User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 123 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 123
  2. Negative: 24 out of 123

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    I've put over 200 hours into Terraria for the PC. After all of this the console version succeeds in being a true port and holds all of the greatness and fun that the original game did. The controls are smooth (although pretty different from the keyboard & mouse) The graphics are the same charming pixel artwork the PC version held so well and it looks like it'll be fun building back up to where I was on the PC. Overall it's one of the best xbox arcade games I've played in while and the replay value is very high for me. Expand
  2. Apr 7, 2013
    9
    I plag in mincreft but dis game insted. 2 deep world confuzeen. I lost unergroun somewon halp pleze. I be heer sense Marchge. Tall me familee to eraz histry on bowser. 2/10 stars.
  3. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    Terraria has always been a pleasure of mine, and the Xbox adaption is no exception, at first I thought the controls were difficult, but the different cursor selection really helped. This is quality, content, and fun all in one. For me it's more fun than minecraft, and buddying up with friends just makes it that much more fun.
  4. Mar 30, 2013
    9
    Terraria has been one of my very favorite games ever since it graced the Steam store back in 2011. I have been amazingly excited for its console release because of the promised extra content. The console version definitely delivers on every front, and stays true to the incredible open feeling Terraria has always had. One small caveat is that the controls take a bit of getting used to after playing over 100 hours on the PC. The thumb sticks are a clunky way to mine in comparison to a smooth mouse. Collapse
  5. Apr 3, 2013
    10
    Great game, couldn't wait for the Xbox and PS3 release. With all the patches from the pc version plus new bosses, materials, weapons, armors, enemies and just the overwhelming amount of content this is easily one of the best downloadable games you can get. Oh and did I say it's very small in size? And just like Minecraft you can save and upload multiple worlds/characters.
  6. May 1, 2013
    9
    I did not have the pleasure of playing the PC version, but after spending around 30 or more hours with the xbox 360 version, I easily recommend it. The controls are great but do take a bit of time to adjust to, and the game only gets more interesting as you continue to play. It has an excellent way to not hold your hand, but instead, kill you to show you that you need to improve your armor, accessories or weapons. There is just so much content, and the replay value is crazy since the world is all randomized. For those who want a fun platformer with lots of RPG elements, random loot all over the place and a good emphasis on exploration, look no further. 30 hours so far, and I have not even unlocked hard mode, which gives you a whole new set of enemies, items, etc. Amazing game. Expand
  7. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    I have played this game on PC since the first month it was out and instantly liked the HUGE amount of content/items/aspects and the RPG Sandbox mix. 505 Games has done a great job of making this true to it's PC counterpart on Consoles.
  8. Apr 6, 2013
    9
    It's not as precise without a mouse, but it's still just as addictive, and the platforming and combat feel more natural. Aside from a couple glitches, this is a solid port. Full review at http://www.bloodwcinnamon.com/rev/terraria.html
  9. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    This game is so much fun, it's great with friends, and is very challenging, also, I didn't expect anything else from a Terraria game, because it's too great
  10. Apr 5, 2013
    9
    Game is awesome, one of the most successful indie games right behind MineCraft and others. Now its on Xbox, amazing game.. only thing are the controls in which trying to pick is a bit slow but overall get the game and see how fun it is.
  11. Apr 2, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is very addictive I absolutely love it and my friends think ot is awesomeI would like to say i found a demon altar under my house but I'm not in the corrupted zone Expand
  12. Apr 8, 2013
    10
    I, overall, have put 72 Hours straight into Terraria since it came out on the xbox.Being able to enjoy this experience with my brother has made it Ten times better! The port is absolutely perfect and, unlike minecraft, Terraria came out with the latest update on the xbox. The controls are simple and make the experience a joy. Anyone that has played the pc version of Terraria will find this a fantastic port. Enjoy! Expand
  13. Apr 9, 2013
    10
    I've played Terraria for pc since 2011 for over 120+ hours. This game is amazing and has a great replay value. The adventure to be the best hero is amazing. Scouring the depths of the world to grow, build ,and create grandiose things.
