User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 275 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 44 out of 275

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GrassHopper
    Jun 4, 2009
    10
    At first when I played this game is didn't think much of it, but as you go into the game. If it truly worth the money, I can't up it down.
  2. ColinO.
    Feb 18, 2009
    10
    This game is fighting bliss. Art style is tops. Content seems never ending. Online is streamlined and the best Ive seen on a fighter. Graphics are awesome. A more then worth successor to a classic series I have loved for years.
  3. LiefSpringer
    Feb 20, 2009
    10
    no weapons, no switching fighting stances, no running, no counters, no super interactive levels, what do you get? the best fighting game of the next generation; just the right amount of tweeks and changes to bring fans of old and new. for those with a 360 controller, i suggest getting a game stop one where the arrows is a regular cross, its a huge improvement on any fighting game; 25 bucksno weapons, no switching fighting stances, no running, no counters, no super interactive levels, what do you get? the best fighting game of the next generation; just the right amount of tweeks and changes to bring fans of old and new. for those with a 360 controller, i suggest getting a game stop one where the arrows is a regular cross, its a huge improvement on any fighting game; 25 bucks and it blows away the ps3 controller as well. enjoy Expand
  4. GilR
    Mar 5, 2009
    10
    About as complete of a fighter I've ever experienced in my 20 years of gaming. As a fighting game fan, this is utopia. SFIV piece together an excellent cast, a great balance of moves and gameplay and outstanding graphics and sound. It's been said before...I feel like I'm back in 1991 with a pocket full of quarters and lookin' for a fight at my local arcade. Anyone that About as complete of a fighter I've ever experienced in my 20 years of gaming. As a fighting game fan, this is utopia. SFIV piece together an excellent cast, a great balance of moves and gameplay and outstanding graphics and sound. It's been said before...I feel like I'm back in 1991 with a pocket full of quarters and lookin' for a fight at my local arcade. Anyone that gives this title less than a '6' is carrying some sort of extreme bias. You don't have to be a tournament troll or a combo king to enjoy this title. But turn off your extreme-opinions off and understand that SFIV has redefined fighting games once again. Bravo, Capcom. Expand
  5. Will
    Apr 29, 2009
    10
    Pure brilliance. Pure, adrenaline fuelled adictive awesomeness. I've waited too long for this, and will still be playing it until SFV comes out. Graphics = 10 Gameplay = 10 Sound = 6 (main menu track is poor, but lobby and fighting sounds are top-notch. Does lack decent stage music though) Online Play = 10 (New championship (free) update is incredible. I've only had about 2 Pure brilliance. Pure, adrenaline fuelled adictive awesomeness. I've waited too long for this, and will still be playing it until SFV comes out. Graphics = 10 Gameplay = 10 Sound = 6 (main menu track is poor, but lobby and fighting sounds are top-notch. Does lack decent stage music though) Online Play = 10 (New championship (free) update is incredible. I've only had about 2 laggy matches in 1500. The tournament ladder-based gameplay is relentlessly addictive.) Overall, I can get easily over the poor menu tune when the game is this good. I do agree with bad AI in some respects, but hey the online is damn near perfect (just need lobbies) so who cares about AI. Expand
  6. simonp
    May 21, 2009
    10
    I don
  7. AlexF.
    Feb 18, 2009
    10
    Capcom done it's job very well this time offering us an original street fighter game which is the best so far and reminded us the roots of fighting games.
  8. DeeR.
    Feb 19, 2009
    10
    What can i say its street fighter. It is a blend of a little bit of everything that was good in the previous versions. Looks great, plays great with the arcade stick, don't recommend the controller cause it makes the game a 8.
  9. DonnieI.
    Feb 19, 2009
    10
    Absolutely awesome return the the genre that started it all folks! Amazing in every aspect imaginable!
  10. DannyR.
    Feb 19, 2009
    10
    Unparalleled!
  11. DaveC
    Feb 21, 2009
    10
    The below reviews are on the money, this is a true 10/10 classic. However, some of you have docked it points because you say the controller isn't suited for it. That's the fault of microsoft, not Capcom. If you play SF II HD Remix with a 360 pad, it's so much harder to pull off specials, whereas in SF IV it's much easier, whatever they did to make it easier, it's aThe below reviews are on the money, this is a true 10/10 classic. However, some of you have docked it points because you say the controller isn't suited for it. That's the fault of microsoft, not Capcom. If you play SF II HD Remix with a 360 pad, it's so much harder to pull off specials, whereas in SF IV it's much easier, whatever they did to make it easier, it's a small blessing.

    By far the best beat-em-up so far, roll on the DLC
    Expand
  12. DanA
    Feb 23, 2009
    10
    If Resident Evil 5 doesn't best Street Fighter IV, no game will until the big Fall/Winter releases. This is the best fighting game ever made, it's beautiful, the gameplay is superb, and that review from The Onion giving it a 67 should really not even count. It's ridiculous.

    The 360/PS3 controllers both have specific faults depending on the character you try to play. But
    If Resident Evil 5 doesn't best Street Fighter IV, no game will until the big Fall/Winter releases. This is the best fighting game ever made, it's beautiful, the gameplay is superb, and that review from The Onion giving it a 67 should really not even count. It's ridiculous.

    The 360/PS3 controllers both have specific faults depending on the character you try to play. But you can still play most of the characters in the game with either controller regardless. I personally use an Arcade Stick, but the base game is still amazing.
