it went out to the public? Every possible glitch and bug from missing animation to getting stuck on objects and out of sync and even missing audio, it's all here! Terrible gameplay mechanics towards the later levels (why do I have the The Force powers if I can't use it on anybody!). In what should be one of the greatest moments in Did anybody even playtest this game before it went out to the public? Every possible glitch and bug from missing animation to getting stuck on objects and out of sync and even missing audio, it's all here! Terrible gameplay mechanics towards the later levels (why do I have the The Force powers if I can't use it on anybody!). In what should be one of the greatest moments in gaming, bringing down a Star Destroyer, ends up being the worst part of this shovel ware. Yet another cash in on the already dried up Star Wars franchise. If you're smart you'll be returning your copy for a refund just like I did. Expand
  41. GaryH
    Sep 21, 2008
    4
    Despite all the bad reviews I picked up The Force: Unleashed because after playing the demo I thought that it showed a lot of promise. After the first few levels I was confused about all the low scores because the game itself was actually quite fun! The art work and designs were great and the story itself is better than anything that has come out from the Star Wars universe in a long, Despite all the bad reviews I picked up The Force: Unleashed because after playing the demo I thought that it showed a lot of promise. After the first few levels I was confused about all the low scores because the game itself was actually quite fun! The art work and designs were great and the story itself is better than anything that has come out from the Star Wars universe in a long, long time. However, as I progressed through the game's real nature reared it's ugly and ill conceived head. I haven't played such an untested and unpolished game in my life. I found bugs like spelling, grammatical and even placeholder text; getting stuck on polygons; frame stuttering; disappearing bad guys and even game crashes and freezes. If you can overlook the bugs there are also numerous game play decisions that will leave you scratching your head like Stormtroopers that just stand there and do nothing as you stand right next to them. Battles that are completely uneven in difficulty (I didn't even die once fighting the final boss yet died multiple times fighting the sub-bosses in earlier stages). This game is a real shame. I could see a lot of potential in what could have been a half-way decent game but glaring glitches and some bad, bad, bad game design not only bring this title down, but make it unplayable. Buy at your own risk! Expand
  42. Beguiler
    Sep 23, 2008
    2
    Frustrating game with far more bad points than good. Story - I had mixed feelings about the narrative. I liked the themes but the plot was too abrupt - it needed more exposition to flesh out the saga component of Star Wars that we've come to expect and more mini-quests / minutae to immerse ourselves in as fans. Graphics and Sound were decent - actually some bits looked pretty Frustrating game with far more bad points than good. Story - I had mixed feelings about the narrative. I liked the themes but the plot was too abrupt - it needed more exposition to flesh out the saga component of Star Wars that we've come to expect and more mini-quests / minutae to immerse ourselves in as fans. Graphics and Sound were decent - actually some bits looked pretty primitive (the backgrounds in the pulling down the Star Destroyer were poor). Gameplay mechanics ranged from bad to worse. Combat was a bit clugy because of the control scheme - even with the target lock button, it was far too easy to apply force powers to the wrong object or opponent. This made using combo attacks difficult at times. Camera perspective also was horrible - in tight spaces it was easy to get disoriented and in Boss fights it made getting killed twice as easy. All in all, there was very little "fun" in this game. Expand
  43. Anonyous
    Sep 28, 2008
    7
    Matt M, everyone is entitled to their own opinion. Obviously, they all played the game. Anyways, I felt the game was fun, but is only worthy of a rent--doesn't seem like the kind of game with high re-playability.
  44. EveO.
    Sep 30, 2008
    8
    Really fun game, little short but fun.
  45. MattM
    Sep 5, 2008
    9
    Not sure what the Reviewer's have up there ass but they obviously are not playing the same game as the rest of us. Either that or they just suck balls at video games.
  46. SteveW.
    Sep 8, 2008
    3
    An amazing last-gen title... and that right there shows the problem with THE FORCE UNLEASHED. It's overly simplistic, gets dull and boring, and shockingly never runs smooth even though it doesn't push the 360s limits at all. A major disappointment.
