Terraria Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 141 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Terraria? What's that?

    Terraria is a land of adventure! A land of mystery! A land that's yours to shape, to defend and to enjoy. Your options in Terraria are limitless, are you an action gamer with an itchy trigger finger? A master builder? A collector? An explorer? There's something for
    Terraria? What's that?

    Terraria is a land of adventure! A land of mystery! A land that's yours to shape, to defend and to enjoy. Your options in Terraria are limitless, are you an action gamer with an itchy trigger finger? A master builder? A collector? An explorer? There's something for everyone here.

    Dig, fight, explore, build! Nothing is impossible in this action-packed adventure game. The world is your canvas and the ground itself is your paint.

    Grab your tools and go! Make weapons to fight off a variety of enemies in numerous biomes. Dig deep underground to find accessories, money, and other useful things. Gather resources to create everything you need to make the world your own. Build a house, a fort, or even a castle. People will move in to live there and perhaps even sell you different wares to assist you on your journey.

    But beware, there are even more challenges awaiting you... Are you up to the task?

    Key features:

    - Sandbox Play
    - Randomly generated worlds
    - Free Content Updates
    Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Apr 2, 2013
    97
    The whole point of Terraria is to explore, find weird contraptions and treasure chests, and use new items to make even more awesome things. I just wanted to keep unlocking the secrets of the game, and that is why this simple yet massive game just keeps giving and giving. I have barely scratched the surface, and I can’t wait to play some more.
  2. Mar 27, 2013
    90
    Even with console controls, Terraria is still perfectly playable and definitely one of the most enchanting indie games in recent history.
  3. Apr 7, 2013
    90
    A Live Arcade must have: an addictive unlimited 2D sandbox, capable of entertaining the most creative players for many, many hours.
  4. Apr 4, 2013
    80
    Terraria is a game you can completely lose yourself in, also on consoles. The transference to controller was mostly successful and other elements like a map and a (short) tutorial make the game more playable. It still throws you in the deep end right away though, so learning how to swim might take some fishing around on the internet. Whoever manages to get through the first, nearly impenetrable, layer, awaits a deep world with expansive (home-made) adventures.
  5. Apr 18, 2013
    80
    Terraria may not be accessible, but this sandbox is so deep that you might find yourself buried in self-appointed goals and chasing that carrot of upgradable gear into the early hours of the morning. The combat and controls could use more polish, but a nearly infinite well of items and randomly generated worlds make up for those faults. A lot of games try to hold your hand through a scripted experience, but Terraria makes a good argument for the merits of directionless creation.
  6. Apr 9, 2013
    80
    Terraria is a genuine action-platformer game. It is also a survival adventure and a RPG. And above all, is a great 2D sandbox game with amusing gameplay options.
  7. Terraria may be flawed and unapproachable by mainstream standards. However, it challenges you to become the master and director of your fate rather than a simple pawn moving along a preset path. Interactive entertainment would be better off if more games aspired to such grand ambitions.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 31
  2. Negative: 4 out of 31
  1. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    I've put over 200 hours into Terraria for the PC. After all of this the console version succeeds in being a true port and holds all of theI've put over 200 hours into Terraria for the PC. After all of this the console version succeeds in being a true port and holds all of the greatness and fun that the original game did. The controls are smooth (although pretty different from the keyboard & mouse) The graphics are the same charming pixel artwork the PC version held so well and it looks like it'll be fun building back up to where I was on the PC. Overall it's one of the best xbox arcade games I've played in while and the replay value is very high for me. Expand
  2. Jun 12, 2013
    10
    This game is still epic on xbox like it was on PC the only bad thing is lag but not so bad you break the controller i love it SO EPIC thereThis game is still epic on xbox like it was on PC the only bad thing is lag but not so bad you break the controller i love it SO EPIC there are so many more mobs, armor, bosses and just way more fun. Expand
  3. Jul 23, 2014
    10
    Anyone who has ever said "Terraria is basically 2-D Minecraft" should just stop and play the game. Nearly endless things to find and craft, soAnyone who has ever said "Terraria is basically 2-D Minecraft" should just stop and play the game. Nearly endless things to find and craft, so much space to explore, and perfect for the person who wants a game to play for fun, for a challenge, or playing with your friends. The content goes far beyond that of minecraft. You can do so many things, fight all the bosses, craft tons of amazing items, go spelunking, try and destroy your friends with the gear you've collected, house and trade with the NPC's for new items, and the list goes on. Terraria is LITERALLY endless fun. Expand
  4. Apr 2, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is very addictive I absolutely love it and my friends think ot is awesomeI would like to say i found a demon altar under my house but I'm not in the corrupted zone Expand
  5. Apr 24, 2013
    9
    In my opinion, this game is well worth the price of 1,200 Microsoft points. It is very addicting to find all of the amazing items around theIn my opinion, this game is well worth the price of 1,200 Microsoft points. It is very addicting to find all of the amazing items around the randomly generated worlds. The bosses are quite difficult to kill alone but since it's on Xbox you can play with anyone. It's so fun to explore and find something that will just make you so proud of yourself that you found it. Then you can show it off to your friends. The game is just so fun to play overall but the graphics are at a low level but the content in the game goes over the reason for the good graphics. I highly recommend this game to anyone who likes Minecraft or exploration games. Expand
  6. Feb 15, 2016
    8
    While perhaps not the best way to experience due to some issues with the controls, Terraria is still an excellent and worthwhile source ofWhile perhaps not the best way to experience due to some issues with the controls, Terraria is still an excellent and worthwhile source of player-driven fun. Calling it a 2d Minecraft is arguably the best way to describe, however by doing so you are selling the game short. Terraria takes the core mechanics of Minecraft and expands upon them is so many ways.

    This open-world sandbox is yours to do whatever you want in. It's got a big emphasis on combat. With plenty of crazy weapons to craft, a wealth of enemy types, and even boss battles if you are looking for a side-scrolling action game with a great RPG feel then this is for you. The combat is a little awkward due to the controls and overall execution, but the game gives you plenty of reasons to hunt down those monsters anyway.

    Of course if monster-slaying isn't your thing you can just focus on exploring and resource gathering to build that awesome mansion you want. That's really the beauty of Terraria. It's up to you how you play it.

    To make things better you can even bring friends along. With four-player local co-op and up to eight players online, it's an awesome co-op experience with plenty to offer everyone in your group. The couch co-op portion suffers a bit due to the small size of the spilt screens obscuring some things, but the co-op is still strong with this one.

    It's a game that basically let's you do whatever you want. It's up to you how you play it and there are plenty of options to ensure that whatever play style you choose is available. When you consider that you can even bring friends along and the whole thing is made even better. It's worth putting up with the controls and getting past the initial learning curve to discover the real joys it had to offer. Terraria is just a great game no matter what you are looking for.
    Expand
  7. Apr 18, 2014
    0
    PLEASE READ THIIS :[ I hope people actually see this but I was having a good time with the old update and I had just dumped EVRYTHING I HADPLEASE READ THIIS :[ I hope people actually see this but I was having a good time with the old update and I had just dumped EVRYTHING I HAD into a chest in my world before the new update came out. now that I downloaded it and tried to play my old world so I could get my stuff and now I cant open the WORLD!!! so now my legendary Tizona and all of my dragon armor is gone and also my 7 platinum coins I am hoping that there will be a fix for this SOON! Expand

See all 31 User Reviews