Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 122 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Terraria? What's that?

    Terraria is a land of adventure! A land of mystery! A land that's yours to shape, to defend and to enjoy. Your options in Terraria are limitless, are you an action gamer with an itchy trigger finger? A master builder? A collector? An explorer? There's something for
    everyone here.

    Dig, fight, explore, build! Nothing is impossible in this action-packed adventure game. The world is your canvas and the ground itself is your paint.

    Grab your tools and go! Make weapons to fight off a variety of enemies in numerous biomes. Dig deep underground to find accessories, money, and other useful things. Gather resources to create everything you need to make the world your own. Build a house, a fort, or even a castle. People will move in to live there and perhaps even sell you different wares to assist you on your journey.

    But beware, there are even more challenges awaiting you... Are you up to the task?

    Key features:

    - Sandbox Play
    - Randomly generated worlds
    - Free Content Updates
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Apr 2, 2013
    97
    The whole point of Terraria is to explore, find weird contraptions and treasure chests, and use new items to make even more awesome things. I just wanted to keep unlocking the secrets of the game, and that is why this simple yet massive game just keeps giving and giving. I have barely scratched the surface, and I can’t wait to play some more.
  2. Mar 27, 2013
    90
    Even with console controls, Terraria is still perfectly playable and definitely one of the most enchanting indie games in recent history.
  3. Apr 7, 2013
    90
    A Live Arcade must have: an addictive unlimited 2D sandbox, capable of entertaining the most creative players for many, many hours.
  4. Apr 4, 2013
    80
    Terraria is a game you can completely lose yourself in, also on consoles. The transference to controller was mostly successful and other elements like a map and a (short) tutorial make the game more playable. It still throws you in the deep end right away though, so learning how to swim might take some fishing around on the internet. Whoever manages to get through the first, nearly impenetrable, layer, awaits a deep world with expansive (home-made) adventures.
  5. Apr 18, 2013
    80
    Terraria may not be accessible, but this sandbox is so deep that you might find yourself buried in self-appointed goals and chasing that carrot of upgradable gear into the early hours of the morning. The combat and controls could use more polish, but a nearly infinite well of items and randomly generated worlds make up for those faults. A lot of games try to hold your hand through a scripted experience, but Terraria makes a good argument for the merits of directionless creation.
  6. Apr 9, 2013
    80
    Terraria is a genuine action-platformer game. It is also a survival adventure and a RPG. And above all, is a great 2D sandbox game with amusing gameplay options.
  7. Terraria may be flawed and unapproachable by mainstream standards. However, it challenges you to become the master and director of your fate rather than a simple pawn moving along a preset path. Interactive entertainment would be better off if more games aspired to such grand ambitions.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    I've put over 200 hours into Terraria for the PC. After all of this the console version succeeds in being a true port and holds all of the greatness and fun that the original game did. The controls are smooth (although pretty different from the keyboard & mouse) The graphics are the same charming pixel artwork the PC version held so well and it looks like it'll be fun building back up to where I was on the PC. Overall it's one of the best xbox arcade games I've played in while and the replay value is very high for me. Collapse
  2. Jun 12, 2013
    10
    This game is still epic on xbox like it was on PC the only bad thing is lag but not so bad you break the controller i love it SO EPIC there are so many more mobs, armor, bosses and just way more fun. Expand
  3. Jul 21, 2014
    10
    While people consider it as a Minecraft clone, Terraria does a lot of things differently, all of them amazing. The sheer amount of content is staggering. The game is extremely satisfying, giving a brilliant and fair risk and reward feeling. The game's mining, building, exploring and fighting is as extensive as it is wonderful. Completing a task will always translate into another, so much so that you will find it very hard to get bored. Terraria is unrecognized by its quality, and is the most underrated game I can think of. Expand
  4. Apr 5, 2013
    9
    Game is awesome, one of the most successful indie games right behind MineCraft and others. Now its on Xbox, amazing game.. only thing are the controls in which trying to pick is a bit slow but overall get the game and see how fun it is. Expand
  5. Apr 29, 2013
    9
    Terraria can keep you Engrossed for hours, making you want to explore, build and craft. I hate saying this but it is "like" a 2D Minecraft but also has some of it's own amazing features and content. The amount of different unique items will keep you exploring to find more.