  47. JK
    Sep 9, 2008
    9
    Don't listen to reviews, and make up your own mind. I have a review copy, and it's awesome.
  48. eeganrac
    Oct 24, 2008
    2
    Where do i begin......first of all if you are a fan of star wars RENT THIS GAME, do not buy it! if you are not a star wars fan, i would stay very far from this game. you will hate this game. here is the good about the game, or atleast ok. the story is to me very interesting (i am at the end of the game currently).the force powers are as they say in the title "unleashed".you have a nice Where do i begin......first of all if you are a fan of star wars RENT THIS GAME, do not buy it! if you are not a star wars fan, i would stay very far from this game. you will hate this game. here is the good about the game, or atleast ok. the story is to me very interesting (i am at the end of the game currently).the force powers are as they say in the title "unleashed".you have a nice variety of force powers to use. the graphics are good, except for the facial animation. that is about it for the good, here is the bad. the leveling system is pure garabage. the auto locking on objects is garbage. the mini games (god of war) are pointless. the whole bringing down the star destroyer that teased us in the trailer, well that was an epic fail. it is probably the worst single gaming experience i have had in a long while. i am only speaking for the xbox 360 version, but the directions the game told you to move the ship are wrong. i had to just move the thing visually and ignore what the game was telling me. the person who designed that, and the person who approved it should be FIRED! play it and you will see why. where they placed the auto save points.........i don't know what the hell they were thinking. you don't have an auto save point, then have a cut scene (you can't skip) then have to fight 2 AT AT (the 2 legged ones, if the name is wrong, sorry). then fight off some annoying storm troopers, then get to where your are going to have another cutscene (you can't skip) to fight a pack of royal guards. if you die then you get to do all that over and over again. this is just one example, the game is littered with them. there is so much wrong with this game. the people responsible for this game need to focus on xbla, and wii ware games. or better idea, get out of making video games! Expand
  49. Brad
    Sep 13, 2008
    10
    Enourmous fun. It isn't trying to be the next Jedi Knight, folks! Accept it for what it is, a fun action game that emphasizes combining the Lightsaber and Force Powers in spectacular ways, and you won't be sorry. Pretty solid story, acting, soundtrack, and visuals.
  50. WillS.
    Sep 16, 2008
    8
    This is a pretty solid game, maybe on lesser consoles like the ps2 and wii it's a bit weak. But on 360 it's an enjoyable experience.
  51. Jonp
    Sep 16, 2008
    9
    Amazing, both visually and technically. Gameplay is great, visuals are great, story is interesting, and cut scenes are well done. It's like Jedi Academy on steroids.
  52. beetea
    Sep 16, 2008
    9
    I don't understand the haters. I'm loving it and if this were a title released from some start up or smaller place, it would easily get close to 9!
  53. alexb
    Sep 16, 2008
    3
    "The Force Unleashed is simply the best thing to happen to the Star Wars franchise in decades. " it means they never played the first KOTOR.
  54. JP
    Sep 17, 2008
    2
    What a horrible, buggy game. Save your money.
  55. MrV
    Sep 17, 2008
    9
    This game is awesome. It's not perfect by any means, but it does the job and is fun to play. Presentation is a little lacking and Darth Vader's voice is pathetic, but other than those two minor complaints everything seems to be pretty good. I would give this game an 8.7 out of 10 and in my opinion is one of the best Star Wars games ever made along with Knights of the Old This game is awesome. It's not perfect by any means, but it does the job and is fun to play. Presentation is a little lacking and Darth Vader's voice is pathetic, but other than those two minor complaints everything seems to be pretty good. I would give this game an 8.7 out of 10 and in my opinion is one of the best Star Wars games ever made along with Knights of the Old Republic and the Star Wars Battlefront series. Collapse
  56. AlexC.
    Sep 18, 2008
    5
    This game had such promise, but at the end of the day, all I am going to remember are the glitches and failures that developers were suppost to fix during the testing stage of the game.
