Super Street Fighter IV Xbox 360

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 118 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 118
  2. Negative: 15 out of 118
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. HarrisonW.
    Apr 28, 2010
    10
    If this game was full price, i would still give it a 10. I have put 8 hours into it already, and i can't say that i am or ever will get bored of it (especially since i played SF4 for over 100 hours). The online modes were the worst part of the original, and Capcom have enhanced it very well. The new modes are incredibly addictive, and the ability to spectate the match when it is not If this game was full price, i would still give it a 10. I have put 8 hours into it already, and i can't say that i am or ever will get bored of it (especially since i played SF4 for over 100 hours). The online modes were the worst part of the original, and Capcom have enhanced it very well. The new modes are incredibly addictive, and the ability to spectate the match when it is not your turn is great (good time to cheer, or take a piss etc). The new balancing is working great from what i can tell so far. Guile is no longer the weakest link, and Sagat and Zangief are no longer as strong as fucking God of War bosses. Even Chun Li is pretty kick ass now too. I have only tried a few of the new characters: Juri, Guy, Deejay and Cody, and my favorite is BY FAR Juri. She has visually striking attacks, and possibly my favorite Ultra in the game. Ah yes...the new ultras are awesome too. But Gen's four Ultras are very similar in my opinion. However, the cutscenes are SLIGHTLY improved, but the dubbing is still pretty awful and the stories just simply suck. But they are still better than the orignial ones (which made me cringe more than one lol). I would recommend this to any fighting game fan- no, i would recommend it to ANYBODY. It is easy to pick up, difficult to master, and an absoulute blast when playing with a friend on the same couch. Expand
  2. May 27, 2012
    10
    Este es un juego de peleas muy bueno, quizas el mejor de la decada, con una jugabilidad simple pero muy eficaz, implementando elementos de pasadas entregas y sumandole nuevas piezas como los focus attack y los asombrosos uultra combos. Es una lastima que para poder tener este juego tengas que volver a comprarlo, pero es algo que puedes pasar muy por alto, si te encanto el SFIV, te vas aEste es un juego de peleas muy bueno, quizas el mejor de la decada, con una jugabilidad simple pero muy eficaz, implementando elementos de pasadas entregas y sumandole nuevas piezas como los focus attack y los asombrosos uultra combos. Es una lastima que para poder tener este juego tengas que volver a comprarlo, pero es algo que puedes pasar muy por alto, si te encanto el SFIV, te vas a divertir mucho mas con este... Expand
  3. Jul 26, 2012
    10
    This is simply the best fighting game out there, feels complete and capcom should give themselves a pat on the back for this one. Brilliant fighting engine with great depth
  4. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    This games has a steep learning curve to be really good at it but if you are willing to put some time and effort into it and maybe buy a fightstick it's so rewarding to beat up on someone online or in an arcade. Seriously there's nothing like making someone salty because they can't beat you. I play dudley, a low tier character and I found the best dudley player in the world online a coupleThis games has a steep learning curve to be really good at it but if you are willing to put some time and effort into it and maybe buy a fightstick it's so rewarding to beat up on someone online or in an arcade. Seriously there's nothing like making someone salty because they can't beat you. I play dudley, a low tier character and I found the best dudley player in the world online a couple years ago and have been playing with him ever since. Consequently I've gotten to be a solid player. Learning the timing for links and the whole metagame makes this the deepest and best fighter of all time in my opinion. It's like fast paced chess at high levels of play. I love it. Expand
  5. Aug 29, 2010
    9
    Finally gave up playing this game after something like 200 hours, plus around 100 in vanilla SF4. Very fun! I've used the standard xbox360 controller and I still usually kicked ass, I usually sat around 1800 PP in this game with the Dudster..Dudley. Not recycled garbage like everyone is saying. Improvements were made in arcade, and the game engine was tweaked pretty largely. Almost everyFinally gave up playing this game after something like 200 hours, plus around 100 in vanilla SF4. Very fun! I've used the standard xbox360 controller and I still usually kicked ass, I usually sat around 1800 PP in this game with the Dudster..Dudley. Not recycled garbage like everyone is saying. Improvements were made in arcade, and the game engine was tweaked pretty largely. Almost every character has a robust amount of buffs and nerfs. 10 new characters (that's A LOT). This game isn't perfect (cheese tactics like reverse SRK-ing every wake-up still win games on occasion) but it is very entertaining if you're willing to put the blood and sweat in. Very statisfying new online as well. Expand
  6. rac
    Nov 10, 2010
    9
    This game is a solid 9 based upon the additions that were provided. Several new characters a completely new multiplayer engine that allows for better match making. This means you won't get raped by the uber players that are out ther. There are also a ton of tweaks that balance out the fights both online and offline. Oh and don't let me forget they made Seth less cheap THANK YOU.

