User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 406 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 78 out of 406
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. VvTJVvthatsmyxboxlivetag!!
    Sep 28, 2008
    10
    This game is one of the best star wars games there are.Now maybe not as good as knights of the old republic i still find this a welcome addition to everyone's game collection.It bridges the gap between III and IV with excellent story good graphics and a good beginning to rebellion. also the first level when you play as darth vader is one of the best gaming moments there is......PERIOD.
  2. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    The game is solid, great combat, upgrade system, not a over abundence of QTEs and its challenging. But the main reason its getting a ten in my book is I am a huge fan of Star wars and this game cares about the lore and shows how the rebels came to be. Hell Lucas even says he includes this story in the star wars cannon. Plus there is no Jar Jar
  3. Vio
    Nov 20, 2011
    9
    This is not a RPG, this is a action platform game with RPG and fighting game elements - once this is realized and you embrace it for what it is it is simply awesome.

    The game's story is the usual starwars story line nothing much of a surprize here, gameplay is very fun once you learn the moves and unlock the force powers - I have found myself finishing this game multiple times looking for
    This is not a RPG, this is a action platform game with RPG and fighting game elements - once this is realized and you embrace it for what it is it is simply awesome.

    The game's story is the usual starwars story line nothing much of a surprize here, gameplay is very fun once you learn the moves and unlock the force powers - I have found myself finishing this game multiple times looking for every light saber and unlocking every force power. The graphics/art in this game is beautiful. Gameplay wise the only complaint I have is that of the "hit X" "hit "A" etc timed events in order to kill "bosses".

    Did I like it? Hell yes!
    Expand
  4. BrentP
    Jun 1, 2009
    10
    This is my favorite game on the 360, thus far. It was extremely satisfying and well done. It's definitely worth buying. I'm looking forward to playing it again and again.
  5. BillyH.
    Jan 17, 2009
    10
    I have played the game through-out twice now and I'm sorry to say but this game ROCKS! You are very destructive and the story line is excellent. I love this game and highly recommend it. Why some on here rate it so low is absurd. They game pushed the envelope in so many ways and the game play great. The story behind it just takes you that much deeper into the game itself. This game I have played the game through-out twice now and I'm sorry to say but this game ROCKS! You are very destructive and the story line is excellent. I love this game and highly recommend it. Why some on here rate it so low is absurd. They game pushed the envelope in so many ways and the game play great. The story behind it just takes you that much deeper into the game itself. This game is a 9.5 - 10 in my book. Expand
  6. JasonB.
    Sep 15, 2008
    8
    Best Representation of Force Powers Ever !!!!! Love this game and have had loads of fun playing it.
  7. Teli
    Sep 22, 2008
    8
    A truly enjoyable experience. Can't wait to see future games make use of DMM. The camera was a problem only in some areas of the game. The fact that you can customize you lightsaber is neat. Definitely worth another playthough on the most difficult setting.
  8. mirig
    Sep 24, 2008
    8
    Beautiful game (though faces in cinematics look really bad), great story, individual powers are good and there are good character building and customization features. But chaining attacks is amateurishly implemented, there are lots of bugs, there are some extremely poor design decisions and lightsaber combat is a wasted opportunity. With some key fixes and a couple months of polish, it Beautiful game (though faces in cinematics look really bad), great story, individual powers are good and there are good character building and customization features. But chaining attacks is amateurishly implemented, there are lots of bugs, there are some extremely poor design decisions and lightsaber combat is a wasted opportunity. With some key fixes and a couple months of polish, it could have been a 90+ classic. Too bad they shipped it before it was done. Expand
  9. CuthbertS.
    Jan 11, 2009
    8
    This game was very good. I thoroughly enjoyed the "unleashed force" experience, apart from the irritataing 'Bring down the star destroyer bit.' Some of the cutscenes were gooey or cheesey with a few contradictions. The game was way too short and the levels didn't feel like they'd been completely finished and they still needed some work on the level borders. The This game was very good. I thoroughly enjoyed the "unleashed force" experience, apart from the irritataing 'Bring down the star destroyer bit.' Some of the cutscenes were gooey or cheesey with a few contradictions. The game was way too short and the levels didn't feel like they'd been completely finished and they still needed some work on the level borders. The targeting and 'locked camera during parts of boss levels' sucked but no game is perfect. I loved the combos and the fact that you only have one button for lightsaber, yet you can do so much with it (bar ranged attacks.) There were a few parts where I got annoyed doing the same bit over and over again but any gamer should be prepared to do that. I kinda wish there were some side levels where you could just mess around fighting guys instead of just battling through the levels, I hate the training levels! Overall I loved the game but it just isn't finished, I would have preferred to wait longer until it is properly completed. Expand
