User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 241 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 241

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    This game is amazing. Takes me back to playing old school games, how fun and simple those were, but this game has an awesome twist with a super cool story line. It's fun, and so addicting. I've played it for HOURS at a time. This game has personality, which so many others lack. Best. Platformer. Ever. Character development and story writing is astonishing. This game is EPIC.
  2. Oct 22, 2010
    10
    At first: It's a 2D jump-n'-run and you have to rescue/reach the princess at the end of each short level (I don't have to say she gets kidnapped over and over again, do I?) You have to avoid obstacles (it introduces new ones regularly), glide down walls and use the terrain for your advantage like in hundreds of other games. Simple graphics, no real innovations, unforgiving as hell andAt first: It's a 2D jump-n'-run and you have to rescue/reach the princess at the end of each short level (I don't have to say she gets kidnapped over and over again, do I?) You have to avoid obstacles (it introduces new ones regularly), glide down walls and use the terrain for your advantage like in hundreds of other games. Simple graphics, no real innovations, unforgiving as hell and without any big storyline. Nevertheless nearly everybody loves this game. You wonder why? Well I'll tell you - the graphics are simple but stylish and fitting. It puts every scene in a special mood and when meatboy glides down the wall leaving a blood trail behind - nobody would say it looks awful. But yes you will die. You will die a lot. Maybe more often then in any other game. But you'll hardly get frustrated 'cause it's never the games' fault. Thanks to the great controls you know it were just you making a little mistake. And you'll revive instantly at the starting-point anyway (yep, no checkpoints at all). Furthermore each try will be saved and shown in the replay,too. Every one at once - nothing is more satisfying than seeing dozens of meatboys die and one jumping through in a amazing speed without hitting anything. It's like "dude you totally made it! Hell yeah!". You'll often be surprised how short the levels are (around 30 seconds) but with a content of over 300 maps, bonus stages and warp zones (hidden portals with some challenging extra-maps) dark worlds and the unlock-able characters (by collecting bandages placed on masochistic locations on several levels and finishing warp zones) you have tons to do and it's hard to get bored. On top of that you're able to implement Maps made by the community with the editor. In easy words: Download usermade maps from the Internet. It's one of the best plattformers of the last years but also it's an hate-or-love thing. Whether you get instantly addicted for hours and hours or you bite frustrated in your controller and try to burn your HDD out of your xbox. I strongly recommend buying - yep, there's a chance you'll regret it but the risk of missing an awesome piece of game is much higher. Expand
  3. Jan 11, 2011
    10
    dont listen to the moronswho gave this game low scores because of the controls. the controls are spot on! if you die its your fault, simple as that. and i read some guy said it has poor level design.......... thats crazy. the levels are fun, interesting and fast paced. you constantly get better at the game whilst playing, and this increase in skill is so satisfying. you feel like you aredont listen to the moronswho gave this game low scores because of the controls. the controls are spot on! if you die its your fault, simple as that. and i read some guy said it has poor level design.......... thats crazy. the levels are fun, interesting and fast paced. you constantly get better at the game whilst playing, and this increase in skill is so satisfying. you feel like you are getting better in such a short period of time. i played this game with my girlfriend, who isnt exactly good at games, and she went from sucking to being a decent player in about half an hour. the pacing of the game is so fast, and the time flies by so quickly that its impossible to call this a bad/mediocre game. ive got it for pc and xbox, its that good!!! mainly due to it being £3 in the stam sale, but still, its an amazing game. Expand
  4. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    There's only 1 word that perfectly describes this game. SICK. The level design is sick, the difficulty is sick, the art is sick. It's absolutely awesome! There is so much to unlock and find in this game, it's truly unbelievable. Hundreds of levels and hours and hours of fun. Yes, there are times where you're tearing your hair out because it's so difficult.. BUT THAT'S THE FUN OF IT! IfThere's only 1 word that perfectly describes this game. SICK. The level design is sick, the difficulty is sick, the art is sick. It's absolutely awesome! There is so much to unlock and find in this game, it's truly unbelievable. Hundreds of levels and hours and hours of fun. Yes, there are times where you're tearing your hair out because it's so difficult.. BUT THAT'S THE FUN OF IT! If you're not good at platformers or prefer hand holding, this game is NOT for you. It requires practice and patience, skills which a lot of people these days don't have. The rest of you, enjoy! 10 out of 10! Expand
  5. Oct 20, 2010
    9
    This is an amazing game. Is one of the top-3 games on Xbox live!