    When I played this game with my friends I would stay up for hours trying to find new weapons and tools to show off. I have put around a hundred of hours into it! I would highly recommend this game but is allot more funnier playing with people.
    Expand
  6. Apr 11, 2013
    8
    Terraria is oftentimes referred to as the "2D Minecraft", and left at that. While this is true, it's also...so much more, and I feel this was why Minecraft radically changed it's game.

    Graphics and Performance: Very clean 2D visuals, with virtually no slowdown, except in the most extreme of circumstances. The environments are very nice and detailed, and react to how you interact with them appropriately. The only complain I have are the animations: There's hardly any on the monsters, most of them may as well be still images.

    Sound: Relaxing music is a given, but the sound effects are pretty good. All the enemies have their own sound effects, and your weapons make correct sounds, too. If you have a flaming greatsword, you can hear the flames crackling off the blade as you swing.

    Control: Overall, it's okay. Jumping can be a bit annoying until you get used to it, but once you get that down, you'll be gathering materials and chopping down monsters like a pro.

    Gameplay: Compared to Minecraft, the basics remain the same: Take squares to put on top of other squares in order to build things, gather materials to craft items and gear in a randomly generated world, repeat ad-nausium. That hasn't changed. What has changed is about everything else.

    Terraria plays like an Action RPG more than a sandbox game. There is a wide variety of enemies to fight, treasure chests to discover containing rare items, and even giant bosses to take down for rare materials and gear! Unlike Minecraft, where combat feels like an afterthought, it was very much thought of here.

    The amount of gear in the game is just insane: Jet boots, grappling hooks, machine guns, speed boosters, meteor-summoning swords...just to name a few! It always feels like there's always something new to find and explore.

    It actually reminds me of an old PS2 game I liked, called Dark Cloud. You can build up your town, and as you do, you summon NPCs to live there. These NPCs can heal your wounds, sell you gear and items, or provide helpful advice. The "town building" aspect gives you a motivation to actually build things as opposed to, "build it...just 'cause you can".

    Not that there's a shortage of things to build. All kinds of decorations and crazy things you can set up, it's as diverse as the gear you can craft!

    There are a few problems, though. The beginning of the game can be absolutely miserable. Once you go underground, you'll find yourself being murdered by enemies you stand no chance against, struggling to survive with your most basic of equipment. You'll fall down a horrible pit, and immediately die. You may run right into the Corruption right into the beginning of the game, and, again, die.

    What is the Corruption? It's bad stuff. It slowly spreads around the world, bringing with it rather powerful enemies, deep pits, and thorns to impede your progress. It is interesting how it slowly spreads throughout the world, but running into it early is a death sentence.

    This is a game you need to devote a lot of time into. It's not like Minecraft, where you can suddenly start building random stuff, dig a bit, and be like, "Oh, I found Diamond" and suddenly be godlike. You need a LOT of items in order to reach that stage, and this will take a lot of trial and error. If you aren't willing, or able, to invest a lot of time in this game (It takes hours just to start getting beyond the early-level caves), this may not be for you.

    If you like building things, which this game does well, it, still, may not be for you. Minecraft has with it wayyy more building options, and, of course, it's in a 3D environment. This makes it way better if all you want to do is build structures, as you both have more to work with, and more in the way of options, such as crazy electronic devices.

    However, if an action-packed time sink is what you're after, Terraria is a good jack-of-all-trades. It does a lot of things, and is a master of none of them, but it's a pretty solid experience overall. So much to explore and build, you'll spend weeks, STILL finding things about your first world that you didn't even know about, yet!

    Try before you buy, but it really depends on what you like more: Combat and exploration, or building and exploration.
    Expand
  7. Apr 18, 2014
    0
    PLEASE READ THIIS :[ I hope people actually see this but I was having a good time with the old update and I had just dumped EVRYTHING I HAD into a chest in my world before the new update came out. now that I downloaded it and tried to play my old world so I could get my stuff and now I cant open the WORLD!!! so now my legendary Tizona and all of my dragon armor is gone and also my 7 platinum coins I am hoping that there will be a fix for this SOON! Expand

See all 30 User Reviews