User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 60
  2. Negative: 13 out of 60

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 11, 2012
    4
    The ONLY question you should ask yourself before buying this game is:

    Are you good in fighting games...good enough to handle the steep learning curve that Tekken T.T. 2 moves have to offer? If your answer happens to be a "yes" then be prepared, because this is no walk in the park. This game will consume most of your time making you either be really good at it or have you quit out
    of frustration and never look back.

    Tekken T.T 2 is certainly NOT FOR THE CASUAL GAMER that might want to pick it up and have fun right out the package alas the Dead or Alive series. It's obvious that the developers made this with the intention of making you understand fully how the mechanics of the game really work...but at the expense of having the curious/amateur gamer run away from it. IN REALITY WE HAVE GIRLFRIENDS / BOYFRIENDS, FAMILY MEMBERS THAT ARE NOT GOOD AT ALL IN FIGHTING GAMES THAT WOULD LIKE TO TRY IT FOR FUN AND GET THE MECHANICS DOWN IN QUICK AND FUN MANNER....UNFORTUNATELY, TEKKEN T.T.2 IS NOT FOR THEM...and that's why It's very hard for me to give this new entry a higher score just because of that...

    Part of me is glad to see the developers stuck to the technicalities of what Tekken is suppose to be...BUT then it also makes me realize that games like this one narrows everything down to a small number of people that are already good at the game (or to the true persistent) NOT GIVING MUCH OF A CHANCE TO THE CASUAL GAMER TO FALL IN LOVE WITH IT. Assuming you're great at Tekken or fighting games in general, then this game is your dream come true, it's full of options to customize your character, plenty of characters to choose from and good graphics, but then how much fun is to play a fighting game on your own if you can't play it with just anyone...unless you fake it and let them win every time they smash the buttons trying to pull off any of the unfriendly combos system.

