Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Jun 5, 2013
    89
    Decay belongs in the pantheon of great modern zombie games alongside Valve’s Left 4 Dead series and Telltale’s Walking Dead episodes.
  2. Jun 18, 2013
    80
    State of Decay is an immersive and suspenseful open-world zombie adventure that shouldn't be missed.
  3. Jun 7, 2013
    70
    Moving between moments of greatness and moments of glaring ineptitude, State of Decay leaves me with mixed feelings. It has a great idea at its core, and I want to give the developers at Undead Labs credit for that. But lots of games begin with great ideas; executing those ideas well and letting the player experience them fully is the challenge. That’s where State of Decay falls apart.
  4. Jun 11, 2013
    80
    State of Decay is unrefined but never anything less than interesting. And in video games, interesting has never been at such a premium.
  5. Jun 18, 2013
    67
    It's no Dead Island, but it's on par with other zombie survival games and can provide you with a nice challenge.
  6. Jun 7, 2013
    70
    If you enjoy exploring post-apocalyptic open worlds, I suggest you at the very least give the demo of State of Decay a shot. There's plenty of depth for those who appreciate the role-playing genre, and the constant threat of death and limited resources will have adrenaline junkies on the edge of their seats. It may not be my cup of tea, but I certainly can see why others would love to take the plunge into this zombie-infested wasteland.
  7. Jul 29, 2013
    80
    It's no looker, but this is still a massive and addictive open-world survival romp. [Sept 2013, p.71]
  8. Jun 20, 2013
    88
    This game re-defines the genre of zombie based games with so many ideas and his unique atmosphere, despite tons of tech glitches and a little bit frustrating combat system.
  9. Jun 24, 2013
    70
    As long as you can get past the graphical hiccups, this XBLA title will pull you in like a hungry undead cannibal. If you've been looking for a game that will drop you into a deep, zombie-infested world full of all the tough choices and exploding heads you'd expect from the genre, State of Decay most definitely provides.
  10. Jun 6, 2013
    80
    There are some issues on the tech side, but it's a surprisingly good sandbox we think zombie fans will love.
  11. Jun 24, 2013
    70
    The game never judges you, offering no morality system despite the frequent dilemmas and difficult choices its systems organically generate. But it certainly tests you. This is as close as we’ve come to putting our lazily daydreamed zombie survival plans into effect.
  12. 80
    Naturally, this mortality will drive some players nuts, while others will relish the undeniably heightened sense of danger.
  13. Jun 24, 2013
    80
    Undead Labs has created what I truly wanted out of something like The Walking Dead as a video game, and anyone who is a fan of that type of drama should definitely check it out. Be aware of the technical issues going in though, they will be the one thing that can truly hold this title back.
  14. Jul 28, 2013
    70
    Outside of its many and varied technical problems, State of Decay is still one of the most accomplished Xbox Live Arcade game to date. [Issue#137, p.121]
  15. Jun 18, 2013
    90
    State Of Decay is an amazing videogame, albeit one hiding beneath one of the ugliest, creakiest engines we’ve seen in some time. It’s a complex, inaccessible beast, but one of the most rewarding and compelling open-world games in years. This is The Walking Dead: The Simulator. And it’s every bit as good as that sounds.
  16. Jun 13, 2013
    85
    State of Decay is ugly. It looks ugly, and in many ways it plays ugly. However, there's a simple beauty underneath the frightful veneer, one that surrounds a compelling, interesting, complex, and enslaving little game...Few zombie games, for all their marketing power and visual sheen, can come close to providing what State of Decay does.
  17. Jun 24, 2013
    80
    Despite some technical issues State of Decay is a great free to play zombie game, capable to explore lots of different genres with ease.
  18. Oct 7, 2013
    82
    An entertaining zombie apocalypse sandbox. It's a bit rough visually, but makes up for it with a persistent world. [Aug 2013]
  19. Sep 16, 2013
    75
    It's not the most beautiful and polished game, but the end of the world with all it’s small and big problems rarely felt this real.
  20. Jul 26, 2013
    80
    State of Decay offers a huge world full with people that are trying to survive. You can help them or leave them to rot. Your choices have impact in the course of the game and you direct it. Through skill trees and loot you gain more power to defeat the undead and despite the bugs and laggy framerate, State of Decay is a true survival of the fittest.
  21. Jun 7, 2013
    80
    Technically has its weaknesses but the gameplay is pure gold. State of Decay is one of the most memorable, engrossing zombie games to date.
  22. Jun 25, 2013
    80
    State of Decay is an open world zombie survival-rpg, that embraces all of the important aspects to surviving. Collecting, killing, maintaining relationships; the game is given form by its own depth. Many choices you make influence the world around you because of this. State of Decay is very buggy though, but the practiced gamers can see through that.
  23. 60
    In theory this is one of the best zombie games ever made, but in practise it’s riddled with technical flaws that fail to put the necessary meat on its undead skeleton.
  24. Jun 19, 2013
    82
    State of Decay is a game that is, in many ways, both the best and worst zombie game you’ve ever played. For all of its bugs, blemishes, and festering imperfections, this game realizes an untapped style of survival gameplay that genre nuts should definitely take notice of.
  25. Jul 16, 2013
    100
    State of Decay is an impressive open world zombie game that can actually rival blockbuster zombie games like Dead Island.
  26. Jun 6, 2013
    80
    As a sandbox game, State of Decay is not very impressive. But a survival game with an apocalyptic and zombies setting is pretty awesome. Combat, exploration and good community sense make for the most ambitious game for the XBLA in a long time.
  27. Jun 24, 2013
    85
    For anyone even remotely interested in what might be like to survive the zombie apocalypse, State of Decay is an absolute must-play.
  28. It's by no means perfect, but Undead Labs has won itself a high level of forgiveness, with an atmospheric world that's as compelling as it is flawed.
  29. Jun 17, 2013
    80
    This is a hulking beast, a deep, engaging experience and already one of the year’s standout titles. Xbox Live has offered gamers many gems since its inception and this is one of the more precious.
  30. 80
    A good zombie-invasion survival simulator game will please not only the hardcore fans, who forgive the game's questionable technical issues. [Issue#231]
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 582 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 204
  1. Jun 5, 2013
    10
    Such a fun game to play! So much content and things to do and the fact that it's an Xbox Live Arcade game blows my mind. A must get for all zombie fans. Something original, fresh and and new. Full Review »
  2. Jun 5, 2013
    8
    This game is a time consuming, absorbing entertaining thrill ride. I've just got off my xbox after a 15 hour gaming session, in which I've hardly made a dent in it. The little things make this game, like the resource gathering and the ability to change character and home, etc. Some of the craziest stuff can happen, for instance my car broke down when I was in the middle of no where and I had hike back to my base with just a baseball bat and a few snacks. It's things like that, which make this game. If you can look over its obvious flaws like the frame rate issue, the glitches and the occasional face palm moment, you'll find a game which really can be admired and loved. At it's core it feels like an old school game. If you're a fan of casual games which go easy on you, this probably wont be for you. This is a game us zombie fans and survival fans have all been waiting for and although it isn't perfect, it's an incredibly good, deep and well thought out game. I can tell this is something I'll be playing for months to come. Full Review »
  3. Jun 5, 2013
    9
    big, scary and awesome; it's reminds me of walking dead season 1. the game has its flaws, but nothing that ruins it. scavenge, build bases, make friends and enemies and beat zombies to pulp. i also love that death is permanent (but you can play as any ally from your base).

    you need to try this game.
    Full Review »