  10. JohnP.
    Feb 22, 2009
    8
    I see people nagging about ledges and over the top Force powers. Apparently, no one knows how to stay on the map and no one read LucasArts releases about this game being about taking the Force powers to the extreme. This game was overhyped, yes, but it did not fail to deliver in terms of absolutely amazing gameplay. I loved the story line and the graphics, not to mention the physics. The I see people nagging about ledges and over the top Force powers. Apparently, no one knows how to stay on the map and no one read LucasArts releases about this game being about taking the Force powers to the extreme. This game was overhyped, yes, but it did not fail to deliver in terms of absolutely amazing gameplay. I loved the story line and the graphics, not to mention the physics. The most redeeming aspect of this game is the unlockables and cheat codes. Who doesn't love fighting Stormtrooper with Ackbar? It does have some glitches to be worked on and the story line was quite short, rather disappointed they left out so much on the 360 version. Expand
  11. DouglasI
    Dec 1, 2008
    8
    Distance between save checkpoints, some lackluster environment design and tedious battle sequences can drag this game down. Outstanding visual design, remarkable characters, and unique game play make it fun. The 800 pound elephant: The story that bridges Episodes 3 & 4 make this game a must play. Stunning cinematic sequences are a joy to watch. Saber play and force use become almost Distance between save checkpoints, some lackluster environment design and tedious battle sequences can drag this game down. Outstanding visual design, remarkable characters, and unique game play make it fun. The 800 pound elephant: The story that bridges Episodes 3 & 4 make this game a must play. Stunning cinematic sequences are a joy to watch. Saber play and force use become almost magical by the end of the game. A multiplayer port of the game would have make this game much more valuable. A versus combat option similar to the "Episode III" game would have been phenomenal in this game environment. Expand
  12. Anonymous
    Oct 3, 2008
    9
    Graphics are great, story is fine and the characters have souls (metaphorically ofcourse). Also using the Force is fun, but you get pretty far with just a few combos. Also the final boss is really hard, compared to other bosses, which you usually kill with one or two tries. Also I liked how the outfits seem to be carefully done and the fun RPG-element, but you had a situation where you Graphics are great, story is fine and the characters have souls (metaphorically ofcourse). Also using the Force is fun, but you get pretty far with just a few combos. Also the final boss is really hard, compared to other bosses, which you usually kill with one or two tries. Also I liked how the outfits seem to be carefully done and the fun RPG-element, but you had a situation where you needed to decide only once. Expand
  13. Leo
    Aug 24, 2008
    10
    This game is a combination of ninja gaiden and jedi academy in the best way unlimited amount of things you can do in this game you feel like a sith lord. Just amazing
  14. ZackH.
    Sep 15, 2008
    9
    The only thing I didn't like about it was the fact it was so short. Other than that, I loved it. Beautiful graphics, and the physics of the game were simply stunning. Using Force Repulse to fling 10 storm troopers off of a bridge is just so satisfying.
  15. LukeS.
    Sep 17, 2008
    9
    Game is awesome , would have been a ten if it was longer. Overall a great game that is worthy of the name star wars.
  16. WilliamM.
    Sep 17, 2008
    9
    I really like this game. I can't see what all the complaining is about. Sure the targting is off a little sometimes but not enough to give it a horrible rating like some people did.I would try to target one thing and it would go on to something else. It can be frustrating in battle, but not enough for me to hate this game. I am a Star Wars fan and throughly enjoyed the story. Also I really like this game. I can't see what all the complaining is about. Sure the targting is off a little sometimes but not enough to give it a horrible rating like some people did.I would try to target one thing and it would go on to something else. It can be frustrating in battle, but not enough for me to hate this game. I am a Star Wars fan and throughly enjoyed the story. Also people were complaing about it getting to hard later in the game and not being able to use force powers as much. Well let me tell you Force grip is the key. You can always throw things at people and lightsaber moves are all that. I love using the lightsaber to carve people up using shields. So all you people have fun and May the Force be with you. Expand
  17. EveO.
    Sep 30, 2008
    8
    Really fun game, little short but fun.
  18. MattM
    Sep 5, 2008
    9
    Not sure what the Reviewer's have up there ass but they obviously are not playing the same game as the rest of us. Either that or they just suck balls at video games.
  19. JK
    Sep 9, 2008
    9
    Don't listen to reviews, and make up your own mind. I have a review copy, and it's awesome.