  57. Acts7Acst7
    Sep 18, 2008
    8
    I think the game itself is excellent. The story is solid. RPG is the only disappointing element for me. You can customize your character, but not enough to really feel like you are affecting your character's total role in the universe.
  58. mrpeatie
    Sep 21, 2008
    7
    As an action game fan and a Star Wars fan, I enjoyed this game. All the flaws mentioned in the reviews above are there. How much they detract from the overall experience just depends on how much you like the genre and the Star Wars universe.
  59. RichardN.
    Sep 21, 2008
    10
    Y'know, I get the faults. God, I spent last night trying for an hour to complete the infamous Star Destroyer level. Horrid. But as more than the sum of its parts, I loved it way more than technically more proficient games like GTA4 and GOW. It's tones of fun, has a great story (calling GOW and Halo 3 - where was yours?) an interesting protagonist and some truly great scenes. Y'know, I get the faults. God, I spent last night trying for an hour to complete the infamous Star Destroyer level. Horrid. But as more than the sum of its parts, I loved it way more than technically more proficient games like GTA4 and GOW. It's tones of fun, has a great story (calling GOW and Halo 3 - where was yours?) an interesting protagonist and some truly great scenes. Maybe not the best game this year, but certainly the one I enjoyed the most - occasional frustration aside. Expand
  60. Nikolai
    Sep 20, 2008
    6
    This game has a completely linear storyline and there are glitches everywhere. You would think that any game associated with LucasArts would be a top quality game. All signs point to the arrogance of George Lucas believing that because he created one of the greatest sci-fi genres that he can never make an inferior product. I'm pretty disappointed in the game overall. On a positive This game has a completely linear storyline and there are glitches everywhere. You would think that any game associated with LucasArts would be a top quality game. All signs point to the arrogance of George Lucas believing that because he created one of the greatest sci-fi genres that he can never make an inferior product. I'm pretty disappointed in the game overall. On a positive side, the force powers are fantastic and the combat combos are amazing. To contrast with the negatives, the combos are very hard to learn and remember. The storyline was pretty original as it leads to some questions of Darth Vader's overall role in the rebellion but I would have to say I was pretty disappointed. This game will definitely be traded in once it's exploited. I hope that any future products from LucasArts will be far superior. Expand
  61. JaceN.
    Sep 20, 2008
    2
    The idea was simple...take the gloves off and FINALLY show "The Force" for the world-shattering power it truly is supposed to be. Unfortunately sometime during development it met the equally powerful counter-forces of "we cant let the player be too powerful" and "this is a business and we need to make money so I don't care if its finished or not...ship it".
  62. MariusW.
    Sep 21, 2008
    9
    I love the star wars setting and was a bit sad about the reviews of some webzines (4players). I have no problems with tearing (you won't see it if you play). The game is just amazing!!!.
  63. JohnM.
    Sep 20, 2008
    8
    wow, all these guys bad mouthing this game because of "broken gameplay" etc. probably didn't play the game, and are just trying to drag it down because its got 1 little flaw, now, I've been playing all day, and noticed little to no problems, the plot is fantastic, the graphics are beautiful, the level design isn't brilliant, but what do you expect, its a great game, wow, all these guys bad mouthing this game because of "broken gameplay" etc. probably didn't play the game, and are just trying to drag it down because its got 1 little flaw, now, I've been playing all day, and noticed little to no problems, the plot is fantastic, the graphics are beautiful, the level design isn't brilliant, but what do you expect, its a great game, definitely worth checking out, vital if your actually a star wars fan, if your looking for some in depth beat em up thats fun, go buy castle crashers, if you want a brilliant story with beautiful graphics and OK gameplay, get this, its still pretty sweet. Expand
  64. MaikelN.
    Sep 22, 2008
    9
    The best Star Wars game I played. The bugs (at least to mine) aren't very noticeable, and the fights against bosses are superb.