    Expand
  13. SteveM
    Feb 25, 2009
    10
    This game is excellent and brilliantly balanced. As good as they come. I'd like to address to issues that have been coming up. First, if you bought this game with no intention of buying a better controller, it's your fault, not Capcom's. It's common knowledge that the dpads on conventional controllers are inadequate. Do your research; don't blame the game because This game is excellent and brilliantly balanced. As good as they come. I'd like to address to issues that have been coming up. First, if you bought this game with no intention of buying a better controller, it's your fault, not Capcom's. It's common knowledge that the dpads on conventional controllers are inadequate. Do your research; don't blame the game because you were too ignorant to have done so. Second, the game is balanced...different than previous iterations, but brilliantly reworked. People who complain that it's flawed are just resistant to relearn things, which is ironic, because much of the previous foundation remains intact. People who complain about this game aren't very good at it, chances are. I cannot recommend this game enough. And honestly, with a new fightpad, I'm a better player at SF than ever before! Expand
  14. ChrisM
    Apr 22, 2009
    10
    Okay people... I'm not exactly sure where you learned how to grade a game. But for you complete morons out there, let's think about it for a second. A "1" or a "0" score? Those should be reserved for games that were absolute garbage; games that the production company obviously spent no time on, rushed it, or otherwise just didn't care (some movie-to-game titles come to Okay people... I'm not exactly sure where you learned how to grade a game. But for you complete morons out there, let's think about it for a second. A "1" or a "0" score? Those should be reserved for games that were absolute garbage; games that the production company obviously spent no time on, rushed it, or otherwise just didn't care (some movie-to-game titles come to mind). But a game as deep and involving as Street Fighter IV deserves, at the very LEAST, a 7. The gripes about the difficulty of computer AI are inane. I am by no means an expert a this game (my Battle Points on 360 run an average of 1800 to 2300), and I can still manage to beat the game on every difficulty level, albeit with a bit more frustration on the Hardest setting due completely to Seth, which is one of my very few gripes about the game. I realize this review is mostly a review of other people's reviews....but I think it needs to be addressed that it's simply not right to instantly give a game a 0 or a 1, just because you may have had a few issues with it. Oh, and one final note - for the people complaining about the difficulty: there is a little thing called "practicing" a game to get good at it. There's even a mode called "PRACTICE." Imagine that! Expand
  15. MattPoskitt
    Feb 17, 2009
    10
    This game is gonna be awesome, the graphics look good and the gameplay looks spot on, the achievements aren't going to be a walk in the park. I love the expressive faces on each of the characters when they are shoryukened in the chin lol. my only worry is about online lag.
  16. ScottD.
    Feb 19, 2009
    10
    This game is perfectly balanced and plays exactly as it should.
  17. johns
    Feb 27, 2009
    10
    An Awesome Game that will totally blow you away if you're a street fighter fan. Great Balance and a Highly technical 2D fighter with even more depth the 3S(if u can believe that). "Nicholas Long" "The throw system has been completely broken." you've never played SF3 series i guess. "In the past SFs when you're standing up you'd have a split second of invulnerability to An Awesome Game that will totally blow you away if you're a street fighter fan. Great Balance and a Highly technical 2D fighter with even more depth the 3S(if u can believe that). "Nicholas Long" "The throw system has been completely broken." you've never played SF3 series i guess. "In the past SFs when you're standing up you'd have a split second of invulnerability to throw your opponent if they're standing over your body (balance) and if they were trying to throw you as you stood up you'd win that throw battle every time. Not so in SFIV." wakeup invincibility is there and you can easily jump out even if the opponent goes for an ex command grab. "Also, the focus cancellation (more advanced moves) aren't balance. Someone like ken can have his hurricane kick canceled by the focus attack or a super combo uppercut which is unlockable to you're looking at about a 14-16 hit combo that drains more than 75% of your life." The damage scaling in this game doesn't make combos take that much of life. "SSIV to appeal to the masses and be more accessible has been broken and made unbalanced for the sake of having some really cool looking combos for some characters, and other's are just totally nerfed.Avoid this game if you like the balance of the previous iterations of SF. Stick with HD remix, much better game if you ask me."" lol you really don't know what you're talking about.Sf4 is probably the most balanced fighter there is.If you've seen the recent tougeki tier list none of the charas have 8-2 matchups,the characters ranking doesnt goto the D,E,F level ranks and only has S,A,B,C ranks and Low tier charas like dhalsim have won tourneys. Please dont try to act like you know about this stuff because its obvious that you don't. Expand
  18. TonyF
    Mar 15, 2009
    10
    Cmon People ....this is not meant to be played as VF or DOA ..... This is Strees Fighter !!!!!!!!! the best Fighting Game since Street Fighter 2.....Why is it better than 3rd Strike? .....Simple..... that game is great and everything but id rather kick asses with the full original cast of Characters than just having Ryu , Ken , Chun-Li and Akuma to play with because i dont care for AlexCmon People ....this is not meant to be played as VF or DOA ..... This is Strees Fighter !!!!!!!!! the best Fighting Game since Street Fighter 2.....Why is it better than 3rd Strike? .....Simple..... that game is great and everything but id rather kick asses with the full original cast of Characters than just having Ryu , Ken , Chun-Li and Akuma to play with because i dont care for Alex and all the other new Shitty Characters introduced in the game ....so that makes Street Fighter 4 the better game Expand
  19. TrevorG
    Mar 17, 2009
    10
    If you were a kid when SFII came out... and you remember challenging people to fight at the arcade with a pocket full of quarters... then you'll love SFIV. It everything you could have possibly ever wanted SFII to be and then some. The 360 pad works FAR better than the PS3 pad for this game. Don't buy into the hype... you don't need an arcade stick. Anyone remember playing If you were a kid when SFII came out... and you remember challenging people to fight at the arcade with a pocket full of quarters... then you'll love SFIV. It everything you could have possibly ever wanted SFII to be and then some. The 360 pad works FAR better than the PS3 pad for this game. Don't buy into the hype... you don't need an arcade stick. Anyone remember playing SFII with a Super Nintendo pad? Now that was challenging! Expand
  20. CamoteH
    May 18, 2009
    10
    7.9 huh? Right. This game is a solid 9, the reason I am giving it a 10 is because I hate to see the biased people affecting the score the game really deserves. Yes, it can be improved, and paying for things as extra customes sucks, but overall the gaming experience is supreme, and welcomes not only hc fans but noobs. This is a must buy for any xbox 360 owner with a minimum interest in the 7.9 huh? Right. This game is a solid 9, the reason I am giving it a 10 is because I hate to see the biased people affecting the score the game really deserves. Yes, it can be improved, and paying for things as extra customes sucks, but overall the gaming experience is supreme, and welcomes not only hc fans but noobs. This is a must buy for any xbox 360 owner with a minimum interest in the genre. The characters are memorable (granted the newcomers and the final boss are not as strong as our well known friends, but asking for perfect is impossible) the animation is superb and the experience against a (real, sitting next to you) friend is pure fun and good times. It took me back to the snes golden era. Thanks Capcom, lets make the next one even better (take care of the stages, they look way too random, we miss the plane and the exact country location). Expand
  21. AckCaramel
    Feb 17, 2009
    9
    Amazing, just amazing!