    Like Limbo or Braid this is a game you shouldn't miss, addictive as hell on campaign or trying to improve your times in each level to beat your friends. AWESOME!
  6. Oct 21, 2010
    10
    Impossibly good. This game should not be compared directly to the retro games of yore. Their clunky controls are reason enough to take a hard look at what was, and know that it belongs in the past. This is the future of platform gaming. The story, while simple, is hilarious, and the cut scenes are actually worth watching for a change. The art is simply enough to make it easy to followImpossibly good. This game should not be compared directly to the retro games of yore. Their clunky controls are reason enough to take a hard look at what was, and know that it belongs in the past. This is the future of platform gaming. The story, while simple, is hilarious, and the cut scenes are actually worth watching for a change. The art is simply enough to make it easy to follow the game, but carries loads of personality. The music is amazing, and despite reports to the contrary, are not all chip-tune tracks. Orchestral, synth and the occasional chippy track in the warp zone levels round out the game nicely. The sound effects are perfectly disgusting, the sound of sloshing, swishing meat drove my wife from the room, so PROPS for that Super Meat Boy.

    Best of all, this game is HARD. It separates the men from the boys (and the women from the boys too), and it is not hard because the levels were poorly built. It is hard because you suck at games. All in all Super Meat Boy is the best game to come along on XBLA in ages.
    Expand
  7. Oct 21, 2010
    9
    Super Meat Boy describes itself as a â
  8. Oct 21, 2010
    10
    I wasn't sure about the game even after watching all the great reviews from everyone that was sent a review copy. When the game came out I immediately installed the trial to see if the controls were as good as everyone was raving about. BOY.......... I WAS SOLD!! This game brought me back to simpler days of relying on SKILL to enjoy a game. That is something I haven't felt in another gameI wasn't sure about the game even after watching all the great reviews from everyone that was sent a review copy. When the game came out I immediately installed the trial to see if the controls were as good as everyone was raving about. BOY.......... I WAS SOLD!! This game brought me back to simpler days of relying on SKILL to enjoy a game. That is something I haven't felt in another game for a LONG time. There have been many great games, indie games even... but there's a certain feeling that only a masterfully crafted game can give you from just GAMEPLAY alone... forget intricate story lines and super ultra realistic graphics. This game has a style of its own and it really fits perfectly with the games "attitude".

    I hope this game becomes a best seller and they work on Super Meat Boy 2 =D
    Expand
  9. Oct 22, 2010
    10
    Super Meat Boy is a perfectly designed arcade platformer which is so well-thought-out that there is little space for frustration. The controls are easy to learn and all the levels are precisely designed. It's true that most of the levels require several retries and that you could have a hard time if you never played one of those old-school arcade games like mario 3 or megaman 2, but that'sSuper Meat Boy is a perfectly designed arcade platformer which is so well-thought-out that there is little space for frustration. The controls are easy to learn and all the levels are precisely designed. It's true that most of the levels require several retries and that you could have a hard time if you never played one of those old-school arcade games like mario 3 or megaman 2, but that's how the game works and repeating a level over and over again has never been so little frustrating. It's a fact that you keep getting better and better with each retry constantly increasing your game-skills and minimizing the amount of luck you need to beat a level. Furthermore the game is packed with ideas and nice features that make you want to play it over and over again, collecting more bandages (which you need to unlock new characters) or beating your best time. All in all SMB is a though but fun game with a great replay value and should not be missed by any serious gamer. If you like challenging games that reward you for the effort you put into playing them, SMB is for you. Expand
  10. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    Great game, brings me back to a simple time. A time where games kicked your a** and then taunted you with it. SMB however is a game using old school beating your a**, but has no real punishment and even makes it a source of entertainment with the replay mechanic. The levels a fiendish and the controls are responsive, the visual style and sound is great with the theme and i can't findGreat game, brings me back to a simple time. A time where games kicked your a** and then taunted you with it. SMB however is a game using old school beating your a**, but has no real punishment and even makes it a source of entertainment with the replay mechanic. The levels a fiendish and the controls are responsive, the visual style and sound is great with the theme and i can't find anything wrong with it. Expand
  11. Oct 29, 2010
    10
