Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Mar 29, 2013
    80
    An extremely solid port of the original.
  2. Mar 27, 2013
    80
    A fantastic game of exploration and survival. You can occasionally feel lost in its open-world that lacks any real signposting, but the simple joy of digging and crafting means you’ll keep playing to discover the naturally-occurring progress.
  3. Apr 8, 2013
    75
    Terraria's debut on Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 follows the extreme fidelity to the concept of the PC version published two years ago.
  4. Mar 27, 2013
    75
    Terraria is funny, it's addictive and it's big, but it's best played on PC. Re-Logic has a good idea, different from Minecraft, a game that you might want to know and maybe it will soon be your favorite. 2D pixel style with RPG, platforms and freedom.
  5. Apr 4, 2013
    70
    Gamers that need a clear goal in a game will do well to avoid Terraria. If on the other hand you like meticulous searching, deep crafting, exploration, surprises and totally open-ended gameplay, Terraria is a game that can keep you in front of your screen for days, weeks, months.
  6. 70
    What sets Terraria apart from its obvious inspiration is more than just 2D design; it’s the action-centric tone that emerges the more you dig around and buddy up with pals, especially online ones who have cultivated their own worlds and arsenals (though local split-screen multiplayer is included).
  7. Mar 27, 2013
    70
    It might not make a great first impression, but it’s going to be awfully hard, even this early in the year, to find a downloadable game that can offer this much content. You’ll always find more and more excuses to just keep digging away.
  8. Apr 18, 2013
    65
    Terraria could do a better job of leading players toward the treasures they need for basic survival and the knowledge they need for basic progression without robbing them of freedom to discover most of what it has to offer at their own pace. There's an alluring game buried under these little issues; it just takes some digging to find it.
  9. Terraria may be flawed and unapproachable by mainstream standards. However, it challenges you to become the master and director of your fate rather than a simple pawn moving along a preset path. Interactive entertainment would be better off if more games aspired to such grand ambitions.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 133 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 31
  2. Negative: 4 out of 31
  1. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    I've put over 200 hours into Terraria for the PC. After all of this the console version succeeds in being a true port and holds all of theI've put over 200 hours into Terraria for the PC. After all of this the console version succeeds in being a true port and holds all of the greatness and fun that the original game did. The controls are smooth (although pretty different from the keyboard & mouse) The graphics are the same charming pixel artwork the PC version held so well and it looks like it'll be fun building back up to where I was on the PC. Overall it's one of the best xbox arcade games I've played in while and the replay value is very high for me. Full Review »
  2. Jun 3, 2013
    2
    Color scheme is all weird, controls are clunky, crafting glitches not showing all you can craft low unstable FPS, having more then 4 peopleColor scheme is all weird, controls are clunky, crafting glitches not showing all you can craft low unstable FPS, having more then 4 people in a game is unplayable due to lag, when you do lag in multiplier you'll glitch into walls, 15$.....

    My advice, go get the PC one when its on sale for $2.50 there are NO problems on that one
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 7, 2013
    9
    I plag in mincreft but dis game insted. 2 deep world confuzeen. I lost unergroun somewon halp pleze. I be heer sense Marchge. Tall me famileeI plag in mincreft but dis game insted. 2 deep world confuzeen. I lost unergroun somewon halp pleze. I be heer sense Marchge. Tall me familee to eraz histry on bowser. 2/10 stars. Full Review »