  14. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    On the PC, i have exactly 347.46 hours of gameplay and still counting, i have maxed out everything quite literally and have made countless videos, and they made a great "transfer on the xbox" i am just a little mad that they didn't do anything really eye opening like adding new armor or something, but i guess it was fine because they were connecting console players to the most amazing world ever. It's worth your money and i hope they add dlc whether it's a new type of tree or armor i don't care. Expand
  15. Apr 24, 2013
    9
    In my opinion, this game is well worth the price of 1,200 Microsoft points. It is very addicting to find all of the amazing items around the randomly generated worlds. The bosses are quite difficult to kill alone but since it's on Xbox you can play with anyone. It's so fun to explore and find something that will just make you so proud of yourself that you found it. Then you can show it off to your friends. The game is just so fun to play overall but the graphics are at a low level but the content in the game goes over the reason for the good graphics. I highly recommend this game to anyone who likes Minecraft or exploration games. Expand
  16. Apr 29, 2013
    9
    Terraria can keep you Engrossed for hours, making you want to explore, build and craft. I hate saying this but it is "like" a 2D Minecraft but also has some of it's own amazing features and content. The amount of different unique items will keep you exploring to find more.

    When I played this game with my friends I would stay up for hours trying to find new weapons and tools to show off.
    I have put around a hundred of hours into it! I would highly recommend this game but is allot more funnier playing with people. Expand
  17. Jun 12, 2013
    10
    This game is still epic on xbox like it was on PC the only bad thing is lag but not so bad you break the controller i love it SO EPIC there are so many more mobs, armor, bosses and just way more fun.
  18. Jul 21, 2013
    10
    Terraria is one of the best indie games around, and has been a favorite on mine since it was originally released on the PC. This Xbox 360 port is not bad at all, and you won't feel bothered by it like you feel on a lot of Xbox ports.
  19. Oct 14, 2013
    10
    It the best game I think I have haven't play with my friends because I don't want to stop playing this game I got it for 7.99 I think it worth 100,000 I would pay for it.
  20. Jul 21, 2014
    10
    While people consider it as a Minecraft clone, Terraria does a lot of things differently, all of them amazing. The sheer amount of content is staggering. The game is extremely satisfying, giving a brilliant and fair risk and reward feeling. The game's mining, building, exploring and fighting is as extensive as it is wonderful. Completing a task will always translate into another, so much so that you will find it very hard to get bored. Terraria is unrecognized by its quality, and is the most underrated game I can think of. Expand
  21. Jul 23, 2014
    10
    Anyone who has ever said "Terraria is basically 2-D Minecraft" should just stop and play the game. Nearly endless things to find and craft, so much space to explore, and perfect for the person who wants a game to play for fun, for a challenge, or playing with your friends. The content goes far beyond that of minecraft. You can do so many things, fight all the bosses, craft tons of amazing items, go spelunking, try and destroy your friends with the gear you've collected, house and trade with the NPC's for new items, and the list goes on. Terraria is LITERALLY endless fun. Expand
  22. Mar 30, 2013
    0
    Terraria has been one of my very favorite games ever since it graced the Steam store back in 2011. I have been amazingly excited for its console release because of the promised extra content. The console version definitely delivers on every front, and stays true to the incredible open feeling Terraria has always had. One small caveat is that the controls take a bit of getting used to after playing over 100 hours on the PC. The thumb sticks are a clunky way to mine in comparison to a smooth mouse. Collapse
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Jun 3, 2013
    80
    It may not be the best possible way to play Terraria, but taken on its own merits the Xbox version is still a triumph.
  2. May 22, 2013
    80
    As absorbing and oddly addictive an experience as you'll find on 360. Just keep an eye on the clock - this game devours hours at a time. [Issue#98, p.81]
  3. May 20, 2013
    80
    It's a slow starter, then, but you'll struggle to find a game this year that offers quite so much as Terraria. [Issue#135, p.122]