Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 164 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The oldest brother, Leonardo is the leader of the four Turtles – an accomplished tactician possessing a discipline and focus as sharp as his blades. His selfless sense of responsibility for the family sometimes puts him at odds with the headstrong Raphael, who too often only thinks of himself. With a katana in each hand, Leo is the most well-rounded fighter in the Turtle roster, balanced by an unwavering dedication to his training. He is without a standout strength or glaring weakness, defined by a general aptitude for speed, reach, damage, and reactiveness, making him the easiest for novice players to pick up and play. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 28
  2. Negative: 17 out of 28
  1. Sep 3, 2013
    69
    Even though it has some issues, it tries to bring back the soul of the arcade, and manages to offer a game full of action that those who play it with friends are definitely going to enjoy.
  2. Sep 2, 2013
    59
    Intrinsic problems with some of the basics; collision detection, dodgy camera, and sloppy graphics ruin what could have been a far more polished experience.
  3. Sep 6, 2013
    50
    TMNT is a video game of poor production values​​, valid only for the die-hard fan of Pizza-loving turtles.
  4. Sep 7, 2013
    45
    Out of the Shadows has all the trimmings of a fantastic brawler, but none of it works as it should. For every highlight the game showcases there are multiple failures: shoddy controls, a complicated combat system, and far too many glitches.
  5. Sep 9, 2013
    30
    What we are left with is a dull, broken button-masher of a campaign, a risible, barely playable multiplayer game, and a couch co-op which puts most players on a level playing field with Mr. Magoo.
  6. Sep 4, 2013
    30
    How can such a bad game be part of the Summer of Arcade? Those games need to be special. This Turtles game is definitely not.
  7. Sep 4, 2013
    10
    Bugs like this render the game almost unplayable. With patience and no small amount of luck, it is possible to progress in the game, but it's simply not worth it.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 51
  2. Negative: 16 out of 51
  1. Aug 29, 2013
    10
    You really have to give this game a chance to appreciate it. The camera gets pretty rough at times, and there's a few weird issues with movement. These issues are made up for with the combat. I doubt the people trashing it played it enough to actually see the strongest point of the game. Once you get through the campaign you open up the other modes of play that are all straight fighting. It really changes when you develop each turtles skills too.

    It's easily worth $15. Give it a shot.
    Expand
  2. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    Best Turtle game yet. Combat much like Arkham games. Lacks in many areas, but a step in the right direction. Cannot beat the price point either. 6.0 id much too low in my opinion. Expand
  3. Aug 28, 2013
    9
    Summer of arcade goes out with a bang with its best for last title tmnt out of the shadows. I'm a huge fan of tmnt so i was excited to hear about this game. I can proudly say it is not a disappointment. Red fly studios developed a true to series tmnt game with a combat system similar to batman Arkham series. It's very satisfying to pull off counters and beat the snot out of ninjas and other fools that get in your way. Besides the campaign you have arcade mode, dojo to practice your moves and learn the basics, concept art, leveling up your turtles, challenge mode etc. this game is big and it's only $15! The graphics are really nice for an arcade title and the turtles look realistic albeit a little creepy. The only complaint I've had with this otherwise extremely appealing title is the voice acting. Some of it is BAD. None if any of the cast from the nickelodeon television series are present here. Overall though this game is awesome and is a blast to play. I highly recommend it if you grew up with or love the tmnt series as a kid or if you're a fan of the show...buy it now! Expand
  4. Sep 10, 2013
    8
    I'm not going into the technical stuff.
    This is a great game for players old and young. From 6 to 36 TMNT does not disappoint. The Turtles
    look great, the back and forth banter is top notch and will have you cracking up. Basic controls are easy to pick up and enjoy. Local co-op 2 player campaign gave us freedom to explore, kick shell and experiment with team moves. All without being held back by each other. Three turtles to take down The Foot one to explore & grab pizza. One of the best things was that I could play this with my sons & daughter. Arcade mode 4 player classic Turtle action with the Unreal engine awesome, awesome, awesome. As a family we continue to join this game. Quoting my son why aren't there more Super Hero games that we can all play together. TMNT answers the call for old and young. Expand
  5. Sep 8, 2013
    7
    The game is true to the turtles, if they can fix the glitches and the weird camera would be amazing... now, is just GOOD. Makes me wish it was a open world like arkhan City. Expand
  6. Nov 22, 2013
    4
    Why? JUST WHY???????? The game is repetitive and boring period. The only fun thing about this game is the training mode lol! XD Even the Nickolodeon version that came out afterwards SUCKS! WHEN will we EVER get a TMNT game like Arkham City? CAN ANY GAME DEVELOPER DO THE SERIES JUSTICE??? Jesus Christ. Collapse
  7. Apr 2, 2014
    0
    This game has only had technical issue after technical issue. All your fandom, and wishing to play a TMNT game combined, will not make this game worthy of a single dime. Do not waste your time with this horrible frustration of a game. Redfly is a terrible gaming company with a record for being barely mediocre. Their public relations is essentially non existent. Any gamer who has attempted this poor version of a TMNT game can tell you that they have not received any relief from all the glitches that have plagued this game. DO NOT BUY. Expand

See all 51 User Reviews