  65. LorsS.
    Sep 20, 2008
    10
    This is an awesome game. The interactive environments, the incredible story and the backgrounds are all stunning. My kids play it every day and love it. I think that a lot of the "hardcore" reviewers are being tough on it because they are expecting a Gears of War or a GTA IV, but that is not what this game is. It is meant to be accessible to kids, who, frankly, appear to have better This is an awesome game. The interactive environments, the incredible story and the backgrounds are all stunning. My kids play it every day and love it. I think that a lot of the "hardcore" reviewers are being tough on it because they are expecting a Gears of War or a GTA IV, but that is not what this game is. It is meant to be accessible to kids, who, frankly, appear to have better targeting and problem-solving skills than some of the so-called critics have. Expand
  66. TheExile
    Sep 23, 2008
    6
    I enjoyed this up until the Star Destroyer. This has to be the most badly designed level in all gaming. Nearly threw the game against the wall in a rage. That aside, you cant help feeling that they would have been better off creating the engine and mechanics then giving it over to BioWare for them to use as KoToR 3.
  67. ChristianR.
    Sep 23, 2008
    9
    its a good fun game. a little short but overall super fun. it also would have been fun to have an online multiplayer, like some of the other SW games. but oh well. a awesome game overall.
  68. RicardoC.
    Sep 24, 2008
    9
    Awesome game. I really enjoy it. Only problems are with the targeting system. I think some critics are over-analyzing this one.
  69. HassanRab
    Sep 25, 2008
    6
    Has lots of problems. Don't even really bother renting it unless you're okay with lots of glitches.
  70. David
    Sep 25, 2008
    8
    A must for anyone who is interested in the Star Wars saga. Very good story. Too bad the game is short and has very little replay value.
  71. VinceB.
    Sep 26, 2008
    10
    I don't know what people are complaining about Bug & Glitch-wise, and i'm not much of a star wars fan, but i sat through and played this game non stop, and enjoyed every minute of it. the Fighting Combos were done much better then any other game that had used the system in the past, the Force Powers amounted to the pure amount of pwnage suggested by the title, and the fights I don't know what people are complaining about Bug & Glitch-wise, and i'm not much of a star wars fan, but i sat through and played this game non stop, and enjoyed every minute of it. the Fighting Combos were done much better then any other game that had used the system in the past, the Force Powers amounted to the pure amount of pwnage suggested by the title, and the fights were all ultimately satisfying, as well as the memorable and well done story line. 10 / 10 Expand
  72. BlandyB.
    Sep 27, 2008
    7
    I haven't really experienced any of the glitches that I'm reading about. The only really bad part is pulling down the Star Destroyer. It should have been the most awesome part of the game, but instead it's tedious and frustrating. Whoever programmed the gameplay for that part dropped the ball big time.
  73. Brackynews
    Sep 28, 2008
    7
    Very Good: Story, voices and art. Lots of bonuses and upgrading, mix of Jedi Knight and KOTOR. Change difficulty anytime. Satisfying combat, more dependent on lightsaber than trailers led to believe.. Very Bad: Lock-on entirely dependent on where your character is facing. Camera viewfield too narrow and behaves badly. Uneven checkpoints.
