• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Jun 19, 2012
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 58
  2. Negative: 39 out of 58
Buy On
  1. Jul 2, 2012
    65
    If From would have nailed the motion controls down, this would have been one of my favorite games of the year because it's so engaging and fresh. Unfortunately, dealing with the sketchy controls can be wildly frustrating.
  2. Jun 19, 2012
    60
    Steel Battalion: Heavy Armor is the first genuine hardcore Kinect game, something that makes it so much more appealing. Despite some flashy visuals and a hard as nails single-player mode, there's a sense that Heavy Armor would be a little dull if played exclusively with a controller.
  3. Jun 21, 2012
    60
    With its unusual blend of Kinect and controller – of simple missions and complex control – Heavy Armor is a modern rarity: a game designed to be hard work. Whether that translates directly into it being a game for the 'hardcore' is debatable, but From Software has made the best of a bad situation and, aptly, delivered a game that asks you to do exactly the same.
  4. Jun 25, 2012
    50
    Would Heavy Armor be a better game if it ditched Kinect and focused purely on the tried-and-tested buttons? In all honesty, no - because without the novelty of raising your arm to pull down a periscope or punch your fleeing co-pilot in the face, this would be a comparatively dull experience.
  5. 70
    In spite of or maybe even because of some of the gameplay barriers, I will remember my experience with it forever. I love it, I hate it and I love hating it.
  6. Aug 11, 2012
    50
    Steel Battalion: Heavy Armor is back eight years after and a generation later, but despite all that has changed in the meantime, the same problems can be found in the experience. Confusing, frustrating to play and never able reach the full potential inherent in this concept.
  7. Oct 17, 2012
    60
    For what it's worth, if I wanted a simulation of being crammed into a tiny, metal, low-tech claustrophobic coffin while people yell and attempt to kill me repeatedly while I struggle with basic controls, then Heavy Armor offers up quite the war experience. However, that's not what I was looking for, and I suspect that it's not something anyone else is after, either.
  8. Oct 27, 2012
    50
    This could have been a brilliant game. The problem is that it just doesn't work. The Kinect controls work only when they want to, and most of the time they don't, something that ruins an otherwise great experience.
  9. Aug 1, 2012
    70
    This is a game that left a lot to be desired. It's a mixed bag of good and bad, with the good being the graphics and basic controls and the bad being everything having to do with the Kinect controls. I know that developers want to utilize the Kinect, but it really should be limited to optional usage in a game like this.
  10. Jun 21, 2012
    54
    Despite a solid story and decent graphics Steel Battalion: Heavy Armor fails to implement the Kinect in an acceptable manor. And so frustration prevails over the pleasure of gaming.
  11. Jun 19, 2012
    60
    It's full of problems, but it's also full of charm and ambition. Undoubtedly some of you will fall in love with it, viewing even the input issues as the latest in a long line of challenges thrown at you by From Software. Others will regret their purchase nine deaths into the first mission, unable to even think about how difficult the rest of the game could be.
  12. Jun 19, 2012
    60
    But much of the time, the controls simply don't work, and instead of feeling immersed, you feel enraged and helpless. If the graphics, story, or even gameplay mechanics weren't as good as they are, I wouldn't be wasting my time with a game with such messy, unreliable controls.
  13. Jul 16, 2012
    59
    What many were hoping to be one of the first real hardcore Kinect games turned into a very frustrating experience; the core concept is good and it's got some nice visuals too, but the motion control is too cumbersome.
  14. Jun 25, 2012
    60
    If you're a "Kinect skeptic", Steel Battalion: Heavy Armor will not change your mind. At all. Motion controls may work better or worse depending on the room, but they'll never be accurate enough to let you survive an ambush.
  15. 70
    The new Steel Battalion is going to divide people, in case you hadn't guessed. Some players will choke on the interfacial blunders, gag at the sporadically entertaining missions and walk away calling it the worst game ever. Others, however, will regard even the flaws as a thrown gauntlet.
  16. Jun 21, 2012
    60
    The game gets increasingly difficult, so much that you probably won't want to play through the game upon completing it once or twice except to snag some elusive achievements.
  17. Jun 26, 2012
    60
    The first hardcore game for Kinect: A good concept ruined by a bad peripheral.
  18. Jun 27, 2012
    51
    Heavy Armor is certainly an interesting experiment but one that never quite manages to convince. Most missions feel like trial and error rather than a test of your own skill, plus the Kinect wobbles that are thrown your way can have mission ending consequences that are far from satisfactory. When things do work then there are some small rewards, especially in the off the cuff moments with your crew, but Steel Battalion: Heavy Armor feels too much like punishment rather than entertainment.
User Score
2.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 91 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 91
  2. Negative: 68 out of 91
  1. Jun 19, 2012
    1
    Probably the best game ever, and I am not saying that just because I work for Microsoft. From the get go, you a robot in the future/past. YourProbably the best game ever, and I am not saying that just because I work for Microsoft. From the get go, you a robot in the future/past. Your name is withheld, and you get to talk to three major stereotypes as squadmates a lot. You try to get some reading done when you need to recalibrate Kinect. Have I ever mentioned how Kinect is awesome and really works well? Oh, it sure does. Don't let the absolute worse site reviews fool you, this is a solid one out of ten. Full Review »
  2. Jun 19, 2012
    7
    It´s not so bad. It is a hard game, not for children. A combination of joystick and motion control is another experience level thatIt´s not so bad. It is a hard game, not for children. A combination of joystick and motion control is another experience level that everyone should try. Kinect is far away from perfection, but with adequate space and calibration it works well. Full Review »
  3. Jul 27, 2012
    0
    This may be the most broken game ever created. You will get more enjoyment laughing at someone trying to play this. The story is shallow, theThis may be the most broken game ever created. You will get more enjoyment laughing at someone trying to play this. The story is shallow, the lip syncing is horrible, the graphics are barely passible, and the controls are just the worst thing you will endure in your life. I dont get how anyone could make a game this horrible, but they did. It makes me want to hack metacritic so i can give this game less than a zero, it sucks that bad. For the love of god, do not buy, do not rent, its not even worth stealing. Full Review »