  20. Brad
    Sep 13, 2008
    10
    Enourmous fun. It isn't trying to be the next Jedi Knight, folks! Accept it for what it is, a fun action game that emphasizes combining the Lightsaber and Force Powers in spectacular ways, and you won't be sorry. Pretty solid story, acting, soundtrack, and visuals.
  21. WillS.
    Sep 16, 2008
    8
    This is a pretty solid game, maybe on lesser consoles like the ps2 and wii it's a bit weak. But on 360 it's an enjoyable experience.
  22. Jonp
    Sep 16, 2008
    9
    Amazing, both visually and technically. Gameplay is great, visuals are great, story is interesting, and cut scenes are well done. It's like Jedi Academy on steroids.
  23. beetea
    Sep 16, 2008
    9
    I don't understand the haters. I'm loving it and if this were a title released from some start up or smaller place, it would easily get close to 9!
  24. MrV
    Sep 17, 2008
    9
    This game is awesome. It's not perfect by any means, but it does the job and is fun to play. Presentation is a little lacking and Darth Vader's voice is pathetic, but other than those two minor complaints everything seems to be pretty good. I would give this game an 8.7 out of 10 and in my opinion is one of the best Star Wars games ever made along with Knights of the Old This game is awesome. It's not perfect by any means, but it does the job and is fun to play. Presentation is a little lacking and Darth Vader's voice is pathetic, but other than those two minor complaints everything seems to be pretty good. I would give this game an 8.7 out of 10 and in my opinion is one of the best Star Wars games ever made along with Knights of the Old Republic and the Star Wars Battlefront series. Expand
  25. Acts7Acst7
    Sep 18, 2008
    8
    I think the game itself is excellent. The story is solid. RPG is the only disappointing element for me. You can customize your character, but not enough to really feel like you are affecting your character's total role in the universe.
  26. RichardN.
    Sep 21, 2008
    10
    Y'know, I get the faults. God, I spent last night trying for an hour to complete the infamous Star Destroyer level. Horrid. But as more than the sum of its parts, I loved it way more than technically more proficient games like GTA4 and GOW. It's tones of fun, has a great story (calling GOW and Halo 3 - where was yours?) an interesting protagonist and some truly great scenes. Y'know, I get the faults. God, I spent last night trying for an hour to complete the infamous Star Destroyer level. Horrid. But as more than the sum of its parts, I loved it way more than technically more proficient games like GTA4 and GOW. It's tones of fun, has a great story (calling GOW and Halo 3 - where was yours?) an interesting protagonist and some truly great scenes. Maybe not the best game this year, but certainly the one I enjoyed the most - occasional frustration aside. Expand
  27. MariusW.
    Sep 21, 2008
    9
    I love the star wars setting and was a bit sad about the reviews of some webzines (4players). I have no problems with tearing (you won't see it if you play). The game is just amazing!!!.
  28. JohnM.
    Sep 20, 2008
    8
    wow, all these guys bad mouthing this game because of "broken gameplay" etc. probably didn't play the game, and are just trying to drag it down because its got 1 little flaw, now, I've been playing all day, and noticed little to no problems, the plot is fantastic, the graphics are beautiful, the level design isn't brilliant, but what do you expect, its a great game, wow, all these guys bad mouthing this game because of "broken gameplay" etc. probably didn't play the game, and are just trying to drag it down because its got 1 little flaw, now, I've been playing all day, and noticed little to no problems, the plot is fantastic, the graphics are beautiful, the level design isn't brilliant, but what do you expect, its a great game, definitely worth checking out, vital if your actually a star wars fan, if your looking for some in depth beat em up thats fun, go buy castle crashers, if you want a brilliant story with beautiful graphics and OK gameplay, get this, its still pretty sweet. Expand
  29. MaikelN.
    Sep 22, 2008
    9
    The best Star Wars game I played. The bugs (at least to mine) aren't very noticeable, and the fights against bosses are superb.
  30. LorsS.
    Sep 20, 2008
    10
    This is an awesome game. The interactive environments, the incredible story and the backgrounds are all stunning. My kids play it every day and love it. I think that a lot of the "hardcore" reviewers are being tough on it because they are expecting a Gears of War or a GTA IV, but that is not what this game is. It is meant to be accessible to kids, who, frankly, appear to have better This is an awesome game. The interactive environments, the incredible story and the backgrounds are all stunning. My kids play it every day and love it. I think that a lot of the "hardcore" reviewers are being tough on it because they are expecting a Gears of War or a GTA IV, but that is not what this game is. It is meant to be accessible to kids, who, frankly, appear to have better targeting and problem-solving skills than some of the so-called critics have. Expand
  31. ChristianR.
    Sep 23, 2008
    9
    its a good fun game. a little short but overall super fun. it also would have been fun to have an online multiplayer, like some of the other SW games. but oh well. a awesome game overall.
