Syndicate Xbox 360

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 174 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 174
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 6, 2012
    7
    This is an ok game. The single player mode is ok but won't light the world on fire. Multiplayer is the best way to play this game in my opinion. I would wait for it to drop to $20-30 before buying it. I'm glad a got a $20 credit for pre-ordering on Amazon. That truthfully was why I bought it at launch. It definitely took a different spin from the original. I think they should have stayedThis is an ok game. The single player mode is ok but won't light the world on fire. Multiplayer is the best way to play this game in my opinion. I would wait for it to drop to $20-30 before buying it. I'm glad a got a $20 credit for pre-ordering on Amazon. That truthfully was why I bought it at launch. It definitely took a different spin from the original. I think they should have stayed closer to their roots but what was done wasn't a train wreck. If you like Sci Fi or FPS this might interest you. Expand
  2. Feb 25, 2012
    5
    A co-op outing that feels more involving than most as team work is essential. Taking down the bigger enemies and playing doctor as a team makes for a tight experience. The sound and visuals are compelling if not a little rough around the edges. However, the one area where this game falls flat (at the time of writing) is the way in which is consistently crashes the console, a problem forA co-op outing that feels more involving than most as team work is essential. Taking down the bigger enemies and playing doctor as a team makes for a tight experience. The sound and visuals are compelling if not a little rough around the edges. However, the one area where this game falls flat (at the time of writing) is the way in which is consistently crashes the console, a problem for which i know a lot of people are experiencing. This stands as mark of EA's tradition of kicking a game out of the door too early. Expand
  3. Apr 5, 2012
    6
    Syndicate is actually a pretty good game with a brutally difficult co-op mode. My only complaint (and I have the same complaint with most games) is that it just felt kind of repetitive by the end. The shooting mechanics were great and the guns felt super powerful, but the non-scaling co-op mode and repetitiveness wore on my be the end.
  4. Jul 5, 2014
    6
    Most of the game was pretty fun. But ya know how long I spent watching first person cut scenes of my character getting the crap kicked out of him? A minute. That's a long bloody time to watch yourself get slapped about.
  5. May 9, 2012
    7
    Another Generic shooter added to the packed market. What is even worse is that Syndicate does not offer anythign special. It is just shoot, disable electronics, shoot. The story also suffers from creativity. Without spoling the mediocre plot, the story turns out to how you would expect it to. There isn't even any Multiplayer, except for 4 player Co-op. The reason I am giving a 7, is due toAnother Generic shooter added to the packed market. What is even worse is that Syndicate does not offer anythign special. It is just shoot, disable electronics, shoot. The story also suffers from creativity. Without spoling the mediocre plot, the story turns out to how you would expect it to. There isn't even any Multiplayer, except for 4 player Co-op. The reason I am giving a 7, is due to Syndicate being entertaining, and the whole cyber punk feel was quite immersive. A definite rental, not much else. Expand
  6. Feb 28, 2012
    5
    yes this game looks good and plays ok but lacks story, this game does nothing to pull you in and does nothing new , if you play a lot of games ,then this game wot do a lot for you, its like have sex with no claimax
  7. May 30, 2012
    5
    I really wanted to like this game, but ended up disliking it. I liked cyperpunk/near-scifi games like DeusEx and SystemShock, and had hoped this would be more of the same. Story looked promising, the fell away. Graphics are good(ish), but not brilliant. Locations are generally misty or glaring. I guess its supposed to represent the grim neon future (a la blade runner) but just I found itI really wanted to like this game, but ended up disliking it. I liked cyperpunk/near-scifi games like DeusEx and SystemShock, and had hoped this would be more of the same. Story looked promising, the fell away. Graphics are good(ish), but not brilliant. Locations are generally misty or glaring. I guess its supposed to represent the grim neon future (a la blade runner) but just I found it really annoying. Enemies are quite intelligent and on 'normal' setting, if you hesitate too long in front of a couple of them, then they will slap you down - which is a good thing. Still, being a super agent, you can get through without undue difficulty. 'I thought Bullet Time' (or whatever its called in Syndicate) was nice, but I really liked it in Max Payne 1&2 too. Then I met the first enemy super agent. After he'd defeated me about 30 times in a row, I gave up on the game in bored frustration. Now, I generally like 'end of level bosses' - I thought Binary Domain was great - but enough is enough. Maybe I had a bad day, maybe you'll like Syndicate more than I did. Expand
