Street Fighter IV Xbox 360

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 291 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 46 out of 291
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CrossMeteor
    Jan 20, 2010
    6
    OK. The most of the magazines give it a 100. They need to sale the game. This game haven't improved anything, only the 3-D graphics, but it's the same, why has it a 100? Fable II, Darksiders, Dante's Inferno... and a longer etc are better than this. This game is boring and too basic.
  2. JustinT
    Apr 3, 2009
    7
    Eh at best. Not giving this game a 10 JUST because its SF is fanboy bias. This is a fun game to play if you like fighting games....otherwise its a total waste of time. That said, counters make this a better game than say....tekken where button mashing easily wins the day. However, $60 for a replica of the early 90's is not balanced, or fair to the consumers. This should have been an Eh at best. Not giving this game a 10 JUST because its SF is fanboy bias. This is a fun game to play if you like fighting games....otherwise its a total waste of time. That said, counters make this a better game than say....tekken where button mashing easily wins the day. However, $60 for a replica of the early 90's is not balanced, or fair to the consumers. This should have been an arcade release for 1200 points. You want a game with depth and balance? I go back to killer instinct gold for the n64. Expand
  3. Mar 17, 2011
    6
    Very one dimensional. It's gets old fast and Capcom likes to milks it's customers by selling brand new games that included content that could have just been DLC.
  4. Aerotsu
    Jan 5, 2010
    5
    Street Fighter 4 would be the best fighting game out there, if it was the only fighting game out there. The problem is there simply isn't any diversity at all in the game. It tries to deliver a lot but, in the end, all characters fight the same way. It cannot be compared to other games of the same genre like Soul Calibur 4 or Dissidia. These games have a much bigger diversity of Street Fighter 4 would be the best fighting game out there, if it was the only fighting game out there. The problem is there simply isn't any diversity at all in the game. It tries to deliver a lot but, in the end, all characters fight the same way. It cannot be compared to other games of the same genre like Soul Calibur 4 or Dissidia. These games have a much bigger diversity of characters, fighting styles, unlockables, strategies, unlike Street Fighter, which requires you to do the same thing over and over again until you actually get to unlock a character... which happens to fight just like the one you used to unlock it! Sometimes it feels like i'm "grinding" (doing the same thing over and over to get a reward, usually on a MMORPG), which is not a good thing on a game like this. It's kind of fun to play it with friends and online, but it really doesn't pay off. If you want a real fight, go get Soul Calibur, Dissidia, Tekken 6 and others of the same genre. Expand
  5. NicholasLong
    Feb 19, 2009
    5
    This game is broken. Talk to any SF vet from the early days you they'll say the same thing. The throw system has been completely broken. It's become a throw happy game even more so than the older SF games. Be prepared to be thrown more than you ever have. In the past SFs when you're standing up you'd have a split second of invulnerability to throw your opponent if This game is broken. Talk to any SF vet from the early days you they'll say the same thing. The throw system has been completely broken. It's become a throw happy game even more so than the older SF games. Be prepared to be thrown more than you ever have. In the past SFs when you're standing up you'd have a split second of invulnerability to throw your opponent if they're standing over your body (balance) and if they were trying to throw you as you stood up you'd win that throw battle every time. Not so in SFIV. They can throw you as you're standing up no matter what. Also, the focus cancellation (more advanced moves) aren't balance. Someone like ken can have his hurricane kick canceled by the focus attack or a super combo uppercut which is unlockable to you're looking at about a 14-16 hit combo that drains more than 75% of your life. Other characters who's supers take more time (Vega) his focus attack cancellation or super cancellation does not yield even close to the same unblockable instant success that ken's does. SSIV to appeal to the masses and be more accessible has been broken and made unbalanced for the sake of having some really cool looking combos for some characters, and other's are just totally nerfed. Avoid this game if you like the balance of the previous iterations of SF. Stick with HD remix, much better game if you ask me. Expand
