User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 53
  2. Negative: 27 out of 53
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RanzzieM
    Jun 3, 2009
    2
    Never played a more boring game ever. It cost 60$ WOW thats stealing your money!!! They would be beter off just giving the game when you buy the movie DVD later. I finished the game in 4 hours an those were the most boring hours ever. Every batlle is basicly the same. You dont have to worry about your team because they have a godmode it seems LOL. I seen that angie woman get shot with 60 Never played a more boring game ever. It cost 60$ WOW thats stealing your money!!! They would be beter off just giving the game when you buy the movie DVD later. I finished the game in 4 hours an those were the most boring hours ever. Every batlle is basicly the same. You dont have to worry about your team because they have a godmode it seems LOL. I seen that angie woman get shot with 60 bullets eh lasers whatever an she just walked away not even bleeding LOL. The only good thing i found in the game was the cover option. WASTE OF MONEY. Expand
  2. JustinB
    May 20, 2009
    3
    This game should have been an XBLA game not a standard 60 dollar game. I beat it in less than five hours, I'm very glad I didn't buy it. The game play is repetitive and boring, cut scenes and storyline are blurry and also boring. Really the only good thing in the game are the backgrounds as you run through them. Oh and one last thing, they couldn't even make the characters This game should have been an XBLA game not a standard 60 dollar game. I beat it in less than five hours, I'm very glad I didn't buy it. The game play is repetitive and boring, cut scenes and storyline are blurry and also boring. Really the only good thing in the game are the backgrounds as you run through them. Oh and one last thing, they couldn't even make the characters look like the actors like Christian Bale, who didn't look or sound like him. This game is worth maybe a one night rental. Expand
  3. Brandon
    Jun 29, 2009
    2
    DLC packaged as a real game. Much like the watchman game nobody bought off Xbox live this game feels like an unfinished demo. The gameplay feels like a dollar store geras of war and is about as dull as dull can be. Like people have said before, if you want to pad your gamerscore with 1000 points from three hours of work go ahead or spend 3 months getting seriously 2.0.
  4. JMLP
    May 19, 2009
    3
    This is what happens when licensed games go horribly wrong. Broken in every area that would have made this game fun. This is like a bad 360 launch title with slightly better graphics.
  5. JacobA.
    Jun 15, 2009
    3
    Other than for the achievements, or "trophies" for this game, I see no reason to play it, the AI is incredibly stupid, especially the AI of your companion in the game. it is extremely horrible, it has nothing to do with the movie in any way, the voice overs are horrible, the music is very, VERY repetitive, and while playing on co op, everytime player 2 does something they give credit to Other than for the achievements, or "trophies" for this game, I see no reason to play it, the AI is incredibly stupid, especially the AI of your companion in the game. it is extremely horrible, it has nothing to do with the movie in any way, the voice overs are horrible, the music is very, VERY repetitive, and while playing on co op, everytime player 2 does something they give credit to player 1 aka john connor, another thing.... if your team mate needs to be revived, do you hit them with your gun? well in terminator you do. Expand
  6. Mar 19, 2011
    4
    A barely playable game to be truthful. Shows glimpses of potential in places but never amounts to more than a cheaply made cash-in on the franchise. A real real shame! The silver lining being that it has proved an easy 1000GS
  7. Jul 18, 2011
    0
    A very bad game which is one of the worst fps I've ever played. The story is bad,the characters are not memorable, and there is no variety of enemies in the levels.You're going to be fighting during your playthrough the same 3 enemies, spider flying things and T600s if I remember correctly.The game is hardly 4 hours and the graphics are wll let me just say that they are bad because If IA very bad game which is one of the worst fps I've ever played. The story is bad,the characters are not memorable, and there is no variety of enemies in the levels.You're going to be fighting during your playthrough the same 3 enemies, spider flying things and T600s if I remember correctly.The game is hardly 4 hours and the graphics are wll let me just say that they are bad because If I start saying what I really think, I would end being banned. To everybody who is think of buying this game 'cause is cheap, I have to warn them to stay away from this piece of s**t. Expand
  8. Nov 9, 2011
    1
    awful, awful, awful!. it is just so bad. straight away when i started to play this game, i just said to myself THIS PIECE OF RUBBISH ISNT WORTH ANYONES TIME. deffinately, not worth buying!