  32. RicardoC.
    Sep 24, 2008
    9
    Awesome game. I really enjoy it. Only problems are with the targeting system. I think some critics are over-analyzing this one.
  33. David
    Sep 25, 2008
    8
    A must for anyone who is interested in the Star Wars saga. Very good story. Too bad the game is short and has very little replay value.
  34. VinceB.
    Sep 26, 2008
    10
    I don't know what people are complaining about Bug & Glitch-wise, and i'm not much of a star wars fan, but i sat through and played this game non stop, and enjoyed every minute of it. the Fighting Combos were done much better then any other game that had used the system in the past, the Force Powers amounted to the pure amount of pwnage suggested by the title, and the fights I don't know what people are complaining about Bug & Glitch-wise, and i'm not much of a star wars fan, but i sat through and played this game non stop, and enjoyed every minute of it. the Fighting Combos were done much better then any other game that had used the system in the past, the Force Powers amounted to the pure amount of pwnage suggested by the title, and the fights were all ultimately satisfying, as well as the memorable and well done story line. 10 / 10 Expand
  35. cuah123
    Mar 22, 2009
    8
    What great writing, I agree...what a plot twist very mature...now the gameplay I had to play it on easy and I'm a professional in the industry and a hardcore gamer (having finished many of its predessors on the pc on normal as well). Why easy? Well it just didn't make sense to kill a stormtrooper on normal with 10 swings...Last the junk yard level opening shot was paradigmatic What great writing, I agree...what a plot twist very mature...now the gameplay I had to play it on easy and I'm a professional in the industry and a hardcore gamer (having finished many of its predessors on the pc on normal as well). Why easy? Well it just didn't make sense to kill a stormtrooper on normal with 10 swings...Last the junk yard level opening shot was paradigmatic it was awesome! Kudos! The mission where I had to down a star destroyer, well I think it was an incredibly lost opportunity due to an overzeolous spawning of tie fighters, it really killed the cinematic moment for me...but otherwise a great idea...can't wait to steal it! Expand
  36. mantiss
    Nov 30, 2008
    8
    I found this game very fun, but yes I was pissed when the force occasionally didn't target the object I was looking at, or an enemy knocked my backwards and i went flying off an edge (yes, you can resist being sucked into the vacuum of space, but not being pushed off an edge). Still the game was FUN, the boss fights were very cinematic and some of them reminded me of The Two Towers. I found this game very fun, but yes I was pissed when the force occasionally didn't target the object I was looking at, or an enemy knocked my backwards and i went flying off an edge (yes, you can resist being sucked into the vacuum of space, but not being pushed off an edge). Still the game was FUN, the boss fights were very cinematic and some of them reminded me of The Two Towers. Oh and you have to give the developers props for actually doing what the title says; unleashing the force. But occasional bugs do not merit a "2" or lower. Please guys, actually explain you rating in association with you comment. Halo 3 and Oblivion had bugs and other minor flaws too, but they are still FUN. A game is meant to be FUN. Too many hard core gamers out there. Expand
  37. ColinC.
    Oct 22, 2008
    8
    A very solid 8. In quick, the story is great. The graphics, pretty cool too. The level design, boring for the first half of the game, but much, much better in the second half. It was the story the kept me playing through the first half of the game, but then the level design, enemies, and force powers all ratcheted up for the second half, and I started really having a blast with this game. A very solid 8. In quick, the story is great. The graphics, pretty cool too. The level design, boring for the first half of the game, but much, much better in the second half. It was the story the kept me playing through the first half of the game, but then the level design, enemies, and force powers all ratcheted up for the second half, and I started really having a blast with this game. For most of it, I played on the hardest difficulty level, right up until the end, when I wimped out and dropped it down to medium. And yes, the autotargetting could be much better, but you get used to it. If you have any love of the Star Wars franchise, you should definitely play this game. Expand
  38. ChrisR.
    Aug 21, 2008
    10
    I have only played the demo, but Oh My God, I already love it. SW:TFU has by far the best physics system in a video game. EVER. The A.I. is completely absent... in place of actual intelligence, because it's so smart, it'll grab a box or even another person just survive. The graphics are also pretty good , and the powers are nice. I cannot wait for September 16th!
  39. DavidJ.
    Aug 22, 2008
    9
    An amazing game with superb graphics, amazing technologies, and plenty of jaw-dropping moments. While being too linear and having no multiplayer slow it down, it's still a game that everyone should experience.
