• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Jun 19, 2012
User Score
2.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 85 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 85
  2. Negative: 65 out of 85

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 24, 2014
    4
    in a world where everyone is trying so hard to recover the fallen samurai(kinect) a mentor(developer) came with a brilliant idea: the great game of destiny(A new steel battalion game), the mentor taught the samurai everything he knew,they were about to be successful but the evil shogun of japan(capcom) kidnapped the samurai before his training was complete and forced him to battle his way out in the wild! Out numbered and untrained the samurai knew that he has lost,he knew that he maybe lost his final chance but he fought until his final blood dropped but he was unlucky,the villagers thought that he was the evil force,what they didn't know was that the shogun was all behind this! Expand
  2. Mar 24, 2013
    0
    This game was so bad, it gave me Vietnam flashbacks. The messed thing about that was that i've been there. I'm only 20 and i'm getting vivid nightmares of my platoon being murdered before my eyes! In all seriousness though, the controls are crappy and the graphics and story suck.
  3. Feb 14, 2013
    0
    What the F**k is this S**T?! This S**t SUCKS! The Kinect SUCKS! Why do we keep forgiving this inferior product? When will we understand that the Kinect is not made for the hardcore gamers! I have never in my life played a game this terrible. If you look at all the games I have reviewed, I considered Sniper Ghost Warrior, and Nascar 08 to be the worst games I have ever played, but playing this game yesterday on the Kinect, this game takes the spot as the WORST game I have ever seen. Don't take my word for it. Many people have the same complaints I do. Sh***y graphics, annoying characters, no help whatsoever, short and crappy campaign, and worse of all the control is BROKEN!! BROKEN!!! I have tried numerous things to improve my experience for the Kinect and it still SUCKS! I don't know who's idea was this, but this is the worst idea for a video game I have seen! Do not buy this game unless you want to torture yourself or be sent to a cruel and unusual punishment. Expand
  4. Feb 8, 2013
    0
    Alright, I have to say, this game was terrible. I played the original Steel Battalion and liked it a bit. This game could have been better if it wasn't a KINECT game. Controlling a tank? Cool. Controlling it with the KINECT? Sucks. I give this game a 0. Sorry, but this game is a rip off.
  5. Jan 7, 2013
    1
    This game is totally uncontrollable and no point of shooting at your enemies because as soon as you aim they start shooting. Call of Duty and Battlefield are 1000 times better than this waste of $30.
  6. dct
    Jan 2, 2013
    7
    Just got the game and had trouble with the kinect at first calibrated it still had trouble. Found that the light in the room was over my head put a light behind the kinect and it works great maybe some people might think different about kinect if they have there light shining on the front of them so it can see you better. As far as the game I love it hard at times but very challenging on mission 16 and cant get enough. Been playing for 3 to 8 hours at a time there is room for improvement but great game for the first one of its kind they will only get better from here. Expand
  7. Nov 28, 2012
    2
    This game simply put is an unplayable mess. The Kinect has proven time and time again to be a waste of gamer's money, but the limitations of the unit are on full display here. I had such a hard time attempting to do ANYTHING, that I simply gave up about halfway through the game. I had high hopes for this title, but this game above all others cemented my hatred of motion controls.
  8. Sep 18, 2012
    0
    When the game was announced, I nearly wet myself with excitement. I dutifully went out and purchased a Kinect sensor, something I had no other planned use for.

    Thankfully I played the demo before dropping cold hard cash for this steaming pile of runny poo-poo. Excellent concept, beautiful graphics, horrible execution. For most of the included mission, my virtual hands wandered
    haphazardly across the screen, helplessly activating every neat little gadget except whatever I was trying to use to avoid being blown to virtual smithereens.