  74. cuah123
    Mar 22, 2009
    8
    What great writing, I agree...what a plot twist very mature...now the gameplay I had to play it on easy and I'm a professional in the industry and a hardcore gamer (having finished many of its predessors on the pc on normal as well). Why easy? Well it just didn't make sense to kill a stormtrooper on normal with 10 swings...Last the junk yard level opening shot was paradigmatic What great writing, I agree...what a plot twist very mature...now the gameplay I had to play it on easy and I'm a professional in the industry and a hardcore gamer (having finished many of its predessors on the pc on normal as well). Why easy? Well it just didn't make sense to kill a stormtrooper on normal with 10 swings...Last the junk yard level opening shot was paradigmatic it was awesome! Kudos! The mission where I had to down a star destroyer, well I think it was an incredibly lost opportunity due to an overzeolous spawning of tie fighters, it really killed the cinematic moment for me...but otherwise a great idea...can't wait to steal it! Expand
  75. mantiss
    Nov 30, 2008
    8
    I found this game very fun, but yes I was pissed when the force occasionally didn't target the object I was looking at, or an enemy knocked my backwards and i went flying off an edge (yes, you can resist being sucked into the vacuum of space, but not being pushed off an edge). Still the game was FUN, the boss fights were very cinematic and some of them reminded me of The Two Towers. I found this game very fun, but yes I was pissed when the force occasionally didn't target the object I was looking at, or an enemy knocked my backwards and i went flying off an edge (yes, you can resist being sucked into the vacuum of space, but not being pushed off an edge). Still the game was FUN, the boss fights were very cinematic and some of them reminded me of The Two Towers. Oh and you have to give the developers props for actually doing what the title says; unleashing the force. But occasional bugs do not merit a "2" or lower. Please guys, actually explain you rating in association with you comment. Halo 3 and Oblivion had bugs and other minor flaws too, but they are still FUN. A game is meant to be FUN. Too many hard core gamers out there. Expand
  76. ADrew
    Oct 18, 2008
    7
    This game would have got a much higher score if only they'd given it a little more time to be bug tested and balanced. The only major flaws with the game are the targetting system and collision detection, you'll die more often from a "cheap" death caused by an inability to target what you intended or being hit by something that missed you by miles than you will from having a This game would have got a much higher score if only they'd given it a little more time to be bug tested and balanced. The only major flaws with the game are the targetting system and collision detection, you'll die more often from a "cheap" death caused by an inability to target what you intended or being hit by something that missed you by miles than you will from having a lack of skill. That said the games levelling system makes it worth playing twice, collectibles actually have a good reason to be found and the story with its 2 endings is both well written and compelling. This game was obviously rushed to hit shelves before the other titles being released for the primary gifting periods of thanksgiving and christmas. The quality of the end product is reflected in this decision made by the marketting people and not by the developers. Without the bugs this game would have been given a 9. (i'm taking away 1 point for 2 ridiculous scenes in the otherwise great story). Expand
  77. ColinC.
    Oct 22, 2008
    8
    A very solid 8. In quick, the story is great. The graphics, pretty cool too. The level design, boring for the first half of the game, but much, much better in the second half. It was the story the kept me playing through the first half of the game, but then the level design, enemies, and force powers all ratcheted up for the second half, and I started really having a blast with this game. A very solid 8. In quick, the story is great. The graphics, pretty cool too. The level design, boring for the first half of the game, but much, much better in the second half. It was the story the kept me playing through the first half of the game, but then the level design, enemies, and force powers all ratcheted up for the second half, and I started really having a blast with this game. For most of it, I played on the hardest difficulty level, right up until the end, when I wimped out and dropped it down to medium. And yes, the autotargetting could be much better, but you get used to it. If you have any love of the Star Wars franchise, you should definitely play this game. Expand
  78. ChrisR.
    Aug 21, 2008
    10
    I have only played the demo, but Oh My God, I already love it. SW:TFU has by far the best physics system in a video game. EVER. The A.I. is completely absent... in place of actual intelligence, because it's so smart, it'll grab a box or even another person just survive. The graphics are also pretty good , and the powers are nice. I cannot wait for September 16th!
  79. DavidJ.
    Aug 22, 2008
    9
    An amazing game with superb graphics, amazing technologies, and plenty of jaw-dropping moments. While being too linear and having no multiplayer slow it down, it's still a game that everyone should experience.