  40. GarettO.
    Sep 13, 2008
    8
    Good gameplay, there is actually a deep combo system in there, provided your willing to spend the time in unlocking it. The story is pretty good, something Star Wars fans will definetly enjoy, even though at times slightly predictable. When you start to level up your force powers in the later levels, thats when the game hits is sweet spot, the force is not unleashed the moment you start Good gameplay, there is actually a deep combo system in there, provided your willing to spend the time in unlocking it. The story is pretty good, something Star Wars fans will definetly enjoy, even though at times slightly predictable. When you start to level up your force powers in the later levels, thats when the game hits is sweet spot, the force is not unleashed the moment you start as Starkiller. Expand
  41. yurilis
    Sep 16, 2008
    9
    Great graphics, great story, spot on controls, nice level up system and point distribution, deep combat engine and force powers, suprisingly much better than reviews have said.. If you are a starwars fan, do yourself a favor and BUY this game.
  42. SeanM.
    Sep 16, 2008
    9
    It's exactly what I've been looking for, a real-time Star Wars game that highlights the ability to use force powers in ridiculous combinations. Even though it may become a tad bit repetitive, I just can't get enough of force grip and combos. I just love watching my enemies fly. I really don't understand the low ratings the critics are handing out like hotcakes. It's exactly what I've been looking for, a real-time Star Wars game that highlights the ability to use force powers in ridiculous combinations. Even though it may become a tad bit repetitive, I just can't get enough of force grip and combos. I just love watching my enemies fly. I really don't understand the low ratings the critics are handing out like hotcakes. It's not as bad as to deserve a 40... it has a level of replayability that I love. The graphics are for the most part great, the gameplay is quite entertaining and the storyline is good enough. Hopefully this game is just feeling itself out and the real breakthroughs will come in the sequel (if there will be one). Expand
  43. TravisC.
    Sep 16, 2008
    8
    I find this game to be quite fun and I feel that everyone just needs to chill out. It seems like anymore, if a game isn't Halo or God of War-like in the end, people just can't handle it. Not every game has to be a 10. What happened to just playing decent games to have a little fun?
  44. FourRSwords
    Sep 17, 2008
    8
    Are there problems with the game yes, but that doesn't mean it is bad. Give it an eight. Graphics great, story rocks.
  45. [Anonymous]
    Sep 17, 2008
    8
    This game is a truly awesome game. Just play around with some of the more fun combos and your force powers to have fun! Also, credit to Naturalmotion with its scarily accurate people realism. But i rated it the way i did because every level is basically the same, and the camera when you fight a jedi is VERY annoying. Also its easy to get lost, even with a minimap. But i do recommend buying it.
  46. AdamR
    Sep 18, 2008
    10
    This is my new favorite game, when I got on metacritic I was so mad when I saw they only gave it a 72, great graphics and controls are easy.
  47. RobertC
    Sep 19, 2008
    8
    Is it short? Yes. Is the Destroyer sequence frustrating? Of course. But once you get the hang of the controls, the game becomes as smooth as butter. I honestly haven't come across any huge glitches (though that seems to be the case with most of my titles). The Force powers are still an experience unlike any I've seen in a game, the story's wonderful, the graphics look Is it short? Yes. Is the Destroyer sequence frustrating? Of course. But once you get the hang of the controls, the game becomes as smooth as butter. I honestly haven't come across any huge glitches (though that seems to be the case with most of my titles). The Force powers are still an experience unlike any I've seen in a game, the story's wonderful, the graphics look gorgeous, and it's ultimately a SATISFYING experience. This doesn't rank with the Action Trinity (Devil May Cry, Ninja Gaiden, and God of War), but the thrill of discovering this side of the Star Wars mythology with the powers you possess is something altogether great. Expand
  48. Infra
    Sep 21, 2008
    10
    Best SW game ever, and one of the best games ever... only one flaw - way too short.