    I would sooner purchase a game about doing the laundry, thanks.
    Expand
  9. Aug 2, 2012
    0
    DO not **** BUY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  10. Jul 27, 2012
    0
    This may be the most broken game ever created. You will get more enjoyment laughing at someone trying to play this. The story is shallow, the lip syncing is horrible, the graphics are barely passible, and the controls are just the worst thing you will endure in your life. I dont get how anyone could make a game this horrible, but they did. It makes me want to hack metacritic so i can give this game less than a zero, it sucks that bad. For the love of god, do not buy, do not rent, its not even worth stealing. Expand
  11. Jul 22, 2012
    0
    another awful game where 4 of the 5 reviewers who gave it a positive are just created accounts by people involved with the game just to bump it so it appears there are some gamers who like the sort of thing they've made. This does not work, no one who has been on the internet for more than 15 mins will look at a game which is known to be rubbish and fall for 4 blatently fake "gamer" reviews.

    Even from the critics side I have to say offical xbox magazine just making themselves look like idiots giving this 75% it is unplayable, kinect was just not made for this type of really complicated controls, driving a car perfect, dancing game perfect, child of eden blasting stuff with your hands, perfect. trying to reach for one button in your **** to stop you being rocketed to death while kinect is trying to work out which button you want to press for the final 30 secs of your life in the game... no there is no human alive would think this game is worthy of any reviews in the green here. I love my kinect but dear god guys if you make a junk game for it don't give it some fake reviews saying its great, if someone was to buy into kinect and buy this awful game they would think hey.... wait so this gets 75% so this is as good as it gets on kinect and miss out on the actual games which work perfectly fine using it.
    Expand
  12. Jul 9, 2012
    2
    It's in colour, and for the most part you understand what is happening. Such a sorry and utterly pathetic waste of potential that actually raises doubts over Kinect's continued support. Avoid, at all cost.
  13. Jul 7, 2012
    0
    As a PS3 owner I must say I am extremely jealous you guys have this exclusive, I loved the original and it's massive controller scheme... But who needs controllers/buttons anymore when we have the Amazing Kinect, the Kinect has proven time and time again that it is THE device to have, You are the controller and you will know this when playing this AAA amazing game, everything is perfect, the controls will blow your mind... I will be selling my PS3 so I can buy a 360/Kinect combo - Everyone buy this game and feel the power (buy Kinect StarWars too that's also amazing) Expand
  14. Jul 6, 2012
    0
    All your base are belong to us!

    Your on the way to destruction, make your time....

    That sums up alot of these reviews I think.

    If anyone has any doubts go watch the AngryJoe review and see how awesome kinect works on this game.
  15. Jun 29, 2012
    8
    First this game is FUN (once you learn the controls). Fun as in I was up playing this game waaay past my bedtime- my girlfriend and my work are suffering as I am having so much fun in fact that a chronic lack of sleep and loss of free time are beginning to take a toll. As someone who once spent a fair amount of time gaming, and am only recently flirting (again) with gaming, what I'm finding is video games have become, , but not just different for difference sake. Steel Battalion is a well balanced game that does an artful job of placing the gamer in a massive Vertical Tank. When you play Steel Battalion: Heavy Armor you actually feel like you are wielding a massive steel contraption in battle. You also feel a connection to your tank mates and when they die, you feel that too, like nothing else I've experienced in a sandbox video game before. As for the controls that seem to illicit such outrage from the main street press, once learned, they contribute to a sense of immersion that had the same command been tied to a button on your controller, never could or would. This is a game that must first be learned and then later, hours later, you begin to master the art of piloting a VT (Vertical Tank) in battle; how to take cover while under fire, how to plan your shots to hit the most vulnerable parts of your opponents Vertical Tank (VT) and all while staying cool under fire. Along the way you have fun and frustration, but for me at least, the game consumes me in nothing else but what I am doing in that moment and that?s the point. Games should be fun, they would allow us to exist in the moment, and for some of us, (perhaps too few of us), this means games must challenge us and take us places we have never been before. In order to do this each new title cannot be a simplistic reinterpretation of countless games before. And this brings me to my opening point, if the evolution of video games I've witnessed can be taken as the true state of not only gaming, but also human intelligence, the dumbing down of the masses is not merely an interesting or novel comment, it is a reality in full swing and with the full support of the media it seems. Expand
  16. Jun 29, 2012
    8
    I can play very good.
    My friends and me in middle of history game or more.
    If ingame fail playing, i not play more of 5 minuts the game.