  22. JacobDIckey
    Feb 22, 2009
    9
    Great game and mechanics, only real complaint is the lack of balance in some characters. Some of the characters were left in a lack luster state that makes it near impossible to be competitive with them. Other characters like Sagat, got beefed so hard that it is hard not to win with him. Also when you do focus attacks you see your character rendered in the watercolor style, which looksGreat game and mechanics, only real complaint is the lack of balance in some characters. Some of the characters were left in a lack luster state that makes it near impossible to be competitive with them. Other characters like Sagat, got beefed so hard that it is hard not to win with him. Also when you do focus attacks you see your character rendered in the watercolor style, which looks much better than their dimorphic renditions, and they should have stuck with that as the main art style. Expand
  23. AndrewB.
    Feb 18, 2009
    9
    Street Fighter IV lives up to the series name by bringing a solid fighting experience with precise controls and beautiful visuals. The gameplay is incredibly fast, fun, and addicting. The only downside to this game is the music that plays on the menu screen...
  24. BenH.
    Feb 25, 2009
    9
    Amazing game.. feels alot like the orginal street fighter 2 but with more depth to the graphics. The fighting system is also the same but its is expanded to make the game far more enjoyable. I love the way in arcade mode real players can challenge you. It gives you that real feeling of being at the arcade. My one gripe with this game and the reason i dropped it from a 10 is because the Amazing game.. feels alot like the orginal street fighter 2 but with more depth to the graphics. The fighting system is also the same but its is expanded to make the game far more enjoyable. I love the way in arcade mode real players can challenge you. It gives you that real feeling of being at the arcade. My one gripe with this game and the reason i dropped it from a 10 is because the music is absolutly horrible. The worst game music i have ever heard. They should ahve taken the original music as this would ahve finished off the ultimate flashback to Street Fighter. What a shame that they did not do this. Oh well, i'll have to settle for playing the original street fighter sounds through my PC, there is always a work-around. Expand
  25. cr0nt
    May 25, 2009
    9
    This game is freaking awesome. The 0 score is particularly strange - I found the normal trials easy for all the characters, and yes, I use the 360 pad (up to 830GS on it), and as for 'good' players succumbing to a spreadsheet Ken? Please. This game is not easy, but if that's what you want, go buy Avatar. The graphics are amazing, there is an excellent system of trials to This game is freaking awesome. The 0 score is particularly strange - I found the normal trials easy for all the characters, and yes, I use the 360 pad (up to 830GS on it), and as for 'good' players succumbing to a spreadsheet Ken? Please. This game is not easy, but if that's what you want, go buy Avatar. The graphics are amazing, there is an excellent system of trials to give you the basic combos for your character, the other trials let you practice these and string together a few of your own. Put the time in and you will be rewarded. Now, Capcom, give us the update for Quarter mode. Expand
  26. WyntonR.
    Feb 17, 2009
    9
    It feels retro, yet new at the same time. . . and the cutscenes are the worst part. Hardcore fans will note the lack of SFIII characters, and some of the later SF mechanics and systems (parry anyone?), but focus attacks add a lot more depth to the game than you would think.
  27. MarkP.
    Feb 19, 2009
    9
    It's pretty much perfect in every way. you would find it hard to find fault with Street Fighter IV, and to be honest, after this long waiting for the proper 4th installment, why would you want to?
  28. JeromeL
    Feb 26, 2009
    9
    This game is awesome. If you don't have xbox live, this game is ok and it's kinda worth getting. But if you have xbox live, this game is a definite keeper. They make this game very in depth with the online play that the next time you look at your clock, 2 hours will pass by. Unlocking the achivements will also take a long while. The only thing I have against this game is This game is awesome. If you don't have xbox live, this game is ok and it's kinda worth getting. But if you have xbox live, this game is a definite keeper. They make this game very in depth with the online play that the next time you look at your clock, 2 hours will pass by. Unlocking the achivements will also take a long while. The only thing I have against this game is searching for players online. It's a little frustrating finding a person online for a quick match because their either playing or someone already got the request before you. But you can just create a match which finds someone a lot easier. Other than that, this is a definite keeper. Buy it or else!! Expand
  29. CuriousSofa
    Feb 27, 2009
    9
    Possibly the best Street Fighter since Street Fighter Alpha 2, SF IV is fun, fast, gorgeous and cool. The final boss is amazingly cheap and frustrating, but you can unlock all the characters by setting the difficulty to "very easy" and the # of rounds to 1. Nice!
