Tales of Vesperia Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 282 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut of the Tales series on the Xbox 360, Tales of Vesperia launches the series to new heights of interactive narrative and engrossing gameplay with anime-style graphics, a captivating storyline and characters as well as an upgraded battle system. Set in a world reliant on a mysteriousThe debut of the Tales series on the Xbox 360, Tales of Vesperia launches the series to new heights of interactive narrative and engrossing gameplay with anime-style graphics, a captivating storyline and characters as well as an upgraded battle system. Set in a world reliant on a mysterious ancient technology known as "blastia," the game follows former knight Yuri as he delves into a shadowy plot to use these magical devices to control civilization, or destroy it. A bold new interpretation of the elements that made the Tales series a hit with gamers around the world, Tales of Vesperia promises a standard-setting RPG experience on the Xbox 360. Using an all-new graphics engine and character designs by the renowned Kosuke Fujishima (Ah! My Goddess, Sakura Taisen), the game delivers high-quality HD character models and environments that are indistinguishable from traditional cel-based anime. The game also makes significant additions to the series' trademark real-time combat system, allowing players to do battle in massive battlefields and learn new special attacks that are tied to individual weapons. New finishing blows allow players to take down enemies in a single hit with correctly timed button combinations, while mission-based battles increase the variety of each encounter as players gain unique items by fulfilling various battle objectives. Players can also use materials collected by successfully executing finishing moves to craft rare and unique equipment for their characters. [Namco Bandai Games] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. Tales of Vesperia may not be a perfect title or receive a perfect score, but it’s fun, engaging and everything I really want in an RPG.
  2. Truly, Tales of Vesperia is more akin to an interactive cartoon than it is to a traditional JRPG. This is one of the reasons players will enjoy this title so much. It is an engaging gaming experience that somehow capably balances storyline, combat, in and out of engine cutscenes, power leveling, and main and side mission quests.
  3. 85
    No single component stands out, but it's in a combination of pleasant, well-realised bits and bobs that the game becomes a largely positive experience. With Tales of Vesperia Namco have produced a simple, unassuming adventure that's brimming with enough charm to easily make up for any lack of inspiration.
  4. Its remarkable graphics and well thought out and voiced characters mark it as a definite achievement, and the sheer length and breadth of it means dozens of hours of entertainment. Plus there is a dog smoking a pipe.
  5. The graphics are stunning, the characters are interesting and the game is simply really fun to play.
  6. A tale worth telling to JRPG fans everywhere. [July 2009, p.90]
  7. games(TM)
    50
    The bones are here for a stunning adventure, but the imagination simply isn't. Our disappointment is palpable. [Sept 2009, p.116]

See all 67 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 52
  2. Negative: 3 out of 52
  1. RyanD
    Sep 7, 2008
    10
    A stunning experience. The environments are beautiful, the soundtrack is excellent, the story is astounding, and most of all, as you progress A stunning experience. The environments are beautiful, the soundtrack is excellent, the story is astounding, and most of all, as you progress further and further through the game, you'll find that you care about your party members more than many, many people in your own life. Voice acting is superb; it is near-impossible to outdo the job they've done here. When you check into an inn and everybody is sitting in their own place in contemplation, one cannot help but be moved by the soft serenade in the background as you walk around, talking and ultimately building relationships with everybody and feeling like you really know them as a friend. This game had me convinced for sure. Expand
  2. Dec 29, 2015
    10
    Für mich das beste Tales of! Und ich habe viele gespielt (Phantasia, Destiny, Symphonia, Vesperia, Graces f, Xillia und Xillia 2). Nicht weilFür mich das beste Tales of! Und ich habe viele gespielt (Phantasia, Destiny, Symphonia, Vesperia, Graces f, Xillia und Xillia 2). Nicht weil es in den anderen Spielen kein besseres Kampfsystem gibt (eigentlich ist es bei Tales of ohnehin immer gut), keine bessere Grafik, keine bessere Story oder OST. ToV ist einfach in ALLEN diesen Belangen belangen gut und solide, während einige andere Tales Spiele in irgendeinem Aspekt eingeknickt sind. Zum Vergleich: Phantasia - hakelige Steuerung. Symphonia - teils nervige Partymember. Destiny - siehe Phantasia. Graces f - keine Open World. Xillia 1/2: Keine Open World und zu kurz!