    Graphics more nice that others games of note 8.
    Sound inmersive with same quality of before of SB:HA.
    Play game, the best of Kinect for me.
  17. Jun 24, 2012
    1
    Yes indeed I too agree the JabbaTheSlush and thank you for mentioning you work for M$ because just on that knowledge i ran and bought this awesomely polished and perfect game. It is flawless and shown why we would all love the new smart glass because im sure it too will be without bugs and work as displayed.

    This game should be running in every game shop showing just why you would want
    a kinect and how the console controls work in sync. Because thats what you want to be using every control that goes with a console and of course have to own it to play the game.

    Yes perfect combination and the reason why these games are surely more successful than the COD franchise.
    Expand
  18. Jun 20, 2012
    8
    One of the few games that I felt that I wanted when I played the demo. If you read the many negative reviews about the game, it's because of Kinect problems. Movements that do not work and so on. I do not know what they did when they played heavy armor? I know it works for me 95% of the time. Kinect and 360 control works great together. Just wanted to say I love the game, and I do not have any problems with Kinect. Expand
  19. Jun 19, 2012
    1
    Probably the best game ever, and I am not saying that just because I work for Microsoft. From the get go, you a robot in the future/past. Your name is withheld, and you get to talk to three major stereotypes as squadmates a lot. You try to get some reading done when you need to recalibrate Kinect. Have I ever mentioned how Kinect is awesome and really works well? Oh, it sure does. Don't let the absolute worse site reviews fool you, this is a solid one out of ten. Expand
  20. Jun 19, 2012
    0
    There's a reason why we don't want a Steel Battalion sequel on the horrible XBOX 360 Kinect. This is the first M-rated Steel Battalion game, seriously? Let's go way back to 2001, the same year that Devil May Cry flourished hardcore gamers everywhere, the original XBOX releases Steel Battalion and it is one of those tank games you've never played or haven't owned. But it's worth a try because it deserves cult status. The second sequel, Line of Contact, was somewhat decent with some minor mishaps of flawed gameplay and little easy on the combat systems. But why XBOX 360? For those of you who owns a Kinect must not buy this game because everything is a mess. The script is garbage, the gameplay looks nifty, the controls were... well, it's far from a bust, but what does "You Are the Controller" has to do anything with this bad flavor of a chocolate Call of Duty mud cake? This is quite possible not only the worst sequel of the year, but it's one of the worst games of 2012 so far. Avoid this crap just like Battleship. Expand
  21. Jun 19, 2012
    7
    It´s not so bad. It is a hard game, not for children. A combination of joystick and motion control is another experience level that everyone should try. Kinect is far away from perfection, but with adequate space and calibration it works well.
  22. Jun 19, 2012
    8
    "Steel Battalion: Heavy Armor" is a Mech simulator in a wartime environment, developed by From Software (Chromehounds and Armored Core) and produced by Capcom, being a continuation of the original Xbox game (2003).

    The story takes place in 2082, in a world which since 2020 has lost all the latest technology and computers. In this shattered world, China has become a
    world power, and
    dominates much of the world on an iron fist, even having dominated the USA. In this future, the technology is based on mechanical elements only, and in battle armors called VT (Vertical Tanks), which are species of tanks with legs for locomotion. You assume the place of the protagonist, Lieutenant Powers, a war hero, and commands a VT in a battle for regain the USA - from the landing on the coast of NY where the game starts.

    The game has great graphics: the CG and openings are the standard of From Software, that is, stunning and realistic graphics that resemble photo realism and showing bloody and realistic battle scenes. The visual in-game is also excellent: the game goes on inside the **** and its crew of 3 men, and the control panels of the VT, and you can put your head out of it.