    SMB is a jewel of the current gaming generation. I have not played a game like this before, first thing I want to comment on are the controls, It sure seems Team MeatBoy spent quite some time tweaking the controls, its a perfect connection between the mind and control. The graphics for me are charming as it best, from Atari to NES and the normal level design, It has really gotten meSMB is a jewel of the current gaming generation. I have not played a game like this before, first thing I want to comment on are the controls, It sure seems Team MeatBoy spent quite some time tweaking the controls, its a perfect connection between the mind and control. The graphics for me are charming as it best, from Atari to NES and the normal level design, It has really gotten me nostalgic. Yes, ITS HARD, but I like it that way, nailing a perfect run on a stage that minutes before seemed like the end of my SMB gaming days always boosts me up to go foward! An inside out boy, a girlfriend made of bandages and an evil fetus in a jar + lots of character's from other indie games, downloadable levels to never ever be able to fully drop the game. For me, probably one of the best games I have played this year, overall, not just XBOX Live...OVERALL I SAID. Forgot something...The music...makes me want to run around my room...chiptune madness. I would have given this a 9.8 it it was possible, for a missing feature...a music box or something to listen to the songs I desire (like the boss fights, awesome). If my review has not convinced you this is your best 15 bucks you want to spend right now on gaming, well guess what? its 10 bucks till the end of October...why are you not running to buy this already? Expand
  12. Oct 28, 2010
    9
    Honestly as pretty and fun as it is, it can be painfully frustrating. Super Meat Boy steadily rises in difficulty from easy to absurd. The game will stress you out, make your hands sweat and drive you crazy. However you feel rewarded constantly. Whether its beating every single level, beating them AGAIN in the dark world (same map layout, twice the traps) or unlocking all the characters,Honestly as pretty and fun as it is, it can be painfully frustrating. Super Meat Boy steadily rises in difficulty from easy to absurd. The game will stress you out, make your hands sweat and drive you crazy. However you feel rewarded constantly. Whether its beating every single level, beating them AGAIN in the dark world (same map layout, twice the traps) or unlocking all the characters, you will find it hard to put down. Great game, if not for the sheer absurdity of some levels and boss fights, it'd be the perfect platformer. Expand
  13. Nov 3, 2010
    10
    I thought the best platformers were super mario games on the NES.
    Super Meat Boy usurps the throne! This game is pure platforming crack! Earned unlockable cameo indy game stars, equipped with there own stats & useful abilities. I don't think I have ever played a game that tested my skill to this degree. Aside from the Ninja Gaiden Series & Demon's Souls. I have played games since I was a
    I thought the best platformers were super mario games on the NES.
    Super Meat Boy usurps the throne! This game is pure platforming crack! Earned unlockable cameo indy game stars, equipped with there own stats & useful abilities. I don't think I have ever played a game that tested my skill to this degree. Aside from the Ninja Gaiden Series & Demon's Souls. I have played games since I was a child in the golden age of super jump games & Super Meat Boy shatters my platforming perception.

    If you'd like to compare leader boards xbl- killacorleone33
    Expand
  14. Oct 23, 2010
    5
    I don't understand the love for this game. The controls, while tight, are also totally awkward. For example, if you release the thumbstick while in mid-air, your horizontal speed is retained. This means if I'm jumping right and want to fall straight down, I have to hold left, and then fiddle between left and right a bunch to narrow it down. Little things like this are constantly getting inI don't understand the love for this game. The controls, while tight, are also totally awkward. For example, if you release the thumbstick while in mid-air, your horizontal speed is retained. This means if I'm jumping right and want to fall straight down, I have to hold left, and then fiddle between left and right a bunch to narrow it down. Little things like this are constantly getting in the way, and I'm finding that much of the game's difficulty comes from fighting the controls. Expand
  15. Oct 22, 2010
    5
    Graphics are well drawn and not without charm. Controls are tight and levels are well designed with a consistant difficulty curve.

    Not a bad game but this is just a re-skinned version of N+. If you finished the 100 odd levels of N+ and were left wanting more, this is the game for you but for everyone else, SMB brings nothing new to the table.
  16. Oct 21, 2010
    2
    This game is incredibly over-hyped. While there is some charm to be found in the simple mechanics and presentation, the controls can be very loose and fickle. The levels, while short, have almost no margin for error, therein leading to frustration and poor level design masquerading as "challenge". The only reason this is forgivable by so many reviewers is that the very short levelsThis game is incredibly over-hyped. While there is some charm to be found in the simple mechanics and presentation, the controls can be very loose and fickle. The levels, while short, have almost no margin for error, therein leading to frustration and poor level design masquerading as "challenge". The only reason this is forgivable by so many reviewers is that the very short levels allow for endless instant restarts until, often by luck, you get it just right. I support the indie scene, and the "game-play over graphics" mentality, but in this case, the emperor really has no clothes; the game just isn't all that good. Expand
  17. Oct 28, 2010
    0
    This may be the worst game I have ever played. The controls are awful. The sound is awful. The graphics are awful. The game is awful. I do not understand the positive reviews for this game.