  6. MarkT.
    Feb 20, 2009
    7
    Fun game, great blast from the past, nice graphics entertaining gameplay - all brought down enormously by the awful response to the 360's controller. It really is almost impossible to pull off many of these moves without a fight stick, and quite frankly, that's not acceptible given the price of those things. Trying, for example, Blanka's super and ultra combos - hold back, Fun game, great blast from the past, nice graphics entertaining gameplay - all brought down enormously by the awful response to the 360's controller. It really is almost impossible to pull off many of these moves without a fight stick, and quite frankly, that's not acceptible given the price of those things. Trying, for example, Blanka's super and ultra combos - hold back, right, left, right and punch - all with a thumb stick - it barely works. The only way I found was to twist the controller round and wiggle the left thumbslick with my right hand. Perhaps I need to change the setup a bit, but seriously - this is a serious serious shortfall. Expand
  7. RobH
    Mar 6, 2009
    7
    This is how all classic 2D games should be updated; rendered in 3D but still on a 2D playing plane... and if you are a hardcore fan of the Street Fighter franchise, you're going to love this. But, on the other hand, that's also the weakness of this game -- it's pretty much the exact same game we played in 1991, and punishingly difficult to master as well. If you're a This is how all classic 2D games should be updated; rendered in 3D but still on a 2D playing plane... and if you are a hardcore fan of the Street Fighter franchise, you're going to love this. But, on the other hand, that's also the weakness of this game -- it's pretty much the exact same game we played in 1991, and punishingly difficult to master as well. If you're a casual fan, rent, don't buy. Expand
  8. Sablicious...
    Jun 27, 2009
    6
    Street Fighter IV is a disappointment if only for the reason it's so damn 'casualized'. Sure, the game has SOME depth if one can implement the 'Focus' system in canceling et cetera. But when compared to the parry system in SFIII, the Focus thing is, like the rest of the game, too n00b/scrub friendly for hardcore players (ie. those that put the series where it is Street Fighter IV is a disappointment if only for the reason it's so damn 'casualized'. Sure, the game has SOME depth if one can implement the 'Focus' system in canceling et cetera. But when compared to the parry system in SFIII, the Focus thing is, like the rest of the game, too n00b/scrub friendly for hardcore players (ie. those that put the series where it is today in the fight-game pantheon). Off-line is token, as expected. Once one's unlocked the characters (provided your 'main' isn't available from the get-go and you're not a Achievement ho) - I did this in like 1-2 hours! - there's nothing there worth a gamer's time. The AI on a whole is cheap, NOT challenging, and abuses the game's poorly implemented/balanced throw/special throw mechanic. On-line, although addictive to begin with, becomes a bore and a 'while intoxicated/drug addled ONLY' proposition once you realise how skewed the game is in favor of certain characters *cough'GIEFcoughSAGATcough* ...! -_- The ranking system for on-line is utterly meaningless as it does not incorporate GAMEPLAY in its apportionment of points, only wins and loss. And as alluded to, pick a certain character and, except in the most extreme cases of skill disparity, the bout is decided before it begins. Couple that with a 'Championship mode' where players can hand pick their opponents (exacerbated by a deceptive ping indicator where 1/5 connection is often more stable than 5/5!), a mode that is comprised of only 3-round bouts (making for a lottery in a game as damaged scaled as SFIV), and you've got a pointless on-line ranking system. As far as gameplay is concerned, despite what some uninitiated types will tell you, is far dumbed down from earlier iterations of the franchise. Although very accessible for the 'Wii generation', moves in actual fact are harder to rely upon for advance techniques due to a 'short-cut' command input system where moves only need inputs negligibly close to what's prescribed to pull off. This leads to 'move clashes' aplenty for even the most dexterous SF veteran. Moreover, the game lacks content up the ying-yang; has curious character omissions (WTF's T.Hawk/Dee Jay but Dan? SETH?? o_0 ... -_-); is plagued by a messy, imprecise command input engine; has some glaring character imbalances; poor hit-box implementation (moves wiff consistently); an on-line mode that really only serves as piss-up/party mode... In summation, SFIV is well playable. But if you're a SF veteran, you'll cringe at the 'kiddified' nature of the game. The on-line is serviceable, but is throw-away in terms of determining player skill. As with most fighters, off-line is for training mode only. The presentation is pretty (with exception of the intro theme! -_-), but lacks in terms of character-specific stages/music. The EGM homage 'Gouken' being the only positive in this respect. An okay fighting game in its own right, especially for non hardcore/weekend gamers. But care must be taken not to heap praise on a game that has very little in terms of competition this console generation. SFIV's definitely a disappointment for the fans who elicited its development in the first place. Expand
  9. JerryDickson
    Feb 22, 2009
    7
