User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 105 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 105
  2. Negative: 12 out of 105

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 24, 2011
    9
    Definitely a great game. There's lots of characters to choose from with many different playstyles. The game's command list does a much better job of explaining inputs for each character than vanilla SF4. 840 trials to get through as well, with wide-ranging difficulties. Adding extra ultra combo is good, not to mention balancing changes in AE. This feels more complete than SF4 even ifDefinitely a great game. There's lots of characters to choose from with many different playstyles. The game's command list does a much better job of explaining inputs for each character than vanilla SF4. 840 trials to get through as well, with wide-ranging difficulties. Adding extra ultra combo is good, not to mention balancing changes in AE. This feels more complete than SF4 even if barrel buster & car crusher bonus stages are completely pointless. The only real issue is that you can't counter-pick characters online, and the introduction of Battle Points forces you to stay loyal to a character or know them well. Maybe this is a good thing but only if you're seriosuly into the game Expand
  2. Oct 7, 2010
    6
    What i dont understand about this game is that im terrible at it, yet when i turn the game of ( after probably being beaten on easy difficulty! ) i think to myself i want to go back on it again! Due to my extremely poor quality street fighter skills i can only rate this game through the eyes of a novice. the versus mode of the game is very fun provided you choose a difficulty that suitsWhat i dont understand about this game is that im terrible at it, yet when i turn the game of ( after probably being beaten on easy difficulty! ) i think to myself i want to go back on it again! Due to my extremely poor quality street fighter skills i can only rate this game through the eyes of a novice. the versus mode of the game is very fun provided you choose a difficulty that suits you as it is very colour enriched with some beautiful set pieces and stunning character moves, it also has an element of humour as your always wanting to push that little bit extra to beat your opponent.Online wise if your just starting out i would not recommend using it as you will be ravaged within seconds by viscous online street fighter experts so have a bit of a practice before you risk it all. The only critism i can find and im not sure if this applies to everybody but i find a few of the characters techinigues rather difficult to pull off with not really any clear ways on how to perform them. Generally speaking the game is good. but only good. If you are a street fighter veteran this is obvousily right up your street but if you are not familiar its still worth a try as you can pick it up cheap in amny stores!. Expand
  3. Nov 17, 2011
    8
    Playing Super Street Fighter IV for me is much like reading Shakespear. Everyone praises it and I can see that it's well made, but I just don't get it. Only 5 moves for each character? No dial-a-combos? It's all in the strategy here, not in the move set. As a long time fan of Tekken I just can't get on board with this. This is purely for the hardcore and people who like terrible anime inPlaying Super Street Fighter IV for me is much like reading Shakespear. Everyone praises it and I can see that it's well made, but I just don't get it. Only 5 moves for each character? No dial-a-combos? It's all in the strategy here, not in the move set. As a long time fan of Tekken I just can't get on board with this. This is purely for the hardcore and people who like terrible anime in their cut-scenes. Excuse me, I'm off to play Mortal Kombat 9! Expand
  4. Aug 29, 2010
    9
    Finally gave up playing this game after something like 200 hours, plus around 100 in vanilla SF4. Very fun! I've used the standard xbox360 controller and I still usually kicked ass, I usually sat around 1800 PP in this game with the Dudster..Dudley. Not recycled garbage like everyone is saying. Improvements were made in arcade, and the game engine was tweaked pretty largely. Almost everyFinally gave up playing this game after something like 200 hours, plus around 100 in vanilla SF4. Very fun! I've used the standard xbox360 controller and I still usually kicked ass, I usually sat around 1800 PP in this game with the Dudster..Dudley. Not recycled garbage like everyone is saying. Improvements were made in arcade, and the game engine was tweaked pretty largely. Almost every character has a robust amount of buffs and nerfs. 10 new characters (that's A LOT). This game isn't perfect (cheese tactics like reverse SRK-ing every wake-up still win games on occasion) but it is very entertaining if you're willing to put the blood and sweat in. Very statisfying new online as well. Expand
  5. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    This games has a steep learning curve to be really good at it but if you are willing to put some time and effort into it and maybe buy a fightstick it's so rewarding to beat up on someone online or in an arcade. Seriously there's nothing like making someone salty because they can't beat you. I play dudley, a low tier character and I found the best dudley player in the world online a coupleThis games has a steep learning curve to be really good at it but if you are willing to put some time and effort into it and maybe buy a fightstick it's so rewarding to beat up on someone online or in an arcade. Seriously there's nothing like making someone salty because they can't beat you. I play dudley, a low tier character and I found the best dudley player in the world online a couple years ago and have been playing with him ever since. Consequently I've gotten to be a solid player. Learning the timing for links and the whole metagame makes this the deepest and best fighter of all time in my opinion. It's like fast paced chess at high levels of play. I love it. Expand
  6. May 27, 2012
    10
    Este es un juego de peleas muy bueno, quizas el mejor de la decada, con una jugabilidad simple pero muy eficaz, implementando elementos de pasadas entregas y sumandole nuevas piezas como los focus attack y los asombrosos uultra combos. Es una lastima que para poder tener este juego tengas que volver a comprarlo, pero es algo que puedes pasar muy por alto, si te encanto el SFIV, te vas aEste es un juego de peleas muy bueno, quizas el mejor de la decada, con una jugabilidad simple pero muy eficaz, implementando elementos de pasadas entregas y sumandole nuevas piezas como los focus attack y los asombrosos uultra combos. Es una lastima que para poder tener este juego tengas que volver a comprarlo, pero es algo que puedes pasar muy por alto, si te encanto el SFIV, te vas a divertir mucho mas con este... Expand
  7. Oct 4, 2012
    7
    I'll frame this review by saying that I"m not a competitive on-line player by any means. I play fighting games to beat the arcade mode with all the characters. From that viewpoint SSFIV is an iterative update that offered more characters and more stages. The quality of the animation at the beginning and end of each character's story is not up to the same standard as the original, but thatI'll frame this review by saying that I"m not a competitive on-line player by any means. I play fighting games to beat the arcade mode with all the characters. From that viewpoint SSFIV is an iterative update that offered more characters and more stages. The quality of the animation at the beginning and end of each character's story is not up to the same standard as the original, but that would only matter if the story made any sense. The annoying theme song is also gone, but somehow I miss it. In a nutshell, this is an expansion pack that offered more characters that I enjoyed playing with on backdrops that I enjoyed looking at. If you don't have SFIV, this is your entry point. If you do, only get this if you are interested in the on-line features where a variety of modes and features were added. Expand
  8. Jul 26, 2012
    10
    This is simply the best fighting game out there, feels complete and capcom should give themselves a pat on the back for this one. Brilliant fighting engine with great depth
  9. rac
    Nov 10, 2010
    9
    This game is a solid 9 based upon the additions that were provided. Several new characters a completely new multiplayer engine that allows for better match making. This means you won't get raped by the uber players that are out ther. There are also a ton of tweaks that balance out the fights both online and offline. Oh and don't let me forget they made Seth less cheap THANK YOU.