  49. DMan
    Sep 22, 2008
    9
    Okay, I've heard it all, but any who does realize that this game is a feat in itself, doesn't know anything about the technolgy in the game. The combination between Havoc, Euphoria & DMM make this a unique and refeshing game experience. The story is good and the cinematography is awesome, for the first time I feel like I'm playing in a Star Wars movie of my own. I would Okay, I've heard it all, but any who does realize that this game is a feat in itself, doesn't know anything about the technolgy in the game. The combination between Havoc, Euphoria & DMM make this a unique and refeshing game experience. The story is good and the cinematography is awesome, for the first time I feel like I'm playing in a Star Wars movie of my own. I would give an 8.5 normally, because there are some technical glitches, but the fact of the matter is I'm having too much fun being a Jedi. Also this game has a good combo of playing just as a button masher or if you really want to play the game, you can ADVANCE your gameplay and make some awesome combos. Expand
  50. RogerK
    Sep 24, 2008
    9
    Ok, all of you who are slamming this game for its "massive faults" are just being overdramatic. There are a few bugs, yes, but they matter very little in the long run, and only hypercritical perfectionists can really be upset by them. And while there are also a few frustrating moments of gameplay, they are vastly outweighed by the non-stop, badass feeling of being a powerful sith lord. Ok, all of you who are slamming this game for its "massive faults" are just being overdramatic. There are a few bugs, yes, but they matter very little in the long run, and only hypercritical perfectionists can really be upset by them. And while there are also a few frustrating moments of gameplay, they are vastly outweighed by the non-stop, badass feeling of being a powerful sith lord. This game has amazing art direction, great level design and sound work, and some truly memorable moments (like when the 8th level boss turns into its final form!). The controls were smooth and intuitive if you knew what you were doing, and I didn't have a problem with the camera the entire way through. I don't know how some of you can be screwing up the controls and camera that badly, its the same setup as GTA IV. The bottom line is: this game delivers heart-pounding action, a satisfying canonical Star Wars story, and the undeniably fun feeling of being a powerful force-wielder. I strongly recommend this game. Expand
  51. JackB.
    Sep 28, 2008
    8
    I'm still playing the heck out of this game... yes, there are glitches, but it doesn't completely ruin the game... the way some people are overreacting. Some of you kids need to get off the bandwagon, and just enjoy the game for what it is. It's a fun hack and slash with force powers.
  52. JosephRedEagle
    Jan 31, 2009
    8
    I don't get why this game was rated as low as it was. I had a blast with it. I never ran into any glitches and the story and gameplay were enjoyable. And to Kaminator, did you just go around jumping around to see how many times you would fall off of an edge? It's obvious where you shouldn't jump. You would have to be a moron to miss them.
  53. Nov 6, 2010
    8
    ochentay4
    Nov 6, 2010
    8 Im not a fan of Star Wars saga, but this game simply grabbed me and finished as fast as I could. I loved it. Great graphics, great sound, great story and good gameplay. The game has glitches but its fun anyway. The 3 addons that are on the second disk of Ultimate Sith Edition have more glitches than the original game but are very fun and a little short. I recommend
    ochentay4
    Nov 6, 2010
    8
    Im not a fan of Star Wars saga, but this game simply grabbed me and finished as fast as I could. I loved it. Great graphics, great sound, great story and good gameplay. The game has glitches but its fun anyway. The 3 addons that are on the second disk of Ultimate Sith Edition have more glitches than the original game but are very fun and a little short. I recommend for SW fans and everyone who loves third person beat em ups.â
    Expand
  54. Oct 16, 2010
    8
    Ok first off I dont acually have this game I have the psp version . But in the time that I went to play theis game at my freinds house I loved it. I lov eblowing up every storm trooper except one and then playing around with that last one. The story is great but I cant tell you about it because that would be a spoiler. All i can tell you is that this takes place between the time in betweenOk first off I dont acually have this game I have the psp version . But in the time that I went to play theis game at my freinds house I loved it. I lov eblowing up every storm trooper except one and then playing around with that last one. The story is great but I cant tell you about it because that would be a spoiler. All i can tell you is that this takes place between the time in between Epesode 3 and 4 where Darth Vadet is hunting down Every jedi and he comes along to one who has a powerful son you. This guy has every power a jedi/sith lord could ever want. The cinematic finishes on bosses are great I just wish that the buttons werent getting in the way. The reason I gave this game an 8 is because it lacks multyplayer and the enemys arent varied. Expand
  55. May 18, 2017
    8
    With fun lightsaber action and a wealth of force powers at your disposal, The Force Unleashed allows players to feel what it's like to be an all powerful Sith lord, unrestrained by the Jedi code. You play as the Darth Vader's secret apprentice who has been tasked with hunting down the last of the Jedi that managed to escape Order 66 with their lives in a formerly cannon tale set betweenWith fun lightsaber action and a wealth of force powers at your disposal, The Force Unleashed allows players to feel what it's like to be an all powerful Sith lord, unrestrained by the Jedi code. You play as the Darth Vader's secret apprentice who has been tasked with hunting down the last of the Jedi that managed to escape Order 66 with their lives in a formerly cannon tale set between Episodes III and IV. An exciting prospect. One only strengthened by novelty of the combat system.