    DON'T BELIEVE THE HYPE - Unless you're a big Street Fighter fanatic then this might get a higher score , but if you're just a regular gamer like me and you like time to strategize your moves, then Mortal Kombat vs DC is way better looking and easier gameplay. But I'm just a normal guy not some video game geeker. If you like button mashing and getting trapped in theDON'T BELIEVE THE HYPE - Unless you're a big Street Fighter fanatic then this might get a higher score , but if you're just a regular gamer like me and you like time to strategize your moves, then Mortal Kombat vs DC is way better looking and easier gameplay. But I'm just a normal guy not some video game geeker. If you like button mashing and getting trapped in the corner, or beat by your 5 year old cousin then this is the game for you. This game didn't seem much different from the older versions either... I wasn't empressed. Expand
  10. tims
    May 23, 2009
    6
    If you've not played the game its ok. Hardly any moves. Same gameplay as in the early 90s. About 4 or 5 moves each character in this day and age is ridiculous. Control pad works pretty good to be honest. Moves are a lot more responsive than in previous games. Funny thing is though, this is the same game which was released in the earloy 90s; sf2 no less. Too easy and over in a If you've not played the game its ok. Hardly any moves. Same gameplay as in the early 90s. About 4 or 5 moves each character in this day and age is ridiculous. Control pad works pretty good to be honest. Moves are a lot more responsive than in previous games. Funny thing is though, this is the same game which was released in the earloy 90s; sf2 no less. Too easy and over in a heartbeat. Muck. High scored are from capcom bumbing critics who know an influential company when they see one. Expand
  11. J.S.
    Oct 11, 2009
    5
    Another re-release of Street Fighter. Stiff controlls and very little to distinguish it from Street Fighter II. Badly acted, random cartoon clips have to be shown before every single player battle to embarrass you. I'm pretty sure the other Street Fighter cartoons aren't anywhere near as lame. Big disapointment. I'd stick with Mortal Combat vs DC.
  12. Bobby
    Feb 26, 2009
    5
    Gotta be kidding me. It's nearly the same gameplay that could be had back in the late 1980's. Other than a slightly better representation, why would this game get high reviews? SF III is way better than this.
  13. MeN
    Mar 14, 2009
    7
    A decent comeback... It just feels slightly 'chunky'. I would have enjoyed a few more Super moves, but it'll do for now. Decent character roster, although the storyline makes no sense. Why is Master Gouken alive? Sakura is still a kid? etc. Anyway, at least it's back. I hardly think it deserve 100% though.
  14. Alex
    Aug 25, 2009
    6
    I was excited about this game after reading so many high reviews, but after actually playing them, I believe it's entirely the result of nostalgia. The CPU fights are some of the most comical and annoying in the game (during the boss fight I sat crouching in the corner blocking while the boss did literally performed the same move over and over for 5 minutes). The graphics are pretty I was excited about this game after reading so many high reviews, but after actually playing them, I believe it's entirely the result of nostalgia. The CPU fights are some of the most comical and annoying in the game (during the boss fight I sat crouching in the corner blocking while the boss did literally performed the same move over and over for 5 minutes). The graphics are pretty nice. The new characters' character design are boring at best. Everything else about this game is entirely average. Expand
  15. Sep 27, 2010
    7
    im not a big fighting game fan to begin with so and fighting game that has me playing it longer then a day or 2 is pretty good in my book. i have played most of the SF games and liked alot of them . i think 2d style fighting games for some reason will always be more fun then the 3d ones. the games looks beutiful . controls both on the 360 and ps3 arnt very tight mainly because some of theim not a big fighting game fan to begin with so and fighting game that has me playing it longer then a day or 2 is pretty good in my book. i have played most of the SF games and liked alot of them . i think 2d style fighting games for some reason will always be more fun then the 3d ones. the games looks beutiful . controls both on the 360 and ps3 arnt very tight mainly because some of the moves are so close together controlwise that you will be doing the wrong move alot with some charicters i had ALOT of problesm with Ryu . also not really alot of charicters when you look at some of the other SF games. it also has a UBBER cheap boss even on very easy he just spams the same move over and over using ryus flying upper cut attack over and over and over and over again. i also wish they added more special moves to this game . i also felt the supper attacks didnt look as flashy as say in marvel vs capcom 1 or 2. still though this game is fun and online will provide you with alot of fun and bring you back to the early 90s of playing people in the arcade . Expand
  16. Sep 17, 2011
    6