  80. GarettO.
    Sep 13, 2008
    8
    Good gameplay, there is actually a deep combo system in there, provided your willing to spend the time in unlocking it. The story is pretty good, something Star Wars fans will definetly enjoy, even though at times slightly predictable. When you start to level up your force powers in the later levels, thats when the game hits is sweet spot, the force is not unleashed the moment you start Good gameplay, there is actually a deep combo system in there, provided your willing to spend the time in unlocking it. The story is pretty good, something Star Wars fans will definetly enjoy, even though at times slightly predictable. When you start to level up your force powers in the later levels, thats when the game hits is sweet spot, the force is not unleashed the moment you start as Starkiller. Expand
  81. yurilis
    Sep 16, 2008
    9
    Great graphics, great story, spot on controls, nice level up system and point distribution, deep combat engine and force powers, suprisingly much better than reviews have said.. If you are a starwars fan, do yourself a favor and BUY this game.
  82. SeanM.
    Sep 16, 2008
    9
    It's exactly what I've been looking for, a real-time Star Wars game that highlights the ability to use force powers in ridiculous combinations. Even though it may become a tad bit repetitive, I just can't get enough of force grip and combos. I just love watching my enemies fly. I really don't understand the low ratings the critics are handing out like hotcakes. It's exactly what I've been looking for, a real-time Star Wars game that highlights the ability to use force powers in ridiculous combinations. Even though it may become a tad bit repetitive, I just can't get enough of force grip and combos. I just love watching my enemies fly. I really don't understand the low ratings the critics are handing out like hotcakes. It's not as bad as to deserve a 40... it has a level of replayability that I love. The graphics are for the most part great, the gameplay is quite entertaining and the storyline is good enough. Hopefully this game is just feeling itself out and the real breakthroughs will come in the sequel (if there will be one). Expand
  83. TravisC.
    Sep 16, 2008
    8
    I find this game to be quite fun and I feel that everyone just needs to chill out. It seems like anymore, if a game isn't Halo or God of War-like in the end, people just can't handle it. Not every game has to be a 10. What happened to just playing decent games to have a little fun?
  84. FourRSwords
    Sep 17, 2008
    8
    Are there problems with the game yes, but that doesn't mean it is bad. Give it an eight. Graphics great, story rocks.
  85. [Anonymous]
    Sep 17, 2008
    8
    This game is a truly awesome game. Just play around with some of the more fun combos and your force powers to have fun! Also, credit to Naturalmotion with its scarily accurate people realism. But i rated it the way i did because every level is basically the same, and the camera when you fight a jedi is VERY annoying. Also its easy to get lost, even with a minimap. But i do recommend buying it.
  86. AdamR
    Sep 18, 2008
    10
    This is my new favorite game, when I got on metacritic I was so mad when I saw they only gave it a 72, great graphics and controls are easy.
  87. RobertC
    Sep 19, 2008
    8
    Is it short? Yes. Is the Destroyer sequence frustrating? Of course. But once you get the hang of the controls, the game becomes as smooth as butter. I honestly haven't come across any huge glitches (though that seems to be the case with most of my titles). The Force powers are still an experience unlike any I've seen in a game, the story's wonderful, the graphics look Is it short? Yes. Is the Destroyer sequence frustrating? Of course. But once you get the hang of the controls, the game becomes as smooth as butter. I honestly haven't come across any huge glitches (though that seems to be the case with most of my titles). The Force powers are still an experience unlike any I've seen in a game, the story's wonderful, the graphics look gorgeous, and it's ultimately a SATISFYING experience. This doesn't rank with the Action Trinity (Devil May Cry, Ninja Gaiden, and God of War), but the thrill of discovering this side of the Star Wars mythology with the powers you possess is something altogether great. Expand
  88. Infra
    Sep 21, 2008
    10
    Best SW game ever, and one of the best games ever... only one flaw - way too short.
