Stranglehold Xbox 360

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 91 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 91
  2. Negative: 7 out of 91
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. FPSMaster
    Sep 5, 2007
    7
    Nice, fun game that doesn't last long. I got it late Monday afternoon and had it finished late Tuesday night while only having played in 4 sittings for an hour or 2 each. The graphics are pretty nice, especially the environs (one of the levels it's raining outside and looks uncannily like Gears' rain level but with more light), but the character models still look a little Nice, fun game that doesn't last long. I got it late Monday afternoon and had it finished late Tuesday night while only having played in 4 sittings for an hour or 2 each. The graphics are pretty nice, especially the environs (one of the levels it's raining outside and looks uncannily like Gears' rain level but with more light), but the character models still look a little like a PS2 game's models. The completely destructable environs are the real showcase here though, as they blow apart in ways that would make Full Auto jealous. Too bad other games don't use this physics engine (I'm looking at you Gears). The sounds are about what you'd expect and the voice acting is the standard with nothing really standing out. The controls are simple and you can do quite a few interactive moves depending on what you're standing next to in the environment including a cover feature that works realistically because the cover degrades forcing you to move like in a movie. You will learn 4 specail moves by the end of the 3 rd level, and that's all there is along with the stand-off mode which you will use throughout the entire game but you see it in the first level. Multiplayer plays a lot like single player so I don't think it will last long. This was a fun game, but over way too quickly. By the end it felt more like a tech demo for what the Unreal 3 Engine can do with environment physics rather than the developers actually making a great game. This is what Max Payne would have been on newer hardware, but a much shorter game. It does feel like a true sequel to Hardboiled, just don't expect it to last much longer than if it was an actual movie. Expand
  2. MichaelR.
    Oct 1, 2007
    7
    Its definitely worth renting.The game takes about 10-12 hours to beat.There's many cool ways of shooting,graphics are great ,the plot is plain.There's no glitches and the AI is really smart.Almost everything you see in the game you can break.The boss fights are pretty cool.There's lots of explosions.The game was just too short and the levels aren't very captivating Its definitely worth renting.The game takes about 10-12 hours to beat.There's many cool ways of shooting,graphics are great ,the plot is plain.There's no glitches and the AI is really smart.Almost everything you see in the game you can break.The boss fights are pretty cool.There's lots of explosions.The game was just too short and the levels aren't very captivating like Rainbow Six Vegas but its still worth playing. Collapse
  3. MichaelB.
    Oct 17, 2007
    7
    It is essentially Max Payne with updated graphics. The action is less like a traditional shooter and more like an arcade game. I recommend it for anyone who enjoys run-and-gun gameplay, but I would hold off on dishing out the $60. Make this one a renter or wait until that price gets cut in half.
  4. Joshua
    Sep 10, 2007
    6
    Once you get past the glitter and sparkle of "destructable environments" and the novelty of being Chow Yun-Fat you're not left with much to play with. The levels are fairly brief to a fault - by the time I got involved in a level it was over. There's nothing to warrant a $60 price tag in this game. Diverting for an evening at best - disappointing and boring at worst.
  5. AndyK.
    Sep 28, 2007
    6
    Unfortunately, the gameplay breaks down fairly often, with enemies acting like idiots, getting stuck on objects, or becoming bulletproof from particular angles.
  6. GaryW.
    Nov 1, 2007
    7
    I was expecting this game to be tat, but its actually rather good. Very good graphics and gunplay ( although there will be time you're running around like a headless chicken surrounding by nasty types barraging you with bullets) I have the game on hard and it is certainly a challenge, forcing you to find cover and use the environments to your advantage. One major problem is that the I was expecting this game to be tat, but its actually rather good. Very good graphics and gunplay ( although there will be time you're running around like a headless chicken surrounding by nasty types barraging you with bullets) I have the game on hard and it is certainly a challenge, forcing you to find cover and use the environments to your advantage. One major problem is that the interact and jump button are both the same, so if you wanted to jump over a handrail instead of climb it you cant, all too often i find myself suddenly 'stuck' to a rail getting slowly murdered. Considering the 'Y' button is completely unused it seems strange they didnt have seperate buttons. Some walls you can dive off, yet a wall right next to it you wont be able to , so the game doesnt lets you do ANYTHING with the jump button if your near said wall. Youll be getting slaughtered so youll want to dive but you cant because your near a non interactive wall that the game thinks you wan t to run up (its healess chikcen time agian !). same goes for getting cover behind walls, it seems random and unresponsive. The AI is also pretty much awful. These swines can spot you from a hundred feet away through a tiny gap and will slaughter you, yet if you find a good vantage point you can leisurely shoot them in the head while they just stand there acting gormless. The boss fights show this up the most, with the first big boss simply standing there while you attack him with a ridiculous amount of bullets. Lets put it this way, shooting directly at the first boss with a machine gun, on hard difficulty, 250 bullets takes off approx 1 tenth of his life, its ridiculous and unrealistic. I never thought Id beat him until he began to throw bombs at a wall which were bouncing back and killing him. I sat there for ten minutes while he killed himself ! Despite all the tatty things about it, at the end of the day its balls-out , all-action mass destruction tackle, the AI is awful but its doesnt matter (until you get to a boss) because its a bit of mindless action. If you go in to the game expecting to do lots of slow motion jumping and shotting morons in the face, you wont go far wrong. Expand
  7. ShawnO.
    Oct 22, 2007
    7
    Its a fun game that gets a little repetative. I'll never get critics, I actualy had more fun beating this than beating the single player mode of Halo 3. Its short, but still longer than Halo3.