  30. Aug 22, 2011
    9
    Okay Capcom, you showed up with your sleepy franchise to give it a comeback. I'm glad that you made this at last and trnasformed the awesome series to a monster of a game. Beutiful graphics, solid gameplay ( ultimately slow though) and nice features makes the best entrie in the series. Even with those great feautres get the Super Street Fighter or the new Arcade one that came out, overallOkay Capcom, you showed up with your sleepy franchise to give it a comeback. I'm glad that you made this at last and trnasformed the awesome series to a monster of a game. Beutiful graphics, solid gameplay ( ultimately slow though) and nice features makes the best entrie in the series. Even with those great feautres get the Super Street Fighter or the new Arcade one that came out, overall Capcom slipped the hand on making to much Street Fighter in less than 4 years probably , so get the most updated version. Expand
  31. BilltheIceman
    Mar 3, 2009
    8
    It's funny that 360 owners are screaming that both versions need a 3rd party controller to fully enjoy the game, yet PS3 owners seem to find the default controller to work just fine. I've played both versions at home and can't find a difference worth noting. If you want to shell out an extra 59-99 dollars on a special controller, go with the 360 version - but the PS3 It's funny that 360 owners are screaming that both versions need a 3rd party controller to fully enjoy the game, yet PS3 owners seem to find the default controller to work just fine. I've played both versions at home and can't find a difference worth noting. If you want to shell out an extra 59-99 dollars on a special controller, go with the 360 version - but the PS3 controller works fine for me. I rated one point higher on the PS3 simply due to the controller difference. Collapse
  32. AdamR
    Apr 22, 2009
    8
    Old school street fighter with prettier graphics and additional characters/combos and a few new in game mechanics. The core issue still remains that any player can randomly press buttons or utilize the same technique repeatedly can still win against or be as good as someone who knows and can do the game inside and out. Also, the game favors a controller costing nearly $100 additional, so Old school street fighter with prettier graphics and additional characters/combos and a few new in game mechanics. The core issue still remains that any player can randomly press buttons or utilize the same technique repeatedly can still win against or be as good as someone who knows and can do the game inside and out. Also, the game favors a controller costing nearly $100 additional, so unless you want to get serious, you're going to fork over the extra dough. Expand
  33. RobertoG
    Apr 20, 2009
    8
    Awesome game for graphics, playability and lasting appeal online. The best fighting game around. The drawback is the ridicolous A.I. and the fact that Seth, the final boss plays with his rules making the game frustrating unless u don't play like a kid with the same move all the time and looks awful too like other chars (Fei Long). Not much fun alone, incredible in multiplayer. You Awesome game for graphics, playability and lasting appeal online. The best fighting game around. The drawback is the ridicolous A.I. and the fact that Seth, the final boss plays with his rules making the game frustrating unless u don't play like a kid with the same move all the time and looks awful too like other chars (Fei Long). Not much fun alone, incredible in multiplayer. You gotta buy an arcade stick with this title, ps3 and xbox controllers don't fit it. Expand
  34. yarkiebrown
    May 28, 2009
    8
    Disappointed at first play through, but after a week or so was hooked. Really enjoy the new championship mode too. Would have probably given a higher score but capcom charging for alternative costumes annoyed me a lot.
  35. OC
    Mar 14, 2009
    8
    If I still had a soul to sell it would probably be swapped quite happily for some Street Fighter IV skills. The game is wonderfully presented, perfectly balanced; yet harder to breach than the chastity belt of a medieval princess. Each fighter is wonderful to play, but be prepared to pick one and stick with it as it will take alot of hard work to beat those pesky chaps online, and If I still had a soul to sell it would probably be swapped quite happily for some Street Fighter IV skills. The game is wonderfully presented, perfectly balanced; yet harder to breach than the chastity belt of a medieval princess. Each fighter is wonderful to play, but be prepared to pick one and stick with it as it will take alot of hard work to beat those pesky chaps online, and don't get me started on the bots. Unfortunatly I do not have alot of time available to me and as such, although SFIV truly is the best fighting game to grace the current gen without a doubt, it is also frustratingly elitiest. That being said, I heartily recommend this game, even if you only play it with friends in the confort of your living room. At least that way the embarresment of losing won't dent your impeccable online reputation. Or you could do what I do and leap around the screen like a mad man wondering why you could Hadoyuken in practice but the moment an adversary is present my fingers turn to jelly. Expand
  36. Jun 13, 2011
    8
    This is very impressive for a Street Fighter game.Never really liked the franchise but this version is very good.
    Are there Mortal Kombat vs Street Fighter fans still around after all these years?Well,Mortal Kombat is much better.Good effort though SF.
  37. Sep 28, 2011
    8
    People who hate on this game are clearly impatient. This was the first fighting game I ever played and after many hours practice, I finally saw why it's a good game. At first, it seems terrible but after you do all the trials in challenge mode it becomes easier. It's not for casual gamers (at least SUPER SFIV isn't) but there's lots of content in challenge mode and while you can runPeople who hate on this game are clearly impatient. This was the first fighting game I ever played and after many hours practice, I finally saw why it's a good game. At first, it seems terrible but after you do all the trials in challenge mode it becomes easier. It's not for casual gamers (at least SUPER SFIV isn't) but there's lots of content in challenge mode and while you can run through everything in the single player by just spamming Lariat with Zangief, the strategy and execution required for online play will make you keep wanting more if you can get into the game and see the skill in it. Expand