  18. Jun 14, 2012
    1
    I decided to give the game 1 in score since it had "okay" controls and a few funny moments. Those two factors however, are microscopic compared to the awful level design, cheap difficulty and short playtime. It seams like we have come to a time were being unfairly difficult, suddenly means good. If the game has so terrible physics and controls that it becomes a puzzle just using a fan toI decided to give the game 1 in score since it had "okay" controls and a few funny moments. Those two factors however, are microscopic compared to the awful level design, cheap difficulty and short playtime. It seams like we have come to a time were being unfairly difficult, suddenly means good. If the game has so terrible physics and controls that it becomes a puzzle just using a fan to jump to a platform, the game is apparently good. You do have unlimited lives however, sso that you can play the same thing 50+ times until you finally get it. FUN. Also, the controls are slightly off. Meatboy doesn't jump when you jump, which can get pretty annoying when your walljumping from small platforms and need to be quick. The story is pretty much Mario, but with a fetus. Charming. Also, the final boss to this game, has to be the absolute stupidest, most unfair thing I've ever fought in a videogame. This game is just pure trial and error, but emphasised on the error part. Also, if you're going to pick on my grammar, I'm Norwegian. Compared to the rest of Norway, I talk and write perfect English. Expand
  19. Nov 29, 2010
    2
    This looks to be like an addictive game. Unfortunately this game was released with a severe bug that prevents autosaving your progress, will give you an incorrect completion %, and will not track your progress correctly. Trust me, this is NOT the kind of game where you want to replay levels because of a stupid bug. What infuriates me is not only has the bug not been fixed over a MONTHThis looks to be like an addictive game. Unfortunately this game was released with a severe bug that prevents autosaving your progress, will give you an incorrect completion %, and will not track your progress correctly. Trust me, this is NOT the kind of game where you want to replay levels because of a stupid bug. What infuriates me is not only has the bug not been fixed over a MONTH after the game's release, but because I know there is no chance this bug wasn't caught in playtesting.

    Seriously, how do you bring about this bug? You simply press Y to replay a level after completing it. There are many reasons why you might want to this -- in order to get the bandage which you didn't get, or to beat your time. Knowing what playtesting is like even for the Indie games on the xbox, I can tell you that there is NO CHANCE this bug wasn't caught in playtesting. I have even gotten the bug when I carefully exited to the map after every level.

    Since there is no chance this wasn't caught (trust me), Microsoft intentionally let a crippled game out the door. I am sure they did this for money reasons, even giving the game a temporary $10 "sale". While I do believe this was MSFT's decision, the game creators are complicit in this and should be ashamed.
    Expand
  20. Dec 20, 2012
    0
    Not that anyone follows my reviews, but if you did you may know that I am on a campaign against games that purposely, and endlessly, frustrate the player. And, people, this is the epicenter (this and The Witcher 2, and the fact that this is worse than that terrible game speaks volumes). The developers had a cool and original idea, and that took up the first 15% of the meeting. Than theyNot that anyone follows my reviews, but if you did you may know that I am on a campaign against games that purposely, and endlessly, frustrate the player. And, people, this is the epicenter (this and The Witcher 2, and the fact that this is worse than that terrible game speaks volumes). The developers had a cool and original idea, and that took up the first 15% of the meeting. Than they said "lets make the player sooo mad that they have to like this game". You know what? There's karma for this typer of thing. Bye-Bye. Expand
  21. Oct 31, 2010
    9
    Downloadable games are getting so good, and this is a very good one out of THAT crop. I was very surprised to not only get a good game (this much I expected) but to also get a very well written story that is also well told. The mechanics are easeir than I expected after reading some reviews...I guess they are the type of controls that some take to and some do not, but I am not seeing theDownloadable games are getting so good, and this is a very good one out of THAT crop. I was very surprised to not only get a good game (this much I expected) but to also get a very well written story that is also well told. The mechanics are easeir than I expected after reading some reviews...I guess they are the type of controls that some take to and some do not, but I am not seeing the issue with clunky controls that some have mentioned. Fun is key here, this game will entertain you for hours on end. Who knew super meat was so super? Expand
  22. Nov 21, 2010
    9
    Wow, this game is freaking awesome. It's so charming and hilarious. If you don't laugh watching one of these cutscenes, you have no soul. Super Meat Boy is unpredictable, it's challenging, but best of all, it's deep. Over 300 levels, stuff to collect, characters to unlock, and going all the way through everything will test your skill and patience. This is one of the best games to releaseWow, this game is freaking awesome. It's so charming and hilarious. If you don't laugh watching one of these cutscenes, you have no soul. Super Meat Boy is unpredictable, it's challenging, but best of all, it's deep. Over 300 levels, stuff to collect, characters to unlock, and going all the way through everything will test your skill and patience. This is one of the best games to release all year, and is right up there with Limbo. It's so difficult at times that it makes Limbo look easy. There is constantly something to strive for while playing this game and that's part of what makes it so fun. There are bandages to collect which contribute to achievements and hidden character unlocks, warp zones in some levels for more retro-inspired challenge, par times to beat for every level (except boss fights) which unlocks a harder, Dark World version of the level with more bandage, warp zones, etc. to go after. Sometimes the level even "glitches" at random and if you complete it while that happens you go to a different, much more difficult world which is reminiscent to "Minus World" in Super Mario Bros.

