Tekken Tag Tournament 2 Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 93 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Tekken Tag Tournament returns with fighters from across the Tekken spectrum taking each other on two by two for the second time.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Sep 16, 2012
    93
    Tekken Tag Tournament is the most polished and well thought through part in the Tekken series. It doesn't matter if you're playing alone or together: everything is about fun and competition. And the lack of gimmicks, like a story mode, show that this game doesn't need anything more than strong core gameplay.
  2. Sep 12, 2012
    90
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is definitely a solid package. The robust cast of fighters, ample amount of stages and sheer plethora of content make it worth the price of admission alone. Factor in the depth of the fighting and promised DLC, and you have a game that could occupy you for a long, long time.
  3. Sep 12, 2012
    86
    TTT2 might simply be seen as a (huge) collection of characters and stages for Tekken fans, but it's much more: the Fight Lab's got great potential for Namco's brawler newcomers, while the new tactical approach reached by the Tag interactions and the many available modes – including a strong if basic online support - will keep the interest high for every Tekken fan.
  4. Sep 11, 2012
    85
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 doesn't overhaul the franchise's format, instead opting to retain the series' already-solid gameplay and avoid extraneous modes that detract from the core fighting focus.
  5. Feb 15, 2013
    80
    With enough variation of modes to opt for, including the new story-type mode Fight Lab (which is rather short, although it will help gamers learn the game's moves), Tekken Tag Tournament 2 has enough fighting gameplay for single-player and same-console multiplayer entertainment, especially with the strong controls and impressive visuals. However, the utter dismalness of Xbox Live (lack of) gameplay delivers a double-fisted punch to the face of Tekken Tag Tournament 2's quality.
  6. Sep 14, 2012
    80
    I'd love to tell you that Namco has breathed a ton of new life into this ailing franchise with TTT2, but it's just not really the case. It's still a fantastic fighting game that will sell plenty of copies to the series' fans, but it's not a fantastic choice to start with if you're looking to get into fighting games.
  7. 70
    As a catchall franchise compilation, Tekken Tag 2 works for fans who aren't seeking anything too radically different, delivering plenty of fighters and solid fun, even if it's traversing well-worn territory.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 19
  2. Negative: 3 out of 19
  1. Jan 29, 2017
    10
    Este es el mejor juego de la saga y con diferencia, prácticamente todos los personajes, muchos trajes y edición que puedes aplicar a cadaEste es el mejor juego de la saga y con diferencia, prácticamente todos los personajes, muchos trajes y edición que puedes aplicar a cada personaje, el combot editable, combos en pareja, ataques únicos, juego fluido, dlc gratuitos, muy buen modo online, videos finales, dificultad bien medida. divertido... perfecto Expand
  2. Sep 12, 2012
    10
    This game has all what a fighting player deserves!! Harada know how to hear the fans and through this, improve the game. Is are looking for aThis game has all what a fighting player deserves!! Harada know how to hear the fans and through this, improve the game. Is are looking for a technical game, tekken is your game! plus this game have a lots of extra things that make this game much more that a fighting game. thank you Harada-san. Expand
  3. Sep 12, 2012
    10
    It's the best fighting game that have been ever made!! In comparison to Mortal Kombat that has been very very ridiculous in story and stupidIt's the best fighting game that have been ever made!! In comparison to Mortal Kombat that has been very very ridiculous in story and stupid game play, This game is superb! Item Moves is really the thing you can enjoy with! Huge set of costumes and advanced settings to set colors are the most interesting parts that makes this game really enjoying and you won't be tired playing it all night long!
    New characters such as Forest and Jun are fantastic and you'll enjoy playing them. Also if you have DLC characters you can experience more superb characters and great movements in this game!
    If you are a real fighter and enjoy fighting games, this game is the best choice for you!
    Expand
  4. Nov 21, 2012
    9
    The best Tekken game on the Xbox 360 it plays really well and the graphics are incredible.
    I really dont know why it got sutch average
    The best Tekken game on the Xbox 360 it plays really well and the graphics are incredible.
    I really dont know why it got sutch average reviews on other site it so much better than the likes of Mortal Kombat or Dead or Alive 5.
    A really good alternative to Super Street Figher IV and worth checking out.
    Expand
  5. Mar 27, 2016
    8
    Pretty fun game. I'm a bit casual so for me the pluses are the amount of characters you get as well as the solid story and game play as wellPretty fun game. I'm a bit casual so for me the pluses are the amount of characters you get as well as the solid story and game play as well as the amount of modes. The only bad part is that it's not for the casual gamer. Expand
