Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Jun 7, 2013
    80
    Technically has its weaknesses but the gameplay is pure gold. State of Decay is one of the most memorable, engrossing zombie games to date.
  2. Jun 6, 2013
    80
    There are some issues on the tech side, but it's a surprisingly good sandbox we think zombie fans will love.
  3. Jun 6, 2013
    80
    As a sandbox game, State of Decay is not very impressive. But a survival game with an apocalyptic and zombies setting is pretty awesome. Combat, exploration and good community sense make for the most ambitious game for the XBLA in a long time.
  4. 80
    Naturally, this mortality will drive some players nuts, while others will relish the undeniably heightened sense of danger.
  5. Jul 8, 2013
    79
    When you realise there are dozens of addictive hours to enjoy, State of Decay proves itself a tempting purchase for zombie lovers and fans of survival-horror alike.
  6. Jun 27, 2013
    78
    In the beginning State of Decay is a remarkably ugly and trashy zombie bashing. But the more you dive into the fight for survival with its base and resource management, the open dynamic world gets more and more attractive – despite the AI problems.
  7. Sep 16, 2013
    75
    It's not the most beautiful and polished game, but the end of the world with all it’s small and big problems rarely felt this real.
  8. Sep 4, 2013
    70
    The Last of Us meets The Sims, mashed, salted and served with a few lumps. [Oct 2013, p.64]
  9. Aug 6, 2013
    70
    An open-world survivalist horror with deep strategy elements, State of Decay puts the player's zombie apocalypse scenarios to the test in such a thoughtful, complex way that it's almost possible to ignore the awful central narrative and numerous technical issues. It's a rough game, but one worth exploring.
  10. Jul 28, 2013
    70
    Outside of its many and varied technical problems, State of Decay is still one of the most accomplished Xbox Live Arcade game to date. [Issue#137, p.121]
  11. Jul 9, 2013
    70
    It’s a game that could have used some more polish. The experience gets clunky at times, the user interface can be needlessly complex, gameplay can be unbalanced and the general visual appearance can be decidedly uglier. But there is more than meets the eye here; State of Decay does offer value for money, in a way that few modern blockbuster-budgeted games can, for a mere third of the price that you’d usually pay in the end.
  12. Jun 25, 2013
    70
    Yes, it's plagued by dozens of bugs and glitches, but if you can wait for the patches, in State of Decay you'll find an enjoyable and with a unique character zombie game that will keep you hooked for more than 10 hours.
  13. Jun 24, 2013
    70
    As long as you can get past the graphical hiccups, this XBLA title will pull you in like a hungry undead cannibal. If you've been looking for a game that will drop you into a deep, zombie-infested world full of all the tough choices and exploding heads you'd expect from the genre, State of Decay most definitely provides.
  14. Jun 24, 2013
    70
    The game never judges you, offering no morality system despite the frequent dilemmas and difficult choices its systems organically generate. But it certainly tests you. This is as close as we’ve come to putting our lazily daydreamed zombie survival plans into effect.
  15. Jun 7, 2013
    70
    The technical hurdles are very steep at first, but once I put about five hours in, the sting started to dissipate. These flaws mar the atmosphere that State of Decay tries to create. If you can stomach them, however, the game's sense of urgency and its mountain of tasks and systems will be a nice vacation away from the societal constraints of your everyday, zombie-free life.
  16. Jun 7, 2013
    70
    If you enjoy exploring post-apocalyptic open worlds, I suggest you at the very least give the demo of State of Decay a shot. There's plenty of depth for those who appreciate the role-playing genre, and the constant threat of death and limited resources will have adrenaline junkies on the edge of their seats. It may not be my cup of tea, but I certainly can see why others would love to take the plunge into this zombie-infested wasteland.
  17. Jun 7, 2013
    70
    Moving between moments of greatness and moments of glaring ineptitude, State of Decay leaves me with mixed feelings. It has a great idea at its core, and I want to give the developers at Undead Labs credit for that. But lots of games begin with great ideas; executing those ideas well and letting the player experience them fully is the challenge. That’s where State of Decay falls apart.
  18. It's by no means perfect, but Undead Labs has won itself a high level of forgiveness, with an atmospheric world that's as compelling as it is flawed.
  19. Jun 18, 2013
    67
    It's no Dead Island, but it's on par with other zombie survival games and can provide you with a nice challenge.
  20. Jul 2, 2013
    65
    For me it’s more of a prototype, a demonstration of a living open world and some clever gameplay mechanics. There is not enough of real game in it and on the other hand too many various bugs, nuisances and repetitiveness. Whether you’ll enjoy State of Decay depends on how much you like sandbox games and looking for fun on your own. [CD-Action 08/2013, p.74]
  21. Jul 24, 2013
    60
    It's just a shame that it technically can't match up to its really lofty ambitions. [Issue#100, p.86]
  22. 60
    In theory this is one of the best zombie games ever made, but in practise it’s riddled with technical flaws that fail to put the necessary meat on its undead skeleton.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 561 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 198
  1. Jun 5, 2013
    10
    Such a fun game to play! So much content and things to do and the fact that it's an Xbox Live Arcade game blows my mind. A must get for all zombie fans. Something original, fresh and and new. Full Review »
  2. Jun 5, 2013
    8
    This game is a time consuming, absorbing entertaining thrill ride. I've just got off my xbox after a 15 hour gaming session, in which I've hardly made a dent in it. The little things make this game, like the resource gathering and the ability to change character and home, etc. Some of the craziest stuff can happen, for instance my car broke down when I was in the middle of no where and I had hike back to my base with just a baseball bat and a few snacks. It's things like that, which make this game. If you can look over its obvious flaws like the frame rate issue, the glitches and the occasional face palm moment, you'll find a game which really can be admired and loved. At it's core it feels like an old school game. If you're a fan of casual games which go easy on you, this probably wont be for you. This is a game us zombie fans and survival fans have all been waiting for and although it isn't perfect, it's an incredibly good, deep and well thought out game. I can tell this is something I'll be playing for months to come. Full Review »
  3. Jun 5, 2013
    9
    big, scary and awesome; it's reminds me of walking dead season 1. the game has its flaws, but nothing that ruins it. scavenge, build bases, make friends and enemies and beat zombies to pulp. i also love that death is permanent (but you can play as any ally from your base).

    you need to try this game.
    Full Review »