Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 65 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 165 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 2069 - No longer governed by politicians, the world is divided into regions controlled by mega-corporations known as Syndicates. These Syndicates have revolutionized the way consumers interact with the digital world. Consumers no longer require a device to access the world's data and control2069 - No longer governed by politicians, the world is divided into regions controlled by mega-corporations known as Syndicates. These Syndicates have revolutionized the way consumers interact with the digital world. Consumers no longer require a device to access the world's data and control their technology - they can achieve this with the blink of an eye after a neural chip implant. Civilians clamored to be "chip'd" and to enjoy all that their selected syndicate has to offer. Housing, medical, banking, insurance, education, entertainment, and employment. One complete package - one complete lifestyle. In return, the syndicates gained unprecedented insights, and control, over individuals and their behavior. With insufficient government oversight, business has become war. The Syndicates stop at nothing for ultimate market dominance. On the front lines of this war are the Agents, the syndicates' bio-engineered and chip-augmented enforcers. They can breach anything in the wired dataverse including their enemies, their weapons, and the environment surrounding them, making them the most efficient and deadly technological weapons in the world. Assume the role of Miles Kilo, Eurocorp's latest prototype Agent, and embark on a brutal action adventure of corruption and revenge. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 65
  2. Negative: 1 out of 65
  1. Feb 21, 2012
    100
    The smart players will rise to the challenge and feel like they've been appropriately rewarded for their prowess. The campaign gives you a great look at an interesting world, though its abrupt, too-clean ending feels out of place. It's a somewhat disappointing reward for an otherwise exciting adventure that puts a terrific and fun spin on first-person shooting.
  2. Mar 7, 2012
    82
    Syndicate may not be for everyone. Purists who enjoyed the original back in the day might well be disappointed by the direction Starbreeze took it. But if you're into sci-fi shooters this is definitely worth a look.
  3. Mar 2, 2012
    80
    Despite some mistakes and minor flaws, Syndicate is a very good shooter that should satisfy gamers in need of a challenge. The game is hard, sometimes too hard - you die more often than in most modern shooters, even though health recharges itself. But thanks to a great fighting model having to complete a difficult part for a tenth time should still be enjoyable.
  4. Mar 5, 2012
    75
    As it stands, Syndicate is a pretty fun experience, but it lacks the innovation and heart that I've come to expect from Starbreeze as a studio.
  5. Mar 8, 2012
    74
    Syndicate has flashes of brilliance, but these flashes are just that... flashes. The game has a great look a vibrant feel and strong shooting mechanics. However it doesn`t always click into the super-polished AAA title it wants to be.
  6. Feb 21, 2012
    70
    Just one warning: The co-op missions do not scale with player count at all, and they are definitely designed to be tackled with four players. Three players? You'll probably do fine, if you're careful. Two? Really stretching it. And solo? You'd have to be a masochist to even try.
  7. Mar 2, 2012
    20
    It's every generic shooter you've forgotten you played, come back to be forgotten again...Oh, did I mention there's bullet time? Because there's bullet time.

See all 65 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 55
  2. Negative: 6 out of 55
  1. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    I was a little hesitant picking this one up after reading some mixed reviews, but I was pleasantly surprised when I put it in. I loved theI was a little hesitant picking this one up after reading some mixed reviews, but I was pleasantly surprised when I put it in. I loved the style of Deus Ex, but longed for a little more action and not quite as much sneaking around, and this game totally scratches that itch. Being able to hack into enemy's brains and make them commit suicide or take out their buddys is a riot. Haven't played online yet except for when I had the demo, but a lot of reviews say that's the best part, so I'm looking forward to it. Collapse
  2. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    A great sci-fi game with crisp graphics and AD, impressive sound and a weaponry to die for. The single player campaign is engaging, althoughA great sci-fi game with crisp graphics and AD, impressive sound and a weaponry to die for. The single player campaign is engaging, although somewhat short but the real treasure is the separate 4 player co-op. Unforgiving, thrilling and lots and lots of fun for hour upon hour. So if you haven't got it yet; get it and rip some chips! Expand
  3. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    I was surprised about how great this game really is! The single player is good, and I just love the coop. If you by some reason haven'tI was surprised about how great this game really is! The single player is good, and I just love the coop. If you by some reason haven't decided to get the game, check out the demo that won me over. Expand
  4. Sep 27, 2014
    8
    First off, there are so many potential drinking games in Syndicate that i'm shocked it's not the all time favorite 1player FPS on collegeFirst off, there are so many potential drinking games in Syndicate that i'm shocked it's not the all time favorite 1player FPS on college campuses. Especially since a college education makes the real-world parallels and references in this, and most modern games, so much more entertaining.

    Also, because i dearly love you grammar-challenged freaks of mine, i also feel obliged to mention that this is not the same Starbreeze that made the Riddick games or the first Darkness. Same brand name, different people.

    if i've got the story straight, the majority of the original swedish Riddick/Darkness team left to form MachineGames (which now belongs to Bethesda, which is promising, A riddick/fallout meld could be very special indeed), who most recently made the most recent Wolfenstein. The New Order. I also heard that some of the team took a cashhat from 505 and are since responsible for the remarkable (and very swedish) Brothers.