    Constant nods to past classic games and great indie developer humor coupled with tons of fun characters to unlock makes this game a hell of a lot of fun. The characters have different abilities too. Commander Video from Bit.Trip.Video can glide through the air while Tim from Braid can rewind time for three seconds. There are so many levels to play and so many ways to play through them with a large variety of characters to unlock, Super Meat Boy is packed with charm and challenge.
    Expand
  23. cee
    Nov 24, 2010
    7
    I'm sure the next one will be much better. This seemed a little like a first try project in certain ways. It is possible to make it even 'funner' by making it less frustrating.
  24. Sep 7, 2011
    9
    Incredibility hard to master and absolutely fun to play.
    I recommend this game to everyone to at least trial if not buy!
    9/10 is a high score but it's one of the rare games that i couldn't put down and i kept coming back to months after i had finished it.
    After a 2D old school fun game then give it a go!
  25. Jul 25, 2011
    9
    Frustrated , but super fun, the persistence is the first word that come in mind. Super Meat Boy is the new Mario , but macabre and stylish , every level makes a challenging work to rescue your girlfriend. And the sloppy , and uncontrollable controls will make you die dozens of time, but be patience and tolerable.
  26. Oct 15, 2011
    10
    Super Meat Boy is a brilliant collective of nostalgia and a this-gen, independent, superclass. Whilst the simile idea of frustration may throw people off, it is still a game that I recommend everyone plays, even if that is simply playing the previous version on Newgrounds, it is still worth it. Obviously though there are huge differences between the two versions, for one, the Xbox versionSuper Meat Boy is a brilliant collective of nostalgia and a this-gen, independent, superclass. Whilst the simile idea of frustration may throw people off, it is still a game that I recommend everyone plays, even if that is simply playing the previous version on Newgrounds, it is still worth it. Obviously though there are huge differences between the two versions, for one, the Xbox version is ten times better. evidently realism lacks because it is simply a cube of meat fighting a fetus for pink **** so donâ Expand
  27. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    If you seek a feeling of accomplishment in your life, finishing this game will certainly do that for you. Super Meat Boy is an excellent platformer that really punishes you for making a mistake but rewards perfection. Most levels in Super Meat Boy are less than 30 seconds long, but some of them will take you hours and will have you crying out in anger. Once you've done a level you getIf you seek a feeling of accomplishment in your life, finishing this game will certainly do that for you. Super Meat Boy is an excellent platformer that really punishes you for making a mistake but rewards perfection. Most levels in Super Meat Boy are less than 30 seconds long, but some of them will take you hours and will have you crying out in anger. Once you've done a level you get to sit back and watch the replay of all your miserable attempts at once. The main game it's self is fairly big as it is, and the last boss is a real killer, but once you manage to finish it you'll still have the dark world levels (which is just as big, but a little harder), plenty of bandages to get and also a few warp zones which send you into early adaptations of Super Meat Boy like 8 bit, which are great little throw backs for any retro game lovers. Easily the best title on XBLA. Expand
  28. Nov 28, 2012
    2
    I can only see a 5-year-old getting some fun out of this game. You can't really control your character fluently. The cheap level design doesn't help it at all. The reason why I give it an extra point is that all of the levels were unique, by design and placement I mean. Buzz saws are everywhere in this game, and it was disappointing to see that feature in most of the levels. You can alsoI can only see a 5-year-old getting some fun out of this game. You can't really control your character fluently. The cheap level design doesn't help it at all. The reason why I give it an extra point is that all of the levels were unique, by design and placement I mean. Buzz saws are everywhere in this game, and it was disappointing to see that feature in most of the levels. You can also get extra characters, which consist of one extra move each. The extra move isn't very effective, seeing that you can finish a level by running and jumping. The boss battles are equally cheap. My brothers get so much fun out of it. I decided to game in a separate room, where I discovered that, if you go to your friends list while they are playing Super Meat Boy, there was the title of the game and below it: How many times they died on the level they were playing. This made me wonder if the true fun of this game was to die. I'd like to play a game that was solely meant to be FINISHED, not played a thousand times on the same stage. Expand
