Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
Buy On
  1. Jun 15, 2011
    70
    The game expands one of the best fighting games ever, with a new balance and four new characters. That said, it remains a DLV dedicated to the biggest fans of the series.
  2. Jun 14, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Jun 22, 2011
    68
    I'd even go as far to say that most hardcore players will find this expansion a little lacking with only 4 new characters and a rebalancing structure that hinders more than it helps.
  4. Jul 1, 2011
    67
    Honestly, the level of enjoyment you'll get out of the game will largely depend on which character you play. If the character you play is now one of the stronger fighters on the roster, then you'll most likely have a blast steamrolling the competition.
  5. Jun 8, 2011
    60
    If you're still playing SSF4 online, AE is a no-brainer, and the de facto new standard for the game, for better or for worse. If you're looking for any kind of single player content or a chance to get your foot in the door though, you can safely pass on this update.
  6. Jun 7, 2011
    50
    It's a small update that you could live without despite its $15 digital price tag. As a value proposition at $40, it's a laugh unless you missed out SSF4, which is easily one of the brightest and sharpest fighting games in the recent past.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. May 26, 2014
    8
    Overall I enjoy this game, I had casually played street fighter 3 and 2 turbo when I was younger. This version has me really enjoying streetOverall I enjoy this game, I had casually played street fighter 3 and 2 turbo when I was younger. This version has me really enjoying street fighter more competitively. Online play is mediocre due to lag and online tactics that can leave you feeling frustrated. When the connection is good be prepared, as online play brings the killers out, people who have their vortex setups and online shenanigans. In short great art style, can be enjoyed casually with friends, or competitively, just be prepared when playing online. Full Review »
  2. Apr 9, 2013
    1
    Unresponsive rubbish. For a game that require such quick reactions it is unacceptable not talking online either even on one player modeUnresponsive rubbish. For a game that require such quick reactions it is unacceptable not talking online either even on one player mode straight forward punches are laggy. Waste of money. Trading it in. Full Review »
  3. Sep 21, 2012
    8
    Ver. 2012 isn't half bad. SF4 to me has gotten better with every iteration. AE2012>AE>Super>Vanilla. I consider Street Fighter 4 the bestVer. 2012 isn't half bad. SF4 to me has gotten better with every iteration. AE2012>AE>Super>Vanilla. I consider Street Fighter 4 the best modern fighter. The cheap ultras still irk me some and the art style, announcer, and music should be way better. The characters and gameplay are solid enough. Super Turbo is still the best Street Fighter but you can't go wrong with Arcade Edition. Full Review »