    (Now, a very quick Darkness tip for Halo-Fan and everyone else who's ever complained about the controls in the darkness:

    Having trouble eating hearts on the fly? Here's the trick. Don't aim at the victim. just rock on over him while giving w/a few quick taps of the *NOM Nom nom* button and your toothiest phallic appendages will auto-nom those hearts. Darkness is one of my favorite games (and i'm really not into FPS unless the story absolutely owns me), and the only complaints i've ever heard are either about quirky control things, all of which prove easily adapted to once u suss out the trick to it (which is usually super-instinctive, suggesting that the problem run & Gunners are having is an hyper-familiarity w/the controls of other shooter which mostly require that you point your gun at everything to interact w/anything) and some furrow-yer-brow & roll-yer-eyes complaints like "there's too much reading/talking/walking and not enough aimless murdering of anonymous bipeds"...)

    The impotant thing to note is that starbreeze has always done something rather akin to what Ninja Theory does. They take action games and give them the story of a well-paced RPG,

    In that sense, Syndicate is true to the Riddick vision. And if you enjoy a well executed codex, the story is deep and broad. If you don't like reading (wether u ignore the codex or not) you'll likely find the story confusing or, at best, thin. But it's not. Not really.

    it rather reminds me of the initial media response to the ending of Assassin's Creed one. If you hack(ed) all the computers and stole all the keycards and enjoy an old fashioned pen and paper word/math puzzle (or have the presence of mind to look up the answers and translations on YouGooglPedia), and have a basic working knowledge of human history, AC1 has one of the most satisfying cliffhanger endings...ever, really. Even better than Back to the Future 2.

    -_-'

    But if you're reviewing on a deadline, or just not terribly curious or clever, it can appear to have no ending at all, beyond some gibberish written in meta-magical subject 16 blood. That's IF u think to hit Y after the credits.

    It's not gibberish.

    It's fkn COOL. Several games worth of foreshadowing, and a mention of Yona Guni. Look that up if u wanna get excited about the future of AC. Eventually they gotta go far east, right? Ninja v. Samurai anyone?

    OK. I digress, and wildly.

    I like Synidicate. I really do.

    Normally, an FPS won't keep my attention past the first 90min unless it goes the way of Deus Ex or FarCry3 or The Darkness; Lots of story, lots of atmosphere, and at least some exploration and interaction.

    Syndicate circumvents my prerequisites by giving me as much backstory as i want to read, being really satisfying, and being perfectly visceral. It's just...nice to play. There's a tale being told in a very Starbreeze sorta way (for which i commend them, not actually being Starbreeze). People compare it to Deus Ex, and that similarity is there. It also shares some visual cues w/watchdogs.

    In a way, it reminds me of FEAR. Not for any specific tangible reason, it's mostly a feeling, based on good AI and how the pacing of the story gives me that possessed, "One more checkpoint" and then "okay, one more and then i'll..." and then "my eyes hurt. This is the last checkpoint." and then "Ohh, pretty new scenery...i'll just have a peek"...

    ...and then u look up and the game is cleared and it's 3pm two days later.

    Plus, Cyber-Punk is just...groovy, man. Like, "I totally smoked a doob w/William Gibson & Neal Stephenson" groovy.

    But If you think Crysis3 and Halo3 are the be all and end all of gaming perfection, you're probaly better off w/something else. The draft, for example,

    Highly recommended for the FPS averse who want some striking, playable, clever FPS action in between replays Resonance of Fate (along w/Nier, the most underrated JRPG of the generation) and Assassin's Creed...19, this game should entertain, Especially @ $10 on XBL.

    Gotta love them one-day XBL sales.

    I hope this is useful.
    Expand
  5. Feb 21, 2012
    8
    Has the theme, features and graphic elements of the old PC games, but in a First Person Shooter approach this time: it's a good TacticalHas the theme, features and graphic elements of the old PC games, but in a First Person Shooter approach this time: it's a good Tactical Shooter, with a nice blend of action and strategy needed to pass the stages. Visually, all things remind me very much the Syndicate original games, but vastly improved, and in a 3D world: as you play, and gain more abilities, the game gets more fun. Expand
  6. May 9, 2012
    7
    Another Generic shooter added to the packed market. What is even worse is that Syndicate does not offer anythign special. It is just shoot,Another Generic shooter added to the packed market. What is even worse is that Syndicate does not offer anythign special. It is just shoot, disable electronics, shoot. The story also suffers from creativity. Without spoling the mediocre plot, the story turns out to how you would expect it to. There isn't even any Multiplayer, except for 4 player Co-op. The reason I am giving a 7, is due to Syndicate being entertaining, and the whole cyber punk feel was quite immersive. A definite rental, not much else. Expand
  7. Feb 21, 2012
    0
    do you like to be blinded? then this is the game for you
    in this game you are a walking camera,so you have headbob and other constant screen
    do you like to be blinded? then this is the game for you
    in this game you are a walking camera,so you have headbob and other constant screen shakes
    there is blur,bloob,blinding lights etc.

    and when you aim down the sights the whole screen zooms in,yeah so cool

    do game developers even go to schools ?
    Expand

See all 55 User Reviews