  38. MarkT.
    Feb 20, 2009
    7
    Fun game, great blast from the past, nice graphics entertaining gameplay - all brought down enormously by the awful response to the 360's controller. It really is almost impossible to pull off many of these moves without a fight stick, and quite frankly, that's not acceptible given the price of those things. Trying, for example, Blanka's super and ultra combos - hold back, Fun game, great blast from the past, nice graphics entertaining gameplay - all brought down enormously by the awful response to the 360's controller. It really is almost impossible to pull off many of these moves without a fight stick, and quite frankly, that's not acceptible given the price of those things. Trying, for example, Blanka's super and ultra combos - hold back, right, left, right and punch - all with a thumb stick - it barely works. The only way I found was to twist the controller round and wiggle the left thumbslick with my right hand. Perhaps I need to change the setup a bit, but seriously - this is a serious serious shortfall. Expand
  39. RobH
    Mar 6, 2009
    7
    This is how all classic 2D games should be updated; rendered in 3D but still on a 2D playing plane... and if you are a hardcore fan of the Street Fighter franchise, you're going to love this. But, on the other hand, that's also the weakness of this game -- it's pretty much the exact same game we played in 1991, and punishingly difficult to master as well. If you're a This is how all classic 2D games should be updated; rendered in 3D but still on a 2D playing plane... and if you are a hardcore fan of the Street Fighter franchise, you're going to love this. But, on the other hand, that's also the weakness of this game -- it's pretty much the exact same game we played in 1991, and punishingly difficult to master as well. If you're a casual fan, rent, don't buy. Expand
  40. JustinT
    Apr 3, 2009
    7
    Eh at best. Not giving this game a 10 JUST because its SF is fanboy bias. This is a fun game to play if you like fighting games....otherwise its a total waste of time. That said, counters make this a better game than say....tekken where button mashing easily wins the day. However, $60 for a replica of the early 90's is not balanced, or fair to the consumers. This should have been an Eh at best. Not giving this game a 10 JUST because its SF is fanboy bias. This is a fun game to play if you like fighting games....otherwise its a total waste of time. That said, counters make this a better game than say....tekken where button mashing easily wins the day. However, $60 for a replica of the early 90's is not balanced, or fair to the consumers. This should have been an arcade release for 1200 points. You want a game with depth and balance? I go back to killer instinct gold for the n64. Expand
  41. JerryDickson
    Feb 22, 2009
    7
    DON'T BELIEVE THE HYPE - Unless you're a big Street Fighter fanatic then this might get a higher score , but if you're just a regular gamer like me and you like time to strategize your moves, then Mortal Kombat vs DC is way better looking and easier gameplay. But I'm just a normal guy not some video game geeker. If you like button mashing and getting trapped in theDON'T BELIEVE THE HYPE - Unless you're a big Street Fighter fanatic then this might get a higher score , but if you're just a regular gamer like me and you like time to strategize your moves, then Mortal Kombat vs DC is way better looking and easier gameplay. But I'm just a normal guy not some video game geeker. If you like button mashing and getting trapped in the corner, or beat by your 5 year old cousin then this is the game for you. This game didn't seem much different from the older versions either... I wasn't empressed. Expand
  42. MeN
    Mar 14, 2009
    7
    A decent comeback... It just feels slightly 'chunky'. I would have enjoyed a few more Super moves, but it'll do for now. Decent character roster, although the storyline makes no sense. Why is Master Gouken alive? Sakura is still a kid? etc. Anyway, at least it's back. I hardly think it deserve 100% though.
  43. Sep 27, 2010
    7
    im not a big fighting game fan to begin with so and fighting game that has me playing it longer then a day or 2 is pretty good in my book. i have played most of the SF games and liked alot of them . i think 2d style fighting games for some reason will always be more fun then the 3d ones. the games looks beutiful . controls both on the 360 and ps3 arnt very tight mainly because some of theim not a big fighting game fan to begin with so and fighting game that has me playing it longer then a day or 2 is pretty good in my book. i have played most of the SF games and liked alot of them . i think 2d style fighting games for some reason will always be more fun then the 3d ones. the games looks beutiful . controls both on the 360 and ps3 arnt very tight mainly because some of the moves are so close together controlwise that you will be doing the wrong move alot with some charicters i had ALOT of problesm with Ryu . also not really alot of charicters when you look at some of the other SF games. it also has a UBBER cheap boss even on very easy he just spams the same move over and over using ryus flying upper cut attack over and over and over and over again. i also wish they added more special moves to this game . i also felt the supper attacks didnt look as flashy as say in marvel vs capcom 1 or 2. still though this game is fun and online will provide you with alot of fun and bring you back to the early 90s of playing people in the arcade . Expand
  44. CrossMeteor
    Jan 20, 2010
    6
    OK. The most of the magazines give it a 100. They need to sale the game. This game haven't improved anything, only the 3-D graphics, but it's the same, why has it a 100? Fable II, Darksiders, Dante's Inferno... and a longer etc are better than this. This game is boring and too basic.