    The shear number of ways you are given to dispatch your foes is incredible. There's a lot of depth running beneath the standard hack n' slash formula. The further you progress and level up, the more exciting powers and combos you'll gain access to. The point of the game is to make you feel like an unstoppable killing machine and it succeeds well. It's not always the most difficult game as it's easy to exploit your way through most encounters by spamming the most overpowered attacks, but the game still provides more challenging encounters to keep you on your toes. The boss battles for instance, although they aren't the most balanced of things. Some you can just completely pummel with little to no effort. Others are outright crapshoots. They are the parts of the game where you most easily notice how not all of The Force Unleashed systems are the most reliable.

    With no lock on system you are left at the mercy of the game's auto-targeting when trying to use your force abilities. Suffice to say it's not always the smartest system. It has a habit of jumping around too much when things get crowded (which happens often) and develops a mind of it's own. You may shoot lighting at a crate instead the enemy you were initially targeting. Something that can be lethal during a boss fight. Swordplay is also a little floaty. Like I said, there's no lock on system and unlike other action games there isn't anything that pulls you towards your enemies and sticks with them. Sometimes you'll just be slicing at the air instead of your target. Something that's only amplified by the occasionally awkward camera. Platforming is easily the most flawed part of the gameplay. It's still and also suffers from camera issues and slipperiness.

    So it's worth noting that The Force Unleashed has it's issues. However, they don't ruin the game because when things are working right, which they usually are, the game is an absolute blast like few other Star Wars games have been. Your force powers are exciting and using a lightsaber feels great. The large levels are great and filled with secrets to find. Their design harkens back to Star Wars: Bounty Hunter, only not quite as archaic and there's a map onscreen to prevent you from getting lost. Plus, the game just has that great LucasArts feel to it that we just don't get too experience anymore now that they've been relegated to a strict publisher-only role.

    As if the gameplay weren't enough, there's also a great story here. It starts off really slow as you go about hunting the Jedi on different worlds, but opens up into something more after you best past it's opening levels. The characters are great and the quest of protagonist "Starkiller" may just be a huge loss to the Star Wars cannon. The presentation is also top-notch. Even today the world's you'll travel too are so beautiful that you'll be hard pressed to not be left with your jaw hanging. A lot of detail went into bringing these worlds to life and it shows. They've stood the test of time remarkably well.

    In my opinion this is one of the best Star Wars games out there. Yes, it's got some issues, but it's one of those rare SW games that truly makes you feel like a Jedi. You get the powers and the lightsaber, both of which feel great (minus those targeting inconsistencies) and one heck of a story to go with it. For Star Wars fans this is a must. However, it's not hard to see why those who aren't so keen on the galaxy far, far away might still have fun here. It's a well-made action game in it's own right.
    Expand
  56. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    Despite its flaws, this game delivers an outrageously fun time. I have seldom had as much fun in a video game as throwing, blasting, slicing, shocking, or crushing stormtroopers in this game. Where the game fails is the later levels, when there are several enemies shooting missiles at you. Every time you get hit, you have to lie on the ground for a few seconds while they shoot at you, andDespite its flaws, this game delivers an outrageously fun time. I have seldom had as much fun in a video game as throwing, blasting, slicing, shocking, or crushing stormtroopers in this game. Where the game fails is the later levels, when there are several enemies shooting missiles at you. Every time you get hit, you have to lie on the ground for a few seconds while they shoot at you, and as soon as you get back up, they can shoot you down again. Even on lower difficulties, this game can become extremely frustrating. That is not to say that none of the later levels can be fun; but the game's earlier levels are the most fun. The Art design in this game is THE most fantastic I've ever seen Star wars, and everything looks incredible. The story is also engaging, interesting, and ties into the Star-wars universe quite well. I recommend this game, despite its frustrations to anyone looking to utterly destroy some stormtroopers. Expand
  57. Jan 10, 2012
    8
    FU1 is a great Star Wars game that makes you feel like a Jedi. The variety of Force powers and combos at your disposal is astounding, yet that doesn't mean you're invincible. While the voice acting and story is great, some of the enemies are a bit tedious to fight (such as the purge troopers) and sometimes you have to find out what power an enemy is weakest to e.g. force lightning or yourFU1 is a great Star Wars game that makes you feel like a Jedi. The variety of Force powers and combos at your disposal is astounding, yet that doesn't mean you're invincible. While the voice acting and story is great, some of the enemies are a bit tedious to fight (such as the purge troopers) and sometimes you have to find out what power an enemy is weakest to e.g. force lightning or your lightsaber. The inability to deflect rockets is another niggle and it's annoying when you get struck down by one, get up and before you can do anything another rocket hits you. Yet this doesn't make the game difficult and it is fun to experiment with different powers e.g. electrocuting someone, throwing your saber in them and then throwing them; the men you fight are especially funny when they're not begging for mercy or falling into an abyss. The end fight is fun and even has a light side/dark side ending depending on a choice you make. This is a pretty good game that any Star Wars fan should buy. Plus you get to slaughter a large number of Wookies!! Expand
  58. Jan 18, 2013
    9
    This is a great game. It's story connects the two Trilogies together while creating an enjoyable experience. The force is a fun tool and the abilities you slowly obtain help as you continue. Having to fight to get health can make the highest difficulty a real pain, but after beating the highest difficulty twice, I can say it's a fun experience that has several difficulty peaks that createThis is a great game. It's story connects the two Trilogies together while creating an enjoyable experience. The force is a fun tool and the abilities you slowly obtain help as you continue. Having to fight to get health can make the highest difficulty a real pain, but after beating the highest difficulty twice, I can say it's a fun experience that has several difficulty peaks that create aggravation. Like I said the story connects the trilogies together. As Darth Vader's secret apprentice you are sent out to kill the last of the Jedi that have been found. The story then moves into territory I consider Spoilers but the adventure reaches an end at an all to familiar location.