    I am a huge fan of the fighting games playing them since the original Mortal Kombat days. I have played alot of different fighting game series over the years the Tekken Series, The Mortal Kombat series, The Soul Calibur and Street Fighter series. I just loved Street fighter 2 to death I can't explain the amount of hours I spent on that game and how much fun i had with my cousins whenI am a huge fan of the fighting games playing them since the original Mortal Kombat days. I have played alot of different fighting game series over the years the Tekken Series, The Mortal Kombat series, The Soul Calibur and Street Fighter series. I just loved Street fighter 2 to death I can't explain the amount of hours I spent on that game and how much fun i had with my cousins when playing SF II with them. And than comes Street Fighter 3 one of the most disappointing games ever, the game is just seemed broken and the fighting did not seem polished at all and it surprisingly did not work well in 3D enviroments. And nows comes Street Fighter IV to be honest I was no looking forward to this after the awful flop that was Street Fighter 3, after seeing the reviews this game got I felt like this game would redeem the franchise and finally give fighting game fans a great fighting game after most of the fighting games this gen Soul Calibur 4, MK vs DC and Tekken 6 turned out to be underwhelming games that did not live up to their potential. But when I played this game expecting to relive the amazing time I had with Street Fighter 2 I was just let down. First of all the A.I in the game is just cheap and messed up. Capcom also changed its controls and combos so the veteran players would have to learn and master all over again to be honest that would not have been a problem for me if the A.I actually gave you a chance you see if you are veteran player and you want to completely master a game you should start out on the lowest difficulty in a game and that exactly what i did when I first played this game and what happened? Well even on the lowest difficulty the A.I is cheap as hell doing the same unblockable and unavoidable moves over and over again and even exploiting the new meter system, this kind of stuff should not happen at the easiest difficulty otherwise how in the world are you going to learn the combos and execute them. The Meter System would have been a great addition if the game actually did a good job of explaining how it actually works for the players. Sure the game has the combos listed in its menu but they are really hard to bloody understand and even when you get to understand them executing is a bigger pain because the controls are just slow in responding. In a game like this which is hard as hell and takes a while to master the unresponsive controls just make it alot harder to execute combos and special moves making the fights harder and annoying plus the awful directional pad on the 360 just makes all this more painful. Plus the game has a lack of modes where are team battle, 2 on 2 fights, Mission or Challenge mode and an actual story mode none of that is in the game plus the roster is very thin and here I was thinking they would expand the roster by a large number, there are only 4 new characters in total thats it. As far as the online Multiplayer goes it is much better than the offline mode because atleast the players online don't have the tendency to do one cheap move after another and kicking your a** as much A.I does in the arcade mode thaty is simply because it is hard and time consuming to learn combos and special moves and executing them. The graphics even though if cartoonish look great, the environments in fight areas look fantastic even for 2D and characters models during the gameplay also look great and I would also say that the voice acting for all the characters has been done really well. But the anime cutscenes just look terrible and I mean terrible it looks like i am watching a cartoon show on cartoon network only alot worse. All those scenes look tedious and corny and lip syching is also a problem during the scene couldn't they have just made the characters look like they do during the gameplay because that would have been so much better. I must admit however the game does have a alot of extras but will you really be willing to spend all the time it takes to unlock the extras in the game because of how problematic it is learn and than execute combos against the cheap A.I in the arcade mode..It is so obvious CAPCOM did not go all out on this game because they wanted to release a Super SFIV with more content so that they can hog more money from their fans this move has just proven that CAPCOM cares more about money than giving fans what they really want. As a huge Street Fighter 2 fan I really wanted to like this game and have fun with it but all these problems just ruined the game for me and it is just sad for an incomplete and to an extent problematic fighting game like this can get 93/100 metascore. 6/10 Expand
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 77 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. If you're a novice, a training mode and eight levels of difficulty will help you find your way. If you're a pro, SFIV contains all the depth you've ever loved about the series, without compromise. Capcom simply got the feel of Street Fighter perfectly right. [Feb 2009, p.76]
  2. 100
    At the end of the day, that's really what this Street Fighter is: it's a title that's built for newcomers, yet tweaked for old school vets from the arcade and console days. [Mar 2009, p.75]
  3. 93
    Street Fighter IV is a fantastic game overall and Capcom should be commended for designing a game that can work on so many levels by appealing to both casual and hardcore players.