User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 86
  2. Negative: 7 out of 86

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RobertK.
    Sep 8, 2007
    10
    This is a fun game. It is just all out fun. You have the guns the graphics. It is just a fun game. Besides what games can you be in Hong Kong and the U.S. I is totaly worth $60.
  2. MarkW.
    Jul 1, 2008
    3
    Tacky and boring. Couldn't bring myself to play more than a few levels.
  3. NickM.
    Dec 1, 2007
    8
    I thought this was worth my purchase. the graphics are great, i dont mind the dumb AI, i think i prefer it in a game like this, and the mechanics are amazing. The bullet time...i mean tequila time is awsome, almost as much a presition aiming. very fun, 2 points of for the fact that it is a little more challenging than it should be.
  4. FPSMaster
    Sep 5, 2007
    7
    Nice, fun game that doesn't last long. I got it late Monday afternoon and had it finished late Tuesday night while only having played in 4 sittings for an hour or 2 each. The graphics are pretty nice, especially the environs (one of the levels it's raining outside and looks uncannily like Gears' rain level but with more light), but the character models still look a little Nice, fun game that doesn't last long. I got it late Monday afternoon and had it finished late Tuesday night while only having played in 4 sittings for an hour or 2 each. The graphics are pretty nice, especially the environs (one of the levels it's raining outside and looks uncannily like Gears' rain level but with more light), but the character models still look a little like a PS2 game's models. The completely destructable environs are the real showcase here though, as they blow apart in ways that would make Full Auto jealous. Too bad other games don't use this physics engine (I'm looking at you Gears). The sounds are about what you'd expect and the voice acting is the standard with nothing really standing out. The controls are simple and you can do quite a few interactive moves depending on what you're standing next to in the environment including a cover feature that works realistically because the cover degrades forcing you to move like in a movie. You will learn 4 specail moves by the end of the 3 rd level, and that's all there is along with the stand-off mode which you will use throughout the entire game but you see it in the first level. Multiplayer plays a lot like single player so I don't think it will last long. This was a fun game, but over way too quickly. By the end it felt more like a tech demo for what the Unreal 3 Engine can do with environment physics rather than the developers actually making a great game. This is what Max Payne would have been on newer hardware, but a much shorter game. It does feel like a true sequel to Hardboiled, just don't expect it to last much longer than if it was an actual movie. Collapse
  5. MichaelR.
    Oct 1, 2007
    7
    Its definitely worth renting.The game takes about 10-12 hours to beat.There's many cool ways of shooting,graphics are great ,the plot is plain.There's no glitches and the AI is really smart.Almost everything you see in the game you can break.The boss fights are pretty cool.There's lots of explosions.The game was just too short and the levels aren't very captivating Its definitely worth renting.The game takes about 10-12 hours to beat.There's many cool ways of shooting,graphics are great ,the plot is plain.There's no glitches and the AI is really smart.Almost everything you see in the game you can break.The boss fights are pretty cool.There's lots of explosions.The game was just too short and the levels aren't very captivating like Rainbow Six Vegas but its still worth playing. Expand
  6. MichaelB.
    Oct 17, 2007
    7
    It is essentially Max Payne with updated graphics. The action is less like a traditional shooter and more like an arcade game. I recommend it for anyone who enjoys run-and-gun gameplay, but I would hold off on dishing out the $60. Make this one a renter or wait until that price gets cut in half.
  7. Joshua
    Sep 10, 2007
    6
    Once you get past the glitter and sparkle of "destructable environments" and the novelty of being Chow Yun-Fat you're not left with much to play with. The levels are fairly brief to a fault - by the time I got involved in a level it was over. There's nothing to warrant a $60 price tag in this game. Diverting for an evening at best - disappointing and boring at worst.
  8. NathanP.
    Sep 24, 2007
    9
    Any action junkie will find Stranglehold a blast to play hearkening back to old school shoot 'em ups of old. The massively destructible environments and special moves really make you feel like a badass. Multiplayer, while not very robust makes for a pleasant diversion. Good luck beating it on maximum difficulty, "Hard Boiled".
  9. AndyK.
    Sep 28, 2007
    6
    Unfortunately, the gameplay breaks down fairly often, with enemies acting like idiots, getting stuck on objects, or becoming bulletproof from particular angles.
  10. AlexB.
    Sep 5, 2007
    9
    Personally, I really enjoyed this game. It gave graphics worthy of the 360 in many regards, lacking in some but very detailed in most. It presented me with a game that i can play as many times over as I want, and will have fun each time. The game play is addicting, and yes, repetitive, but to me it is just so fun that i am actually viewing it's repetition as a positive thing because Personally, I really enjoyed this game. It gave graphics worthy of the 360 in many regards, lacking in some but very detailed in most. It presented me with a game that i can play as many times over as I want, and will have fun each time. The game play is addicting, and yes, repetitive, but to me it is just so fun that i am actually viewing it's repetition as a positive thing because i had so much fun doing it the first time! Expand
  11. FokmanF.
    Sep 7, 2007
    8
    I picked up this game in the mood for mindless action and thats exactly what i got. A great sequel to Hard Boiled and a fun game while it lasts,(Kinda short).
