Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 162 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Welcome to Street Fighter X Tekken, where Street Fighter and Tekken series' stalwarts Ryu, Chun-Li, Kazuya Mishima and Nina Williams headline a memorable cast of your favorite fighters in a tag battle dream match for the ages. Street Fighter X Tekken (SFXT) is a 2 vs. 2 tag team-based fighting game where players can freely tag in and out between partners. The game promises to marry the styles of both a 2D and 3D fighting game for a fresh take on the genre. Fans from each series will also be able to play with either Street Fighter's traditional 6 button layout or Tekken's 4 button layout. Players who are new to either series will be able to join in on the fun with an easy-to-understand battle system that promises excitement and countless hours of fun. [Capcom] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Mar 5, 2012
    95
    Street Fighter X Tekken has given me everything I've dreamed of and more from a fighting game.
  2. A fantastically substantial fighting game. If Marvel vs Capcom 3 was too wacky for your tastes, this sits comfortably between it and Street Fighter IV on the lunacy spectrum. The tag mechanic is brilliantly robust, there are loads of new moves to master and the Tekken characters slot in more comfortably than a bum in a favourite armchair. Welcome to your new favourite fighting game.
  3. Mar 14, 2012
    90
    The fighting physics and the technical aspect of this game have been done well. If I had a gripe it would be that the Tekken fighters are harder to use at first, but practice is key in this game. Go buy this, seriously.
  4. Mar 5, 2012
    85
    It's hard to tell whether or not Street Fighter X Tekken will blow up like Street Fighter IV did with the competitive community, but given how good it is, I hope it does. Despite the lack of story options, there's plenty of solid gameplay to be had here, and the online features are going to keep people playing for quite a while. Namco has its work cut out for them with Tekken X Street Fighter.
  5. Apr 17, 2012
    83
    A fine fighter, but the Tekken characters feel like Street Fighter characters. Multiplayer is also laggy. [Apr 2012]
  6. Mar 30, 2012
    80
    A healthy roster of characters and a decent selection of lively arenas is not to be scoffed at. And the important business of smacking each other about --which is what we're all here for after all-- is as fun and frantic as ever.
  7. Mar 12, 2012
    60
    So long as it's consumed in an environment where all you're doing is playing offline, like at an arcade or in someone's living room, Street Fighter X Tekken's excellent engine is enough to carry the game. Delve any deeper, however, and that excellence serves only to highlight each tragic decision that frames it. Capcom has spent countless hours meticulously crafting the gaming equivalent of a Ferrari 458's V8 engine, only to shove it under the hood of a 1987 Chevy Caprice on cinderblocks.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 61
  2. Negative: 36 out of 61
  1. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    This game is simply amazing. Everything I want in a fighting game and more. Sure people are upset over the DLC being on disc already but they already give you enough content to satisfy your needs. Great game overall, I recommend anyone buy it. Expand
  2. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    Wow, amazing how a single 0 effects the overall score to a 4.9. I personally found this game very entertaining. It certainly does its job. While no game is perfect, it plays very well. I say wait for a sale unless you're a hard core fighting gamer. Collapse
  3. Mar 6, 2012
    7
    How in hell can someone rate this game a 0 (zero)? Thats dumb. Every game has at least deserved a 1-2. Its actually ignorance to downvote because the DLC is on the disc... there are other games who dont have it on the disc (mortal kombat) and there the problem is, not everyone gets the DLC so you cant use the new characters even if you get them by yourself. And THAT sucks, i cant use my DLC characters online because some ppl are to dumb or lazy to download some DLC packs to make sure that others can use them online. If the DLC is in some form on the disc, this can not happen. So... some people are really that ignorant and dumb to rate a 0 because of that. Expand
  4. Mar 23, 2012
    3
    I gave this game a 3 because its still a great game but NOT for the Xbox.

    Capcom completely neglected the play with a friend online feature
    for the Xbox 360 because of its "architecture". So basically you're buying a UNFINISHED version of Street Fighter x Tekken if you get it for the Xbox.
    So far I've been ranting about this in the capcom thread and asking them to at least work on fixing this but they just say no. Generally the game is solid, as a matter in fact it's actually a great game! But the way Capcom is handling it is very crappy.

    So if you're planning to get this game and expect to play with your friend.. NOPE and no Capcom is not planning on patching it

    http://www.capcom-unity.com/ask_capcom/go/thread/view/7371/29007353/When_is_the_local_online_pair_play_for_Xbox_360_coming
    Sven post at the bottom.

    Get this game for the PS3 since it has all the exclusives for this game... *sighhh i wish capcom fixes it.. but in all, they dont care. Neither should you for this game
    Expand
  5. Mar 7, 2012
    1
    I do NOT accept Capcom's idea that $60 is not enough money for a game. Locking on disc content behind an additional pay wall is just plain GREED. SFXT is fun and I do like it but I will not buy, or recommend to play a game that is only helping to push the industry as a whole toward greater levels of avarice. Namco seems to be the only company making fighting games that has its fans, company reputation and long term survival of its IP's in mind when it makes and prices its games. I for one am done buying ANYTHING from Capcom. Expand
  6. May 14, 2012
    1
    As great as the game is, there is NO reason why Capcom should lock content that is already on the disc and force us to to buy it as DLC. Do not believe them with their explaination about how it'll make matchmaking easier later on with people that "download" the "DLC" and those that choose not to. I hope the day when fans of fighting games will say no to this type of practice and vote with their wallet and not buy this game. I certainly have and will not buy this game unless they unlock EVERYTHING FOR FREEon the disc that I have bought. Expand
  7. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    I am at the point that I do not care how good the game is. And make no mistake, this game is decent. But Capcom and their DLC crap is really starting to damage my calm. And this $20 DLC for half the fighters is their biggest rip off yet. I have officially cut Capcom from my wallet for now on. Expand

See all 61 User Reviews