    Oh,
    This game is a solid 9 based upon the additions that were provided. Several new characters a completely new multiplayer engine that allows for better match making. This means you won't get raped by the uber players that are out ther. There are also a ton of tweaks that balance out the fights both online and offline. Oh and don't let me forget they made Seth less cheap THANK YOU.

    Oh, don't believe the people that complain about this should have been an add on. They don't know the first thing about programming. The producer of the game stated, shortly after the release of the SS4 that they didn't know if they would even do another ever because they didn't expect great sales. That tells me that when they wrote the code base they didn't make it particularly modular. The amount of work required to add on to code that isn't segmented for reuse requires a lot of work and is too much for a simple add on. So get over it people. If you enjoy fighting games you'll love this.
    Expand
  7. Oct 24, 2011
    9
    Definitely a great game. There's lots of characters to choose from with many different playstyles. The game's command list does a much better job of explaining inputs for each character than vanilla SF4. 840 trials to get through as well, with wide-ranging difficulties. Adding extra ultra combo is good, not to mention balancing changes in AE. This feels more complete than SF4 even ifDefinitely a great game. There's lots of characters to choose from with many different playstyles. The game's command list does a much better job of explaining inputs for each character than vanilla SF4. 840 trials to get through as well, with wide-ranging difficulties. Adding extra ultra combo is good, not to mention balancing changes in AE. This feels more complete than SF4 even if barrel buster & car crusher bonus stages are completely pointless. The only real issue is that you can't counter-pick characters online, and the introduction of Battle Points forces you to stay loyal to a character or know them well. Maybe this is a good thing but only if you're seriosuly into the game Expand
  8. [Anonymous]
    Apr 28, 2010
    8
    While it is a great game, and I enjoy the multiplayer, I think SSF4 dropped the ball on the single player mode here. It did away with the survival and time trial mode and really should have included team battle in its single player or vs. mode. One thing I really enjoyed about other fighting games is the need to use up to 8 different characters in one bout it prevents someone from just While it is a great game, and I enjoy the multiplayer, I think SSF4 dropped the ball on the single player mode here. It did away with the survival and time trial mode and really should have included team battle in its single player or vs. mode. One thing I really enjoyed about other fighting games is the need to use up to 8 different characters in one bout it prevents someone from just being good at one fighter. Also, I would like to see some type of tournament mode like was used in SSF2. The game is always based around a "tournament" but there's never actually one to compete in. VF5 is great because it has a career mode, something like that would be included. It wouldn't have to be the full scale career like is offered there, but something like a tournament or a season where you fight a ton of different fighters would be greatly appreciated. I hope Capcom adds more to its single player in this game via DLC. Expand
  9. Nov 17, 2011
    8
    Playing Super Street Fighter IV for me is much like reading Shakespear. Everyone praises it and I can see that it's well made, but I just don't get it. Only 5 moves for each character? No dial-a-combos? It's all in the strategy here, not in the move set. As a long time fan of Tekken I just can't get on board with this. This is purely for the hardcore and people who like terrible anime inPlaying Super Street Fighter IV for me is much like reading Shakespear. Everyone praises it and I can see that it's well made, but I just don't get it. Only 5 moves for each character? No dial-a-combos? It's all in the strategy here, not in the move set. As a long time fan of Tekken I just can't get on board with this. This is purely for the hardcore and people who like terrible anime in their cut-scenes. Excuse me, I'm off to play Mortal Kombat 9! Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 55
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 55
  3. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Even though Super Street Fighter IV lacks the impact of its predecessor, it's still engrossing, enthralling, and plain ol' fun. [May 2010, p.70]
  2. Game Informer
    90
    I put nearly 100 hours into IV, and I can easily see myself pumping dozens more into this update. If you haven't played IV at all, then $40 is an absolute steal for the ultimate version of the best fighting game in recent memory. [May 2010, p.87]
  3. In a nutshell, Super Street Fighter 4 offers new characters, great gameplay, amazing value and best of all great replay value. This game is a must have. In the words of Street Fighter “A new Challenger has approached”.