  9. Nov 15, 2011
    2
    This game took about 7 hours to finish and im amazed that i was bothered to last that long. The only real reason for getting this is that the achievements are very easy to get. If your bothered about achievements then rent it, if you not then steer clear.
  10. Feb 18, 2013
    3
    This game is grey, bland, boring, and completely and utterly unintersting. The graphics are bad, stock, royalty free music is bland and boring, the controls are stiff and akward, the gameplay is repettitive, not creative, and just outright boring, and over all, this game is just bad. you litteraly fight the same 4 enemies in the same scenario, every, single level, of its short, short,This game is grey, bland, boring, and completely and utterly unintersting. The graphics are bad, stock, royalty free music is bland and boring, the controls are stiff and akward, the gameplay is repettitive, not creative, and just outright boring, and over all, this game is just bad. you litteraly fight the same 4 enemies in the same scenario, every, single level, of its short, short, story mode. co-op play is a bit of a plus, but you'd be better off finding something else to play co-op than this game. The worst part of this game by far is the loading times. the ridiculous loading times. its very easy to die in this game, as there is no "blink time" between hits, and every time you die, you get stuck on a loading screen of the terminators face for at least a minute. then, after getting back inthe game and dieng in 30 seconds, back to a one minute loading screen. its the worst loading ive ever seen in a video game. worse than sonic 06, and worse than even the ps1 and even sega cd games. not only are the loading screens ridiculously long, but they show up so frequently as well. not including deaths, every time a cut scene loads, every time you reach a new sectionof the level, almost every menu, and almost every transition in the game is met with a loading screen. and the screens last at least 25-30 seconds, and thats AT THE LEAST! I understands the game needs to load, but its completely ridiculous. i know im beating a dead horse with the load times, but they completely ruin this game. without the bad loading times, this game would score at least 3 points higher. because you litteraly spend 4 minutes of a 15 minute level on loading screens, and not even downloading the game to the harddrive helps, it only lowers them about 5 seconds. One of the only positives, is that the achievments are easy to unlock. this game, at best, is a one night rental (if those still existed) that should be played through once, and never again. its just so lifeless and effortless, this is one game, that just exists, and has very little redeeming factors, and little to no point, to be purchased. i luckily got this game for 10$, but i feel horrible for the sorry suckers that payed 50$ for this game. i would never pay more than 10$ for this, and 10$ is really pushing it. unless your looking for easy achievments, and mindless, redundant shooting over and over in the same scenario, stay away from this game. it appeals to almost no one. Itas clearly just another movie cash in, that has no effort. Expand
  11. Nov 1, 2012
    4
    Wow, the only reason I don't give this game a worse score is to reserve it to games I know deserve a lower score. Also, the game is playable and it does have working gameplay - it's just not very good, engaging, good looking or fun.
  12. May 21, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. We can't ignore it feels like a yet to be finished game, with some good ideas but not fully exploited. In fact, perhaps it has been hurried up to be ready for the cinema premiere, and this would have harmed the development. What a shame. Maybe next time. Expand
  13. Jul 13, 2013
    1
    i dont know how anyone can give this even a decent grade...blows my mind but anyways dont play this game it sucks in every form of the word want to vault over cover...cant...pick a gun up at your feet while your in cover...nope run? crouch? fight more than 4 "different" enemies...nope game is a complete fail couldnt find a good thing about the game.
Metascore
48

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 50
  2. Negative: 23 out of 50
  1. The repetitive missions and lack of any replayability can make the few short hours spent in 2016 barely tolerable, and don't justify any more than a rental from anyone. While it's far from the worst movie tie-in this generation, it does little to change the stigma, and is best left untouched on store shelves.
  2. To say I was disappointed is an understatement. It’s an insult to anyone who plays games for more than an hour or two a year. Grin should be tarred and feathered in public for this, for failing in so many basic areas, and making some of the most feared machines in the world as impotent as cross-eyed rabbits. Avoid at all costs, and because it lacks any form of incentive to replay, I will, most definitely not, be back.
  3. As gamers, we are well accustomed to the fate of movie-related games, which is why Salvation is such a disappointment. It has some solid combat, perhaps the best cover-system to date, and the foundation for a captivating plot, but the game lacks any sort of scope.