  12. DanielB
    Jan 4, 2009
    8
    It's a really cool action game, and technically it's awesome, because you can really destroy a lot of different stuff. The action is on the top almost all of the time, the AI isn't fantastic, but they do what they have to, being targets for my bullets. The tequilatime works good aswell, you can bounce on walls, running on the stairs and then the traditionall dive in the It's a really cool action game, and technically it's awesome, because you can really destroy a lot of different stuff. The action is on the top almost all of the time, the AI isn't fantastic, but they do what they have to, being targets for my bullets. The tequilatime works good aswell, you can bounce on walls, running on the stairs and then the traditionall dive in the air. It all works great and keeps the game up to speed. So, yeah it's a really good game, which gives you what it promises, a hell lot of good action! Expand
  13. DanielB
    Jan 4, 2009
    8
    It's a really cool action game, and technically it's awesome, because you can really destroy a lot of different stuff. The action is on the top almost all of the time, the AI isn't fantastic, but they do what they have to, being targets for my bullets. The tequilatime works good aswell, you can bounce on walls, running on the stairs and then the traditionall dive in the It's a really cool action game, and technically it's awesome, because you can really destroy a lot of different stuff. The action is on the top almost all of the time, the AI isn't fantastic, but they do what they have to, being targets for my bullets. The tequilatime works good aswell, you can bounce on walls, running on the stairs and then the traditionall dive in the air. It all works great and keeps the game up to speed. So, yeah it's a really good game, which gives you what it promises, a hell lot of good action! Expand
  14. GaryW.
    Nov 1, 2007
    7
    I was expecting this game to be tat, but its actually rather good. Very good graphics and gunplay ( although there will be time you're running around like a headless chicken surrounding by nasty types barraging you with bullets) I have the game on hard and it is certainly a challenge, forcing you to find cover and use the environments to your advantage. One major problem is that the I was expecting this game to be tat, but its actually rather good. Very good graphics and gunplay ( although there will be time you're running around like a headless chicken surrounding by nasty types barraging you with bullets) I have the game on hard and it is certainly a challenge, forcing you to find cover and use the environments to your advantage. One major problem is that the interact and jump button are both the same, so if you wanted to jump over a handrail instead of climb it you cant, all too often i find myself suddenly 'stuck' to a rail getting slowly murdered. Considering the 'Y' button is completely unused it seems strange they didnt have seperate buttons. Some walls you can dive off, yet a wall right next to it you wont be able to , so the game doesnt lets you do ANYTHING with the jump button if your near said wall. Youll be getting slaughtered so youll want to dive but you cant because your near a non interactive wall that the game thinks you wan t to run up (its healess chikcen time agian !). same goes for getting cover behind walls, it seems random and unresponsive. The AI is also pretty much awful. These swines can spot you from a hundred feet away through a tiny gap and will slaughter you, yet if you find a good vantage point you can leisurely shoot them in the head while they just stand there acting gormless. The boss fights show this up the most, with the first big boss simply standing there while you attack him with a ridiculous amount of bullets. Lets put it this way, shooting directly at the first boss with a machine gun, on hard difficulty, 250 bullets takes off approx 1 tenth of his life, its ridiculous and unrealistic. I never thought Id beat him until he began to throw bombs at a wall which were bouncing back and killing him. I sat there for ten minutes while he killed himself ! Despite all the tatty things about it, at the end of the day its balls-out , all-action mass destruction tackle, the AI is awful but its doesnt matter (until you get to a boss) because its a bit of mindless action. If you go in to the game expecting to do lots of slow motion jumping and shotting morons in the face, you wont go far wrong. Expand
  15. ShawnO.
    Oct 22, 2007
    7
    Its a fun game that gets a little repetative. I'll never get critics, I actualy had more fun beating this than beating the single player mode of Halo 3. Its short, but still longer than Halo3.
