Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 120 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Terraria? What's that?

    Terraria is a land of adventure! A land of mystery! A land that's yours to shape, to defend and to enjoy. Your options in Terraria are limitless, are you an action gamer with an itchy trigger finger? A master builder? A collector? An explorer? There's something for
    everyone here.

    Dig, fight, explore, build! Nothing is impossible in this action-packed adventure game. The world is your canvas and the ground itself is your paint.

    Grab your tools and go! Make weapons to fight off a variety of enemies in numerous biomes. Dig deep underground to find accessories, money, and other useful things. Gather resources to create everything you need to make the world your own. Build a house, a fort, or even a castle. People will move in to live there and perhaps even sell you different wares to assist you on your journey.

    But beware, there are even more challenges awaiting you... Are you up to the task?

    Key features:

    - Sandbox Play
    - Randomly generated worlds
    - Free Content Updates
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Apr 2, 2013
    97
    The whole point of Terraria is to explore, find weird contraptions and treasure chests, and use new items to make even more awesome things. I just wanted to keep unlocking the secrets of the game, and that is why this simple yet massive game just keeps giving and giving. I have barely scratched the surface, and I can’t wait to play some more.
  2. Mar 27, 2013
    90
    Even with console controls, Terraria is still perfectly playable and definitely one of the most enchanting indie games in recent history.
  3. Apr 7, 2013
    90
    A Live Arcade must have: an addictive unlimited 2D sandbox, capable of entertaining the most creative players for many, many hours.
  4. Apr 4, 2013
    80
    Terraria is a game you can completely lose yourself in, also on consoles. The transference to controller was mostly successful and other elements like a map and a (short) tutorial make the game more playable. It still throws you in the deep end right away though, so learning how to swim might take some fishing around on the internet. Whoever manages to get through the first, nearly impenetrable, layer, awaits a deep world with expansive (home-made) adventures.
  5. Apr 18, 2013
    80
    Terraria may not be accessible, but this sandbox is so deep that you might find yourself buried in self-appointed goals and chasing that carrot of upgradable gear into the early hours of the morning. The combat and controls could use more polish, but a nearly infinite well of items and randomly generated worlds make up for those faults. A lot of games try to hold your hand through a scripted experience, but Terraria makes a good argument for the merits of directionless creation.
  6. Apr 9, 2013
    80
    Terraria is a genuine action-platformer game. It is also a survival adventure and a RPG. And above all, is a great 2D sandbox game with amusing gameplay options.
  7. Terraria may be flawed and unapproachable by mainstream standards. However, it challenges you to become the master and director of your fate rather than a simple pawn moving along a preset path. Interactive entertainment would be better off if more games aspired to such grand ambitions.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27
  1. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    I've put over 200 hours into Terraria for the PC. After all of this the console version succeeds in being a true port and holds all of the greatness and fun that the original game did. The controls are smooth (although pretty different from the keyboard & mouse) The graphics are the same charming pixel artwork the PC version held so well and it looks like it'll be fun building back up to where I was on the PC. Overall it's one of the best xbox arcade games I've played in while and the replay value is very high for me. Expand
  2. Apr 9, 2013
    10
    I've played Terraria for pc since 2011 for over 120+ hours. This game is amazing and has a great replay value. The adventure to be the best hero is amazing. Scouring the depths of the world to grow, build ,and create grandiose things. Expand
  3. Jul 21, 2013
    10
    Terraria is one of the best indie games around, and has been a favorite on mine since it was originally released on the PC. This Xbox 360 port is not bad at all, and you won't feel bothered by it like you feel on a lot of Xbox ports. Expand
  4. Apr 5, 2013
    9
    Game is awesome, one of the most successful indie games right behind MineCraft and others. Now its on Xbox, amazing game.. only thing are the controls in which trying to pick is a bit slow but overall get the game and see how fun it is. Expand
  5. Apr 29, 2013
    9
    Terraria can keep you Engrossed for hours, making you want to explore, build and craft. I hate saying this but it is "like" a 2D Minecraft but also has some of it's own amazing features and content. The amount of different unique items will keep you exploring to find more.

    When I played this game with my friends I would stay up for hours trying to find new weapons and tools to show off. I have put around a hundred of hours into it! I would highly recommend this game but is allot more funnier playing with people.
    Expand
  6. May 17, 2013
    8
    While the controls don't carry over as well as they could from the PC to the XBLA port, Terraria is still the great 2D sandbox game people have come to know and love since its release on Steam. It's fun with friends or solo, and provides you with hours upon hours of mindless fun. If you're looking for a time-sink with a charming SNES feel along with one of the best video game soundtracks in recent memory, give Terraria a go. You might be quite happy you did. Expand
  7. Jun 18, 2013
    2
    DO NOT BUY THIS PIECE OF BULL CRAP. OK let me start of by saying the control scheme is TOTAL BULL. buy the PC version PLEASE I dare you to get the free demo and try to build a house i DARE YOU.
    Don't waste your money with this. Just buy state of decay. thank you
    Expand

See all 27 User Reviews