Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 233 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Super Meat Boy is a tough as nails platformer where you play as an animated cube of meat who's trying to save his girlfriend (who happens to be made of bandages) from an evil fetus in a jar wearing a tux.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 51
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 51
  3. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Oct 28, 2010
    100
    Super Meat Boy's difficulty will likely turn off some gamers. But if you like your 2D platformers challenging and rewarding then you'll be hard pressed to find a better game out there.
  2. Oct 20, 2010
    100
    So, yes, it can be frustrating, but getting past those roadblocks also leads to the game's most memorable moments. If you give it a chance I'm sure you'll feel the same.
  3. Oct 20, 2010
    95
    First there was Donkey Kong, then came Mario, Mega Man, and Sonic. Now we have Meat Boy. The world's newest 2D platforming legend has arrived.
  4. Oct 21, 2010
    90
    With Super Meat Boy's cornucopia of offerings and irresistible charm, you'd be hard-pressed not to get your money's worth out of this title.
  5. Dec 16, 2010
    90
    Super Meat Boy is overflowing with content that no other release can match and I wouldn't be surprised at all if it brings home Game of the Year accolades from many publications.
  6. Oct 26, 2010
    89
    If you can appreciate all the other elements that make up a great game like music, style, gameplay, etc. then there is no reason not to insist that you grab some points to pick up Super Meat Boy immediately.
  7. Oct 24, 2010
    75
    Even though Super Meat Boy will make most casual players shy away from it due to its extreme, raw (pun intended) level of difficulty, there's plenty of content to dig through and it's all well worth the effort.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 69
  2. Negative: 9 out of 69
  1. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    This game is amazing. Takes me back to playing old school games, how fun and simple those were, but this game has an awesome twist with aThis game is amazing. Takes me back to playing old school games, how fun and simple those were, but this game has an awesome twist with a super cool story line. It's fun, and so addicting. I've played it for HOURS at a time. This game has personality, which so many others lack. Best. Platformer. Ever. Character development and story writing is astonishing. This game is EPIC. Expand
  2. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    If you seek a feeling of accomplishment in your life, finishing this game will certainly do that for you. Super Meat Boy is an excellentIf you seek a feeling of accomplishment in your life, finishing this game will certainly do that for you. Super Meat Boy is an excellent platformer that really punishes you for making a mistake but rewards perfection. Most levels in Super Meat Boy are less than 30 seconds long, but some of them will take you hours and will have you crying out in anger. Once you've done a level you get to sit back and watch the replay of all your miserable attempts at once. The main game it's self is fairly big as it is, and the last boss is a real killer, but once you manage to finish it you'll still have the dark world levels (which is just as big, but a little harder), plenty of bandages to get and also a few warp zones which send you into early adaptations of Super Meat Boy like 8 bit, which are great little throw backs for any retro game lovers. Easily the best title on XBLA. Expand
  3. Oct 29, 2010
    10
    SMB is a jewel of the current gaming generation. I have not played a game like this before, first thing I want to comment on are the controls,SMB is a jewel of the current gaming generation. I have not played a game like this before, first thing I want to comment on are the controls, It sure seems Team MeatBoy spent quite some time tweaking the controls, its a perfect connection between the mind and control. The graphics for me are charming as it best, from Atari to NES and the normal level design, It has really gotten me nostalgic. Yes, ITS HARD, but I like it that way, nailing a perfect run on a stage that minutes before seemed like the end of my SMB gaming days always boosts me up to go foward! An inside out boy, a girlfriend made of bandages and an evil fetus in a jar + lots of character's from other indie games, downloadable levels to never ever be able to fully drop the game. For me, probably one of the best games I have played this year, overall, not just XBOX Live...OVERALL I SAID. Forgot something...The music...makes me want to run around my room...chiptune madness. I would have given this a 9.8 it it was possible, for a missing feature...a music box or something to listen to the songs I desire (like the boss fights, awesome). If my review has not convinced you this is your best 15 bucks you want to spend right now on gaming, well guess what? its 10 bucks till the end of October...why are you not running to buy this already? Expand
  4. Oct 31, 2010
    9
    Downloadable games are getting so good, and this is a very good one out of THAT crop. I was very surprised to not only get a good game (thisDownloadable games are getting so good, and this is a very good one out of THAT crop. I was very surprised to not only get a good game (this much I expected) but to also get a very well written story that is also well told. The mechanics are easeir than I expected after reading some reviews...I guess they are the type of controls that some take to and some do not, but I am not seeing the issue with clunky controls that some have mentioned. Fun is key here, this game will entertain you for hours on end. Who knew super meat was so super? Expand
  5. Oct 21, 2010
    9
    Super Meat Boy describes itself as a â
  6. Sep 7, 2011
    9
    Incredibility hard to master and absolutely fun to play.
    I recommend this game to everyone to at least trial if not buy!
    9/10 is a high score
    Incredibility hard to master and absolutely fun to play.
    I recommend this game to everyone to at least trial if not buy!
    9/10 is a high score but it's one of the rare games that i couldn't put down and i kept coming back to months after i had finished it.
    After a 2D old school fun game then give it a go!
    Expand
  7. Dec 20, 2012
    0
    Not that anyone follows my reviews, but if you did you may know that I am on a campaign against games that purposely, and endlessly, frustrateNot that anyone follows my reviews, but if you did you may know that I am on a campaign against games that purposely, and endlessly, frustrate the player. And, people, this is the epicenter (this and The Witcher 2, and the fact that this is worse than that terrible game speaks volumes). The developers had a cool and original idea, and that took up the first 15% of the meeting. Than they said "lets make the player sooo mad that they have to like this game". You know what? There's karma for this typer of thing. Bye-Bye. Expand

See all 69 User Reviews

Trailers