  89. DMan
    Sep 22, 2008
    9
    Okay, I've heard it all, but any who does realize that this game is a feat in itself, doesn't know anything about the technolgy in the game. The combination between Havoc, Euphoria & DMM make this a unique and refeshing game experience. The story is good and the cinematography is awesome, for the first time I feel like I'm playing in a Star Wars movie of my own. I would Okay, I've heard it all, but any who does realize that this game is a feat in itself, doesn't know anything about the technolgy in the game. The combination between Havoc, Euphoria & DMM make this a unique and refeshing game experience. The story is good and the cinematography is awesome, for the first time I feel like I'm playing in a Star Wars movie of my own. I would give an 8.5 normally, because there are some technical glitches, but the fact of the matter is I'm having too much fun being a Jedi. Also this game has a good combo of playing just as a button masher or if you really want to play the game, you can ADVANCE your gameplay and make some awesome combos. Expand
  90. RogerK
    Sep 24, 2008
    9
    Ok, all of you who are slamming this game for its "massive faults" are just being overdramatic. There are a few bugs, yes, but they matter very little in the long run, and only hypercritical perfectionists can really be upset by them. And while there are also a few frustrating moments of gameplay, they are vastly outweighed by the non-stop, badass feeling of being a powerful sith lord. Ok, all of you who are slamming this game for its "massive faults" are just being overdramatic. There are a few bugs, yes, but they matter very little in the long run, and only hypercritical perfectionists can really be upset by them. And while there are also a few frustrating moments of gameplay, they are vastly outweighed by the non-stop, badass feeling of being a powerful sith lord. This game has amazing art direction, great level design and sound work, and some truly memorable moments (like when the 8th level boss turns into its final form!). The controls were smooth and intuitive if you knew what you were doing, and I didn't have a problem with the camera the entire way through. I don't know how some of you can be screwing up the controls and camera that badly, its the same setup as GTA IV. The bottom line is: this game delivers heart-pounding action, a satisfying canonical Star Wars story, and the undeniably fun feeling of being a powerful force-wielder. I strongly recommend this game. Expand
  91. GarethS.
    Sep 27, 2008
    5
    A 5 and thats me being generous. Ive played it through on all difficulties and got all the gamerpoints but this game is not worth a purchase no matter how much of a star wars fan you are, rent this game if you must but you may be disappointed.
  92. JackB.
    Sep 28, 2008
    8
    I'm still playing the heck out of this game... yes, there are glitches, but it doesn't completely ruin the game... the way some people are overreacting. Some of you kids need to get off the bandwagon, and just enjoy the game for what it is. It's a fun hack and slash with force powers.
  93. --
    Dec 29, 2009
    7
    360 version is full of glitches which quite frequently end in you losing the last bit of your health. Good storyline, but lacks the ability to have a fair fight, as the enemy mostly croud around your body as u lay on the ground and let them take turns beating the crap through u. Good game, but ALOT more testing is required for next time.
  94. JosephRedEagle
    Jan 31, 2009
    8
    I don't get why this game was rated as low as it was. I had a blast with it. I never ran into any glitches and the story and gameplay were enjoyable. And to Kaminator, did you just go around jumping around to see how many times you would fall off of an edge? It's obvious where you shouldn't jump. You would have to be a moron to miss them.
  95. Oct 29, 2012
    7
    The audio is fantastic, and the graphics will impress more often than not. The fun combat system and epic story are moderately spoiled by a poor targeting system, bad enemy AI, and some glitches.
