Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 166 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The oldest brother, Leonardo is the leader of the four Turtles – an accomplished tactician possessing a discipline and focus as sharp as his blades. His selfless sense of responsibility for the family sometimes puts him at odds with the headstrong Raphael, who too often only thinks ofThe oldest brother, Leonardo is the leader of the four Turtles – an accomplished tactician possessing a discipline and focus as sharp as his blades. His selfless sense of responsibility for the family sometimes puts him at odds with the headstrong Raphael, who too often only thinks of himself. With a katana in each hand, Leo is the most well-rounded fighter in the Turtle roster, balanced by an unwavering dedication to his training. He is without a standout strength or glaring weakness, defined by a general aptitude for speed, reach, damage, and reactiveness, making him the easiest for novice players to pick up and play. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 28
  2. Negative: 17 out of 28
  1. Sep 3, 2013
    69
    Even though it has some issues, it tries to bring back the soul of the arcade, and manages to offer a game full of action that those who play it with friends are definitely going to enjoy.
  2. Sep 2, 2013
    59
    Intrinsic problems with some of the basics; collision detection, dodgy camera, and sloppy graphics ruin what could have been a far more polished experience.
  3. Sep 6, 2013
    50
    TMNT is a video game of poor production values​​, valid only for the die-hard fan of Pizza-loving turtles.
  4. Sep 7, 2013
    45
    Out of the Shadows has all the trimmings of a fantastic brawler, but none of it works as it should. For every highlight the game showcases there are multiple failures: shoddy controls, a complicated combat system, and far too many glitches.
  5. Sep 9, 2013
    30
    What we are left with is a dull, broken button-masher of a campaign, a risible, barely playable multiplayer game, and a couch co-op which puts most players on a level playing field with Mr. Magoo.
  6. Sep 4, 2013
    30
    How can such a bad game be part of the Summer of Arcade? Those games need to be special. This Turtles game is definitely not.
  7. Sep 4, 2013
    10
    Bugs like this render the game almost unplayable. With patience and no small amount of luck, it is possible to progress in the game, but it's simply not worth it.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 52
  2. Negative: 16 out of 52
  1. Aug 29, 2013
    10
    You really have to give this game a chance to appreciate it. The camera gets pretty rough at times, and there's a few weird issues withYou really have to give this game a chance to appreciate it. The camera gets pretty rough at times, and there's a few weird issues with movement. These issues are made up for with the combat. I doubt the people trashing it played it enough to actually see the strongest point of the game. Once you get through the campaign you open up the other modes of play that are all straight fighting. It really changes when you develop each turtles skills too.

    It's easily worth $15. Give it a shot.
    Expand
  2. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    Played the game some more and i must say this game is soooo awesome!! The diversity in the levels are outstanding and there is so much toPlayed the game some more and i must say this game is soooo awesome!! The diversity in the levels are outstanding and there is so much to upgrade and u can also purchase a special weapon designed for each turtle. It baffles me why some people are rating this game so low, if i could go higher than a 10 i would. I want to savor this masterpiece of a game because im having a blast with it. There is one problem with this game that totally annoys me, its the camera, the camera sucks in this game, thank God its only in the campaign mode though. I do not want this game to end! Expand
  3. Aug 28, 2013
    9
    The best game of ninja turtles which I could play.
    For its price it worth to be bought.
    Fighting is the good, dynamic, and are well in hand.
    The best game of ninja turtles which I could play.
    For its price it worth to be bought.
    Fighting is the good, dynamic, and are well in hand.
    Only the radar map is lacking.
    Expand
  4. Nov 16, 2014
    7
    I purchased this on Steam and while the reviews said there were game breaking bugs, they must have been fixed by the time I played it. I mayI purchased this on Steam and while the reviews said there were game breaking bugs, they must have been fixed by the time I played it. I may be biased, because I loved the turtles when I was younger, and the art style in this game looks amazing. The controls can get a little clunky for how quick you try to queue up a combo move, but overall, it is a fun game to go through, even if you do have to button mash like crazy sometimes. The camera angles can get a little tiresome, I found myself constantly pointing the camera back at a level I could work with. As far as characters, each turtle has his own unique fighting style and techniques. This lets you play around with different ways of fighting through the waves of foot soldiers. I played this solo, so there were a few spots where it would have been very handy to have a coop buddy or two. A lot of reviews have ripped this game apart, and maybe it was due to the bugs that are gone now, and it has it's flaws, but this game is definitely worth checking out. Expand
  5. Aug 28, 2013
    7
    Best TMNT Game out there Best comic books game this year and one of the best ever Don't whine about anything if you are not a TMNT fan
    This
    Best TMNT Game out there Best comic books game this year and one of the best ever Don't whine about anything if you are not a TMNT fan
    This one is for the Fans XD
    Expand
  6. Aug 29, 2013
    3
    Poor graphics, animations and voice casting, frustrating camera view, no atmosphere, no humour. The only thing could be fine is fightingPoor graphics, animations and voice casting, frustrating camera view, no atmosphere, no humour. The only thing could be fine is fighting (except camera view) with combos, special moves and counter moves. But it doesnt save the game from being really bad. Expand
  7. Apr 2, 2014
    0
    This game has only had technical issue after technical issue. All your fandom, and wishing to play a TMNT game combined, will not make thisThis game has only had technical issue after technical issue. All your fandom, and wishing to play a TMNT game combined, will not make this game worthy of a single dime. Do not waste your time with this horrible frustration of a game. Redfly is a terrible gaming company with a record for being barely mediocre. Their public relations is essentially non existent. Any gamer who has attempted this poor version of a TMNT game can tell you that they have not received any relief from all the glitches that have plagued this game. DO NOT BUY. Expand

See all 52 User Reviews