    The graphics and overall ambiance of the game are Retro, remembering movies and equipment of World War II. The details and movements are fluid and well realistic, and the game has strong colors with a filter that resembles the colors of the colored movies from WWII. The internal environment of the VT is well
    detailed, with multiple instruments, and damage to your TV are shown as having actually taken place.

    The look of the VT is old, resembling WWII tanks mounted on mechanical legs with rough textures and appearances. The same applies to soldier's uniforms, which resemble the past, not the future. The atmosphere inside the VT transmits the sensation of a claustrophobic environment, of a inside of a war tank, for example.

    Audio: The game has dialogue lines extremely well told and acted, conveying the sense of the crew, and the ambient sounds in battle are realistic and differentiated, with various effects like bullets whizzing by, the mechanical walking of the VT and realistic explosions.

    The gameplay is of a battle simulator within this retro Mech: everything happens in 1st person, being the controls a mixture of Kinect with the conventional controller. With the controller, you can move your VT, turn around, and can use weapons with left and right triggers. With Kinect, you commands the Mech, sitted: you slide the screen to the side to visualize your crew, and extending your arms at different points at the screen, on the various existing controls on the inside, that controls the functions of the VT, as to adjust the speed, type of ammunition, fire hatches and enter and exiting the scope, where you see the battlefield and commands the VT.

    If standing up, Powers put the body out of the VT (being an easy target), and can use his hand at eye level to use binoculars. Inside the VT, sited, you use the scope to move and fire in your targets. The missions have objectives, and you should try and achieve them, while trying to stay alive and avoid losing members of the crew: the structural damage to the VT are shown by points in various locations within a diagram of it on the screen, and shots located affect specific things, and may kill members of the VT. At the same time during some parts, you can interact with the crew, greeting them, or holding someone in despair.

    The battles are complex due to the variation of controls, but nothing that we don't get after playing a bit, and a nice tutorial shows the commands before the battle, in a training camp. But the games is not easy, being realistic and we must make strategic decisions, because the shots can destroy your VT quickly.

    The game also features an online mode on Xbox Live, where you and 3 friends over control a battalion of four VT, each commanding one, and that should make the campaign very interesting. In the main game screen, we can see a picture of his battalion showing the names and who is dead, and we customize the appearance and weapons of your VT.

    In short, the game became the 1st Hardcore game to use Kinect, which reacts very well to commands and have realistic visuals, making it the best Kinect game to this point, along with Rise of the Nightmares. The sum of Kinect and Xbox 360 controller works perfectly, I just missed some auxiliary functions for the remaining buttons.

    The game ends up being an excellent choice for people who like games of battles, near simulator style, having a gripping story, excellent graphics and gameplay that, although intuitive, is strategic and difficult at times. If you like serious war games and Mechs simulators, pick up this game - if you don't play the Demo before because this game style isn't for the average gamer.
    Collapse
  23. Jun 19, 2012
    0
    "Steel Battalion: Heavy Armor" is a Mech simulator in a wartime environment, developed by From Software (Chromehounds and Armored Core) and produced by Capcom, being a continuation of the original Xbox game (2003).

    The story takes place in 2082, in a world which since 2020 has lost all the latest technology and computers. In this shattered world, China has become a
    world power, and
    dominates much of the world on an iron fist, even having dominated the USA. In this future, the technology is based on mechanical elements only, and in battle armors called VT (Vertical Tanks), which are species of tanks with legs for locomotion. You assume the place of the protagonist, Lieutenant Powers, a war hero, and commands a VT in a battle for regain the USA - from the landing on the coast of NY where the game starts.

    The game has great graphics: the CG and openings are the standard of From Software, that is, stunning and realistic graphics that resemble photo realism and showing bloody and realistic battle scenes. The visual in-game is also excellent: the game goes on inside the **** and its crew of 3 men, and the control panels of the VT, and you can put your head out of it.

