Test Drive Unlimited 2 Xbox 360

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 87 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 87
  2. Negative: 19 out of 87
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 29, 2011
    5
    Whilst the open world driving and racing is fun and works well there are far too many technical, presentation and game plays issues to rate this game very high. The "story" is awful with terrible voice acting. Even after patching some parts of the game still don't work. The licenses are a pointless addition and are needlessly frustrating to finish for many people. Online racing almostWhilst the open world driving and racing is fun and works well there are far too many technical, presentation and game plays issues to rate this game very high. The "story" is awful with terrible voice acting. Even after patching some parts of the game still don't work. The licenses are a pointless addition and are needlessly frustrating to finish for many people. Online racing almost always ends up as a demo derby particularly in club vs club races. There are no bikes and no online trading/selling of cars. TDU2 is a poor sequel to its enjoyable and well made predecessor. Expand
  2. Apr 13, 2011
    6
    When I heard this game was coming out, I was very excited. The previous game was one of the best racing games I had played in a long time and I was looking forward to what would be improved and added to this game. What I got instead was complete disappointment. The cars and the two islands were great, but that's about it. The licenses were an unnecessary add on and the story line is prettyWhen I heard this game was coming out, I was very excited. The previous game was one of the best racing games I had played in a long time and I was looking forward to what would be improved and added to this game. What I got instead was complete disappointment. The cars and the two islands were great, but that's about it. The licenses were an unnecessary add on and the story line is pretty pathetic. The voice acting is also overdone and is very cheesy. The way to upgrade cars has also been worsened. I even have the PS2 version of the first game, and its better than this by a long shot. Overall, I'm going to keep playing good racing games like the first TDU and others like Project Gothem Racing 2, 3, and 4. Expand
  3. May 2, 2011
    7
    The cut scenes are horrendous, with some of the worst acting and voiceovers I've ever heard. The graphics are passable, but nothing to write home about... but I STILL feel drawn to its unique approach to the driving genre. Something about walking around a garage, sitting in cars and just the entire 'relaxing' feeling you get cruising the many, many, MANY roads, cannot be found in any other racer.
  4. Feb 24, 2011
    7
    Since its release, this game has caused tons of grief for players around the globe with its endless bugs, freezes and glitches. However, credit where it is due, Eden have been working around the clock to fix these issues and are even making it up to the community by offering the first "exploration pack" DLC for free. Smoke that Activision! It is important when reviewing this game to noteSince its release, this game has caused tons of grief for players around the globe with its endless bugs, freezes and glitches. However, credit where it is due, Eden have been working around the clock to fix these issues and are even making it up to the community by offering the first "exploration pack" DLC for free. Smoke that Activision! It is important when reviewing this game to note that there is simply NO other game like this around and its unique-ness is what makes this game so special. Take the ability to cruise on thousands of miles of roads with an awesome amount of cars from the first (great) game and just add more (more races, more islands, more challenges, day night and weather dynamic cycle) until the game itself offers so much that the game's value and length becomes apparent. In conclusion, the game builds well on the first game with a new car handling physics engine, better graphics and with an absolute ton of things to do and you get a game which truly represents value in the long run. On the other hand, the terrible inescapable launch will always plague the title and put off buyers as well as the visuals, car physics and car sounds will disappoint the car enthusiasts and die hard sim racers (stick to Forza Motorsport or GT5), not to mention the most cringe worthy voice acting around. Expand
  5. Mar 1, 2011
    7
    This is one of those games where you don't really mind the bad graphics,awful character, bugs and a glitchy world, just sit on the couch, just drive around some beautiful cars and take it easy.
  6. Feb 21, 2011
    5
    Never in my life have I been so disappointed as I am with this game and that's pretty pathetic.I can't tell you how much I thought Atari was going to amaze us with this game but it's the same ol' song and dance,great amazing Ideas on paper but executed very,very poorly on screen.Are you kidding me, I have never, ever played a driving game this bad on the 360 or playstation 3.This gameNever in my life have I been so disappointed as I am with this game and that's pretty pathetic.I can't tell you how much I thought Atari was going to amaze us with this game but it's the same ol' song and dance,great amazing Ideas on paper but executed very,very poorly on screen.Are you kidding me, I have never, ever played a driving game this bad on the 360 or playstation 3.This game belongs as a Wii exclusive cause it doesn't have the graphics like need for speed,Gt5 or forza at all!!I'm tired of this company giving us pathetic titles.I thought it was bad about Jeff Gordon's mouth moving all over the place in GT5 now it seems alright,I just can't tell you the disappointment I feel. 5 Expand
  7. Mar 16, 2011
    5
    Test Drive Unlimited 2 does a lot of things. It is a racer, has a casino, avatar/car customization, houses, exploration, discovery, collecting, hidden secrets, miles upon miles of roads and cars, however it does not do any of these things particularly well. I loved the first Test Drive Unlimited and played it for 100+ hours, however I could not stomach more than 10 hours with this game.Test Drive Unlimited 2 does a lot of things. It is a racer, has a casino, avatar/car customization, houses, exploration, discovery, collecting, hidden secrets, miles upon miles of roads and cars, however it does not do any of these things particularly well. I loved the first Test Drive Unlimited and played it for 100+ hours, however I could not stomach more than 10 hours with this game. The driving is stale and unexciting, the avatars and clunky and rigid and look horrible. There are too many bugs to count. Unfortunately it is a broken game and even if a patch was released to fix this game it would still not be above a 6. I hate to compare to other games but for racing fans there are so many more better games out there worthy of your money and I hate to say it being such a big fan of the first Test Drive but this one is not worth your investment. Expand
  8. Jul 12, 2014
    6
    Ok i used to like the first one thn i got an xbox360 i was was exicited for tdu 2 but it went wrong with bad sounds insane difficulty and you cant do any multi races on single on the other hand the two islands are huge it will take a long time to exspore the roads
  9. Apr 2, 2015
    5
    Not worth it.

    Strengths:Good car list,good value and big map.

    Weaknesses:Boring,Paying to respray your car.After seeing that it cost 2,000 in-game to paint my Lancia Delta,my reaction was ''WTF is this.Character models are awful.Don't pay anything more than 5 euro for this game.
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 61
  2. Negative: 2 out of 61
  1. May 24, 2011
    67
    We were really looking foreward to TDU 2. The controls of the cars and the AI are really poor. Online multiplayer is more offline than online.
  2. Apr 29, 2011
    67
    Ultimately, Test Drive Unlimited 2 is a fun game to play that will keep you entertained for hours upon hours. Despite a few annoyances and flaws, the game has so much to do and explore that you could spend hours playing in this part of the game without any actual online multiplay.
  3. Mar 27, 2011
    67
    I am a bit torn when it comes to Test Drive Unlimited 2. It is definitely not the worst racing game I have played, but it is marred with technical problems that really do affect the gameplay. I would be willing to overlook these issues if the storyline was either better or nonexistent, but as it stands the story is not even enjoyable in an ironic sort of corny way – it is just frustrating to not give a damn about the characters, especially your own.