  16. brianmell
    Oct 30, 2007
    9
    i dont understand when people say, this one is a rental because its a short game...how stupid a sentence is this? do you buy a game judging by its length? fully knowing by now and happily accepted the fact that size matters not? we buy games because they are fun to own, you can play them whenever you like, over and over again. if you have no money to spend, you are in the wrong hobbyi dont understand when people say, this one is a rental because its a short game...how stupid a sentence is this? do you buy a game judging by its length? fully knowing by now and happily accepted the fact that size matters not? we buy games because they are fun to own, you can play them whenever you like, over and over again. if you have no money to spend, you are in the wrong hobby partner, go play bingo in a community center. stranglehold is a keeper, its a classic...fun as hell, amazing physics and graphics to boot. deserves your full attention. if you are into cool action games, this is it. Expand
  17. Keegs79
    Sep 11, 2007
    9
    This game delivers on fun factor by a huge stride with great controls. It doesn't bring anything overally innovative but it does everything right. The A.I. is extremely smart with accurate shots. The graphics are outstanding with great detail and nice explosions. This game brings to this current next gen gaming a game that combines old school gameplay in great new fashion. The only This game delivers on fun factor by a huge stride with great controls. It doesn't bring anything overally innovative but it does everything right. The A.I. is extremely smart with accurate shots. The graphics are outstanding with great detail and nice explosions. This game brings to this current next gen gaming a game that combines old school gameplay in great new fashion. The only downside is its short and lackluster multiplayer mode. All things given this game rocks! Expand
  18. MikeM.
    Sep 30, 2007
    5
    I dont really find a game that relies 50% on its slow motion action a thrilling, heart-pumping game. It was extremely repetitive, having to go to slow mo just to get some extra points, and by the a thousandeth time youre going to realize you cant even do that many cool things in this game. you can blow up a tank, roll on a cart, jump off a wall, and slide down a rail. and well, thats I dont really find a game that relies 50% on its slow motion action a thrilling, heart-pumping game. It was extremely repetitive, having to go to slow mo just to get some extra points, and by the a thousandeth time youre going to realize you cant even do that many cool things in this game. you can blow up a tank, roll on a cart, jump off a wall, and slide down a rail. and well, thats pretty much it. to say its extremely creative is completely absurd. Seriously, if you love games thats the same, the same, the same, and then more of the same lame shit, well go for it. dont buy this though, really, it takes six hours to beat. Expand
  19. ApocalypseBrown
    Nov 21, 2007
    3
    Again the Edge gets it right while GamesTm suck up to the money-men, this game is mindless fun, but fun while it lasts. Unfortunately that fun lasts for 2 hours maximum, then its down hill at rapid speed. Graphically it doesn't look next gen, and the aiming gets so convoluted its crazy. Best to ignore the rambles of GamesTm and avoid this completely.
  20. AlanA.
    Oct 14, 2007
    9
    I love Stranglehold yeah it might be repetative as hell but play it on hard-boiled difficulty and it will be a challenge I do wish it was longer but what the hell. It's a fun kick ass game and I say buy it or rent it if you like High Octane Non stop action games!
  21. DonR.
    Nov 7, 2007
    9
    I thought this was a great game. A lot of fun, challenging and good graphics and story.
  22. RobertKing
    Aug 23, 2007
    10
    This game was awesome! It had a bad-ass demo so i can't wait to buy the actual game on the 27th. It has so much action and so much shooting. What else does a gamer like me want? This game had it all. Even though the online play looked a little lame i am giving this game a 10/10.
  23. ArthurO.
    Sep 15, 2007
    5
    I wanted this game to be great, I really did. The single player is good, mindless fun with nice controls and details such as the destructible environments and the great shot location reaction by the AI. The game is hampered, however, by poor level design and lack of things to do besides shooting (I won't even count the "destroy drug tables" or "plant some bombs" "missions"). The I wanted this game to be great, I really did. The single player is good, mindless fun with nice controls and details such as the destructible environments and the great shot location reaction by the AI. The game is hampered, however, by poor level design and lack of things to do besides shooting (I won't even count the "destroy drug tables" or "plant some bombs" "missions"). The multiplayer is very disappointing to say the least. The mechanics of the game completely break down into an unplayable mess. When it comes down to it, Stranglehold is entertaining for the few hours it will take you to complete the game. I would give it an 8 as a rental, but there is not nearly enough here to justify a purchase. Definitely a fun rental, but one that you will be done with before it is due back. Expand
  24. anonymous
    Dec 12, 2009
    10
    Oh my god this game is AMAZING!! It's like combining Max Payne and Devil May Cry into one game. The only thing that stinks is the graphics.