    The graphics and overall ambiance of the game are Retro, remembering movies and equipment of World War II. The details and movements are fluid and well realistic, and the game has strong colors with a filter that resembles the colors of the colored movies from WWII. The internal environment of the VT is well
    detailed, with multiple instruments, and damage to your TV are shown as having actually taken place.

    The look of the VT is old, resembling WWII tanks mounted on mechanical legs with rough textures and appearances. The same applies to soldier's uniforms, which resemble the past, not the future. The atmosphere inside the VT transmits the sensation of a claustrophobic environment, of a inside of a war tank, for example.

    Audio: The game has dialogue lines extremely well told and acted, conveying the sense of the crew, and the ambient sounds in battle are realistic and differentiated, with various effects like bullets whizzing by, the mechanical walking of the VT and realistic explosions.

    The gameplay is of a battle simulator within this retro Mech: everything happens in 1st person, being the controls a mixture of Kinect with the conventional controller. With the controller, you can move your VT, turn around, and can use weapons with left and right triggers. With Kinect, you commands the Mech, sitted: you slide the screen to the side to visualize your crew, and extending your arms at different points at the screen, on the various existing controls on the inside, that controls the functions of the VT, as to adjust the speed, type of ammunition, fire hatches and enter and exiting the scope, where you see the battlefield and commands the VT.

    If standing up, Powers put the body out of the VT (being an easy target), and can use his hand at eye level to use binoculars. Inside the VT, sited, you use the scope to move and fire in your targets. The missions have objectives, and you should try and achieve them, while trying to stay alive and avoid losing members of the crew: the structural damage to the VT are shown by points in various locations within a diagram of it on the screen, and shots located affect specific things, and may kill members of the VT. At the same time during some parts, you can interact with the crew, greeting them, or holding someone in despair.

    The battles are complex due to the variation of controls, but nothing that we don't get after playing a bit, and a nice tutorial shows the commands before the battle, in a training camp. But the games is not easy, being realistic and we must make strategic decisions, because the shots can destroy your VT quickly.

    The game also features an online mode on Xbox Live, where you and 3 friends over control a battalion of four VT, each commanding one, and that should make the campaign very interesting. In the main game screen, we can see a picture of his battalion showing the names and who is dead, and we customize the appearance and weapons of your VT.

    In short, the game became the 1st Hardcore game to use Kinect, which reacts very well to commands and have realistic visuals, making it the best Kinect game to this point, along with Rise of the Nightmares. The sum of Kinect and Xbox 360 controller works perfectly, I just missed some auxiliary functions for the remaining buttons.

    The game ends up being an excellent choice for people who like games of battles, near simulator style, having a gripping story, excellent graphics and gameplay that, although intuitive, is strategic and difficult at times. If you like serious war games and Mechs simulators, pick up this game - if you don't play the Demo before because this game style isn't for the average gamer.
    Collapse
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 58
  2. Negative: 39 out of 58
  1. Oct 27, 2012
    50
    This could have been a brilliant game. The problem is that it just doesn't work. The Kinect controls work only when they want to, and most of the time they don't, something that ruins an otherwise great experience.
  2. Oct 17, 2012
    60
    For what it's worth, if I wanted a simulation of being crammed into a tiny, metal, low-tech claustrophobic coffin while people yell and attempt to kill me repeatedly while I struggle with basic controls, then Heavy Armor offers up quite the war experience. However, that's not what I was looking for, and I suspect that it's not something anyone else is after, either.
  3. Oct 17, 2012
    45
    When it is working, Steel Battalion Heavy Armor is an exciting, engaging and immersive game – but to get to the end of the campaign you're going to need to love mechs and Kinect. A lot. The problem is the Kinect experience is a significant detractor to the point of annoyance. If you could just use the control pad it would have been a far better game, even more so if an adapter could have been provided to use the impressive controller from the first game.