  29. Apr 10, 2014
    9
    Literally took me just over a year to beat. Not because it has that much content, but because it's so challenging that I kept having to take extended breaks from it in fear of returning to the glory days of gaming where I snapped controllers in half or threw them at my TV because the game did not give a **** about my skill level, I either achieved what it was demanding of me or I did notLiterally took me just over a year to beat. Not because it has that much content, but because it's so challenging that I kept having to take extended breaks from it in fear of returning to the glory days of gaming where I snapped controllers in half or threw them at my TV because the game did not give a **** about my skill level, I either achieved what it was demanding of me or I did not see the next level. When I finally got 200/200 achievement points, I took a screenshot and put it in a super-important section of my email, as a permanent trophy of the frustration I endured in order to get a useless trophy. It's a video-game pride thing.

    I do kind of wish we had more of these games, because it reminds me a lot of the early days of gaming, but I also realize why we don't have a lot of them. It's just too punishing to be a sustainable business model, but damn, did I ever love this game while it was making fun of me for being unable to eat bricks.

    Only real issue was playing with that crummy 360 dpad. If this were playable with a SNES or PS controller, it'd be a sublimely infuriating 10/10.
    Expand
  30. Jul 19, 2014
    2
    this game sucks. This game doesn't deserve any attention from you. First, the game is terribly ugly with the blood of meat boy makes graphics very bad taste, In addition, if you like to do 100 000 times the same level this game is for you, because to succeed in this game you must know almost all levels by heart. The handling is also horrible and give you cramps in hands. Another overratedthis game sucks. This game doesn't deserve any attention from you. First, the game is terribly ugly with the blood of meat boy makes graphics very bad taste, In addition, if you like to do 100 000 times the same level this game is for you, because to succeed in this game you must know almost all levels by heart. The handling is also horrible and give you cramps in hands. Another overrated indie game. I give two points for the music which is very good and 8-bit style levels. Expand
  31. DME
    Jan 12, 2011
    0
    [MILD SPOILERS] Okay... so you play as a raw, bleeding cube of meat that is trying to rescue a female cube of bandages that was kidnapped by a fetus in a jar wearing a tuxedo... You can see how serious this game is. The levels are short, which is good because you will be consistantly spilling your juices all over the place and having to start over. The game manages to be retro 80s[MILD SPOILERS] Okay... so you play as a raw, bleeding cube of meat that is trying to rescue a female cube of bandages that was kidnapped by a fetus in a jar wearing a tuxedo... You can see how serious this game is. The levels are short, which is good because you will be consistantly spilling your juices all over the place and having to start over. The game manages to be retro 80s challenging whithout being rediculously impossible. And besides the standard challenges, there are cool bosses, hidden minigames (warp zones) unlockable characters (I love you Gish!) and an entire "dark world" which is the same game you just played only modified to be even more challenging. The game is also filled with hilarious cutscenes (don't you DARE skip them!) and contains other elements of humor. Also, let me say that this game is nothing like "I Wanna Be The Guy". In games like IWBTG, memorization is the key to winning. But in Super Meat Boy, the key to winning is straightforward skill. If you can't win, it's YOUR fault. (like the game N+) Simple as that. So... uhh.... I love meat. Collapse
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 51
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 51
  3. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. 90
    XBLA's best pure-2D platformer to date.
  2. May 3, 2011
    90
    Oldschool-Jump and Run at its finest!
  3. Feb 18, 2011
    90
    A 'rare' treat. [Feb 2011, p.91]