Metascore
48

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 47 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Assume the role of John Connor and battle for survival against the far superior forces of Skynet.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 50
  2. Negative: 23 out of 50
  1. Terminator Salvation has an interesting setting, but boils it down to a little bit too simple rail shooter. The saving grace of the game is co-op multiplayer, which is good fun compared to somewhat dull single player experience. [June 2009]
  2. 63
    While Terminator Salvation has some good ideas and is fun at times, it lacks any replayability. And more importantly, it lacks the star of the film, which is a rather curious omission.
  3. 60
    Terminator Salvation is not a terrible game; in fact the cover mechanic alone makes playing through it quite enjoyable at times. However, there simply is no denying that the entire package feels unfinished. From under a three hour playtime to some truly peculiar omissions, Salvation displays all the symptoms of a rushed movie tie-in.
  4. Too short of an experience, most XBLA titles last longer than this one.
  5. Terminator Salvation is too short to justify its cost, and its gameplay is unsatisfying too. A new disappointment in the genre of the movie-related games.
  6. A game this short and shallow should really be ignored. There is nothing original, compelling or even that new and it will join the ever-growing pile of rubbish movie tie-ins.
  7. Were your movements less plodding, the weapons a bit meatier, the enemies even basically tactical, the story and dialogue more than perfunctory, the environments remotely imaginative, or the co-operative mode online-enabled, Terminator Salvation would still be far too rough around the edges, far too short, and far too cynical to withstand much critical inspection, but as it is, it's rubbish on virtually every count.

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 18
  2. Negative: 13 out of 18
  1. RadZ
    Jun 2, 2009
    9
    This game is far better than any of those released in the last 4 months. But you should play it on hard! Graphically and visually the game is This game is far better than any of those released in the last 4 months. But you should play it on hard! Graphically and visually the game is perfect. Plus the world created is so real and the machines DO incorporate so inpecably that this game will be one of my favourites. Though the gameplay hours are short - the locations are made very detailed and you can pass hours looking around. AI is quite good, (as smart as a machine should be) but the oponents quite tough. The sound is unbelievable - you will recognize all the samples from the Terminator and Terminator 2. The game will remind you of those 2 movies as well. If you remember many years ago there was a game, Terminator 2029. I had been waiting for that game very long. Though it was not good it gave some splashes of the L.A. 2029, which was cool. But overall T2029 was a failure. T: Salvation is EXACTLY what I wanted to see from T2029 and I recommend everyone to play this game. It looks like an interactive movie, you'll like it. Just don't hurry to run it through - be attentive to the details. Expand
  2. AndrewH
    May 20, 2009
    5
    You know a game is bad when a T-600 from 20ft away magically waves his arm at you, and kills you! This hasnt just happened once, to me. At You know a game is bad when a T-600 from 20ft away magically waves his arm at you, and kills you! This hasnt just happened once, to me. At least 5+ times I have experienced this. This is a another example of a cash grab before a movie is released. The only enjoyment I have scraped from this game is being in the terminator universe. Horrible, ripped off gameplay, bad voice overs, even the controls are not that great. Thankfully I rented and did not buy this game. Expand
  3. Dec 27, 2013
    5
    Terminator Salvation is another striking example to never get your hopes up for a game based off of a movie. The graphics are dull and theTerminator Salvation is another striking example to never get your hopes up for a game based off of a movie. The graphics are dull and the story is linear, with repetitive, slow gameplay and blurry cut scenes. There are no objective markers so half the time you don't know where you're going. On the other hand, co-op play is good if you are playing casually with friends. The first few levels are OK to play, but don't venture too far because it is just more of the same things. This game shouldn't have been priced at standard $60 or $50, rather only $19.99 or even an XBLA. Seriously, get this ONLY if you need a TPS and want to play co-op and don't care about the quality too much. Expand
  4. JMLP
    May 19, 2009
    3
    This is what happens when licensed games go horribly wrong. Broken in every area that would have made this game fun. This is like a bad 360 This is what happens when licensed games go horribly wrong. Broken in every area that would have made this game fun. This is like a bad 360 launch title with slightly better graphics. Expand
  5. JacobA.
    Jun 15, 2009
    3
    Other than for the achievements, or "trophies" for this game, I see no reason to play it, the AI is incredibly stupid, especially the AI of Other than for the achievements, or "trophies" for this game, I see no reason to play it, the AI is incredibly stupid, especially the AI of your companion in the game. it is extremely horrible, it has nothing to do with the movie in any way, the voice overs are horrible, the music is very, VERY repetitive, and while playing on co op, everytime player 2 does something they give credit to player 1 aka john connor, another thing.... if your team mate needs to be revived, do you hit them with your gun? well in terminator you do. Expand
  6. Brandon
    Jun 29, 2009
    2
    DLC packaged as a real game. Much like the watchman game nobody bought off Xbox live this game feels like an unfinished demo. The gameplay DLC packaged as a real game. Much like the watchman game nobody bought off Xbox live this game feels like an unfinished demo. The gameplay feels like a dollar store geras of war and is about as dull as dull can be. Like people have said before, if you want to pad your gamerscore with 1000 points from three hours of work go ahead or spend 3 months getting seriously 2.0. Expand
  7. Jul 18, 2011
    0
    A very bad game which is one of the worst fps I've ever played. The story is bad,the characters are not memorable, and there is no variety ofA very bad game which is one of the worst fps I've ever played. The story is bad,the characters are not memorable, and there is no variety of enemies in the levels.You're going to be fighting during your playthrough the same 3 enemies, spider flying things and T600s if I remember correctly.The game is hardly 4 hours and the graphics are wll let me just say that they are bad because If I start saying what I really think, I would end being banned. To everybody who is think of buying this game 'cause is cheap, I have to warn them to stay away from this piece of s**t. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews