User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 42
  2. Negative: 7 out of 42

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 26, 2014
    8
    Overall I enjoy this game, I had casually played street fighter 3 and 2 turbo when I was younger. This version has me really enjoying street fighter more competitively. Online play is mediocre due to lag and online tactics that can leave you feeling frustrated. When the connection is good be prepared, as online play brings the killers out, people who have their vortex setups and onlineOverall I enjoy this game, I had casually played street fighter 3 and 2 turbo when I was younger. This version has me really enjoying street fighter more competitively. Online play is mediocre due to lag and online tactics that can leave you feeling frustrated. When the connection is good be prepared, as online play brings the killers out, people who have their vortex setups and online shenanigans. In short great art style, can be enjoyed casually with friends, or competitively, just be prepared when playing online. Expand
  2. Apr 9, 2013
    1
    Unresponsive rubbish. For a game that require such quick reactions it is unacceptable not talking online either even on one player mode straight forward punches are laggy. Waste of money. Trading it in.
  3. Sep 21, 2012
    8
    Ver. 2012 isn't half bad. SF4 to me has gotten better with every iteration. AE2012>AE>Super>Vanilla. I consider Street Fighter 4 the best modern fighter. The cheap ultras still irk me some and the art style, announcer, and music should be way better. The characters and gameplay are solid enough. Super Turbo is still the best Street Fighter but you can't go wrong with Arcade Edition.
  4. Jun 12, 2012
    4
    The animation is nice, but the control had me going crazy, it was really precise, and lagged a little bit. You don't have to unlock any characters, so there isn't much to look forward to after beating the campaign, and the new characters are clones of others, except for Yun, who wasn't as fun to play as in street fighter 3. Is this game awful? Nope, just not fun, and it just doesn't comeThe animation is nice, but the control had me going crazy, it was really precise, and lagged a little bit. You don't have to unlock any characters, so there isn't much to look forward to after beating the campaign, and the new characters are clones of others, except for Yun, who wasn't as fun to play as in street fighter 3. Is this game awful? Nope, just not fun, and it just doesn't come close to Street Fighter 2 or 3. This game shouldn't be first on your list of games to buy. Expand
  5. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    A worthy update to a classic Street Fighter. Worth every penny . I would love to see a character creation one day in Street Fighter but other than that this is the most complete Street Fighter ever
  6. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    By far the best fighting series out there but it's a shame the four additional characters feel slightly bolted-on to the game (lacking some cut-scenes, etc). The game itself still plays brilliantly although it doesn't feel as balanced as Super was (which I'd award a 10/10 as a fighting game). A few characters are blatantly better than others (Yun, Fei Long) while others have beenBy far the best fighting series out there but it's a shame the four additional characters feel slightly bolted-on to the game (lacking some cut-scenes, etc). The game itself still plays brilliantly although it doesn't feel as balanced as Super was (which I'd award a 10/10 as a fighting game). A few characters are blatantly better than others (Yun, Fei Long) while others have been mercilessly made worse for little reason (Guile especially). Great game overall but hoping the free 2012 DLC update fixes the minor faults. Expand
  7. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    The king of fighting games. A fighting that requires strategy, tactics and patience. A game for the hardcore which is really needed nowadays. The more time and effort you dedicate to this game the more rewarding and fun it will be.
  8. Sep 28, 2011
    5
    The lack of new trials is disappointing, and the 4 new characters aren't new. Evil Ryu is a cross between Ryu and Akuma, Oni is Akuma 2.0, Yun and Yang are similar and were introduced in street fighter iii. You should only buy if you're really into the game but if you're not big on street fighter it's best not to get it.
  9. Nov 18, 2011
    0
    A worthy update to a classic Street Fighter. Worth every penny . I would love to see a character creation one day in Street Fighter but other than that this is the most complete Street Fighter ever
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Oct 5, 2011
    80
    SSFIV: Arcade Edition brings everything that previous iterations have brought to the table, but with four new characters and some tweaks to the gameplay. Hardcore fighting fans will salivate, but casual fans will wonder.
  2. Aug 29, 2011
    90
    Ultimately, Super Street Fighter IV Arcade Edition is a super-sized character expansion pack to an already impressive game. For 1,200 MSP ($15 USD), you're getting four new characters, a slew of balance changes and some tweaks to the online experience. It's not a revolution in play, but if you've already mastered Super Street Fighter IV, it does make the experience fresh again.
  3. Jul 25, 2011
    80
    A missable update, even for fans. [Sept 2011, p.87]