    Für mich ToV = Best Tales of :D
    Expand
  3. SY
    Sep 13, 2008
    10
    A classic JRPG with solid presentation and little to no bog-down such as loads that were common in PS2 games. A lot of the reviews shown here A classic JRPG with solid presentation and little to no bog-down such as loads that were common in PS2 games. A lot of the reviews shown here will make a huge issue about 'cliches' in the system, to which I must point out, since when did JRPGs NOT follow familiar cliches to a point? To say that Final Fantasy is original because you get airships and Tales cliched because you get an airship is absolutely ridiculous. Everything is made to be as user-friendly as possible (for example if you're no good with the action battles you can ramp down the difficulty, or increase it if it's too easy for you) and allows you to concentrate on enjoying the game. Expand
  4. Dec 25, 2014
    9
    Well played this game principally over a nine month period treating it as a kind of serial anime, which is kind of what it is. It accompaniesWell played this game principally over a nine month period treating it as a kind of serial anime, which is kind of what it is. It accompanies you just as much as Assassin's Creed does only in a fictional and cutesy atmosphere with an attaching cast and memorably rendered enemies. Three types of art style seamlessly combined in ways which I sometimes would have to ask myself "Are they rendering in CGI NOW?"

    Yeah. Played Symphonia when it came out in Canada on the GameCube and played fifty hours straight over five days. The same type of devotion is required to play this game.
    Expand
  5. Mar 23, 2017
    9
    Probably my favorite of the Tales series. The characters and the story move you throughout the expansive world. The over world works well inProbably my favorite of the Tales series. The characters and the story move you throughout the expansive world. The over world works well in this one, and I wished they had chosen to continue using this formula for the more recent Tales games (rather than save point fast travels which detract from the concept of exploring the world Namco Bandai created). So lets get to why this is a 9/10 and not a perfect 10. While it meets my criteria of the holy trinity: challenging, rewarding, and emotionally impacting. I can say it does not do one thing well, it concludes too well. No spoilers, but once beating this game the concept of a new game+ is not necessarily appealing. To me that removes one aspect which is the cherry on top for the 10/10 rating, replay-ablilty. By falling short for only that I can say this is a masterful Tales game. Yuri and his crew are all perfectly written and work well with each other. You truly get a feel for all the motivations and character progressions throughout this saga. The story is a 10/10 and so are many of the side quests (for which there are many). The combat system is second (in my opinion) only to Zestiria in enjoyable faced paced beat em up and item management. The trigger events during combat give it some flare along with all the returning and new artes. Each character is unique in their fighting style so playing through parts of the story with each can be a fun change of pace. The visuals and the soundtrack are one of the best in the series, as well. You get a thumbs up from me, so go play this game! Expand
  6. Jun 7, 2016
    8
    The crystallization of all I loved from previous Tales games, like Tales of Symphonia and Tales of the Abyss, the combat system is refined andThe crystallization of all I loved from previous Tales games, like Tales of Symphonia and Tales of the Abyss, the combat system is refined and doesn't hold your hand, it is not that action focused as Tales of Graces, but slightly better than the system used in Xillia.
    The thing I disliked is that if the game had ended when the second act finished I would have been satisfied with the game, because the ending is something I didn't like, it felt rushed, yet, I would recommend this game for everything in between.
    Expand
  7. DERHYUSAVALON
    Jun 25, 2009
    0
    Es indignante que tras 1 año de espera con respecto a los japoneses y yankis nos llegue a ESPAÑA un juego sin doblar ni traducirEs indignante que tras 1 año de espera con respecto a los japoneses y yankis nos llegue a ESPAÑA un juego sin doblar ni traducir al ESPAÑOL...

    INDIGNANTE... MUY MAL por NAMCO-BANDAI y la distribuidora ATARI. 1 AÑO localizando el juego para europa y se olvidan del tercer idioma más hablado del mundo. 1 Año para sólo sacarlo en Inglés, francés y Alemán... ¡Desde luego se han tocado bien los huevos!
    Expand

See all 52 User Reviews