User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 243 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 243

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 23, 2010
    5
    I don't understand the love for this game. The controls, while tight, are also totally awkward. For example, if you release the thumbstick while in mid-air, your horizontal speed is retained. This means if I'm jumping right and want to fall straight down, I have to hold left, and then fiddle between left and right a bunch to narrow it down. Little things like this are constantly getting inI don't understand the love for this game. The controls, while tight, are also totally awkward. For example, if you release the thumbstick while in mid-air, your horizontal speed is retained. This means if I'm jumping right and want to fall straight down, I have to hold left, and then fiddle between left and right a bunch to narrow it down. Little things like this are constantly getting in the way, and I'm finding that much of the game's difficulty comes from fighting the controls. Expand
  2. Oct 22, 2010
    5
    Graphics are well drawn and not without charm. Controls are tight and levels are well designed with a consistant difficulty curve.

    Not a bad game but this is just a re-skinned version of N+. If you finished the 100 odd levels of N+ and were left wanting more, this is the game for you but for everyone else, SMB brings nothing new to the table.
  3. cee
    Nov 24, 2010
    7
    I'm sure the next one will be much better. This seemed a little like a first try project in certain ways. It is possible to make it even 'funner' by making it less frustrating.
  4. Oct 31, 2010
    7
    While i can understand where peoples frustration for this game is coming from, this game really makes you look at it and want to beat it. The main drawback to this game are not its controls, but how the controls are used. The controls are more or less fantastic, simply moving, jumping, and accelerating. But the catch is that the levels are of the trial and error sorts. I don't think thereWhile i can understand where peoples frustration for this game is coming from, this game really makes you look at it and want to beat it. The main drawback to this game are not its controls, but how the controls are used. The controls are more or less fantastic, simply moving, jumping, and accelerating. But the catch is that the levels are of the trial and error sorts. I don't think there is anyone that could play this game and beat it without dying at least 50 times. The game throws enemy's, saws and forms of killer ground to make you earn the ending. Thankfully, the game is forgiving, giving you no lives of which you have to keep a watch on. The graphics are you average 2-D plat-former that looks incredible to some, but a few will find they wanted more out of it. What is really incredible about this game is the throwback to older 2-D plat-formers, such as Mario and Ninja Gaiden. Each new world opens with a cut scene that is a parody of a well loved game, but doesn't edger on the ridiculous. The main reason this game has gotten so many bad scores from the users is because of the levels that make this game so challenging. I literally died over 100 times in one simple level, but the placement of the enemies and the saws are what killed me. But the part that i loved is that in the end i wanted to beat the level because i wanted to see the ending. Some people found this game too hard and would rather have a game that didn't have them yelling at their Tv set, but some love a good challenge, and this game delivers that 10 fold. Expand
  5. Jan 18, 2013
    5
    If you like enduring lots of suffering and pain then this is your game. The controls are simple, but with out practice you'll never really feel in control. The game has short levels that only take like 10 to 20 seconds if you don't die in the first 3. The levels are insane and I never beat the game, but I know it only get's harder and That isn't the kind of game I want to play.
  6. Oct 29, 2012
    7
    Looking for an old school challenge with decent humor and tons of unlockables? SMB is tough, and requires strategy, skill, and patience, but pays off when you see all of your attempts assault the level at once upon completion. I can promise you, there is no luck or chance in this game. It is skill based, and the controls are tight, responding directly to input. Aside from numerous easterLooking for an old school challenge with decent humor and tons of unlockables? SMB is tough, and requires strategy, skill, and patience, but pays off when you see all of your attempts assault the level at once upon completion. I can promise you, there is no luck or chance in this game. It is skill based, and the controls are tight, responding directly to input. Aside from numerous easter eggs, and the level ending reward, there is nothing else new to platformers. The difficulty will frustrate everyone, especially towards the end, but Super Meat Boy is a pleasant and surprisingly difficult challenge you can relish in. Expand
  7. Nov 28, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers. Honestly, I love this game. Why? Because it's not a Mario. You're not strictly limited to a single path. You're not restricted to a given amount of lives. The power-ups are replaced by extra characters being cameos from other popular retro-style series like Castle Crashers, Alien Hominid, and Bit.Trip Runner. The level design is infuriatingly difficult, yet it never borders on impossible. The buttery controls are really annoying at times, but I guess that's how it was meant to be. All in all, if you're a fan of those tough-as-nails platformers like I Wanna Be the Guy or N+, this should be the next game to add to your library. That is, if you don't already have it. Collapse
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 51
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 51
  3. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. 90
    XBLA's best pure-2D platformer to date.
  2. May 3, 2011
    90
    Oldschool-Jump and Run at its finest!
  3. Feb 18, 2011
    90
    A 'rare' treat. [Feb 2011, p.91]