    The controls allow you to easily switch between slicing and dicing to smashing foes with the force and smiting them with lightning. Enemies don't attack with the same patterns outside boss fights so you need to learn to use all of your abilities at the slightest moments notice.

    Collectibles range from different light saber Crystals to costumes and exp. They range from in plain site to off the beaten path and past a puzzle, but once you see one you know it's there.

    The game is an enjoyable romp across many popular Star wars locations that delivers across the board.
    Expand
  59. Feb 5, 2013
    8
    Awesome game, but the storyline could be improved. There are also some problems with the basic gameplay. I also enjoyed the idea of choosing between the dark side and the light side. AWESOME!
  60. Sep 10, 2013
    8
    A great storyline and intense combat makes this game a must for all Star Wars fans. However, the game is full of bugs (like if you change your lightsaber color it will break your objective screen, telling you your objective is nil but luckily the title update fixes that). The game is also pretty short, the first three and last two levels are long but the others are insanely quick and easyA great storyline and intense combat makes this game a must for all Star Wars fans. However, the game is full of bugs (like if you change your lightsaber color it will break your objective screen, telling you your objective is nil but luckily the title update fixes that). The game is also pretty short, the first three and last two levels are long but the others are insanely quick and easy to beat. Definitely better than its sequel. Expand
  61. Apr 12, 2016
    8
    Saying this is the best Star Wars game isn't saying much but that it's also one of the best action adventure games I've played is. Starting out with classic Star Wars opening with the great theme song got me excited and it wasn't for nothing. It's a shame Lucas Arts is no more. Now we can look forward to Visceral's unannounced Star Wars game.
  62. Jun 19, 2015
    10
    Best Star Wars game I've ever played. The story, cut-scenes, graphics, and gameplay are all fantastic. If you loved the Jedi Knight series then you should enjoy this game as well!
  63. Mar 2, 2016
    8
    This star wars expanded universe game is a soild new start to the new series. The story is about a sith apprentice named galen marek a.k.a starkiller, as he hunts down the last of the jedi knights, but will soon discover what his destiny really is. The combat in this game is great, making it be like a sith feel epic. The story is overall great, with characters being just as good as theThis star wars expanded universe game is a soild new start to the new series. The story is about a sith apprentice named galen marek a.k.a starkiller, as he hunts down the last of the jedi knights, but will soon discover what his destiny really is. The combat in this game is great, making it be like a sith feel epic. The story is overall great, with characters being just as good as the story. This is a story game, so there is really nothing to do after you beat the game, but I still think its good to go back and play this game again. Expand
  64. Mar 21, 2016
    8
    Very addicting and fun. The story is interesting and on higher difficulties quite challenging. You feel really powerfull and you can customise your appearance and lightsaber. It has a good replay value and has interesting characters but for the most part used for radio chatter.
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 74 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 74
  2. Negative: 1 out of 74
  1. With its non-branching storyline and no multiplayer, Force Unleashed is certainly less ambitious than the classic "Jedi Knight" games - and ultimately, its design makes it feel more videogame-y and less of an all-engrossing Star Wars experience than Xbox entries like "Jedi Knight II" or "Jedi Academy." But when the game is on, it's on. [Oct 2008, p.70]
  2. 70
    Make no mistake: you can have a lot of fun with The Force Unleashed. [Oct 2008, p.88]
  3. games(TM)
    70
    By even allowing the choice between simple hack-and-slash gameplay and the more complex mix-up combos, LucusArrts has ensured that many will never view the title’s full potential. [Oct 2008, p.104]