  8. Mar 1, 2012
    6
    Syndicate is a real mixed package. The single player is horribly short-lived (around 6-7 hours on the hardest difficulty), has a bland story that's not particularly well told, boring characters that are never fleshed out, very linear level design based mostly on taking out waves of enemies, and an overall uninspired and unoriginal feel that borrows heavily from other games (Deus Ex:HR andSyndicate is a real mixed package. The single player is horribly short-lived (around 6-7 hours on the hardest difficulty), has a bland story that's not particularly well told, boring characters that are never fleshed out, very linear level design based mostly on taking out waves of enemies, and an overall uninspired and unoriginal feel that borrows heavily from other games (Deus Ex:HR and Crysis 2 especially). It's another case of brilliant concept - bad execution. in fairness the gunplay and breach mechanics wherein you hack enemy cybernetic brain chips to make them commit suicide etc are quite fun. But in regards to the breach mechanics, it's a shame that Syndicate never bothers to try and make the use of them in interesting or tactical ways and they quickly become redundant. However, the co-op multiplayer in Syndicate is actually quite brilliant. There's tons of weapon upgrading, breach upgrading and other levelling mechanics that are fun to play around with. Creating your own syndicate and recruiting other people is great fun, with leaderboards to keep up with how well your syndicate is doing in the world market. Also, the breaching mechanics are much better in the multiplayer with added abilities such as group heal to really bring the need for team work together. Unlike the single player which is really quite straight forward and easy, the co-op is actually challenging - even on normal difficulty and requires a good amount of team work to succeed in some of the tougher missions. It's such a shame that the Syndicate single player is so inept when the multiplayer does nothing but shine! They almost feel like they don't belong to the same game with the multiplayer obviously getting more time during development. Overall a very disappointing reboot of the franchise, saved from the greatest depths of the bargain bin by a very good co-op. Expand
  9. Apr 3, 2012
    7
    Great concept, fun to play... But I am not the biggest FPS supporter. It had some unique qualities but the story and voice acting kept me unattached to the main character. "Terminatrix" is the term coined on the podcast referring to this title. I liked it but I sure didn't love it.
  10. Jul 4, 2012
    6
    Syndicate is a pretty standard corridor-shooter with a gimmick. The gimmick works well enough but in the end you are going to run down a linear path slaughtering enemies with the old shotgun just as you have thousands of times before. As far as corridor-shooters go syndicate is pretty generic. That doesnt mean that it is bad since most AAA-shooters are alright time-wasters and if you areSyndicate is a pretty standard corridor-shooter with a gimmick. The gimmick works well enough but in the end you are going to run down a linear path slaughtering enemies with the old shotgun just as you have thousands of times before. As far as corridor-shooters go syndicate is pretty generic. That doesnt mean that it is bad since most AAA-shooters are alright time-wasters and if you are looking for a few hours of entertainment you could do worse. + setting, environments, weapons, hacking-gimmick, music. - story, bloom-effects, bosses, endless shooting Expand
  11. Jul 11, 2013
    7
    I was currently bored and have not played any games for a while when I stopped and took a look at this game at first I looked and I was like hmmm,but it was worth a try currently playing it now and its different but fun to play.In the long run for me its been very difficult but no matter will I beat it.
  12. Jun 3, 2014
    7
    Enjoyable, mindless shooty killing with something of a story in there. Not enough RPG element to really make it interesting and it would have been nice to see a few start up choices that the games syndicate wars should have inspired. A FPS with one or two nice effects but nothing amazingly special.
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 65 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 65
  2. Negative: 1 out of 65
  1. May 13, 2012
    80
    The game doesn't create a massive fissure in the first-person shooter genre, but the DART and breach systems do add some cool wrinkles to an otherwise straightforward experience with some of the best gun play I've had in recent memory.
  2. 85
    Syndicate is an excellent shooter that does a lot of things right in the gameplay department. A fun combination of excellent gunplay combined with an okay range of abilities and powers and some well put together melee moves makes the game a mixed bag that never gets too old.
  3. May 5, 2012
    70
    Syndicate shows a lot of potential, but never seems to come out of its shell. For that, it just feels all too familiar. It delivers on a delightful atmosphere though, and the coöp mode will keep players busy for a couple of intense hours. A fine snack, but definitely not the cult classic the old Syndicate was.