Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Jul 16, 2013
    100
    State of Decay is an impressive open world zombie game that can actually rival blockbuster zombie games like Dead Island.
  2. Jul 11, 2013
    88
    State of Decay is a fun game that puts you right in the middle of a zombie outbreak and forces you to stop and plan your survival strategy. If you've ever asked yourself what would you do in a zombie apocalypse scenario, this game will offer you a different perspective. And yes, you'll find a few annoying bugs and glitches, but you'll also find a compelling and powerful gaming experience.
  3. Jul 4, 2013
    90
    State of Decay is so much more than the sum of its parts: it’s a fun, challenging game of survival that will demand more of you than just twitch reflexes. It’s another feather in the Xbox Live Arcade’s cap, and an essential purchase for gamers looking for a fresh take on a familiar theme.
  4. Jun 25, 2013
    90
    State of Decay is offering you to have first-hand experience of dealing with the zombie-infested Earth. The intense experience is being built-up by plenty of selves-affecting possibilities resulting in one of the best sandbox games of the recent years.
  5. Jun 21, 2013
    100
    The balance of combat, stealth, scavenging, and environmental interactivity is perfect.
  6. Jun 20, 2013
    88
    This game re-defines the genre of zombie based games with so many ideas and his unique atmosphere, despite tons of tech glitches and a little bit frustrating combat system.
  7. Jun 18, 2013
    90
    State Of Decay is an amazing videogame, albeit one hiding beneath one of the ugliest, creakiest engines we’ve seen in some time. It’s a complex, inaccessible beast, but one of the most rewarding and compelling open-world games in years. This is The Walking Dead: The Simulator. And it’s every bit as good as that sounds.
  8. Jun 10, 2013
    90
    Undeniable technical difficulties aside, with a price tag of only 20 bucks nobody should miss out on State of Decay. It's easily one of the most complex and elaborately designed XBLA title to ever grace that service, so clever and mature I'm struggling to name another open world game that has felt this fresh in the last three years since Red Dead Redemption rode along.
  9. Jun 5, 2013
    89
    Decay belongs in the pantheon of great modern zombie games alongside Valve’s Left 4 Dead series and Telltale’s Walking Dead episodes.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 528 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 194
  1. Jun 5, 2013
    10
    Such a fun game to play! So much content and things to do and the fact that it's an Xbox Live Arcade game blows my mind. A must get for all zombie fans. Something original, fresh and and new. Full Review »
  2. Jun 5, 2013
    8
    This game is a time consuming, absorbing entertaining thrill ride. I've just got off my xbox after a 15 hour gaming session, in which I've hardly made a dent in it. The little things make this game, like the resource gathering and the ability to change character and home, etc. Some of the craziest stuff can happen, for instance my car broke down when I was in the middle of no where and I had hike back to my base with just a baseball bat and a few snacks. It's things like that, which make this game. If you can look over its obvious flaws like the frame rate issue, the glitches and the occasional face palm moment, you'll find a game which really can be admired and loved. At it's core it feels like an old school game. If you're a fan of casual games which go easy on you, this probably wont be for you. This is a game us zombie fans and survival fans have all been waiting for and although it isn't perfect, it's an incredibly good, deep and well thought out game. I can tell this is something I'll be playing for months to come. Full Review »
  3. Jun 5, 2013
    9
    big, scary and awesome; it's reminds me of walking dead season 1. the game has its flaws, but nothing that ruins it. scavenge, build bases, make friends and enemies and beat zombies to pulp. i also love that death is permanent (but you can play as any ally from your base).

    you need to try this game.
    Full Review »