  45. Sablicious...
    Jun 27, 2009
    6
    Street Fighter IV is a disappointment if only for the reason it's so damn 'casualized'. Sure, the game has SOME depth if one can implement the 'Focus' system in canceling et cetera. But when compared to the parry system in SFIII, the Focus thing is, like the rest of the game, too n00b/scrub friendly for hardcore players (ie. those that put the series where it is Street Fighter IV is a disappointment if only for the reason it's so damn 'casualized'. Sure, the game has SOME depth if one can implement the 'Focus' system in canceling et cetera. But when compared to the parry system in SFIII, the Focus thing is, like the rest of the game, too n00b/scrub friendly for hardcore players (ie. those that put the series where it is today in the fight-game pantheon). Off-line is token, as expected. Once one's unlocked the characters (provided your 'main' isn't available from the get-go and you're not a Achievement ho) - I did this in like 1-2 hours! - there's nothing there worth a gamer's time. The AI on a whole is cheap, NOT challenging, and abuses the game's poorly implemented/balanced throw/special throw mechanic. On-line, although addictive to begin with, becomes a bore and a 'while intoxicated/drug addled ONLY' proposition once you realise how skewed the game is in favor of certain characters *cough'GIEFcoughSAGATcough* ...! -_- The ranking system for on-line is utterly meaningless as it does not incorporate GAMEPLAY in its apportionment of points, only wins and loss. And as alluded to, pick a certain character and, except in the most extreme cases of skill disparity, the bout is decided before it begins. Couple that with a 'Championship mode' where players can hand pick their opponents (exacerbated by a deceptive ping indicator where 1/5 connection is often more stable than 5/5!), a mode that is comprised of only 3-round bouts (making for a lottery in a game as damaged scaled as SFIV), and you've got a pointless on-line ranking system. As far as gameplay is concerned, despite what some uninitiated types will tell you, is far dumbed down from earlier iterations of the franchise. Although very accessible for the 'Wii generation', moves in actual fact are harder to rely upon for advance techniques due to a 'short-cut' command input system where moves only need inputs negligibly close to what's prescribed to pull off. This leads to 'move clashes' aplenty for even the most dexterous SF veteran. Moreover, the game lacks content up the ying-yang; has curious character omissions (WTF's T.Hawk/Dee Jay but Dan? SETH?? o_0 ... -_-); is plagued by a messy, imprecise command input engine; has some glaring character imbalances; poor hit-box implementation (moves wiff consistently); an on-line mode that really only serves as piss-up/party mode... In summation, SFIV is well playable. But if you're a SF veteran, you'll cringe at the 'kiddified' nature of the game. The on-line is serviceable, but is throw-away in terms of determining player skill. As with most fighters, off-line is for training mode only. The presentation is pretty (with exception of the intro theme! -_-), but lacks in terms of character-specific stages/music. The EGM homage 'Gouken' being the only positive in this respect. An okay fighting game in its own right, especially for non hardcore/weekend gamers. But care must be taken not to heap praise on a game that has very little in terms of competition this console generation. SFIV's definitely a disappointment for the fans who elicited its development in the first place. Expand
  46. tims
    May 23, 2009
    6
    If you've not played the game its ok. Hardly any moves. Same gameplay as in the early 90s. About 4 or 5 moves each character in this day and age is ridiculous. Control pad works pretty good to be honest. Moves are a lot more responsive than in previous games. Funny thing is though, this is the same game which was released in the earloy 90s; sf2 no less. Too easy and over in a If you've not played the game its ok. Hardly any moves. Same gameplay as in the early 90s. About 4 or 5 moves each character in this day and age is ridiculous. Control pad works pretty good to be honest. Moves are a lot more responsive than in previous games. Funny thing is though, this is the same game which was released in the earloy 90s; sf2 no less. Too easy and over in a heartbeat. Muck. High scored are from capcom bumbing critics who know an influential company when they see one. Expand
  47. Alex
    Aug 25, 2009
    6
    I was excited about this game after reading so many high reviews, but after actually playing them, I believe it's entirely the result of nostalgia. The CPU fights are some of the most comical and annoying in the game (during the boss fight I sat crouching in the corner blocking while the boss did literally performed the same move over and over for 5 minutes). The graphics are pretty I was excited about this game after reading so many high reviews, but after actually playing them, I believe it's entirely the result of nostalgia. The CPU fights are some of the most comical and annoying in the game (during the boss fight I sat crouching in the corner blocking while the boss did literally performed the same move over and over for 5 minutes). The graphics are pretty nice. The new characters' character design are boring at best. Everything else about this game is entirely average. Expand
  48. Mar 17, 2011
    6
    Very one dimensional. It's gets old fast and Capcom likes to milks it's customers by selling brand new games that included content that could have just been DLC.
  49. Sep 17, 2011
    6
    I am a huge fan of the fighting games playing them since the original Mortal Kombat days. I have played alot of different fighting game series over the years the Tekken Series, The Mortal Kombat series, The Soul Calibur and Street Fighter series. I just loved Street fighter 2 to death I can't explain the amount of hours I spent on that game and how much fun i had with my cousins whenI am a huge fan of the fighting games playing them since the original Mortal Kombat days. I have played alot of different fighting game series over the years the Tekken Series, The Mortal Kombat series, The Soul Calibur and Street Fighter series. I just loved Street fighter 2 to death I can't explain the amount of hours I spent on that game and how much fun i had with my cousins when playing SF II with them. And than comes Street Fighter 3 one of the most disappointing games ever, the game is just seemed broken and the fighting did not seem polished at all and it surprisingly did not work well in 3D enviroments. And nows comes Street Fighter IV to be honest I was no looking forward to this after the awful flop that was Street Fighter 3, after seeing the reviews this game got I felt like this game would redeem the franchise and finally give fighting game fans a great fighting game after most of the fighting games this gen Soul Calibur 4, MK vs DC and Tekken 6 turned out to be underwhelming games that did not live up to their potential. But when I played this game expecting to relive the amazing time I had with Street Fighter 2 I was just let down. First of all the A.I in the game is just