  8. MikeM.
    Sep 30, 2007
    5
    I dont really find a game that relies 50% on its slow motion action a thrilling, heart-pumping game. It was extremely repetitive, having to go to slow mo just to get some extra points, and by the a thousandeth time youre going to realize you cant even do that many cool things in this game. you can blow up a tank, roll on a cart, jump off a wall, and slide down a rail. and well, thats I dont really find a game that relies 50% on its slow motion action a thrilling, heart-pumping game. It was extremely repetitive, having to go to slow mo just to get some extra points, and by the a thousandeth time youre going to realize you cant even do that many cool things in this game. you can blow up a tank, roll on a cart, jump off a wall, and slide down a rail. and well, thats pretty much it. to say its extremely creative is completely absurd. Seriously, if you love games thats the same, the same, the same, and then more of the same lame shit, well go for it. dont buy this though, really, it takes six hours to beat. Expand
  9. ArthurO.
    Sep 15, 2007
    5
    I wanted this game to be great, I really did. The single player is good, mindless fun with nice controls and details such as the destructible environments and the great shot location reaction by the AI. The game is hampered, however, by poor level design and lack of things to do besides shooting (I won't even count the "destroy drug tables" or "plant some bombs" "missions"). The I wanted this game to be great, I really did. The single player is good, mindless fun with nice controls and details such as the destructible environments and the great shot location reaction by the AI. The game is hampered, however, by poor level design and lack of things to do besides shooting (I won't even count the "destroy drug tables" or "plant some bombs" "missions"). The multiplayer is very disappointing to say the least. The mechanics of the game completely break down into an unplayable mess. When it comes down to it, Stranglehold is entertaining for the few hours it will take you to complete the game. I would give it an 8 as a rental, but there is not nearly enough here to justify a purchase. Definitely a fun rental, but one that you will be done with before it is due back. Expand
  10. Oct 21, 2010
    5
    Meh. If you took out the bullet time you'd just have a generic third-person shooter. The plot's bad, the level design is dull, and there isn't much variety. Just a few guns, just a few enemy types, some enemies instantly kill you if they melee you. The way the game relies on bullet time to make things interesting is like eating a tub of frosting for dessert; it's got part of the equation,Meh. If you took out the bullet time you'd just have a generic third-person shooter. The plot's bad, the level design is dull, and there isn't much variety. Just a few guns, just a few enemy types, some enemies instantly kill you if they melee you. The way the game relies on bullet time to make things interesting is like eating a tub of frosting for dessert; it's got part of the equation, but it's missing so much more. Worth a rental or a bargain bin purchase. Expand
  11. Jul 26, 2011
    6
    A great game, but much of it is a Max Payne rip-off. The story is great, but the gameplay is not original. Even with a John Woo name on it, the game still feels as a pirated DVD.
  12. Jan 18, 2014
    5
    Stranglehold is the most average videogame ever it's not good and not terrible, I do have a soft spot as the game did produce a fond memory of me and my mates being stoned playing the game and finding John Woo's name extremely amusing and making lots of jokes about it. The game itself is just a collection of gameplay elements picked from all over, the worst being a fist fight between coverStranglehold is the most average videogame ever it's not good and not terrible, I do have a soft spot as the game did produce a fond memory of me and my mates being stoned playing the game and finding John Woo's name extremely amusing and making lots of jokes about it. The game itself is just a collection of gameplay elements picked from all over, the worst being a fist fight between cover based shooting and bullet time. This was this generations first greatest hits gameplay compilation with absolutely nothing to stand on it's own two legs with. Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 59
  2. Negative: 1 out of 59
  1. 81
    This is the true sequel to "Hard Boiled," which means Stranglehold is more about style than substance. So, not surprisingly, the story is melodramatic and forgettable and the adrenaline-pumping action is the star of the show.
  2. 80
    Stranglehold might stumble occasionally under its own ambitious weight, and might not quite deliver on all its promises and potential, but it's still a unique and absorbing 8-hour tour through a legendary action director's potent unfilmable dreams.
  3. Stranglehold is not a disaster. If you desire nothing more than to kill criminals on a massive scale, turn nightclubs into a war zone, and look cool doing it – this is your game.