Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Apr 4, 2013
    90
    Fresh elements – like an absurdly expansive crafting system, a broad scope of monsters to battle, and a slick retro 2D presentation – make it a stand out among the pack.
  2. Mar 27, 2013
    90
    Regardless of how you approach things, though, the basic rhythm of this astonishing piece of work remains the same. For your first few hours, Terraria will seem like a bewildering - occasionally terrifying - strain of chore. Put in the effort, though, and it eventually reveals its true nature. This isn't a game or even a toy. At heart, it's a vocation.
  3. May 9, 2013
    90
    Terraria deserves to stand shoulder to shoulder with Minecraft as a sandbox classic. [June 2013, p.70]
  4. Apr 2, 2013
    97
    The whole point of Terraria is to explore, find weird contraptions and treasure chests, and use new items to make even more awesome things. I just wanted to keep unlocking the secrets of the game, and that is why this simple yet massive game just keeps giving and giving. I have barely scratched the surface, and I can’t wait to play some more.
  5. May 13, 2013
    90
    Terraria rules also in console format. [May 2013]
  6. Mar 27, 2013
    90
    Even with console controls, Terraria is still perfectly playable and definitely one of the most enchanting indie games in recent history.
  7. 90
    Terraria was utterly fantastic on PC, and has made a near-perfect jump to console.
  8. Apr 6, 2013
    90
    Apart from that issue and sometimes unresponsive building mechanics (which I only rarely encountered), Terraria is nearly perfect for what it is and unlike any other game you’ve played in a very long time. If you’re a fan of replayable, explorable and challenging games, you need to try Terraria. Most importantly, the game is incredibly fun, and that’s something I can dig.
  9. Apr 7, 2013
    90
    A Live Arcade must have: an addictive unlimited 2D sandbox, capable of entertaining the most creative players for many, many hours.
  10. 90
    Like Minecraft, the biggest difference to most triple-A titles lies in Terraria not wanting to tell you a story. It's waiting for you to craft one of your own. Think of a "normal", big action-adventure game as a glass of your favorite beverage. Terraria just gives you a pitcher and a bunch of ingredients to brew one of your own. Some people will prefer a walk to the bar, to get something prepared in advance. Others will happily go ahead and create the drink of a lifetime.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 123 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    I've put over 200 hours into Terraria for the PC. After all of this the console version succeeds in being a true port and holds all of the greatness and fun that the original game did. The controls are smooth (although pretty different from the keyboard & mouse) The graphics are the same charming pixel artwork the PC version held so well and it looks like it'll be fun building back up to where I was on the PC. Overall it's one of the best xbox arcade games I've played in while and the replay value is very high for me. Full Review »
  2. Apr 7, 2013
    9
    I plag in mincreft but dis game insted. 2 deep world confuzeen. I lost unergroun somewon halp pleze. I be heer sense Marchge. Tall me familee to eraz histry on bowser. 2/10 stars. Full Review »
  3. Apr 2, 2013
    6
    The idea is great. I love the game overall,but the one thing that puts it down is the controls. It's clunky and uncomfortable. Otherwise,great game! (I also love all the customization and crafting you can do.) Full Review »