cheap and messed up. Capcom also changed its controls and combos so the veteran players would have to learn and master all over again to be honest that would not have been a problem for me if the A.I actually gave you a chance you see if you are veteran player and you want to completely master a game you should start out on the lowest difficulty in a game and that exactly what i did when I first played this game and what happened? Well even on the lowest difficulty the A.I is cheap as hell doing the same unblockable and unavoidable moves over and over again and even exploiting the new meter system, this kind of stuff should not happen at the easiest difficulty otherwise how in the world are you going to learn the combos and execute them. The Meter System would have been a great addition if the game actually did a good job of explaining how it actually works for the players. Sure the game has the combos listed in its menu but they are really hard to bloody understand and even when you get to understand them executing is a bigger pain because the controls are just slow in responding. In a game like this which is hard as hell and takes a while to master the unresponsive controls just make it alot harder to execute combos and special moves making the fights harder and annoying plus the awful directional pad on the 360 just makes all this more painful. Plus the game has a lack of modes where are team battle, 2 on 2 fights, Mission or Challenge mode and an actual story mode none of that is in the game plus the roster is very thin and here I was thinking they would expand the roster by a large number, there are only 4 new characters in total thats it. As far as the online Multiplayer goes it is much better than the offline mode because atleast the players online don't have the tendency to do one cheap move after another and kicking your a** as much A.I does in the arcade mode thaty is simply because it is hard and time consuming to learn combos and special moves and executing them. The graphics even though if cartoonish look great, the environments in fight areas look fantastic even for 2D and characters models during the gameplay also look great and I would also say that the voice acting for all the characters has been done really well. But the anime cutscenes just look terrible and I mean terrible it looks like i am watching a cartoon show on cartoon network only alot worse. All those scenes look tedious and corny and lip syching is also a problem during the scene couldn't they have just made the characters look like they do during the gameplay because that would have been so much better. I must admit however the game does have a alot of extras but will you really be willing to spend all the time it takes to unlock the extras in the game because of how problematic it is learn and than execute combos against the cheap A.I in the arcade mode..It is so obvious CAPCOM did not go all out on this game because they wanted to release a Super SFIV with more content so that they can hog more money from their fans this move has just proven that CAPCOM cares more about money than giving fans what they really want. As a huge Street Fighter 2 fan I really wanted to like this game and have fun with it but all these problems just ruined the game for me and it is just sad for an incomplete and to an extent problematic fighting game like this can get 93/100 metascore. 6/10 Expand
  50. Aerotsu
    Jan 5, 2010
    5
    Street Fighter 4 would be the best fighting game out there, if it was the only fighting game out there. The problem is there simply isn't any diversity at all in the game. It tries to deliver a lot but, in the end, all characters fight the same way. It cannot be compared to other games of the same genre like Soul Calibur 4 or Dissidia. These games have a much bigger diversity of Street Fighter 4 would be the best fighting game out there, if it was the only fighting game out there. The problem is there simply isn't any diversity at all in the game. It tries to deliver a lot but, in the end, all characters fight the same way. It cannot be compared to other games of the same genre like Soul Calibur 4 or Dissidia. These games have a much bigger diversity of characters, fighting styles, unlockables, strategies, unlike Street Fighter, which requires you to do the same thing over and over again until you actually get to unlock a character... which happens to fight just like the one you used to unlock it! Sometimes it feels like i'm "grinding" (doing the same thing over and over to get a reward, usually on a MMORPG), which is not a good thing on a game like this. It's kind of fun to play it with friends and online, but it really doesn't pay off. If you want a real fight, go get Soul Calibur, Dissidia, Tekken 6 and others of the same genre. Expand
  51. NicholasLong
    Feb 19, 2009
    5
    This game is broken. Talk to any SF vet from the early days you they'll say the same thing. The throw system has been completely broken. It's become a throw happy game even more so than the older SF games. Be prepared to be thrown more than you ever have. In the past SFs when you're standing up you'd have a split second of invulnerability to throw your opponent if This game is broken. Talk to any SF vet from the early days you they'll say the same thing. The throw system has been completely broken. It's become a throw happy game even more so than the older SF games. Be prepared to be thrown more than you ever have. In the past SFs when you're standing up you'd have a split second of invulnerability to throw your opponent if they're standing over your body (balance) and if they were trying to throw you as you stood up you'd win that throw battle every time. Not so in SFIV. They can throw you as you're standing up no matter what. Also, the focus cancellation (more advanced moves) aren't balance. Someone like ken can have his hurricane kick canceled by the focus attack or a super combo uppercut which is unlockable to you're looking at about a 14-16 hit combo that drains more than 75% of your life. Other characters who's supers take more time (Vega) his focus attack cancellation or super cancellation does not yield even close to the same unblockable instant success that ken's does. SSIV to appeal to the masses and be more accessible has been broken and made unbalanced for the sake of having some really cool looking combos for some characters, and other's are just totally nerfed. Avoid this game if you like the balance of the previous iterations of SF. Stick with HD remix, much better game if you ask me. Expand
  52. J.S.
    Oct 11, 2009
    5
    Another re-release of Street Fighter. Stiff controlls and very little to distinguish it from Street Fighter II. Badly acted, random cartoon clips have to be shown before every single player battle to embarrass you. I'm pretty sure the other Street Fighter cartoons aren't anywhere near as lame. Big disapointment. I'd stick with Mortal Combat vs DC.
  53. Bobby
    Feb 26, 2009
    5
    Gotta be kidding me. It's nearly the same gameplay that could be had back in the late 1980's. Other than a slightly better representation, why would this game get high reviews? SF III is way better than this.