  25. Feb 29, 2012
    8
    I'm not sure how this game was in 2007 but lets talk about it now in 2012 after at least some updates. Fantastic game. According to previous reviews read I didn't think this game looked worth a look but it is fantastic. The Hong Kong Crime Spree/Mob vs Cop game didn't really appeal to me but I decided to play this none the less and really admire this game for many reasons. The action inI'm not sure how this game was in 2007 but lets talk about it now in 2012 after at least some updates. Fantastic game. According to previous reviews read I didn't think this game looked worth a look but it is fantastic. The Hong Kong Crime Spree/Mob vs Cop game didn't really appeal to me but I decided to play this none the less and really admire this game for many reasons. The action in this game is non stop and mimics action movies with my highest praise. Never were there any dead spots in this game. Enemy wise we have and notice different ranks in the characters and they do not always spawn in the exact position on every level every time so gameplay can be different each time you play much like Killzone 2. The story is not stand still cut scenes and is very well implemented and the cut scenes compliment the gameplay thus immersion very well. Strategy wise this game forces you to adapt different game styles each chapter. I'm a slow cautious FPS/TPS style I like to pick off certain enemies then when safe go in hard and finish off the brutes. This style only works on some chapters so there was a lot of forethought in the making of this game. Other chapters force you to go into a fire fight and be very aggressive. My small complaints with this game and they are minor but apparent are that the camera can have a bit of a mind of its own as it blends FPS and Third person shooter characterization at the same time and can zoom in and out on its own sometimes - also in some set piece battles you run out of ammo and pick up a replacement weapon you at all costs did not want to pick up in the fray of an intense battle and then have no means to discard it easily. Apart from that this game was a fantastic roller coaster of action and FPS/TPS goodness. Gameplay was quite varied from typical FPS/TPS to set piece firefights to helicopter rampages to cutscenes standoffs (which actually i didn't care for). Regardless there is entertaining diversity you have to appreciate as it alleviates boredom and also adds to immersion in the characters and story. I don't have any complaints about the graphics they are easily average to above average of all the games I've played. Overall I'd definately say this is the biggest sleeper or hidden gem game I've played that I've never really heard anyone talk about back in the day. I've never really been into story and never ever became immersed in a shooter game with respect to the charcters. Expand
  26. Oct 21, 2010
    5
    Meh. If you took out the bullet time you'd just have a generic third-person shooter. The plot's bad, the level design is dull, and there isn't much variety. Just a few guns, just a few enemy types, some enemies instantly kill you if they melee you. The way the game relies on bullet time to make things interesting is like eating a tub of frosting for dessert; it's got part of the equation,Meh. If you took out the bullet time you'd just have a generic third-person shooter. The plot's bad, the level design is dull, and there isn't much variety. Just a few guns, just a few enemy types, some enemies instantly kill you if they melee you. The way the game relies on bullet time to make things interesting is like eating a tub of frosting for dessert; it's got part of the equation, but it's missing so much more. Worth a rental or a bargain bin purchase. Expand
  27. Nov 26, 2011
    8
    Absolutely fun game to play, if a bit dated on some of the graphical points. Still, the nearly unlimited use of bullet time is a Woo classic here, and the fact that it's a nearly direct sequel to the classic Hard Boiled, I'd say it's a win for anyone willing to play it. Give it a shot, if it's not your cup of tea, so be it. But for those of you that enjoy it like I did, that's all it really needs.
  28. Apr 27, 2011
    4
    If you can find this game for about $5 id say go for it. Very repeatitive. Online is empty. Bullet time is cool, though id rather just be playing max payne.
  29. Jul 26, 2011
    6
    A great game, but much of it is a Max Payne rip-off. The story is great, but the gameplay is not original. Even with a John Woo name on it, the game still feels as a pirated DVD.
  30. Dec 28, 2014
    3
    This game is nearly unplayable in just about every aspect. Easily one of the worst games I've played within the last decade. Controls are horrible and story is forgettable.
  31. Jul 4, 2013
    9
    If "Stranglehold" weren't the first name of this game, its second name would naturally be "badass." John Woo, Chow Yun-Fat and Midway games make the style, mechanics, and destructibility brilliantly entertaining.
  32. Jan 18, 2014
    5
    Stranglehold is the most average videogame ever it's not good and not terrible, I do have a soft spot as the game did produce a fond memory of me and my mates being stoned playing the game and finding John Woo's name extremely amusing and making lots of jokes about it. The game itself is just a collection of gameplay elements picked from all over, the worst being a fist fight between coverStranglehold is the most average videogame ever it's not good and not terrible, I do have a soft spot as the game did produce a fond memory of me and my mates being stoned playing the game and finding John Woo's name extremely amusing and making lots of jokes about it. The game itself is just a collection of gameplay elements picked from all over, the worst being a fist fight between cover based shooting and bullet time. This was this generations first greatest hits gameplay compilation with absolutely nothing to stand on it's own two legs with. Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 59
  2. Negative: 1 out of 59
  1. 81
    This is the true sequel to "Hard Boiled," which means Stranglehold is more about style than substance. So, not surprisingly, the story is melodramatic and forgettable and the adrenaline-pumping action is the star of the show.
  2. 80
    Stranglehold might stumble occasionally under its own ambitious weight, and might not quite deliver on all its promises and potential, but it's still a unique and absorbing 8-hour tour through a legendary action director's potent unfilmable dreams.
  3. Stranglehold is not a disaster. If you desire nothing more than to kill criminals on a massive scale, turn nightclubs into a war zone, and look cool doing it – this is your game.