  6. Dec 12, 2012
    6
    Well, when it comes to review a fighting game like Tekken, it's necessary doing it from the casual point of view and the fighting gamer (asWell, when it comes to review a fighting game like Tekken, it's necessary doing it from the casual point of view and the fighting gamer (as myself) point of view.
    For the casuals: You probably will have fun customizing your character, unlocking endings, messing around with some combos, playing versus with some friends, etc.
    Sooner or later you might want to jump online because there aren't any casual mode to play (like Tekken bowl, ball, force, etc), also you can play with a friend in your home and also online which is a huge plus.
    The problem of jumping online in this game huge for a casual, first, the game has useless moves in high level play but are totally noob killers, like King lows (which in high level are crappy) 10hit string combos that also are useless in medium-high level play, useless strings, seeable lows like the one that Law has, which again, is totally a noob killer but barely useful in medium-high play and an army of noobs using that moves because of the lack of information that the game provides for the one who uses it and the one who tries to counter it.
    And what the games provide to let you know how to deal with that situations? An awful fighting lab mode and an awful practice mode without character tutorials, without framedata and poor information about how the okizeme works, how and what use to punish, the use of red life an rage management, so if you wanna get better be ready to spend lots of time in internet looking information about your character, strategies, and even framedata which in my opinion is something that the game should provide (even the strategy guide from prima is awful and a complete waste of money)
    Do i recommend this game?If you liked the old ones this isn't very different and the game is fun to play with friends nd the single character content may satisfy so I would say that, I kinda recommend it
    From the fighting gamer point of view: You doesn't miss anything special if you skip Tekken, the retardedness of this game is huge sometimes (im nnot here to complain, test it and see what i mean).
    First, there are mid crushers, thats the most stupid thing i've seen in a 3D fighting game, what is the point of implementing attacks that makes some mids whiff? dafuk?! i mean, if you throw a mid, you do it with the intention that it hits either they stand or crouch, it cn be sidesteped but thats normal, but if i take a move like Heihachi b4 a full circular-homing move and mid what is the point of making it whiff to some retarded move that goes so close to the ground that makes it whiff? it has no sense even full circulars mids in the range has a chance to whiff thats completely stupid.
    Broken moves like EWGF, hello im an i13 that leave you at minus 4 on block and i can mess up almost 3/4 of your life, yeah if you get hit is your fault but everybody gets hit sooner or later, even the best.
    Risk/reward completely broken, some random hopkicks can get you far, i mean, they are i15, and only -13 on block (slighty punisheable) leads to devastating combos, low crushes, makes the game a starter fest and something like throw the move in the right situaion thing rather than, be careful and better read your opponent.
    Huge rooster, if you are pro at other fighting game and want to go on tekken prepare to spend lots of hours learning like 50 match ups, learning the useless 10hit of everyone because no matter how good you are, if you dont know the string you will get hit, but if you know it you will be able to punish it.
    Of course if you come from VF or BB you will miss a lot of necessary information within the game, like framedata good tutorials etc
    Do I recommend this game? No
    Expand
  7. Jan 6, 2017
    1
    Quand est-ce que les Japonais sauront faire des menus corrects et présenter l'ensemble de manière appropriée et agréable ? oui je sais ! quandQuand est-ce que les Japonais sauront faire des menus corrects et présenter l'ensemble de manière appropriée et agréable ? oui je sais ! quand les poules auront des dents ! c'est toujours aussi pourri d'épisode en épisode et en ce qui concerne le jeu proprement dit, on se fait rapidement la même remarque mais avec une nuance d'importance : j'ai l'impression que c'est pire à chaque nouvelle itération.

    En outre, le Tekken n'est pas bon pour la manette, c'est en effet l'exposer non seulement à une usure accélérée mais aussi à une mort prématurée ; c'est également s'exposer à une foulure des pouces alors qu'on tente de sortir les "combos" et de ne pas finir épileptique devant toutes ces couleurs criardes, ces éclairs et ces flashs permanents.

    Et puis qu'on ne se méprenne pas, les jeux de baston rendent con et irritable, ils sont tout le contraire de ce qu'un "jeu" est censé proposer : de l'amusement... euh du "feune" pardon, parce que si c'est pas feune tu vois, ça soûle direct. Cash. Alors j'ai fait un rage quitte et j'ai mis 1 ; ça va mieux maintenant, surtout depuis que la galette "t'es qen" a volé à travers la pièce et calé mon bureau qui en avait bien besoin : Tekhaine, tu sers enfin à quelque chose.
    Expand

See all 19 User Reviews