  96. Jan 6, 2011
    6
    the game has some cool things going for it . the start is its set in the original trilogys story line and adds more to the star wars lore. some cool force powers to use . a pretty solid story with some good voice acting . 2 differnt endings which gives you another reason to play it . a pretty decent combat system . what holds this game down is how buggy and glitchy it is . the starthe game has some cool things going for it . the start is its set in the original trilogys story line and adds more to the star wars lore. some cool force powers to use . a pretty solid story with some good voice acting . 2 differnt endings which gives you another reason to play it . a pretty decent combat system . what holds this game down is how buggy and glitchy it is . the star destroyer part especially . i was stuck on that part for 2 hours because of it getting glitched up. the game is pretty simple too they could have done alot more to make it much more exciting . its a ok star wars game which i only paid $15 for so i dont feel to bad about it. Expand
  97. Nov 6, 2010
    8
    ochentay4
    Nov 6, 2010
    8 Im not a fan of Star Wars saga, but this game simply grabbed me and finished as fast as I could. I loved it. Great graphics, great sound, great story and good gameplay. The game has glitches but its fun anyway. The 3 addons that are on the second disk of Ultimate Sith Edition have more glitches than the original game but are very fun and a little short. I recommend
    ochentay4
    Nov 6, 2010
    8
    Im not a fan of Star Wars saga, but this game simply grabbed me and finished as fast as I could. I loved it. Great graphics, great sound, great story and good gameplay. The game has glitches but its fun anyway. The 3 addons that are on the second disk of Ultimate Sith Edition have more glitches than the original game but are very fun and a little short. I recommend for SW fans and everyone who loves third person beat em ups.â
    Expand
  98. Oct 16, 2010
    8
    Ok first off I dont acually have this game I have the psp version . But in the time that I went to play theis game at my freinds house I loved it. I lov eblowing up every storm trooper except one and then playing around with that last one. The story is great but I cant tell you about it because that would be a spoiler. All i can tell you is that this takes place between the time in betweenOk first off I dont acually have this game I have the psp version . But in the time that I went to play theis game at my freinds house I loved it. I lov eblowing up every storm trooper except one and then playing around with that last one. The story is great but I cant tell you about it because that would be a spoiler. All i can tell you is that this takes place between the time in between Epesode 3 and 4 where Darth Vadet is hunting down Every jedi and he comes along to one who has a powerful son you. This guy has every power a jedi/sith lord could ever want. The cinematic finishes on bosses are great I just wish that the buttons werent getting in the way. The reason I gave this game an 8 is because it lacks multyplayer and the enemys arent varied. Expand
  99. Dec 14, 2010
    7
    Sadly this is not what I thought it would be. The story is awesome but the combat can feel clunky and reptitive sometimes and I only feel substantially powerful when I've maxed everything, because you can't even charge up force push or lightening until the second level, when it should have been immediate. The game ends very quickly as well and here isn't that much replay-value. I hope theSadly this is not what I thought it would be. The story is awesome but the combat can feel clunky and reptitive sometimes and I only feel substantially powerful when I've maxed everything, because you can't even charge up force push or lightening until the second level, when it should have been immediate. The game ends very quickly as well and here isn't that much replay-value. I hope the next installment will be better Expand
  100. Mar 2, 2011
    7
    I suspect that the people giving this game such poor reviews were expecting a fantastic game rather than a good game. The game has somewhat clunky controls and not so great graphics, but a strong storyline and enjoyable force powers and lightsaber attacks at the players disposal. Certainly not the Star Wars game it could have been, but still an overall good game. It's a shame that thisI suspect that the people giving this game such poor reviews were expecting a fantastic game rather than a good game. The game has somewhat clunky controls and not so great graphics, but a strong storyline and enjoyable force powers and lightsaber attacks at the players disposal. Certainly not the Star Wars game it could have been, but still an overall good game. It's a shame that this game's potential was not reached in the second instalment too. Expand
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 74 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 74
  2. Negative: 1 out of 74
  1. With its non-branching storyline and no multiplayer, Force Unleashed is certainly less ambitious than the classic "Jedi Knight" games - and ultimately, its design makes it feel more videogame-y and less of an all-engrossing Star Wars experience than Xbox entries like "Jedi Knight II" or "Jedi Academy." But when the game is on, it's on. [Oct 2008, p.70]
  2. 70
    Make no mistake: you can have a lot of fun with The Force Unleashed. [Oct 2008, p.88]
  3. By even allowing the choice between simple hack-and-slash gameplay and the more complex mix-up combos, LucusArrts has ensured that many will never view the title’s full potential. [Oct 2008, p.104]