Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 39 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Street Fighter III: Third Strike Online Edition brings the classic fighting title to PS3 and Xbox 360.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Aug 22, 2011
    100
    I'm confident even the most critical 3rd Strike aficionados will be hard pressed to put down the arcade stick once they hop online and start putting the hurt on all the day-one Chun-Li and Kens out there.
  2. Aug 26, 2011
    90
    SF III: Third Strike Online Edition manages to offer the same awesome feelings of the original game, together with a rich set of extras and solid online gameplay.
  3. Aug 22, 2011
    90
    It's because Capcom had the good sense to leave well enough alone, however, that Online Edition is the best Third Strike there's ever been. And, as we all know, the third strike is what counts.
  4. Sep 23, 2011
    90
    Street Fighter IV was a slower, more deliberate project with a silly streak in its art and design, and I wonder whether we will ever see something closer to SFIII's style come in a future game - but this time rendered in 3D, of course. I hope so, because while I wasn't really looking forwards to a new port of a decade-plus-old game, even just a couple of hours with Online Edition has reminded me just how polished and brilliant Capcom's final 2D opus really was.
  5. Aug 29, 2011
    85
    In spite of its faults, SF III :3rd Strike Online is still a must-play for those who missed it before or for long-time fans just to experience the best-looking version of the game yet. Even though it is presently hampered by online lag and matchmaking problems, it's still worth its $15 asking price. Multi-platform owners are probably better off with the 360 version, since the stock controller is better for the game, and at least some of its online issues should be remedied soon.
  6. Still good, still unbalanced like a fat bloke on a see-saw, and Remy is still a crap Guile replacement. [Dec 2011, p.111]
  7. Sep 19, 2011
    60
    Street Fighter III: Third Strike - Online Edition is not a game for everyone. This is for the die-hard Street Fighter gamers that are looking to relive their childhood and to improve their skills by fighting real opponents and move up in the online leaderboards.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Aug 31, 2011
    9
    Ridiculous that this game is getting scored low here, what so the SF4 generation have never seen a 2d fighter before or something? oh dear......
    fact is this is the most technical SF ever produced and doesn't rely on the simple button mashing that 4 does - this IS street fighter in its prime.
    The game takes skill to get something out of it, but the amazing detail, animation and added XBL content really helps you get stuck in. The port is very good overall and has replaced my DC version now, online is a bit hit or miss (when has it never been?) but GGPO does a reasonable job at keeping up but does have issues.
    Expand
  2. Aug 24, 2011
    9
    Arguably the best Street fighter ever made. Wonderfully varied characters with equally varied, yet viable, play styles. Great depth due to excellent mechanics and, of course, the possibility to raise your game even further by virtue of the double edged sword that is the parry system. An all time classic lovingly brought back with cool added extras such as Youtube uploading, challenges and a comprehensive training mode. Expand
  3. Jan 26, 2013
    7
    The GGPO netcode and online lobby system are great in this game. Other fighters should take note of what Third Strike Online Edition does right. I don't consider the defensive Third Strike gameplay to be on par with Super Turbo and SF4 Arcade Edition. It's okay. Just try to ignore some of the terrible generic rap music sewed into this game's presentation. Expand
  4. Sep 22, 2011
    7
    Maybe I'm getting old or I've remembered the game with rose tinted glasses, but this game just feels a little off to me. Seems a little faster than the original, and parrying is more a game of chance than skill. It however is still an epic legend that is simply one of the more in-depth SF ever made, but with no real tutorial this isn't noob friendly, in-fact if you have never played this before than I strongly urge you to think long and hard before buying it! Quality game though, just I feel not necessarily how I loved it before. Collapse
  5. Sep 26, 2011
    6
    SF and fighting game fans altogether will surely appreciate the package Capcom has put into this. This game has spawned a whole new blood of fighters that may rival Daigo but probably just never got to join tournaments. despite being old, it still holds well even today. perhaps even better than some current fighters out there. problem is, despite being called Online Edition, there are tons of problems regarding online such as the matchmaking and ranking. Overall, this is only for the fighting game fans. Expand
  6. Oct 14, 2011
    6
    Having not played this game before I decided to purchase it as street fighter 2's online function is terrible. Having played through the arcade mode and multiple times online against much better street fighter players I really feel as though this one is one for the series fans only as opposed to newcomers who want an old school style beat - em up. The level of skill varies greatly online and there is no way to filter it so that you're matched with same level opponents, instead it's random and more often than not I'm paired with people who are 23 levels higher than I am :(. The actual fighting mechanics of the game are deep and the controls responsive, the parry system adds another level of depth but it will require tremendous amount of practice and time to master this game and the training mode etc do not really explain very well how to do certain moves and combos etc, and I only stumbled upon the parry (not knowing that it even existed in the game) training after hours of play. Overall I definitely think this game is not very welcoming to newcomers but if you put the time and effort in it could be rewarding, but it is a very difficult and frustrating game to master. Expand
  7. Sep 1, 2011
    2
    Very disappointing port: no matchmaking filters online, terrible matchmaking system overall (ranked is completely broke; player match lists are very slow to load and don't give an accurate picture of connection quality or of which characters are banned, etc), no dummy recording in training mode, no input display in training mode, you can't turn the crappy "VP" sidebars off, you can't switch back to the classic 3rd Strike menus, and the Youtube upload feature is a joke (240p, can't upload to individual accounts).

    And on top of that the game is absolutely FULL of bugs. I've encountered at least half a dozen significant bugs in the space of one week.
    Expand

See all 8 User Reviews