  54. MarkR
    Sep 5, 2009
    4
    A huge let down to anybody that is a fan of the series. The characters are terribly unbalanced, as the game takes a few characters (Ryu, Zangief, etc), dips them in gold, and props them up on a petistal while shunning the rest and giving no chance. The game has been simplified significantly since the likes of II and III. Also, the difficulty curve for arcade mode is completely out of A huge let down to anybody that is a fan of the series. The characters are terribly unbalanced, as the game takes a few characters (Ryu, Zangief, etc), dips them in gold, and props them up on a petistal while shunning the rest and giving no chance. The game has been simplified significantly since the likes of II and III. Also, the difficulty curve for arcade mode is completely out of whack. Online play could use a lot of work as well. The ranking system is terrible, and hit recognition can be annoying as well. For long time fans, I'd recommend renting it, because as soon as the nostalgia wears off, the glaring weaknesses permeate the entire game leaving you feel frustrated. For gamers new to the genre, look for better alternatives. They're out there. Expand
  55. KittenM
    Mar 5, 2009
    4
    As a long-term fan of the franchise, I couldn't help but leave SFIV feeling disappointed. The woeful controller setup already detailled by others above me would not be so much of an issue if the characters had been properly balanced. Counters and focus moves become nearly impossible to pull off because the unresponsive controls simply cannot react quickly enough. I won't say As a long-term fan of the franchise, I couldn't help but leave SFIV feeling disappointed. The woeful controller setup already detailled by others above me would not be so much of an issue if the characters had been properly balanced. Counters and focus moves become nearly impossible to pull off because the unresponsive controls simply cannot react quickly enough. I won't say avoid, because it is fun to play...but I, for one, am saddened that this game seems to have been designed specifically with a controller upgrade in mind, rather than working around the limitations of current gen contollers. Expand
  56. joshl
    Feb 26, 2009
    2
    If you are used to the likes of basically any other fighter such as DoA or VF then stay away. and for that matter everyone else should stay away. the combos may be fluid but they are not nearly as freeform as othergames. there is also a complete lack of moves. one button does one thing regardless of how or when you press it. well except the almost impossible unique moves. but aside from If you are used to the likes of basically any other fighter such as DoA or VF then stay away. and for that matter everyone else should stay away. the combos may be fluid but they are not nearly as freeform as othergames. there is also a complete lack of moves. one button does one thing regardless of how or when you press it. well except the almost impossible unique moves. but aside from some chrachters having overpowered moves and other doing less damage than a really nasty fart well.... also it is not a £30 or 60$ game its closer to £100. the game simplky cant be played properly without a stick. the normal pad is to sensitive and unresponsive, to the extent it feels like it's been done purposfully so capcom can sell more stupidly overpriced arecade sticks. overall its a real disappointment, even the old streetfighter turbo on the PS1 one was a better game. Expand
  57. XavierE
    Jan 17, 2010
    1
    Don't trust the critics on this one. This game is an overrated piece of crap. I can compliment the art style and smooth animation, but that's about it. The controls are absolutely impossible with all the extreme precision required, and you will often find yourself executing the wrong move because your analog stick was 1 degree off. Also, the table with the list of moves are very Don't trust the critics on this one. This game is an overrated piece of crap. I can compliment the art style and smooth animation, but that's about it. The controls are absolutely impossible with all the extreme precision required, and you will often find yourself executing the wrong move because your analog stick was 1 degree off. Also, the table with the list of moves are very hard to understand. Give this one a miss. I hate the fighting genre, but if you want a fun fighting game, Tekken is brilliant for that. Expand
  58. DanielN
    Mar 16, 2009
    1
    How this game could get a 93 is absolutely beyond me. Prepare yourself for the glory of having the cpu use a grand total of 3 attacks on you over and over... Thrill to ultra attacks that are so mind bogglingly convoluted so as to keep you from EVER using one... Revel in the backgrounds carrying over from a time before many of you were born... Wonder at the ability for a game so heavily How this game could get a 93 is absolutely beyond me. Prepare yourself for the glory of having the cpu use a grand total of 3 attacks on you over and over... Thrill to ultra attacks that are so mind bogglingly convoluted so as to keep you from EVER using one... Revel in the backgrounds carrying over from a time before many of you were born... Wonder at the ability for a game so heavily hyped to deliver so little... Don't worry SF fans Capcom lives, and they haven't changed a damn thing since 1991. Astro-turfing critics are making even metacritic a dubious source of info. Expand
  59. Jimmyb
    Apr 9, 2009
    0
    Oh dear god. this game sucks. first battles are supposed to be easy and oh no your dead in a second due to the amazingly overpowered CPU. So you try challenges to get better. oh wait, due to the stupidly hard combos you cant get through those. So you try online. its full of people who keep using the same move over and over and over again. This game is terrible. my advice go buy soul calibur.
  60. MegL
    Nov 29, 2009
    0
    This is such a bad game, like genuinly bad. Its so fuvkin' hard. The characters font have that many combos so it gets boring quick. The storylines and clips make me cringe in embarressment. The characters are sooo poorly named. And why do my opponents always use the same attacks over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over This is such a bad game, like genuinly bad. Its so fuvkin' hard. The characters font have that many combos so it gets boring quick. The storylines and clips make me cringe in embarressment. The characters are sooo poorly named. And why do my opponents always use the same attacks over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over again, it gets me so pissed off I broke the controller from throwing it too hard.(xbox360 controller are such pu_sies compared to old system controllers.) there really isn't anything new or better compared to the older versions. The graphics even suck. I really wanted to like this especially after spending $60 on it but ultimately, its a boring, unoriginal abomination. Expand
  61. Ryans
    Nov 29, 2009
    0
    What's wrong with the critics? They'll love anything that used to be good. All the good reviews that users are leaving are just blinded by nostalgia. All the bad reviews are by people wanting a good game but realized that the truth is ths game is terrible.
  62. Aug 13, 2010
    0
    This game is terrible. I was bitterely dissapointed with it. All the good moves are really hard to do, which means your left with boring punches and kicks. If you want a fighting game, i reccomend Soul Calibur IV.
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 77 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. If you're a novice, a training mode and eight levels of difficulty will help you find your way. If you're a pro, SFIV contains all the depth you've ever loved about the series, without compromise. Capcom simply got the feel of Street Fighter perfectly right. [Feb 2009, p.76]
  2. 100
    At the end of the day, that's really what this Street Fighter is: it's a title that's built for newcomers, yet tweaked for old school vets from the arcade and console days. [Mar 2009, p.75]
  3. 93
    Street Fighter IV is a fantastic game overall and Capcom should be commended for designing a game that can work on so many levels by appealing to both casual and hardcore players.