    You have been WARNED!
    Expand
  2. Sep 12, 2012
    10
    It's the best fighting game that have been ever made!! In comparison to Mortal Kombat that has been very very ridiculous in story and stupid game play, This game is superb! Item Moves is really the thing you can enjoy with! Huge set of costumes and advanced settings to set colors are the most interesting parts that makes this game really enjoying and you won't be tired playing it all night long!
    New characters such as Forest and Jun are fantastic and you'll enjoy playing them. Also if you have DLC characters you can experience more superb characters and great movements in this game!
    If you are a real fighter and enjoy fighting games, this game is the best choice for you!
    Expand
  3. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2; one of the kings of the fighting games return this year, and what happen? An amazing game!!! The gameplay is really awesome, the graphics are incredible, the controls, the sound, all is amazing!. Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is one of the best games of the saga.
  4. Sep 12, 2012
    10
    This game has all what a fighting player deserves!! Harada know how to hear the fans and through this, improve the game. Is are looking for a technical game, tekken is your game! plus this game have a lots of extra things that make this game much more that a fighting game. thank you Harada-san.
  5. Sep 12, 2012
    10
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is the pinnicle of fighting games. It is a very fun, fast paced fighter with bundles of in-game content for you to have fun with. If you are a fighting game fan, then this is a must have!
  6. Oct 27, 2012
    6
    This episode of Tekken has everything a fighting game should have. Amazing graphics, improved sound with music, customization, a lot of characters to choose from, ability to fight using two characters and many modes to fight!. It's a great game for a family where you can simply challenge each other and have massive fun!. For the skillful players, on line mode is a perfect choice to challenge the world and test the skills. If your a '' fighting games '', fanatic you can be sure to spent hours and hours fighting and never get bored. Expand
  7. Nov 8, 2012
    8
    I could name it Tekken tag tournament 2: the Tekken 6 expanded experience. It's still a great game, worth playable and payable, you won't find a great new thing but if you like the series you'll hardly regret it
  8. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    Very happy i bought this game, everything i could want in a Tekken game. Only downside is that with all the new features, you would hope to actually stay alive a bit longer in a fight. Its frustrating that two strong conbos from Bryan Fury whilst in a Rage state can kill you instantly. Other than that, pretty awesome!
  9. Dec 12, 2012
    6
    Well, when it comes to review a fighting game like Tekken, it's necessary doing it from the casual point of view and the fighting gamer (as myself) point of view.
    For the casuals: You probably will have fun customizing your character, unlocking endings, messing around with some combos, playing versus with some friends, etc.
    Sooner or later you might want to jump online because there
    aren't any casual mode to play (like Tekken bowl, ball, force, etc), also you can play with a friend in your home and also online which is a huge plus.
    The problem of jumping online in this game huge for a casual, first, the game has useless moves in high level play but are totally noob killers, like King lows (which in high level are crappy) 10hit string combos that also are useless in medium-high level play, useless strings, seeable lows like the one that Law has, which again, is totally a noob killer but barely useful in medium-high play and an army of noobs using that moves because of the lack of information that the game provides for the one who uses it and the one who tries to counter it.
    And what the games provide to let you know how to deal with that situations? An awful fighting lab mode and an awful practice mode without character tutorials, without framedata and poor information about how the okizeme works, how and what use to punish, the use of red life an rage management, so if you wanna get better be ready to spend lots of time in internet looking information about your character, strategies, and even framedata which in my opinion is something that the game should provide (even the strategy guide from prima is awful and a complete waste of money)
    Do i recommend this game?If you liked the old ones this isn't very different and the game is fun to play with friends nd the single character content may satisfy so I would say that, I kinda recommend it
    From the fighting gamer point of view: You doesn't miss anything special if you skip Tekken, the retardedness of this game is huge sometimes (im nnot here to complain, test it and see what i mean).
    First, there are mid crushers, thats the most stupid thing i've seen in a 3D fighting game, what is the point of implementing attacks that makes some mids whiff? dafuk?! i mean, if you throw a mid, you do it with the intention that it hits either they stand or crouch, it cn be sidesteped but thats normal, but if i take a move like Heihachi b4 a full circular-homing move and mid what is the point of making it whiff to some retarded move that goes so close to the ground that makes it whiff? it has no sense even full circulars mids in the range has a chance to whiff thats completely stupid.
    Broken moves like EWGF, hello im an i13 that leave you at minus 4 on block and i can mess up almost 3/4 of your life, yeah if you get hit is your fault but everybody gets hit sooner or later, even the best.
    Risk/reward completely broken, some random hopkicks can get you far, i mean, they are i15, and only -13 on block (slighty punisheable) leads to devastating combos, low crushes, makes the game a starter fest and something like throw the move in the right situaion thing rather than, be careful and better read your opponent.
    Huge rooster, if you are pro at other fighting game and want to go on tekken prepare to spend lots of hours learning like 50 match ups, learning the useless 10hit of everyone because no matter how good you are, if you dont know the string you will get hit, but if you know it you will be able to punish it.
    Of course if you come from VF or BB you will miss a lot of necessary information within the game, like framedata good tutorials etc
    Do I recommend this game? No
    Collapse
  10. Sep 14, 2012
    10
    As always, Namco has made another great addition to the Tekken franchise. However, this game is not for the faint of heart. The people who enjoy this game are the competitive gamers. Tekken is basically the Dark Souls of the fighting game world. TT2, specifically is very similar to Tekken 6, with a graphics boost, and the addition of team play.