    Oh,
    This game is a solid 9 based upon the additions that were provided. Several new characters a completely new multiplayer engine that allows for better match making. This means you won't get raped by the uber players that are out ther. There are also a ton of tweaks that balance out the fights both online and offline. Oh and don't let me forget they made Seth less cheap THANK YOU.

    Oh, don't believe the people that complain about this should have been an add on. They don't know the first thing about programming. The producer of the game stated, shortly after the release of the SS4 that they didn't know if they would even do another ever because they didn't expect great sales. That tells me that when they wrote the code base they didn't make it particularly modular. The amount of work required to add on to code that isn't segmented for reuse requires a lot of work and is too much for a simple add on. So get over it people. If you enjoy fighting games you'll love this.
    Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 55
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 55
  3. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Even though Super Street Fighter IV lacks the impact of its predecessor, it's still engrossing, enthralling, and plain ol' fun. [May 2010, p.70]
  2. I put nearly 100 hours into IV, and I can easily see myself pumping dozens more into this update. If you haven't played IV at all, then $40 is an absolute steal for the ultimate version of the best fighting game in recent memory. [May 2010, p.87]
  3. In a nutshell, Super Street Fighter 4 offers new characters, great gameplay, amazing value and best of all great replay value. This game is a must have. In the words of Street Fighter “A new Challenger has approached”.