  11. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    retards with retarded reasons rating this AWESOME GAME game with low scores OMG, is one of the best fighting games if not the best, if you dont like fighting games at all, then yeah, u are gonna hate this.
  12. Nov 21, 2012
    9
    The best Tekken game on the Xbox 360 it plays really well and the graphics are incredible.
    I really dont know why it got sutch average reviews on other site it so much better than the likes of Mortal Kombat or Dead or Alive 5.
    A really good alternative to Super Street Figher IV and worth checking out.
  13. Sep 29, 2013
    10
    This latest instalment to the Tekken franchise will go down as one of the best non-canonical Tekken games ever! The introduction of Tag Assaults provides more variety to the game play and ensures that any two characters can surely create one. The time you can spend mucking around on the game would never cease to end! There is always a new character to learn, more customising to do, playing online and fighting in the various modes of gameplay. The only true fault I have with this game is the online is very slow and lags a big deal. As for a casual gamer like myself, this game is perfect for a muck around and to really devote time to practicing with characters I like. Tekken tunes is a nice feature, allowing you to alter the backing tracks to the many stages featured in the game. Combos tuning is a good tutorial for beginners to the game except for it's difficulty for first timers trying to pass some areas of it such as the tag assaults and combos part. All they give you to help is the instructions on how to do it in full once and then you are left on your own. Very tricky. The customisation is awe-inspiring. The freedom and personalisation that it provides you with is marvellous and an aspect that some games lack. The pair play feature is amazing for entertainment with friends and keeping a group of people entertained. Well and truly an amazing game!! Expand
  14. Dec 12, 2012
    0
    Well, when it comes to review a fighting game like Tekken, it's necessary doing it from the casual point of view and the fighting gamer (as myself) point of view.
    For the casuals: You probably will have fun customizing your character, unlocking endings, messing around with some combos, playing versus with some friends, etc.
    Sooner or later you might want to jump online because there
    aren't any casual mode to play (like Tekken bowl, ball, force, etc), also you can play with a friend in your home and also online which is a huge plus.
    The problem of jumping online in this game huge for a casual, first, the game has useless moves in high level play but are totally noob killers, like King lows (which in high level are crappy) 10hit string combos that also are useless in medium-high level play, useless strings, seeable lows like the one that Law has, which again, is totally a noob killer but barely useful in medium-high play and an army of noobs using that moves because of the lack of information that the game provides for the one who uses it and the one who tries to counter it.
    And what the games provide to let you know how to deal with that situations? An awful fighting lab mode and an awful practice mode without character tutorials, without framedata and poor information about how the okizeme works, how and what use to punish, the use of red life an rage management, so if you wanna get better be ready to spend lots of time in internet looking information about your character, strategies, and even framedata which in my opinion is something that the game should provide (even the strategy guide from prima is awful and a complete waste of money)
    Do i recommend this game?If you liked the old ones this isn't very different and the game is fun to play with friends nd the single character content may satisfy so I would say that, I kinda recommend it
    From the fighting gamer point of view: You doesn't miss anything special if you skip Tekken, the retardedness of this game is huge sometimes (im nnot here to complain, test it and see what i mean).
    First, there are mid crushers, thats the most stupid thing i've seen in a 3D fighting game, what is the point of implementing attacks that makes some mids whiff? dafuk?! i mean, if you throw a mid, you do it with the intention that it hits either they stand or crouch, it cn be sidesteped but thats normal, but if i take a move like Heihachi b4 a full circular-homing move and mid what is the point of making it whiff to some retarded move that goes so close to the ground that makes it whiff? it has no sense even full circulars mids in the range has a chance to whiff thats completely stupid.
    Broken moves like EWGF, hello im an i13 that leave you at minus 4 on block and i can mess up almost 3/4 of your life, yeah if you get hit is your fault but everybody gets hit sooner or later, even the best.
    Risk/reward completely broken, some random hopkicks can get you far, i mean, they are i15, and only -13 on block (slighty punisheable) leads to devastating combos, low crushes, makes the game a starter fest and something like throw the move in the right situaion thing rather than, be careful and better read your opponent.
    Huge rooster, if you are pro at other fighting game and want to go on tekken prepare to spend lots of hours learning like 50 match ups, learning the useless 10hit of everyone because no matter how good you are, if you dont know the string you will get hit, but if you know it you will be able to punish it.
    Of course if you come from VF or BB you will miss a lot of necessary information within the game, like framedata good tutorials etc
    Do I recommend this game? No
    Collapse
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Feb 15, 2013
    80
    With enough variation of modes to opt for, including the new story-type mode Fight Lab (which is rather short, although it will help gamers learn the game's moves), Tekken Tag Tournament 2 has enough fighting gameplay for single-player and same-console multiplayer entertainment, especially with the strong controls and impressive visuals. However, the utter dismalness of Xbox Live (lack of) gameplay delivers a double-fisted punch to the face of Tekken Tag Tournament 2's quality.
  2. Nov 7, 2012
    85
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is often cheap and barebones. However, it's also one of the most comprehensive fighting games I've ever played. With 59 characters and thousands of moves, Tekken Tag Tournament 2 has been specifically designed with fans in mind. Newcomers will also enjoy the large roster and cinematic endings, but may find the online multiplayer unwelcoming!
  3. 80
    Even when this one is more the first Tekken Tag spin-off than anything else you will enjoy it because of its flawless fight system and "eternal" playability. [Oct 2012]